Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 1/28/2026, with respect to claims 1-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The final rejection of claims 1-19 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being 6. unpatentable over ONO et al. (US 2014/0131696) in view Ahmadi et al. (Materials issues and devices of @ and B Ga2O3) and Tokuta et al. (JP 2018-082144).
With respect to Claims 1, 2, 9, and 15, ONO teaches a semiconductor device 10 (i.e. TFT) at least a crystalline oxide semiconductor layer 24 having a band gap (i.e. containing Ga2O3). The crystalline oxide semiconductor layer is in contact with a gate insulating film 16 and contains Ga203 or the mixed crystal thereof. The semiconductor device has a field-effect mobility of 30 cm2/Vs or higher. (see paragraphs 78, 84, and 85; Figs. 1 and 2H).
ONO fails to explicitly recite the semiconductor layer of Ga2O3 having a band gap of 3eV or more (i.e. 5.3 eV). However, Ahmadi discloses semiconductor layer of Ga2O3 having a band gap of 3eV or more (i.e. 5.3 eV) (see page 2 2ⁿᵈ paragraph). Thus, ONO and Ahmadi have substantially the same environment of a semiconductor layer of Ga2O3 used in a power semiconductor device. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate a semiconductor layer of Ga2O3 having a band gap of 3eV or more for the semiconductor layer of ONO, since this band gap for Ga2O3 would facilitate in a high performance and improve thermal conductivity for a power device as taught by Ahmadi.
With respect to Claims 3 and 10-12, Tokuta discloses it is well known in the semiconductor industry of transistors (see page 5 lines 38-42) to have a n-type and p-type dopants for a vertical power MOSFET.
With respect to Claim 8, Tokuta discloses it is well known in the semiconductor industry the crystalline oxide semiconductor layer has a corundum structure (see page 6 lines 40-47).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO et al. (US 2014/0131696), Ahmadi et al. (Materials issues and devices of @ and B Ga2O3) , and Tokuta et al. (JP 2018-082144) and as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shibuya T (JP 2013175747).
With respect to Claim 13, ONO-Ahmadi-Tokuta disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein an on/off ratio is 1000 or more. However, Shibuya discloses wherein an on/off ratio is 10 sup.9. (see English Text). However, the selection of the claimed device parameters would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before he effective filing date was made to provide an on/off ratio is within the claimed range, since it is well settle that when the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to Claim 14, ONO-Ahmadi-Tokuta disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the semiconductor device is normally off. However, Shibuya discloses wherein the semiconductor device is normally off (see English Text). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ONO-Ahmadi-Tokuta to provide wherein the semiconductor device is normally off as taught by Shibuya for a purpose of improving the performance of the semiconductor device.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. (US 12,284,822). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application and the patent both recite a crystalline oxide semiconductor layer having a band gap of 3 eV or more. A high-resistance oxide film on which the crystalline oxide semiconductor layer is located, wherein the high-resistance oxide film has a resistance of 1.0x10⁶ Ω cm or higher. The semiconductor device has a field-effect mobility of 30 cm²/V·s or higher.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4-7, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9.A high-resistance oxide film on which the crystalline oxide semiconductor layer is located, and wherein the high-resistance oxide film has a resistance of 1.0x10⁶ Ω cm or higher.in claim 4.
The semiconductor device is configured to allow a drain current to flow upon a drain voltage (Vd) being 10 V and a gate voltage (Vg) being 4 V or more in claim 18.
The semiconductor device is configured to allow a drain current of 10 µA or more to flow upon drain voltage (Vd) being 10 V and gate voltage (Vg) being 5 V or more in claim 19.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/February 15, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897