CTFR 17/833,648 CTFR 74556 DETAILED ACTION Response to Arguments 07-38-02 Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendments filed 4/16/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below. Rejection over Li et al., US 2011/0248405 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3,5, 7, 10-14, 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being clearly anticipated by Li et al., US 2011/0248405 . Regarding claim 1, Li (figure 3E) teaches an apparatus comprising: a glass core layer 302 defining a plurality (paragraph 0023) of holes 306 between a first side of the glass core layer 302 and a second side of the glass core layer 302 opposite the first side; a conductive metal 310 inside the holes 306 of the glass core layer 302, the conductive metal 310 electrically coupling the first side of the glass core layer 302 and the second side of the glass core layer 302; and a dielectric material 314/304 on a surface of the first side of the glass core layer 302, a surface of the second side glass core layer 302, and between the conductive metal 310 and inside surfaces of the holes of the glass core layer 302, wherein the dielectric material 314/304 includes silicon and carbon (paragraph 0018 teaches 304 is SiC & paragraph 0022 teaches 314 is SiC). With respect to claim 2, Li (paragraph 0022) teaches the dielectric material 314 includes silicon carbide. As to claim 3, Li (figure 3E) teaches the dielectric material 314/304 completely covers a surface of the first side of the glass core layer 302 and a surface of the second side of the glass core layer 302. In re claim 5, Li (figure 3E) teaches metal traces 308 on the first side of the glass core layer 302 or metal traces on the second side of the glass core layer, wherein the dielectric layer 314/304 is between the metal traces 308 and the glass core layer 302. Concerning claim 7, Li (figure 3E) teaches the dielectric material 314/304 on the first surface of the glass core layer 302 is coupled to the dielectric material 314/304 on the second surface of the glass core layer 302 by the dielectric material 314/304 on the inside surfaces of the holes 306. Pertaining to claim 10, Li (paragraph 0023) teaches a capacitor coupled to a metallization layer of the second buildup layer. Pertaining to claim 11, Li (figure 3E) teaches there is no metal 310 or 308 in contact with the glass core layer 302. In claim 12, Li (figure 3E & paragraph 0023) teaches an integrated circuit package comprising the apparatus of claim 1 and an integrated circuit die coupled to the apparatus. Regarding claim 13, Li (figure 3E) teaches a system comprising: an integrated circuit package comprising: an integrated circuit die (paragraph 0023); and a package substrate comprising circuitry to interconnect the integrated circuit die (paragraph 0023) with a main circuit board (paragraph 0023), the package substrate comprising: a glass core layer 302; a plurality (paragraph 0023)of through-glass vias (TGVs) 310 in the glass core layer 302, the TGVs comprising conductive metal 310; and dielectric material 314/304 between the TGVs 310 and the glass core layer 302, wherein the dielectric material includes silicon and carbon (paragraph 0018 teaches 304 is SiC & paragraph 0022 teaches 314 is SiC). With respect to claim 14, Li (figure 3) teaches the TGVs comprise: first metal pads (on 308) on a first side of the glass core layer 302; second metal pads (on horizontal part of 310) on a second side of the glass core layer 302; and metal 308/310 coupling the first and second metal pads inside holes of the glass core layer 302. With respect to claim 16, Li (paragraph 0018 teaches 304 is SiC & paragraph 0022 teaches 314 is SiC) teaches the dielectric material includes silicon carbide. As to claim 17, Li (paragraph 0021 teaches 310 may be the same as 308 and paragraph 0019 teaches 308 can be copper) teaches the conductive metal 310 is copper or a copper alloy. In re claim 19, Li (paragraph 0023) teaches a main circuit board coupled to the integrated circuit package . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 6, 8, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., US 2011/0248405, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 6, 8, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over. Concerning claim 4, though Li fails to teach the dielectric material has a thickness between 25 – 250 nm, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the thickness through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). Pertaining to claims 6 and 18, Li teaches the dielectric layer 314 comprises more nitrogen or carbon than the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the relative content through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In claim 8, though Li fails to teach a buildup layer having a plurality of metallization layers connected by metal pillars, at least one metallization layer of the buildup layer coupled to the conductive metal inside the holes of the glass core layer on the first side of the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these buildup layers in the invention of Li because they are conventionally known and used in the art equivalents to the single layer buildup of Li. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Regarding claim 9, though Li fails to teach the buildup layer is a first buildup layer and the apparatus further comprises a second buildup layer having a plurality of metallization layers connected by metal pillars, at least one metallization layer of the second buildup layer coupled to the conductive metal inside the holes of the glass core layer on the second side of the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these buildup layers in the invention of Li because they are conventionally known and used in the art equivalents to the single layer buildup of Li. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). With respect to claim 15, though Li fails to teach the package substrate further comprises: a first buildup layer on a first side of the glass core layer; a second buildup layer on a second side of the glass core layer, the first buildup layer connected to the second buildup layer by the TGVs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these buildup layers in the invention of Li because they are conventionally known and used in the art equivalents to the single layer buildup of Li. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Rejections over Lee et al., US 10,903,170 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 10,903,170, in view of Li et al., US 2011/0248/405 . Regarding claim 1, Lee (figure 6) teaches an apparatus comprising: a glass core layer 111a defining a plurality of holes 113a between a first side of the glass core layer 111a and a second side of the glass core layer 111a opposite the first side; a conductive metal 113a inside the holes of the glass core layer 111a, the conductive metal 113a electrically coupling the first side of the glass core layer 111a and the second side of the glass core layer 111a. Lee fails to teach a dielectric material on a surface of the first side of the glass core layer, a surface of the second side glass core layer, and between the conductive metal and inside surfaces of the holes of the glass core layer, wherein the dielectric material includes silicon and carbon. Li (figure 3E) teaches a dielectric material 304/314 on a surface of the first side of the glass core layer 302, a surface of the second side glass core layer 302, and between the conductive metal 310 and inside surfaces of the holes of the glass core layer 302, wherein the dielectric material 314 includes silicon and carbon (paragraph 0022 teaches SiC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the SiC of Li in the invention of Lee because Li teaches it improves adhesion of the conductive layer to the substrate (paragraph 0022). With respect to claim 2, Li (paragraph 0022) teaches the dielectric material 314 includes silicon carbide. With respect to claim 3, Li (figure 3E) teaches the dielectric material 314/304 completely covers a surface of the first side of the glass core layer 302 and a surface of the second side of the glass core layer 302. Concerning claim 4, though Li fails to teach the dielectric material has a thickness between 25 – 250 nm, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the thickness through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In re claim 5, Li (figure 3E) teaches metal traces 308 on the first side of the glass core layer 302 or metal traces on the second side of the glass core layer, wherein the dielectric layer 314/304 is between the metal traces 308 and the glass core layer 302. Pertaining to claim 6, Li teaches the dielectric layer 314 comprises more nitrogen or carbon than the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the relative content through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). Concerning claim 7, Li (figure 3E) teaches the dielectric material 314/304 on the first surface of the glass core layer 302 is coupled to the dielectric material 314/304 on the second surface of the glass core layer 302 by the dielectric material 314/304 on the inside surfaces of the holes 306. In claim 8, though Li fails to teach a buildup layer having a plurality of metallization layers connected by metal pillars, at least one metallization layer of the buildup layer coupled to the conductive metal inside the holes of the glass core layer on the first side of the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these buildup layers in the invention of Li because they are conventionally known and used in the art equivalents to the single layer buildup of Li. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Regarding claim 9, though Li fails to teach the buildup layer is a first buildup layer and the apparatus further comprises a second buildup layer having a plurality of metallization layers connected by metal pillars, at least one metallization layer of the second buildup layer coupled to the conductive metal inside the holes of the glass core layer on the second side of the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these buildup layers in the invention of Li because they are conventionally known and used in the art equivalents to the single layer buildup of Li. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Pertaining to claim 10, Li (paragraph 0023) teaches a capacitor coupled to a metallization layer of the second buildup layer. Pertaining to claim 11, Li (figure 3E) teaches there is no metal 310 or 308 in contact with the glass core layer 302. In claim 12, Li (figure 3E & paragraph 0023) teaches an integrated circuit package comprising the apparatus of claim 1 and an integrated circuit die coupled to the apparatus. Pertaining to claim 13, Lee (figure 6) teaches a system comprising: an integrated circuit package comprising: an integrated circuit die 140; and a package substrate 111a comprising circuitry 113b/112b to interconnect the integrated circuit die 140 with a main circuit board, the package substrate comprising: a glass core layer 111a; a plurality of through-glass vias (TGVs) 113a in the glass core layer 111a, the TGVs 113a comprising conductive metal 113a. Lee fails to teach a dielectric material between the TGVs and the glass core layer, wherein the dielectric material includes silicon and carbon. Li (figure 3E) teaches a dielectric material 304/314 between the TGVs 310 and the glass core layer 302, wherein the dielectric material 304/314 includes silicon and carbon (paragraph 0022 teaches SiC). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the SiC of Li in the invention of Lee because Li teaches it improves adhesion of the conductive layer to the substrate (paragraph 0022). In claim 14, Lee (figure 6) teaches the TGVs 113a comprise: first metal pads 112a on a first side of the glass core layer 111a; second metal pads 112a on a second side of the glass core layer 111a; and metal 113a coupling the first and second metal pads 112a inside holes 113a of the glass core layer 111a. Regarding claim 15, Lee (figure 6) teaches the package substrate further comprises: a first buildup layer 111a/113c on a first side of the glass core layer 111a; a second buildup layer 111b/113b on a second side of the glass core layer 111a, the first buildup layer 111a/113c connected to the second buildup layer 111b/113b by the TGVs 113a. With respect to claim 16, Li (paragraph 0022) teaches the dielectric material 314 includes silicon carbide. As to claim 17, Lee (column 11, lines 8-11) the conductive metal 113a is copper or a copper alloy. In re claim 18, though Li fails to teach the dielectric layer 6 comprises more nitrogen or carbon than the glass core layer, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the nitrogen or carbon through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). Concerning claim 19, Li (paragraph 0023) teaches a main circuit board coupled to the integrated circuit package . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 26, and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 10,903,170, in view of Mori et al., US 7,091,589, and Yang, US 9,615,453 . Pertaining to claim 26, Lee (figure 6) teaches an integrated circuit device comprising: a package substrate comprising: first buildup layers 111c/113c comprising a plurality of metallization layers 113c; second buildup layers 111b/113b comprising a plurality of metallization layers 113b; a glass core layer 111a between the first buildup layers 111c/113c and the second buildup layers 111b/113b; a plurality of through-glass vias (TGVs) 113a in the glass core layer 111a electrically conductively coupling the first buildup layers 111c/113c and the second buildup layers 111b/113b. Lee fails to teach a dielectric material between the TGVs and the glass core layer. Mori (figure 2) teaches a dielectric material 6 between the TGVs 5 and the glass core layer 2’, wherein the dielectric material includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride or the like (column 7, lines 26-31). Yang (column 8, lines 23-27) teaches the dielectric material can be silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the silicon oxynitride dielectric material of Yang in the invention of Mori, and therefore Lee, because Mori teaches its insulating materials can be silicon oxide, silicon nitride or the like and Yang teaches the equivalence of silicon oxynitride with silicon oxide and silicon nitride. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Further, Lee, which teaches resins mixed or impregnated with glass fibers such as ABF and FR-4 (column 10, lines 6-18), doesn't teach the core layer is only glass. Mori (column 6, lines 65-67) teaches the core layer 2' can be made of glass or a glass-epoxy composite. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the glass core layer of Mori in the invention of Lee because Mori teaches the equivalence between the two types of core layers. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). In claim 27, Mori (column 7, lines 26-28 teaches SiN) teaches the dielectric material 6 includes nitrogen or carbon. Regarding claim 28, Mori (column 7, lines 26-28 teaches SiN) teaches the dielectric material 6 includes one or more of silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and silicon carbide. With respect to claim 29, Mori teaches the dielectric material 6 completely covers a surface of the glass core layer 2’ between the glass core layer 2’ and the first buildup layers 3 and a surface of the glass core layer 2’ between the glass core layer 2’ and the second buildup layers 9a/5a. As to claim 30, though Mori fails to teach the dielectric material 6 has a thickness between 25 – 250 nm, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the thickness through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In re claim 31, Lee (figure 6) teaches an integrated circuit die 140 coupled to the package substrate. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID A ZARNEKE whose telephone number is (571)272-1937. The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matt Landau can be reached at 571-272-1731. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 5/15/26 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 2 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 3 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 4 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 5 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 6 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 7 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 8 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 9 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 10 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 11 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 12 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 13 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 14 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 15 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 16 Art Unit: 2891 Application/Control Number: 17/833,648 Page 17 Art Unit: 2891