DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/22/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasse et al. (US 2014/0075748 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Hasse et al. discloses An apparatus (see paragraph [0030]) comprising: a circuit board (see paragraph [0031], lines 14-18) comprising a plurality of layers (604, 606 and 965, see figs. 6 and 9) and at least one conductive connection (see paragraph [0033]), wherein: the at least one conductive connection is connected to a layer of the plurality of layers; at least one layer of the plurality of layers (604, 606 and 965) comprises a conductive material (see paragraph [0035], the at least two layers of the plurality of layers comprise conductive material that extend in an axis towards the at least one conductive connection (810, see fig. 8B) but do not overlap with the at least one layer of the plurality of layers comprising the conductive material (see figs. 8-9).
Pertaining to claim 2, Hasse et al. discloses, wherein the at least one conductive connection (see paragraph [0033]) comprises at least one gold finger (810, see fig. 8B).
Pertaining to claim 3, Hasse et al. discloses, wherein the conductive material comprises signal plane (see paragraph [0039]), lines 3-7).
Pertaining to claim 4, Hasse et al. discloses, wherein the conductive material comprises one or more of: copper (see paragraph [0035]).
Pertaining to claim 5, Hasse et al. discloses, comprising at least one surface mounted (SMT) connector coupled to the at least one conductive connection (see paragraph [0044], lines 12-15).
Pertaining to claim 6, Hasse et al. discloses, wherein the circuit board comprises a dual in- line memory module (DIMM) (see paragraph [0044], lines 12-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse et al. (US 2014/0075748 A1) in view of Galbi et al. (US 2020/0125495 A1).
Pertaining to claim 7, Hasse et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein an arrangement of the at least one conductive connection is consistent with Joint Electronic Device Engineering Council Double Data Rate version 5 (DDR5).
However, Galbi et al. teaches wherein an arrangement of the at least one conductive connection is consistent with Joint Electronic Device Engineering Council Double Data Rate version 5 (DDR5), (see paragraph [0012]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein an arrangement of the at least one conductive connection is consistent with Joint Electronic Device Engineering Council Double Data Rate version 5 (DDR5) in the device of Hasse et al. in order to improved power efficiency, enhanced signal integrity, and higher reliability, driven by 1.1V operation and on-DIMM Power Management Integrated Circuits (PMIC).
Pertaining to claim 8, Hasse et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, further comprising a first device coupled to the circuit board, wherein the first device comprises a surface mounted (SMT) connector of a motherboard, a motherboard, (see paragraph [0044], lines 12-15).
But, Hasse et al. does not explicitly teach one or more of: central processing unit (CPU), XPU, accelerator, and/or graphics processing unit (GPU).
However, Galbi et al. teaches one or more of: central processing unit (CPU), XPU, accelerator, and/or graphics processing unit (GPU), (see paragraph [0064]
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide one or more of: central processing unit (CPU), XPU, accelerator, and/or graphics processing unit (GPU) in the device of Hasse et al. in order to improved power efficiency, enhanced signal integrity, and higher reliability, driven by 1.1V operation and on-DIMM Power Management Integrated Circuits (PMIC) and generate graphics information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takata (US 20230047382 A1), Liao et al. (US 20200403330 A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848