DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 6, 10, 13, 17 and 21 have been amended; and claims 1-25 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the word “apparatus” in “The apparatus of claim 21…” should be replaced by “method” as claim 24 depends on a method claim 21. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13, 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10, from which claim 13 depends, recites that the conductive core portion of the second pillar “includes a first conductive material and a second conductive material,” and that “at least a portion of the second conductive material is surrounded by the first conductive material.” Claim 13 recites that “the conductive core portion of the second pillar includes tungsten, and at least a portion of the tungsten is surrounded by the second conductive material of the conductive core portion.”
It is unclear whether the recited tungsten is intended to be the second conductive material of claim 10, or a further, third conductive material of the conductive core portion. Under the first interpretation, the claim requires a portion of the tungsten be surrounded by the tungsten itself, which is not a structure the claim can define. Under the second interpretation, the claim requires a third conductive material, distinct from the first and second conductive materials of claim 10, that is surrounded by the second conductive material.
For purpose of examination, the second interpretation is adopted: tungsten is treated as a third conductive material of the conductive core portion, at least a portion of which is surrounded by the second conductive material. Clarification is requested.
Claims 17 and 21 recites the limitation "the first conductive structure and the second conductive structure" in the last limitation of both claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, and 14-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimabukuro et al. (US 2016/0329341 A1, hereinafter “Shimabukuro”) in view of Kimura et al. (USPN 9576967 B1, hereinafter “Kimura”) and IION et al. (US 2012/0241843 A1, hereinafter “IINO”).
In regards to claim 1, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) an apparatus comprising:
tiers located one over another (3, 19), the tiers including respective memory cells and control gates for the memory cells;
conductive contacts (303) contacting the control gates, the conductive contacts (303) having different lengths extending in a direction from one tier to another tier among the tiers (See, for example, Fig. 2B); and
a contact structure (109/111) adjacent one of the conductive contacts (303), the contact structure (109/111) including a conductive core portion (111) extending through the tiers and separated from the control gates, and
a dielectric liner portion (109) adjacent the conductive core portion (111), the dielectric liner portion (109) including a first dielectric material (801), a second dielectric material (901) adjacent the first dielectric material (801), and a third dielectric material (1001) adjacent the second dielectric material (901); and wherein the conductive core portion (111) includes a first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) and a second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28), at least a portion of the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion (See, for example, 801, 901, 1001on sidewall 705, See Fig. 14), and at least a portion of the second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28).
Shimabukuro discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that the conductive contacts including a first conductive contact and a second conductive contact; and
a contact structure adjacent and between the first conductive contact and the second conductive contact.
Kimura while disclosing (See, for example, annotated Fig. 21B included below) the conductive contacts including a first conductive contact (661) and a second conductive contact (662); and
a contact structure (1551) adjacent and between the first conductive contact (661) and the second conductive contact (662).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Kimura into Shimabukuro because having the patterning film prevents impurity implantation into the semiconductor substrate beneath the first memory openings, thereby avoiding the formation of unwanted epitaxial channel portions at the bottom pf the support openings.
Shimabukuro is silent about the first tier including a first control gate of the control gates and a first silicon dioxide material formed over the first control gate, the second tier including a second control gate of the control gates and a second silicon dioxide material formed over the second control gate
a first silicon nitride material formed over the first silicon dioxide material;
a first additional silicon oxide material formed over the first silicon nitride material;
a second silicon nitride material formed over the second silicon dioxide material;
a second additional silicon oxide material formed over the second silicon nitride material;
the first conductive contact extends through the first additional silicon oxide
material, through the first silicon nitride material, and through the first silicon dioxide material, and contacts the first control gate; and the second conductive contact extends through the second additional silicon oxide material, through the second silicon nitride material, and through the second silicon dioxide material, and contacts the second control gate.
IINO while disclosing a nonvolatile semiconductor device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 8)
the first tier including a first control gate (61) of the control gates and a first silicon dioxide material (62) formed over the first control gate (61), the second tier including a second control gate (61) of the control gates and a second silicon dioxide material (62) formed over the second control gate (61)
a first silicon nitride material (19a) formed over the first silicon dioxide material (62);
a first additional silicon oxide material (19b) formed over the first silicon nitride material (19a);
a second silicon nitride material (19a) formed over the second silicon dioxide material (62);
a second additional silicon oxide material (19b) formed over the second silicon nitride material (19a);
the first conductive contact (31) extends through the first additional silicon oxide
material (19b), through the first silicon nitride material (19a), and through the first silicon dioxide material (62), and
contacts the first control gate (61); and
the second conductive contact (31) extends through the second additional silicon oxide material (19b), through the second silicon nitride material (19a), and through the second silicon dioxide material (62), and contacts the second control gate (61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shimabukuro by IINO because this would provide reduced thermal contraction to suppress a film stress, and reduce warpage of the wafer, and hence stable performance and high productivity are achieved.
In regards to claim 10, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) an apparatus comprising:
tiers located one over another (3, 19), the tiers including respective memory cells and control gates for the memory cells,
the control gates (3) including respective portions that collectively form a staircase structure;
a first pillar (303) including a conductive material extending in a direction from one tier to another tier among the tiers and contacting one of the control gates at a location of the staircase structure (See, for example, Fig. 2B); and
a second pillar (109/111) adjacent the first pillar (303) and separated from the control gates (3), the second pillar (109/111) including a conductive core portion (111) and a dielectric liner portion (109) adjacent the conductive core portion (111), the dielectric liner portion (109) including a first dielectric material (1001) adjacent the conductive core portion (111), a second dielectric material (901) adjacent the first dielectric material (1001), and a third dielectric material (801) adjacent the second dielectric material (901); and wherein the conductive core portion (111) includes a first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) and a second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28), at least a portion of the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion (See, for example, 801, 901, 1001on sidewall 705, See Fig. 14), and at least a portion of the second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28).
Shimabukuro discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that an additional pillar including an additional conductive material extending in the direction from one tier to another tier among the tiers and contacting a second control gate of the control gates at the location of the staircase structure; and
a second pillar adjacent and between the first pillar and the additional pillar and separated from the control gates.
Kimura discloses (See, for example, annotated Fig. 21B included below) an additional pillar (662) including an additional conductive material (66) extending in the direction from one tier to another tier among the tiers and contacting a second control gate of the control gates at the location of the staircase structure (See, for example, Col. 21 line 60 thru Col. 22 line 3); and
a second pillar (1551) adjacent and between the first pillar (661) and the additional pillar (662) and separated from the control gates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Kimura into Shimabukuro because having the patterning film prevents impurity implantation into the semiconductor substrate beneath the first memory openings, thereby avoiding the formation of unwanted epitaxial channel portions at the bottom pf the support openings.
Shimabukuro is silent about the first tier including a first control gate of the control gates and a first silicon dioxide material formed over the first control gate, the second tier including a second control gate of the control gates and a second silicon dioxide material formed over the second control gate
a first silicon nitride material formed over the first silicon dioxide material;
a first additional silicon oxide material formed over the first silicon nitride material;
a second silicon nitride material formed over the second silicon dioxide material;
a second additional silicon oxide material formed over the second silicon nitride material;
the first pillar extends through the first additional silicon oxide
material, through the first silicon nitride material, and through the first silicon dioxide material, and contacts the first control gate; and
the second pillar extends through the second additional silicon oxide material, through the second silicon nitride material, and through the second silicon dioxide material, and contacts the second control gate.
IINO while disclosing a nonvolatile semiconductor device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 8)
the first tier including a first control gate (61) of the control gates and a first silicon dioxide material (62) formed over the first control gate (61), the second tier including a second control gate (61) of the control gates and a second silicon dioxide material (62) formed over the second control gate (61)
a first silicon nitride material (19a) formed over the first silicon dioxide material (62);
a first additional silicon oxide material (19b) formed over the first silicon nitride material (19a);
a second silicon nitride material (19a) formed over the second silicon dioxide material (62);
a second additional silicon oxide material (19b) formed over the second silicon nitride material (19a);
the first pillar (31) extends through the first additional silicon oxide
material (19b), through the first silicon nitride material (19a), and through the first silicon dioxide material (62), and
contacts the first control gate (61); and
the second pillar (31) extends through the second additional silicon oxide material (19b), through the second silicon nitride material (19a), and through the second silicon dioxide material (62), and contacts the second control gate (61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shimabukuro by IINO because this would provide reduced thermal contraction to suppress a film stress, and reduce warpage of the wafer, and hence stable performance and high productivity are achieved.
In regards to claim 17, Shimabukuro (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) a method comprising:
forming levels of first dielectric materials (19) interleaved with levels of second dielectric materials (121);
forming a contact structure (109/111) through the levels of first dielectric materials and the levels of second dielectric materials (See, for example, Fig. 21)
wherein forming the contact structure (109/111) includes forming a dielectric liner portion (109) and forming a conductive core portion (111) adjacent the dielectric liner portion (109),
the dielectric liner portion (109) including silicon nitride material (901) between a first silicon dioxide material (801) and a second silicon dioxide material (1001);
wherein the conductive core portion (111) includes a first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) and a second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28), at least a portion of the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion (See, for example, 801, 901, 1001on sidewall 705, See Fig. 14), and at least a portion of the second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28);
replacing the levels of second dielectric materials with respective levels of conductive materials (See, for example, Figs. 22/23) ,
wherein the levels of conductive materials (3) form respective control gates for memory cells of a memory device; and
forming a first conductive contact (303) adjacent the contact structure (109/111) and contacting a first level of the levels of conductive materials (3, See, for example, Fig. 2B).
Shimabukuro discloses all limitations of claim 1 except that forming a second conductive contact adjacent the contact structure and contacting a second level of the levels of conductive materials, wherein the contact structure is between the first conductive structure and the second conductive structure.
Kimura discloses (See, for example, annotated Fig. 21B included below) forming a second conductive contact (662) adjacent the contact structure (1551) and contacting a second level of the levels of conductive materials, wherein the contact structure (1551) is between the first conductive structure (661) and the second conductive structure (662).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Kimura into Shimabukuro because having the patterning film prevents impurity implantation into the semiconductor substrate beneath the first memory openings, thereby avoiding the formation of unwanted epitaxial channel portions at the bottom pf the support openings.
Shimabukuro is silent about forming a first silicon nitride material over a first level of the levels of first dielectric materials at the staircase structure;
forming a first silicon oxide material over the first silicon nitride material;
forming a second silicon nitride material over a second level of the levels of first dielectric materials at the staircase structure;
forming a second silicon oxide material formed over the second silicon nitride material; wherein the levels of conductive materials include a first level of the conductive levels contacting the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials, and a second level of the conductive levels contacting the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials, wherein the first conductive contact extends through the first silicon oxide material, through the first silicon nitride material. and through the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials; wherein the second conductive contact extends through the second silicon oxide material, through the second silicon nitride material, and through the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials.
IINO while disclosing a nonvolatile semiconductor device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 8) forming a first silicon nitride material (19a) over a first level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62) at the staircase structure;
forming a first silicon oxide material (19b) over the first silicon nitride material (19a);
forming a second silicon nitride material (19a) over a second level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62) at the staircase structure;
forming a second silicon oxide material (19b) formed over the second silicon nitride material (19a);
wherein the levels of conductive materials include a first level of the conductive levels (61) contacting the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62), and a second level of the conductive levels (61) contacting the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62),
wherein the first conductive contact (31) extends through the first silicon oxide material (19b), through the first silicon nitride material (19a) and through the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62);
wherein the second conductive contact (31) extends through the second silicon oxide material (19b), through the second silicon nitride material (19a), and through the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shimabukuro by IINO because this would provide reduced thermal contraction to suppress a film stress, and reduce warpage of the wafer, and hence stable performance and high productivity are achieved.
In regards to claim 21, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) a method comprising:
forming levels of first dielectric materials (19) interleaved with levels of second dielectric materials (121), the levels of first dielectric materials (19) having respective portions forming part of a staircase structure;
forming a contact structure (109/111) in an opening in the levels of first dielectric materials (19) and the levels of second dielectric materials (121) at the staircase structure,
wherein forming the contact structure (109/111) includes forming a dielectric liner portion (109) in the opening, and
forming a conductive core portion (111) in the opening such that at least a portion of the conductive core portion (111) is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion (109),
wherein the conductive core portion (111) includes a first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) and a second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28), at least a portion of the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion (See, for example, 801, 901, 1001on sidewall 705, See Fig. 14), and at least a portion of the second conductive material (1701, See Fig. 28) is surrounded by the first conductive material (1401, See Fig. 28); and
forming the dielectric liner portion (109) includes: forming a first dielectric material (801) in the opening;
forming a second dielectric material (901) adjacent the first dielectric material (801); and
forming a third dielectric material (1001) adjacent the second dielectric material (901); replacing the levels of second dielectric materials (121) with respective levels of conductive materials (3, See, for example, Figs. 22/23),
wherein the levels of conductive materials (3) form respective control gates for memory cells of a memory device; and
forming a fist conductive contact (303) adjacent the contact structure and contacting a first level of the levels of conductive materials (3).
Shimabukuro discloses all limitations of claim 1 except that forming a second conductive contact adjacent the contact structure and contacting a second level of the levels of conductive materials, wherein the contact structure is between the first conductive structure and the second conductive structure.
Kimura discloses (See, for example, annotated Fig. 21B included below) forming a second conductive contact (662) adjacent the contact structure (1551) and contacting a second level of the levels of conductive materials, wherein the contact structure (1551) is between the first conductive structure (661) and the second conductive structure (662).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Kimura into Shimabukuro because having the patterning film prevents impurity implantation into the semiconductor substrate beneath the first memory openings, thereby avoiding the formation of unwanted epitaxial channel portions at the bottom pf the support openings.
Shimabukuro is silent about forming a first silicon nitride material over a first level of the levels of first dielectric materials at the staircase structure;
forming a first silicon oxide material over the first silicon nitride material;
forming a second silicon nitride material over a second level of the levels of first dielectric materials at the staircase structure;
forming a second silicon oxide material formed over the second silicon nitride material;
wherein the levels of conductive materials include a first level of the conductive levels contacting the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials, and a second level of the conductive levels contacting the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials,
wherein the first conductive contact extends through the first silicon oxide material, through the first silicon nitride material. and through the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials;
wherein the second conductive contact extends through the second silicon oxide material, through the second silicon nitride material, and through the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials.
IINO while disclosing a nonvolatile semiconductor device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 8)
forming a first silicon nitride material (19a) over a first level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62) at the staircase structure;
forming a first silicon oxide material (19b) over the first silicon nitride material (19a);
forming a second silicon nitride material (19a) over a second level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62) at the staircase structure;
forming a second silicon oxide material (19b) formed over the second silicon nitride material (19a);
wherein the levels of conductive materials include a first level of the conductive levels (61) contacting the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62), and a second level of the conductive levels (61) contacting the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62),
wherein the first conductive contact (31) extends through the first silicon oxide material (19b), through the first silicon nitride material (19a) and through the first level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62);
wherein the second conductive contact (31) extends through the second silicon oxide material (19b), through the second silicon nitride material (19a), and through the second level of the levels of first dielectric materials (62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shimabukuro by IINO because this would provide reduced thermal contraction to suppress a film stress, and reduce warpage of the wafer, and hence stable performance and high productivity are achieved.
In regards to claim 2, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the first (801) and third (1001) dielectric materials are formed from a same material (See, for example, Pars [0053] and [0055]).
In regards to claim 3, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the first dielectric material (801) includes silicon dioxide (See, for example, Par [0053), and the second dielectric material (901) includes silicon nitride (See, for example, Par [0054]).
In regards to claim 4, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the third dielectric material (1001) includes silicon dioxide (Par [0055]).
In regards to claim 6, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 28) at least one of the first conductive material (1401) and the second conductive material (1701).
Shimabukuro further teaches that the conductive core material 111 of the support member 107 “may comprise any suitable electrically conductive material, such as a metal material (e.g., a metal or metal alloy, including a metal nitride or metal silicide) or a doped semiconductor material. of the conductive core portion includes metal.”, See Par [0029]. Shimabukuro thus expressly considers a metal core an alternative to the semiconductor core of Fig. 28, and identifies the condition under which the semiconductor alternative is appropriate. The embodiment of Fig. 28 “may be used, for example, when the semiconductor material of layers 1701 and 1401 has a low enough resistance to provide adequate electrical contact with the doped well region 105 of the substrate 100.”, See Par [0078]. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would understand from this statement that where the semiconductor material does not provide sufficiently low resistance, the metal alternative explicitly identified by Shimabukuro is to be used instead. It additionally teaches the specific metal fill scheme, in context of filling the backside recesses 2202, “depositing a metal nitride liner material (e.g., tungsten nitride (WN) or titanium nitride (TiN) liner, not shown in FIG. 23) over the back side recesses 2202, followed by depositing a metal (e.g., tungsten) over the metal nitride liner material to fill the back side recesses 2202.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form at least one of 1401 and 1701 of a metal material as taught by Shimabukuro, in place of or in addition to the semiconductor material because this would help reduce the resistance of the conductive path between the core and the underlying doped region. Such a substitution of one conductive fill material for another, both explicitly disclosed by the same reference for the same structure is the simple substitution of one known element for another yielding predictable results. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See also MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
In regards to claim 5, Shimabukuro discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that the second dielectric material has a thickness less than a thickness of each of the first and second dielectric materials.
Notwithstanding, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular relative dimensions because applicant has not disclosed that the relative dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thickness range or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919, f.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regards to claim 7, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) that each of the conductive contacts (109/111) includes a dielectric liner portion (109) having a different structure from the dielectric liner portion of the contact structure (109/111).
In regards to claim 8, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) each of the conductive contacts (109/111) includes a conductive core portion (111) having a same structure as the conductive core portion of the contact structure.
In regards to claim 9, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the apparatus comprises a memory device, the memory device including circuitry located under the tiers, and the conductive core portion of the contact structure is coupled to the circuitry (See, for example, Abstract, Par [0020], and see also Claim 12).
In regards to claim 11, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the second dielectric material includes silicon nitride (901, See, for example, Par [0054]).
In regards to claim 12, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the first (1001) and third (801) dielectric materials include silicon dioxide (See, for example, Pars [0053] and [0055]).
In regards to claim 14, Shimabukuro as modified above discloses the conductive material of the first pillar includes metal.
However, the Shimabukuro is silent about the conductive core portion includes tungsten.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include tungsten for the conductive core portion or the conductive material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 15, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the first pillar includes a dielectric liner portion (109) surrounding at least a portion of the tungsten of the conductive material (111) of the first pillar.
In regards to claim 16, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) first pillar includes a conductive core portion (111) having a different structure from a structure of the conductive core portion (111) of the second pillar (See, for example, pillars 107, Fig. 2A).
In regards to claim 18, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the conductive core portion (111) includes a metal material (See, for example, Par [0029]).
In regards to claim 19, Shimabukuro as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) forming the dielectric liner portion (109) includes:
forming an opening (501, See, for example, Fig. 6) through the levels of first dielectric materials (19) and the levels of second dielectric materials (121); wherein a portion of the levels of first dielectric materials (62, IION) is exposed at the opening after the opening is formed, an wherein a portion of the levels of second dielectric materials (62, IION) exposed at the opening after the opening is formed;
removing a portion of the levels of second dielectric materials (121) exposed at the opening (501) to form recesses (See, for example, Fig. 6;
forming the first silicon dioxide material in the recesses and on a sidewall of the opening (See, for example, Fig. 8 and Par [0053]);
forming the silicon nitride material on the first silicon dioxide material (See, for example, Fig. 9 and Par [0054]);
; and
forming the second silicon dioxide material on the silicon nitride material (See, for example, Fig. 10 and Par [0055]).
In regards to claim 20, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) forming the conductive core portion (111) includes forming a metal material (See, for example, Par [0029]) in the opening such that at least a portion of the metal material is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion (109).
In regards to claim 22, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the second dielectric material (901) includes silicon nitride (Par [0054).
In regards to claim 23, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the first (801) and third (1001) dielectric materials include silicon dioxide (See, for example, Pars [0053] and [0055).
In regards to claim 24, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the levels of conductive materials include tungsten (See, for example, Par [0042]).
In regards to claim 25, Shimabukuro discloses (See, for example, Figs. 2/22/23) the levels of first dielectric materials (19) include silicon dioxide (See, for example, Par [0049]), and the levels of second dielectric materials (121) include silicon nitride (See, for example, Par [0049]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimabukuro et al. in view of Kimura and IION as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Inohara (USPN 10957641 B2, hereinafter “Inohara”)
In regards to claim 13, Shimabukuro as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 10 except that the conductive core portion of the second pillar includes tungsten, and at least a portion of the tungsten is surrounded by the second conductive material of the conductive core portion.
Inohara while disclosing a semiconductor device teaches (See, for example, Fig. 1) the conductive core portion of the second pillar includes tungsten (40A), and at least a portion of the tungsten (40A) is surrounded by the second 3conductive material (40b1) of the conductive core portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form Shimabukuro’s conductive core material 111 as the titanium/titanium nitride/tungsten plug of Inohara because this would help obtain the lower resistance of a tungsten fill.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, with respect to each of independent claims 1, 10, 17, and 21, that the combination of Shimabukuro, Kimura, and Iino does not teach “"the conductive core portion includes a first conductive material and a second conductive material, at least a portion of the first conductive material is surrounded by the dielectric liner portion, and at least a portion of the second conductive material is surrounded by the first conductive material."
The argument is not persuasive because Shimabukuro explicitly teaches the added limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim s 1, 10, 17, and 21 above. See the mapping of Shimabukuro’s structure to the first and second conductive materials, and to the dielectric liner portion, set forth in that rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893