Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et
al. (US 2018/0204916 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu et al. show all the elements of the claimed invention in
figs. 1 and 9. It is a high electron mobility transistor (HEMT) ([0044]), comprising: a
buffer layer [12] ([0045]) on a substrate [10] ([0045]); a barrier layer [28] on the
buffer layer [12]; a p-type semiconductor layer [22] ([0045]) on the barrier layer [28];
and a first layer [30] ([0045]) adjacent to a first side (right side) of the p-type
semiconductor layer [22] and on and directly contacting the barrier layer [28] without
extending to a second side (left side) of the p-type semiconductor layer [22], wherein the first layer [30] is a single layer made of a single material (silicon oxide) [0095].
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu et al. further disclose the first layer [30] comprises
a negative charge region ([0095], "silicon oxide layer [30] side is negative" which means
silicon oxide layer [30] has negative charge.).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu et al. further disclose a second layer [28, 30, 32] ([0045])
adjacent to the second side (left side) of the p-type semiconductor layer [22] without
extending to the first side (right side) of the p-type semiconductor layer [22].
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu et al. further disclose the second layer comprises a first
positive charge region ([0095], "second aluminum oxide layer [32] side is positive" which
means second aluminum oxide layer [32] has positive charge.).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu et al. further disclose a passivation layer [34] ([0045]) on the p-type semiconductor layer [22]; a gate electrode [24] ([0045]) on the passivation layer [34] and between the first layer ([30] on right side of the p layer [22]) and the second layer ([28, 30, 32] on the left side of the p layer [22]; and a source electrode [18] ([0045]) and a drain electrode [20] ([0045]) adjacent to two sides of the gate electrode [24].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is urged, in page 6 of the remarks, that Shimizu fails to disclose that the first layer is a single layer made of a single material. However, as mentioned in the rejection, layer [30] is a single layer made of a single material (silicon oxide).
The examiner has considered the NPL reference cited in the parent application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818