DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the second to last line of each claim should recite “a .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1), and further in view of Morioka (US PGPub 2017/0346050 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wood discloses in Figs. 2-5 and 9-11 a battery (12) ([0028]), comprising:
a battery cell (26), provided with a pressure relief mechanism (40), the pressure relief mechanism (40) being configured to be actuated when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell (26) reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure ([0032]);
a bus component (24), configured to be electrically connected to the battery cell (26) ([0033]);
an electrical cavity, configured to accommodate the battery cell (26) and the bus component (24) ([0029]-[0030], [0037], e.g. main volume, see an electrical cavity formed from above lower tray 32 and below upper trap 30);
a collecting cavity (55), configured to collect emissions from the battery cell (26) when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0034]);
a sealing structure (34, 36), disposed in an airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism (40) and a wall of the electrical cavity and configured to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24) when the pressure relief mechanism (40) is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037]); and
an isolating component (52), configured to isolate the electrical cavity from the collecting cavity (55) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]),
wherein the pressure relief mechanism (40) is disposed on a first wall of the battery cell (26) (Figs. 4-5, [0032]), the sealing structure (34, 36) comprises a first sealing component (34) disposed between the first wall and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]), and
wherein the first sealing component (34) and the isolating component (52) are separate components in contact with each other (Fig. 11, [0034]).
Wood further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34) is disposed between the battery cell (26) and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (e.g. Figs. 15 and 18, see space between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of socket 242).
However, Wood does not explicitly disclose wherein a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component.
Morioka teaches in Figs. 1 and 4 a battery (10) comprising a battery cell (12) and a first sealing component (14) to align the battery cell (12) ([0027], [0029]-[0030]).
Specifically, Morioka teaches wherein an elastic member (68) is disposed on a first wall of the battery cell (12) in order to absorb variation in the axial height of the battery cell (12) ([0039]).
Morioka further teaches wherein a space is created by the first wall of the battery cell (12), the first sealing component (14), and an isolating component (43), wherein the space is opposite to a pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (43) (Fig. 4, [0028]-[0029], [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose an elastic member on the first wall of Wood, such that a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component of modified Wood, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism of modified Wood in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component, as taught by Morioka, in order to absorb variation in the axial height of the battery cell of Wood.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the sealing structure (34, 36 of Wood) is disposed at least around an outer periphery of the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood), to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24 of Wood) when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037] of Wood, wherein sockets 34 of the sealing structure 34, 36 are disposed around an outer periphery of a first wall of the battery cell 26 comprising the pressure relief mechanism 40 and therefore are disposed around an outer periphery of the pressure relief mechanism).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses the isolating component (52 of Wood) being structured as a wall shared by the electrical component and the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) (Figs. 2-3, [0034] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) has a through hole at a position corresponding to the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood), and when the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) is actuated, the emissions pass through the isolating component (52 of Wood) via the through hole and enter the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) (Figs. 3 and 11, [0037] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses a partition beam (38 of Wood) configured to partition the electrical cavity into a plurality of accommodating cavities (Fig. 8, [0038] of Wood); the sealing structure (34, 36 of Wood) further comprises a second sealing component (36 of Wood) disposed between a side wall of an accommodating cavity and a second wall of the battery cell (26 of Wood), and the second wall is disposed to intersect with the first wall (Figs. 9-11 of Wood).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) is a sealing gasket and wherein the second sealing component (36 of Wood) is a sealing gasket ([0037] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) and the second sealing component (36 of Wood) are integrally formed (Fig. 11 of Wood).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Wood discloses a power consumption apparatus (10 of Wood), comprising the battery (12 of Wood) as set forth above, the battery (12 of Wood) being configured to provide electric energy for the power consumption apparatus (10 of Wood) (Fig. 1, [0027] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 14, Wood discloses in Figs. 2-5 a method for producing a battery (12) ([0028]), comprising:
providing a battery cell (26), the battery cell (26) being provided with a pressure relief mechanism (40), the pressure relief mechanism (40) being configured to be actuated when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell (26) reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure ([0032]);
providing a bus component (24) configured to be electrically connected to the battery cell (26) ([0033]);
providing an electrical cavity configured to accommodate the battery cell (26) and the bus component (24) ([0029]-[0030], [0037], e.g. main volume, see an electrical cavity formed from above lower tray 32 and below upper trap 30);
providing a collecting cavity (55) configured to collect emissions from the battery cell (26) when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0034]);
providing a sealing structure (34, 36) disposed in an airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism (40) and a wall of the electrical cavity and configured to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24) when the pressure relief mechanism (40) is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037]); and
an isolating component (52), configured to isolate the electrical cavity from the collecting cavity (55) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]),
wherein the pressure relief mechanism (40) is disposed on a first wall of the battery cell (26) (Figs. 4-5, [0032]), the sealing structure (34, 36) comprises a first sealing component (34) disposed between the first wall and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]),
wherein the first sealing component (34) and the isolating component (52) are separate components in contact with each other (Fig. 11, [0034]).
Wood further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34) is disposed between the battery cell (26) and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (e.g. Figs. 15 and 18, see space between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of socket 242).
However, Wood does not explicitly disclose wherein a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component.
Morioka teaches in Figs. 1 and 4 a battery (10) comprising a battery cell (12) and a first sealing component (14) to align the battery cell (12) ([0027], [0029]-[0030]).
Specifically, Morioka teaches wherein an elastic member (68) is disposed on a first wall of the battery cell (12) in order to absorb variation in the axial height of the battery cell (12) ([0039]).
Morioka further teaches wherein a space is created by the first wall of the battery cell (12), the first sealing component (14), and an isolating component (43), wherein the space is opposite to a pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (43) ([0028]-[0029], [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose an elastic member on the first wall of Wood, such that a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component of modified Wood, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism of modified Wood in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component, as taught by Morioka, in order to absorb variation in the axial height of the battery cell of Wood.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1) in view of Morioka (US PGPub 2017/0346050 A1), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0059902 A1, cited on the IDS dated September 8, 2022).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) is of a frame-shaped structure with one through hole (Fig. 11 and [0037] of Wood) and wherein a plurality of battery cells (26 of Wood) are provided (Figs. 2-3 and [0032] of Wood).
Specifically, modified Wood discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) is disposed around each battery cell (26 of Wood) of the plurality of battery cells (26 of Wood) in order to isolate the electrical cavity from the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) ([0037] of Wood).
However, modified Wood discloses wherein the one through hole corresponds to a pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) of one battery cell (26 of Wood) of the plurality of battery cells (26 of Wood) (Fig. 11 and [0032], [0037] of Wood).
Consequently, modified Wood does not disclose wherein the one through hole corresponds to pressure relief mechanisms of the plurality of battery cells.
Jiang teaches in Figs. 1 and 4 a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells (5), each battery cell (5) provided with a pressure relief mechanism (51) ([0038], [0042]).
Specifically, Jiang teaches a first sealing component (7) comprising a frame-shaped structure with one through hole, wherein the one through hole corresponds to pressure relief mechanisms of the plurality of battery cells (5) in order to provide a directional sealing function for the hot gas of the battery cells (5) ([0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first sealing component of modified Wood such that the one through hole of modified Wood corresponds to pressure relief mechanisms of the plurality of battery cells of modified Wood, as taught by Jiang, as such is a known configuration in the art that provides a directional sealing function for emissions of a plurality of battery cells and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully isolate the electrical cavity of modified Wood from the collecting cavity of modified Wood, as desired by modified Wood.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1) in view of Morioka (US PGPub 2017/0346050 A1), as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (US PGPub 2011/0217576 A1) and Kang (KR 2017-0063128 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated June 26, 2025).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the sealing structure (34, 36 of Wood) is disposed in an airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) and the wall of the electrical cavity and configured to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24 of Wood) when the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037] of Wood).
However, modified Wood does not disclose wherein a surface of the sealing gasket is coated or sprayed with a material having a melting point greater than a temperature of the emissions.
Ueda teaches a sealing structure for use in a battery that is made of a heat-resistant material ([0022]).
Specifically, Ueda teaches wherein a surface of a sealing gasket may be coated with a material in order to increase airtightness ([0044]).
Furthermore, Kang teaches a sealing structure (first gasket portion) for use in a battery that is made of a heat-resistant material ([0011], [0016]).
Specifically, Kang teaches wherein a melting point of the sealing structure (first gasket portion) is greater than a temperature of emissions from a battery cell in order to maintain the shape of the sealing structure ([0021]-[0023]), [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a surface of the sealing gasket of modified Wood with a material, as taught by Ueda, wherein the material has a melting point greater than a temperature of the emissions of modified Wood, as taught by Kang, in order to increase airtightness between the pressure relief mechanism of modified Wood and the wall of the electrical cavity of modified Wood while maintaining the shape of the sealing structure, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component of modified Wood when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1) in view of Morioka (US PGPub 2017/0346050 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (KR 2017-0063128 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated June 26, 2025).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the sealing structure is provided around the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) in order to isolate the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) for receiving the emissions form the battery cell (26 of Wood) from the electrical cavity ([0037] of Wood) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a melting point of the sealing structure (36 of Wood) is greater than a temperature of the emissions in order to successfully achieve isolation of the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) from the electrical cavity.
Assuming for the sake of argument that modified Wood does not disclose wherein a melting point of the sealing structure is greater than a temperature of the emissions, the following is relied upon.
Kang teaches a sealing structure (first gasket portion) for use in a battery that is made of a heat-resistant material ([0011], [0016]).
Specifically, Kang teaches wherein a melting point of the sealing structure (first gasket portion) is greater than a temperature of emissions from a battery cell in order to maintain the shape of the sealing structure ([0021]-[0023]), [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the sealing structure of modified Wood to have a melting point greater than a temperature of the emissions of modified Wood, as taught by Kang, in order to maintain the shape of the sealing structure, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully isolate the electrical cavity of modified Wood from the collecting cavity of modified Wood, as desired by modified Wood.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claim 1 and 14, the Applicant argues that the sockets 34 are parts of the floor 52/gasket 36 in Wood, which is different from the relationship between first sealing component 215a and isolating component 13 in the present application that belong to two separate components. Therefore the sockets 34 in Wood cannot be regarded as the first sealing component 215a in the present application.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Wood discloses wherein the sockets (34) are a separate component from the floor (52) ([0034]). For example, see Fig. 11 of Wood, which illustrates the sockets (34) as a separate component from the isolating component (52) in contact with each other.
The Applicant further argues that the sockets 34 are actually located between the second wall (which is the wall of cell 26 that does not contain venting mechanism 40 and/or terminals) and the floor 52 in Wood. In contrast, the first sealing component 215a is disposed between the first wall (which is the wall of the cell 20 that contains pressure relief mechanism 213) and the isolating component 13 in the present application).
Moreover, the Applicant argues that the sockets 34 in Wood are the hollow structure of the lower tray 32 that allow both cells 26 and venting mechanism 40 to be embedded and to penetrate the lower trays 32, which is different from the first sealing component in the present application because the battery cell is not embedded in or penetrating the space created by the first sealing component, the first wall, and the isolating component.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Wood discloses wherein the first sealing component (34) is disposed between the first wall and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (e.g. Figs. 15 and 18, see space between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of socket 242).
The Examiner further notes that the battery cells (26) of Wood can be embedded in the sockets (34) of Wood while also creating a space between the first wall of the battery cells (26) and sockets (34, i.e. first sealing component) (e.g. Figs. 15 and 18 of Wood, see space between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of socket 242).
In other words, even though the battery cells (26) of Wood are embedded in the sockets (34) of Wood, the first wall of the battery cells (26) are not required to be flush with the bottom of the socket (34).
Assuming for the sake of argument that Wood does not disclose wherein a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component, Morioka is relied on as a teaching reference.
The Applicant argues that the seals 238 are clamped between the lower tray 210 and the seal clamping plates 228. Specifically, the seals 238 are located on the second wall of the cell 226, which is different from the isolating component/first sealing component that are allocated on the first wall of the battery cell in the present application. Therefore, the seals 238 in Wood and the isolating component/first sealing component in the present application are located on different parts of the battery cell.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the claim does not require the isolating component and/or the first sealing component to be located on a part of the battery cell and therefore the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
Specifically, the Examiner notes that only the pressure relief mechanism is required to be disposed on the first wall of the battery cell.
Thus, the arguments are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koutari et al. (US PGPub 2019/0207184 A1) teaches in Fig. 3 a battery, wherein a space is created by a first wall of a battery cell (1), a first sealing component (4B), and an isolating component (6), wherein the space is opposite to a pressure relief mechanism (16) of the battery cell (1) in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (16) and the isolating component (6) ([0045], [0049]).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1725