DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on August 12, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/6/2022. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of the priority documents have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-13, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 10,957,825) in view of Suehiro (JP 2005/223222).
Regarding Claim 1, Han shows (Fig 2,13) most aspects of the present invention including a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (11) including a mounting area (area comprising LEDs 21)
a plurality of light emitting elements (21) are disposed in the mounting area;
a sealing layer (31) covering the light emitting element and the mounting area,
an optical film (41)
an adhesive layer (45), the optical film opposed to the mounting area, and the adhesive layer bonds the optical film to the sealing layer and contacts an upper surface of the sealing layer over substantially an entire area overlapping the mounting area
However, Han does not show wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, a coefficient of thermal expansion of the filler is smaller than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the base material, a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Suehiro teaches (Fig 1) a light emitting device comprising a sealing layer (4) covering a light emitting element (2) on a substrate (3), wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, a coefficient of thermal expansion of the filler is smaller than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the base material, a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material (par 32; glass sealing portion 4 is formed by mixing phosphate glass (coefficient of thermal expansion 11×10 NER5/°C, refractive index 1.6) with a filler made of quartz glass (coefficient of thermal expansion: 0.65×10 NER6/°C, refractive index 1.5). Suehiro teaches it is possible to form a glass sealing portion/sealing layer having a coefficient of thermal expansion substantially equal to that of the LED element while maintaining the light transmittance to the wavelength of interest; therefore it is to obtain a light emitting device which can reduce the coefficient of thermal expansion while using a low melting point glass, and which is excellent in sealing property by preventing increase in internal stress due to thermal shrinkage difference at the time of heat shrinkage after glass processing without impairing workability at low melting point (par 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, a coefficient of thermal expansion of the filler is smaller than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the base material, a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material in the device of Han, as taught by Suehiro to form a glass sealing portion/sealing layer having a coefficient of thermal expansion substantially equal to that of the LED element while maintaining the light transmittance to the wavelength of interest; therefore it is to obtain a light emitting device which can reduce the coefficient of thermal expansion while using a low melting point glass, and which is excellent in sealing property by preventing increase in internal stress due to thermal shrinkage difference at the time of heat shrinkage after glass processing without impairing workability at low melting point.
Regarding Claim 4, Suehiro teaches (Fig 1) wherein the sealing layer/glass sealing portion 4 is formed by mixing phosphate glass (coefficient of thermal expansion 11×10 NER5/°C) with a filler made of quartz glass (coefficient of thermal expansion: 0.65×10 NER6/°C).
Regarding claim 4, the courts have held that differences in the coefficient of thermal expansion will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such coefficient of thermal expansion are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105, USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Criticality
Since the applicant has not established the criticality of the coefficient of thermal expansion and similar coefficient of thermal expansion are known in the art (see e.g. Suehiro), it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use these values in the device of Han in view of Suehiro.
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed coefficient of thermal expansion or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 9, Han shows (Fig 2,13) the light emitting device of claim 1, a display panel including a display area opposed to the mounting area of the light emitting device. (column 15 lines 63-66)
Regarding Claim 10, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein the light emitting device and the display panel are bent such that the mounting area and the display area have curvatures (see Fig 39-40)
Regarding Claim 11, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein the sealing layer (31) may be a resin material such as a transparent resin material (i.e. optical clear resin) (column 11 lines 65-67). Additionally, the adhesive layer is made of the same material as the sealing layer (column 23 lines 48-52). Therefore, the adhesive layer is formed of optical clear adhesive or optical clear resin.
Regarding Claim 12, Han shows (Fig 2,13) most aspects of the present invention including a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (11) including a mounting area (area comprising LEDs 21)
a plurality of light emitting elements (21) are disposed in the mounting area
a sealing layer (31) covering the light emitting element and the mounting area,
an optical film (41)
an adhesive layer (45),
wherein the plurality of light emitting elements include a first light emitting element and a second light emitting element adjacent to the first light emitting element
the optical film is overlapping to the mounting area, and the adhesive layer bonds the optical film to the sealing layer substantially free of air gaps in a region between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element
However, Han does not show wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Suehiro teaches (Fig 1) a light emitting device comprising a sealing layer (4) covering a light emitting element (2) on a substrate (3), wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material (par 32; glass sealing portion 4 is formed by mixing phosphate glass (coefficient of thermal expansion 11×10 NER5/°C, refractive index 1.6) with a filler made of quartz glass (coefficient of thermal expansion: 0.65×10 NER6/°C, refractive index 1.5). Suehiro teaches it is possible to form a glass sealing portion/sealing layer having a coefficient of thermal expansion substantially equal to that of the LED element while maintaining the light transmittance to the wavelength of interest; therefore it is to obtain a light emitting device which can reduce the coefficient of thermal expansion while using a low melting point glass, and which is excellent in sealing property by preventing increase in internal stress due to thermal shrinkage difference at the time of heat shrinkage after glass processing without impairing workability at low melting point (par 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, in the device of Han, as taught by Suehiro to form a glass sealing portion/sealing layer having a coefficient of thermal expansion substantially equal to that of the LED element while maintaining the light transmittance to the wavelength of interest; therefore it is to obtain a light emitting device which can reduce the coefficient of thermal expansion while using a low melting point glass, and which is excellent in sealing property by preventing increase in internal stress due to thermal shrinkage difference at the time of heat shrinkage after glass processing without impairing workability at low melting point.
Regarding Claim 13, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion of the filler is smaller than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the base material (par 32; glass sealing portion 4 is formed by mixing phosphate glass (coefficient of thermal expansion 11×10 NER5/°C, refractive index 1.6) with a filler made of quartz glass (coefficient of thermal expansion: 0.65×10 NER6/°C, refractive index 1.5).
Regarding Claim 17, Han shows (Fig 2,13) most aspects of the present invention including a light emitting device comprising:
a substrate (11) including a mounting area (area comprising LEDs 21)
a plurality of light emitting elements (21) are disposed in the mounting area;
a sealing layer (31) covering the light emitting element and the mounting area,
an optical film (41) optical film disposed to face the mounting area;
an adhesive layer (45) bonding the optical film to the sealing layer, the adhesive layer is formed of an optically transparent material (the sealing layer (31) may be a resin material such as a transparent resin material (column 11 lines 65-67); Additionally, the adhesive layer is made of the same material as the sealing layer (column 23 lines 48-52).
However, Han does not show wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, and a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Suehiro teaches (Fig 1) a light emitting device comprising a sealing layer (4) covering a light emitting element (2) on a substrate (3), wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material (par 32; glass sealing portion 4 is formed by mixing phosphate glass (coefficient of thermal expansion 11×10 NER5/°C, refractive index 1.6) with a filler made of quartz glass (coefficient of thermal expansion: 0.65×10 NER6/°C, refractive index 1.5). Suehiro teaches it is possible to form a glass sealing portion/sealing layer having a coefficient of thermal expansion substantially equal to that of the LED element while maintaining the light transmittance to the wavelength of interest; therefore it is to obtain a light emitting device which can reduce the coefficient of thermal expansion while using a low melting point glass, and which is excellent in sealing property by preventing increase in internal stress due to thermal shrinkage difference at the time of heat shrinkage after glass processing without impairing workability at low melting point (par 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler contained in the base material, and a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material in the device of Han, as taught by Suehiro to form a glass sealing portion/sealing layer having a coefficient of thermal expansion substantially equal to that of the LED element while maintaining the light transmittance to the wavelength of interest; therefore it is to obtain a light emitting device which can reduce the coefficient of thermal expansion while using a low melting point glass, and which is excellent in sealing property by preventing increase in internal stress due to thermal shrinkage difference at the time of heat shrinkage after glass processing without impairing workability at low melting point.
Regarding Claim 18, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein the sealing layer (31) may be a resin material such as a transparent resin material (i.e. optical clear resin) (column 11 lines 65-67). Additionally, the adhesive layer is made of the same material as the sealing layer (column 23 lines 48-52). Therefore, the adhesive layer is formed of optical clear adhesive or optical clear resin.
Regarding Claim 19, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein optical film (41) is greater than a second optical film (51) and wherein the second optical film (51) may be in a range from 0.3 to 0.5 mm (300 µm-500 µm). Additionally, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein the adhesive layer has a thickness that is less than 50% of the thickness of the film (51).
Regarding claim 19, the courts have held that differences in thickness will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such thicknesses are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105, USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Criticality
Since the applicant has not established the criticality of the thickness and similar thicknesses are known in the art (see e.g. Han), it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use these values in the device of Han in view of Suehiro.
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thickness or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed Cir. 1990).
Claims 2,14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 10,957,825) in view of Suehiro (JP 2005/223222) and in further view of Lin (WO 2019/133005).
Regarding Claim 2, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein the filler has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches (Fig 1,8a-8d) a light emitting device comprising a device (200) comprising a substrate (830) including a mounting area, and a sealing layer (845) covering a device (835) and the mounting area, the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler (810/820) contained in the base material, wherein the filler has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion (page 2 lines 17-19; page 3 lines 12-21). Lin teaches the filler having a negative coefficient of thermal expansion may be advantageous over a silica filler (which has a positive coefficient of thermal expansion) because a lower amount of the NCTE filler (as opposed to a higher amount of silica filler) can be used to modify a polymer composite to achieve a given or desired target CTE of the polymer composite; to assist with optimizing at least one of the polymer composite’s properties (e.g., viscosity, flow as measured by MFI, moduli, tensile strength, etc.) (Page 3 lines 12-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the filler has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion, in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Lin because the filler having a negative coefficient of thermal expansion may be advantageous over a silica filler (which has a positive coefficient of thermal expansion) because a lower amount of the NCTE filler (as opposed to a higher amount of silica filler) can be used to modify a polymer composite to achieve a given or desired target CTE of the polymer composite; to assist with optimizing at least one of the polymer composite’s properties (e.g., viscosity, flow as measured by MFI, moduli, tensile strength, etc.)
Regarding Claim 14, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein the filler has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches (Fig 1,8a-8d) a light emitting device comprising a device (200) comprising a substrate (830) including a mounting area, and a sealing layer (845) covering a device (835) and the mounting area, the sealing layer includes a base material and a filler (810/820) contained in the base material, wherein the filler has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion (page 2 lines 17-19; page 3 lines 12-21). Lin teaches the filler having a negative coefficient of thermal expansion may be advantageous over a silica filler (which has a positive coefficient of thermal expansion) because a lower amount of the NCTE filler (as opposed to a higher amount of silica filler) can be used to modify a polymer composite to achieve a given or desired target CTE of the polymer composite; to assist with optimizing at least one of the polymer composite’s properties (e.g., viscosity, flow as measured by MFI, moduli, tensile strength, etc.) (Page 3 lines 12-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the filler has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion, in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Lin because the filler having a negative coefficient of thermal expansion may be advantageous over a silica filler (which has a positive coefficient of thermal expansion) because a lower amount of the NCTE filler (as opposed to a higher amount of silica filler) can be used to modify a polymer composite to achieve a given or desired target CTE of the polymer composite; to assist with optimizing at least one of the polymer composite’s properties (e.g., viscosity, flow as measured by MFI, moduli, tensile strength, etc.)
Regarding Claim 15, Suehiro teaches (Fig 1) wherein a refractive index of the filler is different from a refractive index of the base material.
Regarding Claim 16, Han shows (Fig 2,13) wherein the sealing layer (31) may be a resin material such as a transparent resin material (i.e. optical clear resin) (column 11 lines 65-67). Additionally, the adhesive layer is made of the same material as the sealing layer (column 23 lines 48-52). Therefore, the adhesive layer is formed of optical clear adhesive or optical clear resin.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 10,957,825) in view of Suehiro (JP 2005/223222) and in further view of Chakraborty (US 2008/0308825).
Regarding Claim 5, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a corner portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the corner portion in the mounting area, and a second portion covering an area including the corner portion in the mounting area, and a density of the filler in the second portion is higher than a density of the filler in the first portion.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Chakraborty teaches (Fig 4 and 13) a light emitting device (1300) comprising a substrate (1312) including a mounting area, a plurality of light emitting elements (1314) are disposed in the mounting area , and a sealing layer (400/1302) covering a light emitting elements and the mounting area, and further and shown in Fig 4, wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a corner portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion (area including 406) covering an area excluding the corner portion in the mounting area, and a second portion (area including 402) covering an area including the corner portion in the mounting area, and a density of the filler in the second portion is higher than a density of the filler in the first portion (par 68-70). Chakraborty teaches that light can be redirected away from the high angles back toward the center of the encapsulant, because the high-density region has the effect of redistributing some of the intensity that would normally be measured at high viewing angles to the lower viewing angles (par 69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a corner portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the corner portion in the mounting area, and a second portion covering an area including the corner portion in the mounting area, and a density of the filler in the second portion is higher than a density of the filler in the first portion in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Chakraborty so that that light can be redirected away from the high angles back toward the center of the encapsulant, because the high density region has the effect of redistributing some of the intensity that would normally be measured at high viewing angles to the lower viewing angles.
Regarding Claim 7, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a recess portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the recess portion in the mounting area, and a third portion covering an area including the recess portion in the mounting area, and a density of the filler in the third portion is higher than a density of the filler in the first portion.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Chakraborty teaches (Fig 4 and 13) a light emitting device (1300) comprising a substrate (1312) including a mounting area, a plurality of light emitting elements (1314) are disposed in the mounting area , and a sealing layer (400/1302) covering a light emitting elements and the mounting area, and further and shown in Fig 4, wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a recess portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion (area including 406) covering an area excluding the recess portion in the mounting area, and a third portion (area including 402) covering an area including the recess portion in the mounting area, and a density of the filler in the third portion is higher than a density of the filler in the first portion (par 68-70). Chakraborty teaches that light can be redirected away from the high angles back toward the center of the encapsulant, because the high-density region has the effect of redistributing some of the intensity that would normally be measured at high viewing angles to the lower viewing angles (par 69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a recess portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the recess portion in the mounting area, and a third portion covering an area including the recess portion in the mounting area, and a density of the filler in the third portion is higher than a density of the filler in the first portion in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Chakraborty so that that light can be redirected away from the high angles back toward the center of the encapsulant, because the high density region has the effect of redistributing some of the intensity that would normally be measured at high viewing angles to the lower viewing angles.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 10,957,825) in view of Suehiro (JP 2005/223222) and in further view of Nagai (US 2010/0065861).
Regarding Claim 6, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a corner portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the corner portion in the mounting area, and a second portion covering an area including the corner portion in the mounting area, and the filler in the second portion is formed of a material having a larger difference in refractive index from the base material than a material of the filler in the first portion.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Nagai teaches (Fig 18,21) a light emitting device comprising a substrate (35) including a mounting area, a plurality of light emitting elements (36) are disposed in the mounting area , and a sealing layer (37,38) covering a light emitting elements and the mounting area, and further wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a corner portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion (37) covering an area excluding the corner portion in the mounting area, and a second portion (38) covering an area including the corner portion in the mounting area, and the filler in the second portion is formed of a material having a larger difference in refractive index from the base material than a material of the filler in the first portion (par 177; the refractive index of the second portion (38) in the outer periphery of the wavelength converting portion 39 is set higher than the refractive index of the first portion (37) of the cover portion and par 184; the refractive index of the second portion can be increased by selecting a material having a high refractive index, or increasing the mixing ratio of the material). Nagai teaches adopting the configuration as that of the light-emitting device allows primary light can be caused to enter at a uniform intensity from the undersurface of the wavelength converting portion without increasing the distance between the light-emitting element and the wavelength converting portion, and thus even in a thin LED, uniformly mixed light can be emitted from the upper surface of the wavelength converting portion. Additionally, the configuration is used to control the refractive indexes of the first and second portions, selecting materials sufficient to do so (par 179-80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a corner portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the corner portion in the mounting area, and a second portion covering an area including the corner portion in the mounting area, and the filler in the second portion is formed of a material having a larger difference in refractive index from the base material than a material of the filler in the first portion in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Nagai because adopting the configuration as that of the light-emitting device allows primary light can be caused to enter at a uniform intensity from the undersurface of the wavelength converting portion without increasing the distance between the light-emitting element and the wavelength converting portion, and thus even in a thin LED, uniformly mixed light can be emitted from the upper surface of the wavelength converting portion. Additionally, the configuration is used to control the refractive indexes of the first and second portions, selecting materials sufficient to do so.
Regarding Claim 8, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a recessed portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the recessed portion in the mounting area, and a third portion covering an area including the recessed portion in the mounting area, and the filler in the third portion is formed of a material having a larger difference in refractive index from the base material than a material of the filler in the first portion.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Nagai teaches (Fig 18,21) a light emitting device comprising a substrate (35) including a mounting area, a plurality of light emitting elements (36) are disposed in the mounting area , and a sealing layer (37,38) covering a light emitting elements and the mounting area, and further wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a recessed portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion (37) covering an area excluding the recessed portion in the mounting area, and a third portion (38) covering an area including the recessed portion in the mounting area, and the filler in the third portion is formed of a material having a larger difference in refractive index from the base material than a material of the filler in the first portion (par 177; the refractive index of the second portion (38) in the outer periphery of the wavelength converting portion 39 is set higher than the refractive index of the first portion (37) of the cover portion and par 184; the refractive index of the second portion can be increased by selecting a material having a high refractive index, or increasing the mixing ratio of the material). Nagai teaches adopting the configuration as that of the light-emitting device allows primary light can be caused to enter at a uniform intensity from the undersurface of the wavelength converting portion without increasing the distance between the light-emitting element and the wavelength converting portion, and thus even in a thin LED, uniformly mixed light can be emitted from the upper surface of the wavelength converting portion. Additionally, the configuration is used to control the refractive indexes of the first and second portions, selecting materials sufficient to do so (par 179-80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein an outer edge shape of the mounting area includes a recessed portion, the sealing layer includes a first portion covering an area excluding the recessed portion in the mounting area, and a third portion covering an area including the recessed portion in the mounting area, and the filler in the third portion is formed of a material having a larger difference in refractive index from the base material than a material of the filler in the first portion in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Nagai because adopting the configuration as that of the light-emitting device allows primary light can be caused to enter at a uniform intensity from the undersurface of the wavelength converting portion without increasing the distance between the light-emitting element and the wavelength converting portion, and thus even in a thin LED, uniformly mixed light can be emitted from the upper surface of the wavelength converting portion. Additionally, the configuration is used to control the refractive indexes of the first and second portions, selecting materials sufficient to do so.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 10,957,825) in view of Suehiro (JP 2005/223222) and in further view of Nakabayashi (US 2021/0036199).
Regarding Claim 20, Han in view of Suehiro shows most aspects of the present invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein the optical film comprises a wavelength conversion film including quantum dots.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Nakabayashi teaches (Fig 1) a light emitting device comprising a light emitting device (200) comprising a substrate (10) including a mounting area, and a plurality of light emitting elements (20) are disposed in the mounting area, and a sealing layer (30) (par 27-28), and further comprising an optical film (50; wavelength conversion film) opposed to the mounting area; wherein the optical film comprises a wavelength conversion film including quantum dots (par 60-62). Nakabayashi teaches the optical film is capable of absorbing at least part of light emitted from the light-emitting elements and transmitted through the light diffusing layer and emitting light at a wavelength different from that of the light emitted from the light-emitting elements (par 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one having ordinary skill in the art, or before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the optical film comprises a wavelength conversion film including quantum dots in the device of Han in view of Suehiro, as taught by Nakabayashi because the optical film is capable of absorbing at least part of light emitted from the light-emitting elements and transmitted through the light diffusing layer and emitting light at a wavelength different from that of the light emitted from the light-emitting elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection provided above in the current rejection address the teachings or matters specifically challenged in the arguments.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q.A.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814