Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 34-46, in the reply filed 6/26/2023, and in the election of species requirement, applicant stated that claims 34-43, 45 and 46 read upon the elected species.
Thus, claim 44 is withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Therefore, the restriction/election is hereby made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34-43, 45, 46 and 54-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KR 1020160015174 (of record).
KR teaches that Eragrostis extracts have antioxidant activity and are extracted using ethanol from the plant (Eragrostis), see entire reference, especially pages 2, 4, 6. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, KR teaches the claimed method since the Eragrostis is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it (compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine-claim 46). Note carrier on page 6 (gel). Note oral administration with capsule or the drink (liquid) medicine, under “Description of the embodiments”. Note that all mammals are in need of improved digestive function in an effort to maintain optimal health. Inherently, the compound of Formula (I) comprises between 10 % to 99 % w/w of the oral composition.
Applicant argues that the pending claims do not recite an extract, which the KR reference allegedly teaches according to applicant.
KR does not provide evidence that a compound of Formula (1) is “necessarily and always” present, nor does it inevitably result between “10% to 99% w/w of the oral composition”, according to applicant.
This makes no sense on its face and is not agreed with by the examiner. As stated above, KR teaches that Eragrostis extracts have antioxidant activity and are extracted using ethanol from the plant (Eragrostis), see entire reference, especially pages 2, 4, 6. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, KR teaches the claimed method since the Eragrostis is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it (compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine-claim 46).
Therefore, there will inherently be the same amount as the claimed amount of the claimed compound used in the method.
Applicant argues that allegedly the present application targets the regulation of gut permeability in mammals which reads on anyone thus clearly the claimed invention is still met by KR.
Applicant argues that allegedly KR does not teach significant levels of n-trans-feruloyltyramine but the claims do not require any amount of n-trans-feruloyltyramine thus it can read on ANY amounts.
Note that the carrier can be an excipient which clearly is taught in the reference.
Claims 34-43, 45, 46 and 54-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Okombi et al. (US 2007/0183996-of record)
Okombi teaches that n-trans-feruloyltyramine can be found in Hibiscus and extracted using ethanol, see entire reference, especially paragraphs 16, 21, 131, 139. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, Okombi teaches the claimed method since the Hibiscus is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it, namely the compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine. Note the carriers in paragraph 131, namely excipients, and tablet form which inherently is a pressed powder. Note that all mammals are in need of improved digestive function in an effort to maintain optimal health.
Applicant argues that allegedly Okombi is limited to topical use. Applicant state in their response that, “Example 41 of Okombi is directed to Tablets. However, pharmaceutical preparations of tablets for topical use is known in the art” as are topical being an interchangeable alternative mode of administration with oral in light of these arguments.
Applicant argues that allegedly Okombi does not teach the use of the claimed compound for gut permeability in a mammal which is nonsense since the claims read on anyone.
Applicant argues that allegedly Okombi does not teach significant levels of n-trans-feruloyltyramine but the claims do not require any amount of n-trans-feruloyltyramine thus it can read on ANY amounts.
Note that the carrier can be an excipient which clearly is taught in the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34-43, 45, 46 and 54-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020160015174.
KR teaches that Eragrostis extracts have antioxidant activity and are extracted using ethanol from the plant (Eragrostis), see entire reference, especially pages 2, 4, 6. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, KR teaches the claimed method since the Eragrostis is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it (compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine-claim 46). Note carrier on page 6 (gel). Note oral administration with capsule or the drink (liquid) medicine, under “Description of the embodiments”. Note that all mammals are in need of improved digestive function in an effort to maintain optimal health.
In the event it is seen that the compound of Formula (I) does not inherently contain between 10 % to 99 % of the oral composition (which is NOT being admitted) then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to do so since 10 % to 99 % is a very broad range. Clearly, it would have been well within the purview of the ordinary artisan in an effort to optimize the desired results to use such an amount as the range of 10 % to 99 % is so broad and encompasses amounts which are routinely used in the art. Note that the compound of Formula (I) is clearly a results effective variable and it was clearly obvious at the time the invention was made for one of ordinary skill in the art to use an amount from such a broad range as claimed.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
Applicant argues that KR does not provide evidence that a compound of Formula (1) is “necessarily and always” present, nor does it inevitably result between “10% to 99% w/w of the oral composition”. But as evidenced by applicant themselves from their own specification as noted above, 10% to 99 % is an extremely broad range and in the very least was a result effective variable and would have been obvious to use the compound in the amount of the compound to use in the claimed method.
This makes no sense on its face and is not agreed with by the examiner. As stated above, KR teaches that Eragrostis extracts have antioxidant activity and are extracted using ethanol from the plant (Eragrostis), see entire reference, especially pages 2, 4, 6. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, KR teaches the claimed method since the Eragrostis is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it (compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine-claim 46).
Therefore, there will inherently be the same amount as the claimed amount of the claimed compound used in the method or in the very least would have been obvious to use in an effort to optimize the desired results.
Applicant argues that allegedly the present application targets the regulation of gut permeability in mammals which reads on anyone thus clearly the claimed invention is still met by KR.
Clearly to use the claimed amounts in the very least would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in an effort to optimize the desired results since clearly the compound of Formula I is a result effective variable.
Applicant argues that allegedly KR does not teach significant levels of n-trans-feruloyltyramine but the claims do not require any amount of n-trans-feruloyltyramine thus it can read on ANY amounts.
Note that the carrier can be an excipient which clearly is taught in the reference.
Claims 34-43, 45, 46 and 54-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okombi et al. (US 2007/0183996)
Okombi teaches that n-trans-feruloyltyramine can be found in Hibiscus and extracted using ethanol, see entire reference, especially paragraphs 16, 21, 131, 139. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, Okombi teaches the claimed method since the Hibiscus is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it, namely the compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine. Note the carriers in paragraph 131, namely excipients, and tablet form which inherently is a pressed powder. Note that all mammals are in need of improved digestive function in an effort to maintain optimal health.
In the event it is seen that the compound of Formula (I) does not inherently contain between 10 % to 99 % of the oral composition (which is NOT being admitted) then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to do so since 10 % to 99 % is a very broad range. Clearly, it would have been well within the purview of the ordinary artisan in an effort to optimize the desired results to use such an amount as the range of 10 % to 99 % is so broad and encompasses amounts which are routinely used in the art. Note that the compound of Formula (I) is clearly a results effective variable and it was clearly obvious at the time the invention was made for one of ordinary skill in the art to use an amount from such a broad range as claimed.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
Therefore, there will inherently be the same amount as the claimed amount of the claimed compound used in the method or in the very least would have been obvious to use in an effort to optimize the desired results.
Applicant argues that allegedly the claimed invention is used for a different purpose than that of Okombi but it doesn’t matter since the claimed invention is directed to “regulating gut permeability in a mammal” and “improving digestive function” which read on anyone thus anyone can be seen as reading on the claimed invention.
This makes no sense on its face and is not agreed with by the examiner. As stated above, Okombi teaches that Eragrostis extracts have antioxidant activity and are extracted using ethanol from the plant (Eragrostis), see entire reference, especially pages 2, 4, 6. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, Okombi teaches the claimed method since the Eragrostis is extracted with ethanol and the same extract will inherently have the same compounds in it (compound of Formula (I) and n-trans-feruloyltyramine-claim 46).
Therefore, there will inherently be the same amount as the claimed amount of the claimed compound used in the method or in the very least would have been obvious to use in an effort to optimize the desired results.
Okombi teaches that Eragrostis extracts have antioxidant activity and are extracted using ethanol from the plant (Eragrostis), see entire reference, especially pages 2, 4, 6. Applicant admits on the record in paragraphs 93-100 of the instant specification, that the claimed extract can be made by a simple extraction with ethanol. Thus, the claimed method is taught by the reference.
Applicant argues that allegedly Okombi does not teach the use of the claimed compound for gut permeability in a mammal which is nonsense since the claims read on anyone.
Clearly to use the claimed amounts in the very least would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art in an effort to optimize the desired results since clearly the compound of Formula I is a result effective variable.
Applicant argues that allegedly Okombi does not teach significant levels of n-trans-feruloyltyramine but the claims do not require any amount of n-trans-feruloyltyramine thus it can read on ANY amounts.
Note that the carrier can be an excipient which clearly is taught in the reference.
Double Patenting
Claims 34-43, 45, 46 and 54-67 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,173,136. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 17/828,627 claims a process using the same compound as used in US 11,173,136 and the instant application can be used on anyone thus it is obvious to use the compound in either case.
Claims 34-43, 45, 46 and 54-67 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,382,880.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 17/828,627 claims a process using the same compound as used in US 11, 382,880 and the instant application can be used on anyone thus it is obvious to use the compound in either case.
Applicant has provided no arguments concerning this rejection, thus the rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655