DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12, 23-25 in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations from claim 23: “wherein the first memory die stack and the second memory die stack are embedded in the stiffener; and a die module coupled to the package substrate and positioned in within an inner diameter of the stiffener” (this is described in the specification in Example 23 [0086], but the closest that this is shown in a figure is figure 4b which shows stiffener 411 embedded in the molding 428 but not the stack of dies represented by 422) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On the end of the claim – the phrase “package substrate positioned in within an inner diameter of the stiffener”, the bolded section should be corrected to read either ‘within’ or ‘in’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0375846.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an electronic package comprising (Figs. 1A-1C):
a package substrate 111A,
a first memory die stack (the left ED, [0021]) on the package substrate,
a second memory die stack (the right ED) on the package substrate,
an electrically insulating layer over the first memory die stack and the second memory die stack (a thin layer 130A extends over the stack dies, Fig. 1D; [0023]),
an opening through the electrically insulating layer (where the third/middle ED would be located), and
a die module (the third ED or the middle ED; Fig. 1D) in the opening over the package substate.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the first memory die and the second memory die are electrically coupled to the die module by interconnects in the package substrate (bonded through vias 116 and dielectric layer 115b, Fig. 1D).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the die module comprises a first die and a second die (the third ED or the middle ED; Fig. 1D, is a plurality of dies [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses further comprising a third memory die stack on the package substrate and a fourth memory die stack on the package substrate (Fig. 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0375846, in view of Niu et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0063200.
Regarding claim 2, Chen fails to disclose wherein the first and second die stacks are electrically coupled to the substrate by wire bonds.
Niu discloses the memory die stacks wherein the die stacks are wire bonded directly to the substrate (by wire bond 214, Fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Niu’s in Chen invention in order to provide directly contact for all the dies in the stack.
Regarding claim 12, Chen fails to disclose wherein the memory die stacks comprising four or more memory dies are wire bonded directly to the substrate. Niu discloses the memory die stacks comprise four or more dies (212-1, 212-2, 212-3, 212-4…212-N, Fig. 2A) wherein each of the dies are wire bonded directly to the substrate (by wire bond 214, Fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Niu’s in Chen invention in order to obtain higher density and improve performance and to provide directly contact for all the dies in the stack.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0375846, in view of Gomes et al., U.S. Patent No. 12,381,193.
Regarding claim 4, Chen fails to disclose wherein the die module is a system on a chip (SoC). Gomes discloses the electronic package wherein the die module is a system on a chip (SoC) (lines 7-20, Col. 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply Gomes’s in Chen invention in order to obtain high performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having the limitations of claim 1 wherein the die module comprises a first die and a second die.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations having the limitations of claim 1 further comprising a stiffener around the first memory die stack and the second memory die stack.
Claims 23-26 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reason for allowance: None of the references of record teaches or suggests the claimed having an electronic system comprising: a first memory de stack coupled to the substrate, a second memory die stack coupled to the substrate, a stiffener on the substrate wherein the first memory die and the second memory die are embedded in the stiffener and a die module coupled to the substrate and positioned within an inner diameter of the stiffener.
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818