DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the second to last line of each claim should recite “the direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component” in light of the claim amendments in order to set forth correct antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1), and further in view of Stoll et al. (US PGPub 2024/0154234 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wood discloses in Figs. 2-5 and 9-11 a battery (12) ([0028]), comprising:
a battery cell (26), provided with a pressure relief mechanism (40), the pressure relief mechanism (40) being configured to be actuated when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell (26) reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure ([0032]);
a bus component (24), configured to be electrically connected to the battery cell (26) ([0033]);
an electrical cavity, configured to accommodate the battery cell (26) and the bus component (24) ([0029]-[0030], [0037], e.g. main volume, see an electrical cavity formed from above lower tray 32 and below upper trap 30);
a collecting cavity (55), configured to collect emissions from the battery cell (26) when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0034]);
a sealing structure (34, 36), disposed in an airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism (40) and a wall of the electrical cavity and configured to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24) when the pressure relief mechanism (40) is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037]); and
an isolating component (52), configured to isolate the electrical cavity from the collecting cavity (55) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]),
wherein the pressure relief mechanism (40) is disposed on a first wall of the battery cell (26) (Figs. 4-5, [0032]), the sealing structure (34, 36) comprises a first sealing component (34) disposed between the first wall and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]), and
wherein the first sealing component (34) is in direct contact with the isolating component (52) (Fig. 11, [0034]).
Wood further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34) and the isolating component (52) are sequentially arranged in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (40) and the isolating component (52) and wherein the battery cell (26) is inserted into the first sealing component (34) in order to help locate and align the battery cell (26) (Figs. 2-3, [0030], [0034]) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a space is created by the first wall of the battery cell (26), the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (e.g. Figs. 15 and 18, see space between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of socket 242).
However, Wood does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component are sequentially arranged in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component, and the first wall is in direct contact with the first sealing component, and a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component.
Stoll teaches in Figs. 4-8 a cell holder (10) comprising a first sealing component (11, 12), wherein the first sealing component (11, 12) comprises a base (11) in contact with a first wall (2a) of a battery cell (2) in order to axially fix the battery cell (2) along a cell axis A ([0065]) and side walls (12) in order to fix the battery cell (2) in a direction perpendicular to the cell axis A ([0067]).
Stoll further teaches in Figs. 4-6 wherein the base (11) comprises a base opening (11a) ([0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first sealing component of Wood to comprise a base, as taught by Stoll, wherein the hole of the base corresponds to the pressure relief mechanism of Wood, in order to fix the battery cell of Wood in a direction perpendicular to a cell axis A, as desired by Wood, in addition to a direction along the cell axis A, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully help locate and align the battery cell without interfering with the pressure relief mechanism, as desired by Wood.
Thus, modified Wood discloses wherein the first wall, the first sealing component (11, 12 of Stoll, corresponding to 34 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood) are sequentially arranged in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood) (Figs. 15, 18 of Wood and Figs. 4-6 of Stoll), and the first wall is in direct contact with the first sealing component (11, 12 of Stoll, corresponding to 34 of Wood) (Figs. 4-6, [0065] of Stoll), and a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component (11, 12 of Stoll, corresponding to 34 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood) (Figs. 15, 18 of Wood and Figs. 4-6 of Stoll), wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) in the direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the sealing structure (34, 36 of Wood) is disposed at least around an outer periphery of the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood), to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24 of Wood) when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037] of Wood, wherein sockets 34 of the sealing structure 34, 36 are disposed around an outer periphery of a first wall of the battery cell 26 comprising the pressure relief mechanism 40 and therefore are disposed around an outer periphery of the pressure relief mechanism).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses the isolating component (52 of Wood) being structured as a wall shared by the electrical component and the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) (Figs. 2-3, [0034] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) has a through hole at a position corresponding to the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood), and when the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) is actuated, the emissions pass through the isolating component (52 of Wood) via the through hole and enter the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) (Figs. 3 and 11, [0037] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses a partition beam (38 of Wood) configured to partition the electrical cavity into a plurality of accommodating cavities (Fig. 8, [0038] of Wood); the sealing structure (34, 36 of Wood) further comprises a second sealing component (36 of Wood) disposed between a side wall of an accommodating cavity and a second wall of the battery cell (26 of Wood), and the second wall is disposed to intersect with the first wall (Figs. 9-11 of Wood).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) is a sealing gasket and wherein the second sealing component (36 of Wood) is a sealing gasket ([0037] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) and the second sealing component (36 of Wood) are integrally formed (Fig. 11 of Wood).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Wood discloses a power consumption apparatus (10 of Wood), comprising the battery (12 of Wood) as set forth above, the battery (12 of Wood) being configured to provide electric energy for the power consumption apparatus (10 of Wood) (Fig. 1, [0027] of Wood).
Regarding Claim 14, Wood discloses in Figs. 2-5 a method for producing a battery (12) ([0028]), comprising:
providing a battery cell (26), the battery cell (26) being provided with a pressure relief mechanism (40), the pressure relief mechanism (40) being configured to be actuated when an internal pressure or temperature of the battery cell (26) reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure ([0032]);
providing a bus component (24) configured to be electrically connected to the battery cell (26) ([0033]);
providing an electrical cavity configured to accommodate the battery cell (26) and the bus component (24) ([0029]-[0030], [0037], e.g. main volume, see an electrical cavity formed from above lower tray 32 and below upper trap 30);
providing a collecting cavity (55) configured to collect emissions from the battery cell (26) when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0034]);
providing a sealing structure (34, 36) disposed in an airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism (40) and a wall of the electrical cavity and configured to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24) when the pressure relief mechanism (40) is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037]); and
an isolating component (52), configured to isolate the electrical cavity from the collecting cavity (55) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]),
wherein the pressure relief mechanism (40) is disposed on a first wall of the battery cell (26) (Figs. 4-5, [0032]), the sealing structure (34, 36) comprises a first sealing component (34) disposed between the first wall and the isolating component (52) (Figs. 2-3, [0034]),
wherein the first sealing component (34) is in direct contact with the isolating component (52) (Fig. 11, [0034]).
Wood further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34) and the isolating component (52) are sequentially arranged in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (40) and the isolating component (52) and wherein the battery cell (26) is inserted into the first sealing component (34) in order to help locate and align the battery cell (26) (Figs. 2-3, [0030], [0034]) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a space is created by the first wall of the battery cell (26), the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component (e.g. Figs. 15 and 18, see space between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of socket 242).
However, Wood does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component are sequentially arranged in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component, and the first wall is in direct contact with the first sealing component, and a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component and the isolating component, wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism and the isolating component.
Stoll teaches in Figs. 4-8 a cell holder (10) comprising a first sealing component (11, 12), wherein the first sealing component (11, 12) comprises a base (11) in contact with a first wall (2a) of a battery cell (2) in order to axially fix the battery cell (2) along a cell axis A ([0065]) and side walls (12) in order to fix the battery cell (2) in a direction perpendicular to the cell axis A ([0067]).
Stoll further teaches in Figs. 4-6 wherein the base (11) comprises a base opening (11a) ([0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first sealing component of Wood to comprise a base, as taught by Stoll, wherein the hole of the base corresponds to the pressure relief mechanism of Wood, in order to fix the battery cell of Wood in a direction perpendicular to a cell axis A, as desired by Wood, in addition to a direction along the cell axis A, wherein the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that such would successfully help locate and align the battery cell without interfering with the pressure relief mechanism, as desired by Wood.
Thus, modified Wood discloses wherein the first wall, the first sealing component (11, 12 of Stoll, corresponding to 34 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood) are sequentially arranged in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood) (Figs. 15, 18 of Wood and Figs. 4-6 of Stoll), and the first wall is in direct contact with the first sealing component (11, 12 of Stoll, corresponding to 34 of Wood) (Figs. 4-6, [0065] of Stoll), and a space is created by the first wall, the first sealing component (11, 12 of Stoll, corresponding to 34 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood) (Figs. 15, 18 of Wood and Figs. 4-6 of Stoll), wherein the space is opposite to the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) in the direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) and the isolating component (52 of Wood).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1) in view of Stoll et al. (US PGPub 2024/0154234 A1), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0059902 A1, cited on the IDS dated September 8, 2022).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) is of a frame-shaped structure with one through hole (Fig. 11 and [0037] of Wood) and wherein a plurality of battery cells (26 of Wood) are provided (Figs. 2-3 and [0032] of Wood).
Specifically, modified Wood discloses wherein the first sealing component (34 of Wood) is disposed around each battery cell (26 of Wood) of the plurality of battery cells (26 of Wood) in order to isolate the electrical cavity from the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) ([0037] of Wood).
However, modified Wood discloses wherein the one through hole corresponds to a pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) of one battery cell (26 of Wood) of the plurality of battery cells (26 of Wood) (Fig. 11 and [0032], [0037] of Wood).
Consequently, modified Wood does not disclose wherein the one through hole corresponds to pressure relief mechanisms of the plurality of battery cells.
Jiang teaches in Figs. 1 and 4 a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells (5), each battery cell (5) provided with a pressure relief mechanism (51) ([0038], [0042]).
Specifically, Jiang teaches a first sealing component (7) comprising a frame-shaped structure with one through hole, wherein the one through hole corresponds to pressure relief mechanisms of the plurality of battery cells (5) in order to provide a directional sealing function for the hot gas of the battery cells (5) ([0052]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the first sealing component of modified Wood such that the one through hole of modified Wood corresponds to pressure relief mechanisms of the plurality of battery cells of modified Wood, as taught by Jiang, as such is a known configuration in the art that provides a directional sealing function for emissions of a plurality of battery cells and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully isolate the electrical cavity of modified Wood from the collecting cavity of modified Wood, as desired by modified Wood.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1) in view of Stoll et al. (US PGPub 2024/0154234 A1), as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (US PGPub 2011/0217576 A1) and Kang (KR 2017-0063128 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated June 26, 2025).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the sealing structure (34, 36 of Wood) is disposed in an airflow path formed between the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) and the wall of the electrical cavity and configured to prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component (24 of Wood) when the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) is actuated (Fig. 11, [0037] of Wood).
However, modified Wood does not disclose wherein a surface of the sealing gasket is coated or sprayed with a material having a melting point greater than a temperature of the emissions.
Ueda teaches a sealing structure for use in a battery that is made of a heat-resistant material ([0022]).
Specifically, Ueda teaches wherein a surface of a sealing gasket may be coated with a material in order to increase airtightness ([0044]).
Furthermore, Kang teaches a sealing structure (first gasket portion) for use in a battery that is made of a heat-resistant material ([0011], [0016]).
Specifically, Kang teaches wherein a melting point of the sealing structure (first gasket portion) is greater than a temperature of emissions from a battery cell in order to maintain the shape of the sealing structure ([0021]-[0023]), [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat a surface of the sealing gasket of modified Wood with a material, as taught by Ueda, wherein the material has a melting point greater than a temperature of the emissions of modified Wood, as taught by Kang, in order to increase airtightness between the pressure relief mechanism of modified Wood and the wall of the electrical cavity of modified Wood while maintaining the shape of the sealing structure, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully prevent the emissions from reaching the bus component of modified Wood when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood et al. (US PGPub 2009/0274952 A1) in view of Stoll et al. (US PGPub 2024/0154234 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang (KR 2017-0063128 A, see also the EPO machine generated English translation provided with the Office Action dated June 26, 2025).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Wood discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the sealing structure is provided around the pressure relief mechanism (40 of Wood) in order to isolate the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) for receiving the emissions form the battery cell (26 of Wood) from the electrical cavity ([0037] of Wood) and therefore Wood suggests wherein a melting point of the sealing structure (36 of Wood) is greater than a temperature of the emissions in order to successfully achieve isolation of the collecting cavity (55 of Wood) from the electrical cavity.
Assuming for the sake of argument that modified Wood does not disclose wherein a melting point of the sealing structure is greater than a temperature of the emissions, the following is relied upon.
Kang teaches a sealing structure (first gasket portion) for use in a battery that is made of a heat-resistant material ([0011], [0016]).
Specifically, Kang teaches wherein a melting point of the sealing structure (first gasket portion) is greater than a temperature of emissions from a battery cell in order to maintain the shape of the sealing structure ([0021]-[0023]), [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the sealing structure of modified Wood to have a melting point greater than a temperature of the emissions of modified Wood, as taught by Kang, in order to maintain the shape of the sealing structure, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully isolate the electrical cavity of modified Wood from the collecting cavity of modified Wood, as desired by modified Wood.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claims 1 and 14, the Applicant argues that the first sealing component 215a of the present applicant is independently located between the wall of the battery cell and the isolating component, which could establish a seal space for directional discharge of emissions. In contrast, the sockets 34 are parts of the lower tray 32, which is different from the relationship between the first sealing component 215a and the isolating component 13 in the present application that belong to two separate components.
The Examiner notes that the limitation requiring the first sealing component and the isolating component to be separate components has been canceled from the claims and therefore such an argument is no longer commensurate with the scope of the claims.
The Applicant further argues that the function of the sockets 34 is to accommodate and embed the battery cell in Wood. In contrast, in Claim 1, the battery cell does not embed into or penetrate the first sealing component. Instead, the first sealing component is tightly attached to the outer surface of the first wall of the battery cell, forming a sealing interface, the fundamental structure differences lead to different sealing mechanisms and airflow paths. Therefore, the sockets 34 of Woof cannot be regarded as the first sealing component 215a in the present invention.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the claims do not require the battery cell to not be embedded into or penetrate the first sealing component and therefore such an argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
The Applicant argues that the “space” existing between the first wall of the battery cell and the bottom edge of the socket 34 of Woof is a “gap space” formed by the embedded battery, whereas the “space” in Claim 1 is explicitly defined as a directional-flow-guiding seal space with a definite function, jointly enclosed by the first wall 21, the first sealing component, 215a, and the isolating component 13. This space surrounds the pressure relief mechanism 213, ensuring that emissions can only enter the collecting cavity along a specific direction.
The Examiner notes that the prior art does not need to recognize the same technical effect or solve the same problem as that of the claimed invention. So long as the structure of the battery, specifically the existence of the space, is the same as that of the claimed invention, the prior art will read on the claimed invention no matter the motivation for arriving at said structure or the recognized technical effects of said structure.
Thus, the arguments have not been found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Morioka have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on this reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koutari et al. (US PGPub 2019/0207184 A1) teaches in Fig. 3 a battery, wherein a space is created by a first wall of a battery cell (1), a first sealing component (4B), and an isolating component (6), wherein the space is opposite to a pressure relief mechanism (16) of the battery cell (1) in a direction along the arrangement of the pressure relief mechanism (16) and the isolating component (6) ([0045], [0049]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725