DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore elements, ‘a first semiconductor layer’, ‘a second semiconductor layer’, ‘a first electrode’, ‘a second electrode’ cited in claims 1, 6 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
1. An inorganic light emitting device, comprising:
a first semiconductor layer;
a second semiconductor layer;
………
a first electrode coupled to the first semiconductor layer;
a second electrode coupled to the second semiconductor layer;
…………..
wherein the second electrode penetrates the second semiconductor layer and the active layer and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer, the active layer, and the first semiconductor layer,
However, applicant’s fig. 3 shows the second electrode (133) penetrates the semiconductor layer (115).
Claims 6 and 18 also have similar issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the second electrode contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the second semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, and an upper surface of the first semiconductor layer.” Contrary to this limitataion, the applicant’s fig. 3 shows the limitations as below:
1. An inorganic light emitting device (100, fig. 3), comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (115);
a second semiconductor layer (111);
an active layer (113) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (115) and the second semiconductor layer (111);
a first electrode (131) coupled to the first semiconductor layer (115);
a second electrode (133) coupled to the second semiconductor layer (111);
………………
wherein the second electrode (133) penetrates the first semiconductor layer (115) and the active layer (113) and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer (111), the active layer (113), and the first semiconductor layer (115).
Applicant is required to cancel the unsupported matter in the reply to this Office Action.
For examination purpose, the limitataion “wherein the second electrode contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the second semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, and an upper surface of the first semiconductor layer” will be considered as “wherein the second electrode contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, and an upper surface of the first semiconductor layer”.
The other two independent claims 6 and 18 also have same issue and will be modified for examination accordingly.
The dependent claims are also rejected as they depend on rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIN MEITOKU et al. (JP 2005322722 A, hereinafter Rin‘722) in view of In et al. (US 20120241793 A1, hereinafter In‘793) of record.
Regarding independent claim 1, Rin‘722 teaches, “An inorganic light emitting device (fig. 1-19 and related description), comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (333, fig. 17);
a second semiconductor layer (331);
an active layer (332) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (333) and the second semiconductor layer (331);
a first electrode (35) coupled to the first semiconductor layer (333);
a second electrode (37, 371) coupled to the second semiconductor layer (331);
((an insulating layer covered the first electrode and the second electrode, and comprising via holes at positions corresponding to the first electrode and the second electrode; and
a first conductive member and a second conductive member coupled to the first electrode and the second electrode, respectively, through the via holes,
wherein a distance between the first conductive member and the second conductive member is greater than a distance between the first electrode and the second electrode,))
wherein the second electrode (37) penetrates the first semiconductor layer (333) and the active layer (332) and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer (331), the active layer (332), and the first semiconductor layer (333), and
wherein the second electrode (37, 371) contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first semiconductor layer (333), a side surface of the active layer (332), and an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer (331)”.
Rin‘722 also teaches in same fig. 17, connecting the light emitting diode (110) to the power supply substrate (89) by connecting the electrodes (35, 37) to the conductive circuit (895 and 897), but is silent upon the provision of wherein
((an insulating layer covered the first electrode and the second electrode, and comprising via holes at positions corresponding to the first electrode and the second electrode; and))
a first conductive member and a second conductive member coupled to the first electrode and the second electrode, respectively, ((through the via holes)),
wherein a distance between the first conductive member and the second conductive member is greater than a distance between the first electrode and the second electrode,
However, same prior art Rin‘722 teaches another embodiment (fig. 15) of using solder balls (858, 878) meeting the below limitations:
a first conductive member (858) and a second conductive member (878) coupled to the first electrode (85) and the second electrode (87), respectively, ((through the via holes)),
wherein a distance between the first conductive member (858) and the second conductive member (878) is greater than a distance between the first electrode (85) and the second electrode (87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of fig. 15 and fig. 17 to include the solder balls to connect the LED to the power supply substrate according to the teachings of fig. 15 to achieve more flexibility in the connections and relative positions of the LED and the power supply substrate.
But Rin‘722 is silent upon the provision of wherein
an insulating layer covered the first electrode and the second electrode, and comprising via holes at positions corresponding to the first electrode and the second electrode; and
a first conductive member and a second conductive member coupled to the first electrode and the second electrode, respectively, through the via holes,
However, In‘793 teaches a similar device (fig. 1), wherein
an insulating layer (1150) covered the first electrode (1134) and the second electrode (1132), and comprising via holes at positions corresponding to the first electrode (1134) and the second electrode (1132); and
a first conductive member (1144) and a second conductive member (1142) coupled to the first electrode (1134) and the second electrode (1132), respectively, through the via holes,
Rin‘722 and In‘793 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Rin‘722 with the features of In‘793 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Rin‘722 and In‘793 to include conductive members and insulating layer according to the teachings of In‘793 as these are essential and conventional elements for a light emitting device to be connected with other electrical components.
Regarding claim 2, Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 further teach, “The inorganic light emitting device of claim 1, wherein a width of the first conductive member (858, fig. 15, Rin‘722) is narrower than a width of the first electrode (85)”.
Regarding claim 3, Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 further teach, “The inorganic light emitting device of claim 1, wherein a width of the second conductive member (878, fig. 15, Rin‘722) is narrower than a width of the second electrode (87)”.
Regarding claim 5, Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 further teach, “The inorganic light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the insulating layer (1150, In‘793) comprises benzo cyclo butene (BCB), polyimide or epoxy (¶ 0064)”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rin‘722 and In‘793 as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Herner (US 20190355702 A1, hereinafter Herner‘702) of record.
Regarding claim 4, Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 teach all the limitations described in claim 1.
But Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 are silent upon the provision of wherein a first conductive member and the second conductive member comprises PEDOT:PSS (poly(3,4- ethylenedioxythiophene): poly(styrenesulfonate))
However, Herner‘702 teaches, a first conductive member and the second conductive member comprises PEDOT:PSS (poly(3,4- ethylenedioxythiophene): poly(styrenesulfonate))” (¶ 0039).
Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 and Herner‘702 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 with the features of Herner‘702 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to substitute the material of Rin‘722 modified with In‘793 and Herner‘702 with the specified organic material of Herner‘702, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP2144.07).
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rin‘722 in view of MOON et al. (US 20180175268 A1, hereinafter Moon‘268).
Regarding independent claim 6, Rin‘722 teaches, “A display device (fig. 1-19 and related description), comprising:
((a substrate comprising a thin film transistor (TFT) layer that comprises a TFT circuit and a plurality of electrode pads on the TFT layer;
a plurality of inorganic light emitting devices respectively comprising a first electrode and a second electrode connected with the plurality of electrode pads,))
a first semiconductor layer (333, fig. 17) coupled to the first electrode (35), and a second semiconductor layer (331) coupled to the second electrode (37, 371);
an active layer (332) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (333) and the second semiconductor layer (331);
((an insulating layer between the substrate and the plurality of inorganic light emitting devices; and))
((a first conductive member and a second conductive member configured to electrically connect the first electrode and the second electrode with the plurality of electrode pads,
wherein a distance between the first conductive member and the second conductive member is greater than a distance between the first electrode and the second electrode,))
wherein the second electrode (37, 371) penetrates the first semiconductor layer (333) and the active layer (332) and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer (331), the active layer (332), and the first semiconductor layer (333), and
wherein the second electrode (37, 371) contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first semiconductor layer (333), a side surface of the active layer (332), and an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer (331).
Rin‘722 is silent upon the provision of wherein
a first conductive member and a second conductive member configured to electrically connect the first electrode and the second electrode with the plurality of electrode pads,
wherein a distance between the first conductive member and the second conductive member is greater than a distance between the first electrode and the second electrode,
However, same prior art Rin‘722 teaches in another embodiment (fig. 15) wherein:
a first conductive member (858) and a second conductive member (878) configured to electrically connect the first electrode (85) and the second electrode (87) ((with the plurality of electrode pads)),
wherein a distance between the first conductive member (858) and the second conductive member (878) is greater than a distance between the first electrode (85) and the second electrode (87),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of fig. 15 and fig. 17 to include the solder balls to connect the LED to another device according to the teachings of fig. 15 to achieve more flexibility in the connections and relative positions of the LED and the other device.
But Rin‘722 is silent upon the provision of wherein
a substrate comprising a thin film transistor (TFT) layer that comprises a TFT circuit and a plurality of electrode pads on the TFT layer;
a plurality of inorganic light emitting devices respectively comprising a first electrode and a second electrode connected with the plurality of electrode pads,
an insulating layer covered the first electrode and the second electrode, and comprising via holes at positions corresponding to the first electrode and the second electrode; and
a first conductive member and a second conductive member coupled to the first electrode and the second electrode, respectively, through the via holes,
However, Moon‘268 teaches a similar device (fig. 4-5), wherein
a substrate comprising a thin film transistor (TFT) (T2) layer that comprises a TFT circuit and a plurality of electrode pads (AE, CE) on the TFT layer;
a plurality of inorganic light emitting devices (D1, D2) respectively comprising a first electrode (P1) and a second electrode (P2) connected with the plurality of electrode pads (AE, CE),
an insulating layer (315) covered the first electrode (P1) and the second electrode (P2), and comprising via holes (PCH1, PCH2) at positions corresponding to the first electrode (P1) and the second electrode (P2); and
a first conductive member (E1) and a second conductive member (E2) coupled to the first electrode (P1) and the second electrode (P2), respectively, through the via holes (PCH1, PCH2),
Rin‘722 and Moon‘268 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Rin‘722 with the features of Moon‘268 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Rin‘722 and Moon‘268 to use light emitting device with an TFT substrate in a display device according to the teachings of Moon‘268 as these are essential and conventional devices used in ‘a notebook computer, a tablet computer, a smart phone, a portable display device, and a portable information device, in addition to a display screen for a television and a monitor’. See Moon‘268, ¶ [0003].
Regarding claim 7, Rin‘722 modified with Moon‘268 further teaches, “The display device of claim 6, wherein the first conductive member (E1, fig. 4-5, Moon‘268) is between the first electrode (P1) and a corresponding electrode pad (AE) among the plurality of electrode pads, and
wherein the second conductive member (E2) is between the second electrode (P2) and another corresponding electrode pad (CE) among the plurality of electrode pads”.
Regarding claim 8, Rin‘722 modified with Moon‘268 further teaches, “The display device of claim 7, wherein a width of the first conductive member (858, fig. 15, Rin‘722) is narrower than a width of the first electrode (85)”.
Regarding claim 9, Rin‘722 modified with Moon‘268 further teaches, “The display device of claim 7, wherein a width of the second conductive member (878, fig. 15, Rin‘722) is narrower than a width of the second electrode (87)”.
Regarding claim 10, Rin‘722 modified with Moon‘268 further teaches, “The display device of claim 6, wherein the insulating layer (315, fig. 4, Moon‘268) comprises vias (PCH1, PCH2) formed at positions corresponding to the first electrode (P1) and the second electrode (P2), and wherein the first conductive member (E1) and the second conductive member (E2) are disposed in the vias (PCH1, PCH2)”.
Regarding claim 11, Rin‘722 modified with Moon‘268 further teaches, “The display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting devices (D1, D2, fig. 4-5, Moon‘268) respectively comprises the insulating layer (315) and the first conductive member (E1) and the second conductive member (E2)”.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon‘268 in view of Rin‘722.
Regarding independent claim 18, Moon‘268 teaches, “A display device (fig. 1-7; ¶ [0033] - ¶ [0143]), comprising:
a substrate comprising a thin film transistor (TFT) layer (T2 etc, fig. 4-5) that comprises a first electrode pad (AE) and a second electrode pad (CE);
an inorganic light emitting device (D1, D2) comprising a first electrode (P1) and a second electrode (P2) electrically connected to the first electrode pad (AE) and the second electrode pad (CE), respectively, a first semiconductor layer (350) coupled to the first electrode (P1), and a second semiconductor layer (320) coupled to the second electrode (P2);
an active layer (330) disposed between the first semiconductor layer (350) and the second semiconductor layer (320);
an insulating layer (315) between the substrate and the inorganic light emitting device (D1, D2); and
((a first conductive member between the first electrode and the first electrode pad, and a second conductive member between the second electrode and the second electrode pad,
wherein a distance between the first conductive member and the second conductive member is greater than a distance between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein the second electrode penetrates the first semiconductor layer and the active layer and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer, the active layer, and the first semiconductor layer, and
wherein the second electrode contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, and an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer)).
But Moon‘268 is silent upon the provision of wherein
a first conductive member between the first electrode and the first electrode pad, and a second conductive member between the second electrode and the second electrode pad,
wherein a distance between the first conductive member and the second conductive member is greater than a distance between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein the second electrode penetrates the first semiconductor layer and the active layer and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer, the active layer, and the first semiconductor layer, and
wherein the second electrode contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first semiconductor layer, a side surface of the active layer, and an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer.
Rin‘722 teaches a similar LED device, wherein
a first conductive member (858, fig. 15) between the first electrode (85) and the first electrode pad (895), and a second conductive member (878) between the second electrode (87) and the second electrode pad (897),
wherein a distance between the first conductive member (858) and the second conductive member (878) is greater than a distance between the first electrode (85) and the second electrode (87),
wherein the second electrode (37, fig. 17) penetrates the first semiconductor layer (333) and the active layer (332) and directly contacts the second semiconductor layer (331), the active layer (332), and the first semiconductor layer (333),
wherein the second electrode (37) contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first semiconductor layer (333), a side surface of the active layer (332), and an upper surface of the second semiconductor layer (331)”.
Moon‘268 and Rin‘722 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Moon‘268 with the features of Rin‘722 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Moon‘268 and Rin‘722 to form the conductive members and electrodes according to the teachings of Rin‘722 with a motivation of increasing light-emission luminance. See Rin‘722, ABSTRACT.
Regarding claim 19, Moon‘268 modified with Rin‘722 further teach, “The display device of claim 18, wherein a width of the first conductive member (858, fig. 15, Rin‘722) is narrower than a width of the first electrode (85)”.
Regarding claim 20, Moon‘268 modified with Rin‘722 further teach, “The display device of claim 18, wherein a width of the second conductive member (878, fig. 15, Rin‘722) is narrower than a width of the second electrode (87)”.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817