DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleetham et al (US 2021/0066616) (Fleetham).
In reference to claims 1-3, Fleetham teaches a compound of formula I as shown below (Fleetham [0007]),
for example, a compound as shown above except wherein Y1 is S instead of O (Fleetham [0007]; [0072]) and wherein RC at X4 is a carbazole as in examples on page 28 of Fleetham.
Fleetham discloses the compound of formula I that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including a compound as shown above except wherein Y1 is S instead of O and wherein RC at X4 is a carbazole as in examples on page 28 of Fleetham. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Fleetham are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula I.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula I to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Fleetham and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on formula 1-1 wherein Z1 is CR4d, A1 is heteroaryl having 12 ring forming carbon atoms, R1 and R2 are each hydrogen, X1 is S and X2 is formula 2, in each formula 2, Ra1 to Ra3 are each hydrogen, Q1 and Ra4 are each phenyl, R3a, R3b, R3c, R3d, R4a, R4b, R4c, and R4d are each hydrogen; at least one of X1 is S and at least one of X2 is formula 2.
For Claim 2: Reads on formula 2-2.
For Claim 3: Reads on A1 is not represented by formula 3
In reference to claims 11-13, Fleetham teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches it is used as a dopant in an emitting layer between an anode and a cathode (Fleetham [0074] [0075] [0081]) wherein the host is e.g. a compound as shown below (Fleetham [0086]).
Given that Fleetham discloses the device configuration that encompasses the presently claimed device, including an anode, cathode, and host material, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the device structure, which is both disclosed by Fleetham and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claims 11-13: Reads on the claimed device structure wherein the host is a compound of formula E-2b wherein Cbz1 is a carbazole, Cbz2 is a carbazole, b is 1, Lb is a dibenzothiophene.
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US 2019/0115538) (Lim).
In reference to claims 1-3 and 5-10, Lim teaches a compound of formula 1-3 as shown below (Lim [0087] it is noted that X2 is clearly misdrawn in the wrong position given the rest of the disclosure)
for example, wherein in the formula 1-3, Y1 and Y11 are each B, X1, X11, and X12 are each O, X2 is S, c1 is 1, c2 is 0, c11 is 0, c3 is 1, a13 is 1, b13 is 1, L13 is formula 3-3, R13 is 5-1, a3 is 0, b3 is 1, and R3 is formula 5-1.
Lim discloses the compound of formula 1-3 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including Y1 and Y11 are each B, X1, X11, and X12 are each O, X2 is S, c1 is 1, c2 is 0, c11 is 0, c3 is 1, a13 is 1, b13 is 1, L13 is formula 3-3, R13 is 5-1, a3 is 0, b3 is 1, and R3 is formula 5-1. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Lim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1-3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1-3 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Lim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on formula 1-2 wherein A1 is a group of formula 3, Y2 is B, R1 and R2 are each hydrogen, X1 is S, and X2 are each O, Z1 is CR4d, A2 is phenyl and each other R is hydrogen.
For Claim 2: Reads on wherein X1 is S and X2 are O.
For Claim 3: Reads on wherein A1 is 3-4.
For Claim 8: Reads on formula 6-1.
For Claim 9: Reads on formula 7-2.
For Claim 10: Reads on 114.
In reference to claims 6 and 7, Lim teaches a compound of formula 1-3 as shown below (Lim [0087] it is noted that X2 is clearly misdrawn in the wrong position given the rest of the disclosure)
for example, wherein in the formula 1-3, Y1 and Y11 are each B, X1 is NR53, X11, and X12 are each O, X2 is S, c1 is 1, c2 is 0, c11 is 0, c3 is 1, a13 is 1, b13 is 1, L13 is a bond, R13 is an alkyl group, a3 is 0, b3 is 1, R3 is alkyl and R53 is biphenyl.
Lim discloses the compound of formula 1-3 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including Y1 and Y11 are each B, X1 is NR53, X11, and X12 are each O, X2 is S, c1 is 1, c2 is 0, c11 is 0, c3 is 1, a13 is 1, b13 is 1, L13 is a bond, R13 is an alkyl group, a3 is 0, b3 is 1, R3 is alkyl and R53 is biphenyl. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Lim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1-3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1-3 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Lim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US 2019/0115538) (Lim) and further in view of Fleetham et al (US 2021/0066616) (Fleetham).
In reference to claims 11-20, Lim teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 or 6 and further teaches its use in an organic electroluminescent device comprising a first and second electrode and an emitting layer wherein the compound is a dopant with a host (Lim [0007] to [0010]; [0167]).
Lim does not expressly teach a host material as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Fleetham teaches, in analogous art, organic EL devices comprising overlapping dopant materials to those described by Lim and further teaches that the emitting layer comprises a host that is, e.g. a compound as shown below (Fleetham [0086]) as an alternative to dibenzofuran or anthracene hosts as suggested by Lim (Fleetham [0081] [0134]).
That is, the substitution of the host of Fleetham for the host of Lim, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of acting as a host material. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Initially, concerning the rejections under 35 USC 103 over Fleetham et al and Lim, Applicant argues that the amendment overcomes this rejection by excluding the groups A1 to be hydrogen or deuterium. However, Fleetham teaches many examples wherein this position is substituted by a claimed group and Lim is not recited for teaching a hydrogen or deuterium atom at this position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786