DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosas-Maxemin et al. (US 2020/0349617) in view of Gao et al. (CN111144372A) and further in view of Nakhjavani (US 2019/0019407).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art reference discloses a computer-implemented method for performing vehicle spot dispatch (Fig. 5, [0102]: a method for implementing a parking identification system including identifying available listing locations using machine learning and image data) comprising:
analyzing, via one or more processors of the remote computing device, an image of a parking area using a machine learning model to identify an available parking space (Fig. 5, 510 ([0104]; process the captured image data of one or more listing locations using a camera, processes 510-570 are implemented by using the application server, 230; thus, server, 230, is a remote computing device [0102]), 520 ([0105]: determine available listing locations based on image data using machine learning); [0049]: Using machine learning algorithms, a neural network may be trained to identify listing locations. Machine learning algorithms are explained in further detail in the discussion of FIG. 4; [0058] In some examples, the determination of features within geographic area 304, such as parking space availability);
transmitting, via one or more processors of the remote computing device, an identification of the identified available parking space to a client computing device of the user (Fig. 5, 550; [0108]: an address and/or coordinates corresponding to the listing location. In response to securing the listing location, the first wireless device receives a signal within the geographic area, the signal including an identifier; [0109]), processes 510-570 are implemented by using the application server, 230; thus, server, 230, is a remote computing device [0102]);
identifying, via one or more processors of the remote computing device, a vehicle corresponding to a user using a trained neural network ([0008]: identifying, by the computer vision model of the computerized vehicle management system (which is the application server and is a remote computing device), one or more vehicle specific parameters associated with the vehicle; [0110]: using one or more cameras at an entrance to the parking facility, a vehicle's information is recorded at an entrance to a parking facility, including license plate information, a VIN, or other vehicle-specific information such as color, model, make, type, and/or the like. Such information may be processed locally using ML…other parameters such as the name registered for the vehicle, payment information, or other relevant information may be inputted automatically; [0079]: a machine learning (ML) model may be trained/tuned based on training data collected from positive recognition, false recognition, and/or other criteria. In some aspects, the ML model may be a deep neural network, Bayesian network, and/or the like and/or combinations thereof; [0082]; an ML model neural network includes neural network modules that comprise feed-forward computation graphs with input nodes, hidden layers, and output nodes).
Rosas-Maxemin differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose the trained neural network for identifying the vehicle is a ResNet having at least 50 layers. Thus, whether single-stage or not, the Gao reference teaches the method utilizes deep learning to identify image of the vehicle. The vehicle model recognition is a convolutional neural network, and also utilize Resnet-50 (Abstract; [0010, 0058, 0085]. It would have been within the level of one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the image identification as the ResNet having at least 50 layers (ResNet-50) to implement Rosas-Maxemin’s process for identifying the vehicle information. The proposed implementation would allow the prior art “identifying” step to be performed by a highly accurate and computationally efficient image recognition and classification architecture, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Rosas-Maxemin discloses that the listing location is an electric vehicle (EV) charging station [0076]. Rosas-Maxemin does not disclose the identifying an electric vehicle parking space from the image. Nakhjavani discloses a real-time parking lot analysis and management comprising a camera for obtaining an image of the real-time parking lot to detected occupied and available parking spaces as well as identifying the parking space as EV parking spaces or handicap parking spaces [0041-0042, 0050, 0056-00570069]. It would have been within the level of one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the identification of the electric vehicle parking space to implement Rosas-Maxemin’s process for identifying the electric vehicle parking space. The proposed implementation would allow the prior art “identifying” step to be performed by a highly accurate and computationally efficient image recognition and classification architecture, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2: Rosas-Maxemin discloses the parking area is a mixed-use parking area [0047] ;(vehicle parking locations, including a lot, garage (commercial or residential), and/or other location with a space suitable for occupation, including parking for a vehicle).
Regarding claim 3: Rosas-Maxemin discloses the vehicle is an electric vehicle [0076, 0151].
Regarding claim 4: Rosas-Maxemin discloses analyzing the image of the parking area using the machine learning model to identify the available parking space includes identifying a parking location nearby a location of the user [0011, 0047, 0087].
Regarding claim 5, Rosas-Maxemin further discloses “receiving the image of the parking area from a camera capture device stationed in the parking area” (Fig. 3, [0072]: camera 310 overlooks a lot within geographic area 304; [0104] During a process 510, image data of one or more listing locations is captured using at least one camera. Image data may be captured as discussed above with respect to FIG. 3. The image data may include portions of one or more listing locations).
Regarding claim 6: Rosas-Maxemin discloses receiving a parking space request from the user; and enqueueing the parking space request in a parking space request queue [0017, 0053, 0065, 0076].
Regarding claim 7: Rosas-Maxemin discloses transmitting the identification of the identified parking space includes dequeueing the parking space request from the parking space request queue (departure from the parking lot; thus, the request list is removed so that other vehicle’s request may be placed on the list) [0113, 0131-0133].
Regarding claims 8 and 15: See claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9: See claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10: See claim 3 above.
Regarding claims 11 and 17: See claim 4 above.
Regarding claims 12 and 18: See claim 5 above.
Regarding claims 13 and 19: See claim 6 above.
Regarding claims 14 and 20: See claim 7 above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosas-Maxemin et al. (US 2020/0349617) in view of Gao et al. (CN111144372A) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Sadeghi (US 2017/0323227).
Regarding claim 16: Rosas-Maxemin in view of Gao does not disclose the removal of a user’s command after the command is expired. Sadeghi discloses the computer to automatically remove the user command when the user command is expired [0102]. Sadeghi discloses a parking space management system by using artificial intelligence and computer vision comprising the removal of a user command/request once a predetermined time has passed [0102]. It would have been within the level of one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the parking management system of Sadeghi as the neural network [0042] to implement Rosas-Maxemin’s and Gao’s process for identifying the vehicle information. The proposed implementation would allow the system to conveniently and effectively free up the queue or request list so that additional requests may be made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,789,846 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,348,461. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the patents contain all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application. The same limitations are: “enqueueing and dequeueing the parking space requests; analyzing an image of a parking area to identify an available parking space; and transmitting an identification of the identified available parking space to the user’.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 03/09/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Maxemin et al. (US 2020/0349617) in view of Gao et al. (CN111144372A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of Nakhjavani (US 2019/0019407).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 04/01/26