DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The structural formulas “[Formula 3-2]” and “[Formula 3-3]” on pp. 5-6 have poor resolution and are difficult to read.
The structural formula “[Formula 5]” on p. 7 has poor resolution and is difficult to read.
The structural formulas “[Formula 3-2]” and “[Formula 3-3]” on p. 37 have poor resolution and are difficult to read.
The structural formula “[Formula 5]” on p. 40 has poor resolution and is difficult to read.
The structural formulas in paragraph [00221] have poor resolution and are difficult to read
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formula for [Formula 1] has poor resolution and is difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas for [Formula 3-1], [Formula 3-2], and [Formula 3-3] have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formula for [Formula 5] has poor resolution and is difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas for [Formula 6-1] and [Formula 6-2] have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formula for [Formula 1] has poor resolution and is difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas for [Formula 3-1], [Formula 3-2], and [Formula 3-3] have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formula for [Formula 1] has poor resolution and is difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas for [Formula 3-1], [Formula 3-2], and [Formula 3-3] have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formula for [Formula 5] has poor resolution and is difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formulas for [Formula 6-1] and [Formula 6-2] have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: The structural formula for [Formula 4] has poor resolution and is difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 21-22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (WO 2020/022770 A1—US 2021/0277026 A1 used as an English language equivalent) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200235303 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 21: Geum discloses the compounds shown below {(paragraph [0037]: The compounds of the disclosure of Geum have the structure of Formula 1.), (paragraph [0188]: The compounds having the structure of Formula 1 of Geum are exemplified by the compounds on pp. 13-40.), (pp. 29, 31, 32)}.
Geum does not teach a specific organic light-emitting device comprising one of the compounds shown above.
However, Geum teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode {paragraphs [0203]-[0210]}.
The emission layer comprises a host and a light emitting dopant {paragraph [0210]}.
The compound of the disclosure of Geum is useful as the light emitting dopant of the emission layer {paragraph [0210]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified one of the compounds shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Kim teaches a light-emitting device comprising a first electrode that is an anode, a second electrode that is a cathode facing the first electrode, and an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The interlayer comprises an emission layer, a hole transport region between the emission layer and the first electrode, and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The emission layer comprises a first host, a second host, and a dopant {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}. Where the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of 1:1 {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The dopant is a condensed polycyclic compound having a similar structure to the compounds of Geum {paragraphs [0201] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}. The dopant of Geum has the structure that is encompassed by the structural formula of the light-emitting dopant of Kim {paragraph [0066]}.
The first host comprises a hole-transporting host having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0199] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The second host comprises an electron-transporting host having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0200] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
Kim teaches that devices using the combination of materials taught by Kim possess high efficiency and long lifespan {paragraph [0403]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device taught by Geum by using the host materials of Kim described above, based on the teaching of Kim. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means using the combination of materials taught by Kim in order to provide devices with high efficiency and long lifespan, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 3 and 22: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound to one of the compounds of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compounds of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compounds of Geum described above are position isomers with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify one or more of the compounds of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of one compounds of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of one of the compounds of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 4: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a specific device comprising a compound in which the instant Ar1 to Ar3 are each hydrogen and having the structure of one of the instant formulas 3-2 or 3-3.
However, as outlined above, Geum teaches the compound shown below.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compound of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compound of Geum described above is a position isomer with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of the compound of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of the compound of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 5: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a specific device comprising a compound having the structure of one of the instant formulas 3-2 or 3-3.
However, as outlined above, Geum teaches the compound shown below.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compound of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compound of Geum described above is a position isomer with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of the compound of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of the compound of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 6: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a specific device comprising a compound having the structure of one of the instant formulas 3-2 or 3-3.
However, as outlined above, Geum teaches the compound shown below.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compound of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compound of Geum described above is a position isomer with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of the compound of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of the compound of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 7: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a specific device comprising a compound having the structure of one of the instant formulas 3-2 or 3-3.
However, as outlined above, Geum teaches the compound shown below.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having a silyl substituent at the position of the instant Ar1.
However, Geum teaches that the compounds of Geum have the structure of Formula 1 of Geum, shown below {paragraphs [0012] and [0037]}.
Where R1 can be silyl as an alternative to hydrogen {paragraphs [0015] and [0043]}. Thus, hydrogen and silyl were both known elements as R1 of Geum.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Geum shown above by substituting a silyl group in place of hydrogen at the position equivalent to the instant Ar1, based on the teaching of Geum. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of silyl would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified substituent options for R1 of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compound of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compound of Geum described above is a position isomer with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of the compound of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of the compound of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 9 and 24: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a specific device comprising a compound having the structure of one of the instant formulas 3-2 or 3-3.
However, as outlined above, Geum teaches the compound shown below.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having a phenyl substituent at the position of the instant R7 or R8.
However, Geum teaches that the compounds of Geum can have the structure of Formula 2 of Geum, shown below {paragraphs [0077]-[0078]}.
Where R11 can be phenyl as an alternative to hydrogen {paragraphs [0080] and [0058]}. Thus, phenyl and hydrogen were both known elements as R11 of Geum.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Geum shown above by substituting a phenyl group in place of hydrogen at the position equivalent to the instant R7 or R8, based on the teaching of Geum. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of silyl would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified substituent options for R1 of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Geum as modified by Kim does not exemplify a similar compound the compound of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compound of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compound of Geum described above is a position isomer with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of the compound of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of the compound of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (WO 2020/022770 A1—US 2021/0277026 A1 used as an English language equivalent) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200235303 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”), and Li et al. (US 2012/0302753 A1) (hereafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 14-16: Geum as modified by Kim teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Geum as modified by Kim does not teach that the emissive layer comprises an additional dopant that is a phosphorescent metal complex.
However, So teaches organic light emitting devices in which the emissive layer comprises a thermally activated delayed fluorescence material and a sensitizer that is a phosphorescent material {abstract; Fig. 4 as described in paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0016]; paragraph [0045]}.
So teaches that such an arrangement leads to reduced degradation and provide sensitization of up to 100% exciton utilization {paragraphs [0035] and [0038]-[0039]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device taught by Geum as modified by Kim such that the emissive layer comprised a thermally activated delayed fluorescence material and a phosphorescent sensitizer for the thermally activated delayed fluorescence material, based on the teaching of So. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device with reduced degradation and sensitization of up to 100% exciton utilization, as taught by So.
Geum as modified by Kim and So do not exemplify a that the sensitizer has the structure of one of the compounds current claim 16.
So teaches that the phosphorescent sensitizer can have an emission spectrum that overlaps with the thermally activated delayed fluorescent material {paragraph [0045]}.
Li teaches the compound shown below {paragraph [0112]}. Li teaches that the compounds of Li are phosphorescent materials for use in organic electroluminescent devices {paragraphs [0090] and [0100]-[0101]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Geum by using the compound of Li shown above as the phosphorescent sensitizer, based on the teaching of Li. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Claim(s) 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (WO 2020/022770 A1—US 2021/0277026 A1 used as an English language equivalent).
Regarding claims 17-19: Geum discloses the compounds shown below {(paragraph [0037]: The compounds of the disclosure of Geum have the structure of Formula 1.), (paragraph [0188]: The compounds having the structure of Formula 1 of Geum are exemplified by the compounds on pp. 13-40.), (pp. 29, 31, 32)}.
Geum does not teach a specific organic light-emitting device comprising one of the compounds shown above.
However, Geum teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode {paragraphs [0203]-[0210]}.
The emission layer comprises a host and a light emitting dopant {paragraph [0210]}.
The compound of the disclosure of Geum is useful as the light emitting dopant of the emission layer {paragraph [0210]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified one of the compounds shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Geum having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Geum does not exemplify a specific host for the device of Geum described above.
However, Geum teaches that the compound shown below can be used as the host material of the emission layer {paragraphs [0212] and [0240]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device taught by Geum by using the host material of Geum described above, based on the teaching of Geum. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Regarding claim 18: Geum teaches all of the features with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Geum does not exemplify a similar compound to one of the compounds of Geum described above except for having the amine substituent at the position as in the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
However, the only difference between the compounds of Geum described above and compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 is the position of the amine substituent on the same benzene ring.
Therefore, the compounds of Geum described above are position isomers with similar compounds having the structure of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3.
With respect to position isomers, the MPEP states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify one or more of the compounds of Geum shown above such that the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3. A compound in which the amine substituent was in the position of the instant Formula 3-2 or the instant Formula 3-3 would represent a position isomer of one compounds of Geum described above. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds having each respective structure would act in similar manner. The selection of one of the compounds of Geum described above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified compounds of Geum), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 19: Geum teaches all of the features with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Geum teaches the claimed invention above but fails to teach that the emission layer emits blue light. It is reasonable to presume that the emission layer emitting blue light is inherent to Geum. Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials and like processes which would result in the claimed property.
Geum teaches that the compounds of Geum preferably have a peak emission wavelength that is blue light {paragraph [0197]}.
Additionally, the compounds of Geum are similar to the compounds 1, 103, and C-2 described in Table 1 of the instant specification. Each compound has the same boron and nitrogen fused polycyclic moiety, one or more amine substituents and one or more terphenyl substituents on an amine N of the boron and nitrogen fused polycyclic moiety. Each of the listed compounds has a peak emission wavelength that is blue light. Thus, given the structural similarity of the compounds, the compound of Geum would emit blue light, and an emission layer comprising the compound of Geum as a light emitting dopant would emit blue light.
Finally, the claim merely requires that the emission layer emits blue light. Even emissions having a peak emission wavelength that is longer than the blue range would emit some light that is in the blue range.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Geum product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (WO 2020/022770 A1—US 2021/0277026 A1 used as an English language equivalent) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2003/0170491 A1) (hereafter “Liao”).
Regarding claim 20: Geum teaches all of the features with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Geum does not teach that the organic electroluminescent device comprises a first sub-emission layer and a second sub-emission layer, stacked in a thickness direction.
Liao teaches a white light emitting organic light emitting device that comprises three organic layers, each comprising a stack of layers, between the first organic layer and the second electrode {Fig. 7 as described in paragraphs [0071]-[0072]}.
The light is emitted from the device in the direction form the first electrode to the second electrode {Fig. 7 as well as the description of Fig. 7 in paragraphs [0071]-[0072] indicates that the light is emitted through the anode and the substrate—which is being equated with the instant second electrode}.
Each organic layer is an individual stack of organic layers {(paragraph [0072]: Organic EL unit 220.1, organic EL unit 220.2, and organic EL unit 220.3 are being equated with the organic layers of the instant claims.), (paragraph [0049] describes the generalized structure of a stacked structure of the disclosure of which Fig. 7 is a specific embodiment. Elements 220.1 to 220.N are the organic EL units and N is the number of organic EL units.), (paragraph [0054]: Each organic EL unit in the stacked OLED device can be the same and can comprise a multilayer structure.)}.
Each organic layer emits a different color light, one emitting blue light—the layer nearest the anode, one emitting green light—the middle layer, and one emitting red light—the layer nearest the cathode {paragraph [0072]: Organic EL unit 220.1, organic EL unit 220.2, and organic EL unit 220.3 are being equated with the organic layers of the instant claims and emit blue light, green light, and red light, respectively.}.
Liao sought to provide an organic light emitting device with improved brightness through implementation of a stacked configuration {p. 5, ¶ [0070]}. A stacked organic light emitting device using Liao’s configuration further has high luminance efficiency, increased lifetime, easy color adjustment, decreased driving voltage, and provides a stacked OLED with decreased optical absorption {p. 1, paragraphs [0009]-[0013]}. The stacked structure allows for white light generation at improved efficiency and operational lifetime {paragraph [0072]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have modified the organic light emitting element of Geum by incorporating it into the stacked display unit of Liao by stacking two duplicate organic layer stacks (the organic EL elements of Liao) over the organic layer stack of Geum described above using the configuration of Liao where one organic layer emits blue light, one organic layer emits green light, and one organic layer emits red light, as taught by Liao. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device comprising a white light emitting organic light emitting device with improved brightness through implementation of a stacked configuration, as well as to provide a white light emitting organic light emitting device with high efficiency, and increased operational lifetime, easy color adjustment, decreased driving voltage, decreased optical absorption as a result of the stacked configuration, as taught by Liao.
Each light-emitting layer can be equated with a sub-emission layer.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 21-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rota Matir et al. (WO 2021/013996 A1) (hereafter “Rota Matir”) in view of Geum et al. (WO 2020/022770 A1—US 2021/0277026 A1 used as an English language equivalent).
Regarding claims 21-23 and 25-26: Rota Matir discloses the compound shown below {(p. 2, lines 3-4: The compounds of the disclosure of Rota Matir have the structure of Formula I of Rota Matir.), (p. 114, lines 1: Examples of the compound of the disclosure are shown on pp. 114-137.), (p. 116, the compound shown below)}.
Rota Matir does not exemplify that the unsubstituted phenyl groups on the amine N atoms are substituted with two ortho bonded phenyl groups.
Geum teaches similar boron and nitrogen polycyclic compound that are useful as light-emitting dopants in organic light emitting devices {(paragraph [0037]: The compounds of the disclosure of Geum have the structure of Formula 1.), (paragraph [0188]: The compounds having the structure of Formula 1 of Geum are exemplified by the compounds on pp. 13-40.), (paragraph [0210]: The compounds are useful as the light-emitting dopants of the light-emitting layer)}.
Geum teaches that replacing an unsubstituted phenyl group on the amine N atom of the boron and nitrogen polycyclic compound (
) with a phenyl group comprising two ortho phenyl substituents (
) provides a greater separation from host materials which decreases Dexter energy transfers, leading to higher efficiency {Table 2 and paragraphs [0403]-[0404]: comparison of films comprising compounds BD-X and BD-B}. Geum teaches that the phenyl substituents on each of the amine N atoms of the boron and nitrogen polycyclic compound can be replaced with phenyl groups comprising two ortho phenyl substituents {(paragraph [0123]: Formula 1-3), (p. 28, 2nd compound of 2nd row)}.
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Rota Matir by replacing each of the unsubstituted phenyl groups on the amine N atom of the boron and nitrogen polycyclic compound (
) with phenyl groups comprising two ortho phenyl substituents (
), based on the teaching of Geum. The motivation for doing so would have been to provides a greater separation from host materials which decreases Dexter energy transfers, leading to higher efficiency, as taught by Geum.
The resultant compound would have the structure of the instant compound 48.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10: Rota Matir as modified by Geum teaches all of the --features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
Claim 1 differs from claim 21 in that the compound of claim 21 is incorporated into an organic light emitting device.
Rota Matir does not teach a specific device comprising the compound shown above.
However, Rota Matir teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an emission layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode {p. 66, line 28 through p. 67, line 12}.
The emission layer comprises a host and a light emitting dopant {p. 69, line 31 through p. 70, line 25}.
The compound of the disclosure of Rota Matir is useful as the light emitting dopant of the emission layer {p. 69, lines 31 to 34}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified one of the compounds shown above by using the compound in an organic light emitting device of Rota Matir having the structure described above as the light emitting dopant of the mission layer, based on the teaching of Rota Matir. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Rota Matir does not teach a specific organic electroluminescent device comprising the compound of Rota Matir shown above in which the light emitting layer comprises two host materials.
Rota Matir teaches that the emitting layer can comprise a multi-host system comprising mCBP (shown below left), which is a hole transporting host, and T2T, which is an electron transporting host (shown below right) {p. 70, 2nd paragraph}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Rota Matir shown above by incorporating into the device structure (including the two host materials shown above) of Rota Matir described above, based on the teaching of Rota Matir. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Regarding claims 2, 27, and 28: Rota Matir as modified by Geum teaches all of the features with respect to claims 1 and 21, as outlined above.
Rota Matir as modified by Geum teaches the claimed invention above but fails to teach that the compound has a PLQY equal to or greater than about 80%; the compound emits light having a central wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 490 nm; and that the compound emits light having a FWHM equal to or less than about 45 nm. It is reasonable to presume that the compound having a PLQY equal to or greater than about 80%; the compound emitting light having a central wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 490 nm; and that the compound emitting light having a FWHM equal to or less than about 45 nm is inherent to Rota Matir as modified by Geum. Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials and like processes which would result in the claimed property.
The resultant compound of Rota Matir as modified by Geum has a structure similar to the instant Compounds 4, 26, 37, and 62. The compounds are similar in that they all comprise carbazolyl substituents at the same position of the boron and nitrogen fused polycyclic moiety, unsubstituted terphenyl substituents on the amine nitrogen atoms of the boron and nitrogen fused polycyclic moiety, and a phenyl substituent at the same position of the boron and nitrogen fused polycyclic moiety. The instant Compounds 4, 26, 37, and 62 each have a PLQY equal to or greater than about 80% and emit light having a central wavelength in a range of about 430 nm to about 490 nm {Table 1 of the instant specification}. With respect to the FWHM of Compounds 4, 26, 37, and 62 have full width quarter maximum (FWQM) values that are less than 45 nm {Table 1 of the instant specification}. Given the FWQM is measured at a quarter height of total amplitude, these example compounds would necessarily have a FWHM less than 45 nm, and given the structural similarity to the resultant compound of Rota Matir as modified by Geum as described above, so would the resultant compound of Rota Matir as modified by Geum.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Rota Matir as modified by Geum product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rota Matir et al. (WO 2021/013996 A1) (hereafter “Rota Matir”) in view of Geum et al. (WO 2020/022770 A1—US 2021/0277026 A1 used as an English language equivalent) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2016/0268516 A1) (hereafter “Tanaka”) and Ahn et al. (US 2020/0168819 A1) (hereinafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claims 11-13: Rota Matir as modified by Geum teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Rota Matir does not teach that the hole transporting host has the structure of one of the compounds of the current claim 12.
Tanaka teaches that the compound shown below is a known host material for thermally activated delayed fluorescence materials in the emission layer of an organic light emitting device {paragraphs [0021]-[0027], [0196]-[0197], and [0221]—p. 40, compound H-206}.
The above compound is a hole transporting host material, because is comprises carbazole and dibenzofuran structures, similar to hole dominant host materials listed by Rota Matir {p. 70, 2nd paragraph}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Rota Matir shown described above by using the host material of Tanaka as the hole transporting host material, based on the teaching of Tanaka and Rota Matir. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Rota Matir does not teach that the electron transporting host has the structure of one of the compounds of the current claim 13.
Ahn teaches the compound shown below as a host material for the light-emitting layer of an organic light emitting device {(paragraph [0110]: The compounds of the disclosure of Lee are exemplified by the Compounds 1 through 59.), (p. 10, Compound 3)}.
The host materials of Ahn can be used to produce organic light-emitting devices with high efficiency and good durability {paragraph [0113]}. Additionally, the compounds have reduced intermolecular attraction {paragraph [0111]}.
The above compound is an electron transporting host material, because is comprises triazine, similar to electron dominant host materials listed by Rota Matir {p. 70, 2nd paragraph}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Rota Matir to use the compound of Ahn shown above as the electron transporting host material, based on the teaching of Ahn and Rota Matir. The modification would have been The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements (the use of multiple host materials and the host material of Ahn) according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use an additional host material having reduced intermolecular attraction that is known to be used to produce devices with high efficiency and high durability.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786