DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant's amendment filed April 16th, 2026. In virtue of this communication, claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 22 are currently presented in the instant application with claims 3 and 21 having been cancelled and claims 6-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0111390 A1; hereinafter Kim) in view of Winters et al. (US 2007/0176538 A1; hereinafter Winters).
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses an organic light emitting display device 500 in Fig. 8 with Figs. 1-4G teaching overlapping subject matter, comprising:
a first substrate 111 including a plurality of sub-pixels SPX (see Figs. 1, 2, 8, and paragraphs 38, 43-46, 53, 136, 167);
a transistor 150 in each of the sub-pixels SPX of the plurality of sub-pixels and on the first substrate 111 (see Figs. 1, 2, 8, and paragraphs 70, 73, 74, 136, 167);
an organic light emitting diode 160 in each of the sub-pixels SPX of the plurality of sub-pixels and on the first substrate 111 (see Figs. 1, 2, 8, and paragraphs 74, 75, 78, 79, 136);
an aging voltage supply line (comprising 781 and 782) extending from a lower surface of the first substrate 111 to a portion of the transistor 150 and supplying an aging voltage to the transistor 150 (see Figs. 1, 2, 8, and paragraphs 48, 95, 99, 100, 169-174; note that 781 and 782 are functionally equivalent to 181 and 182 and supply low and high potential power to transistor 150; as noted in both previous rejections, any electrically conductive element capable of supplying a voltage can supply an aging voltage); and
an aging pad (where 130 and 140 connect to 180; 180 is equivalent to 780) formed at an end of the aging voltage supply line (comprising 781 and 782), a probe (130 and 140) being contacted with the aging pad (where 130 and 140 connect to 180) to supply the aging voltage to the aging pad (where 130 and 140 connect to 180) from outside (see Figs. 1, 2, 8, and paragraphs 48-53, 95, 99, 100, 167; note 130 and 140 supply signals (i.e. voltage) to the pixels, i.e., a voltage applying means; any pad capable of supplying a voltage can supply an aging voltage),
wherein the aging voltage supply line (comprising 781 and 782) includes:
a first aging voltage supply line 781 connected to a gate electrode 151 of the transistor 150 through a first contact hole CT1 formed in the first substrate 111 and a gate insulating layer 113 (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 70-72, 74, 99, 169-171; 171 connected to 151 to transmit a gate signal), and
a second aging voltage supply line 782 connected to an electrode 153 of the transistor 150 that is connected to the organic light emitting diode 160 through a second contact hole CT2 formed in the first substrate 111, the gate insulating layer 113 , and an interlayer insulating layer 114 (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 70-72, 74, 75, 94, 172-174; note second connecting line 782/182 transmits a data signal to the subpixels, i.e., 782 is connected to 160).
Kim does not explicitly disclose where the transistor 150 is a thin film transistor (even though the transistor looks like and is formed like a TFT) or wherein the electrode 153 is a drain electrode.
Winters discloses an organic light emitting display device in Figs. 4a-6 wherein a transistor 140 is a thin film transistor and that the source and drain terminal indications are interchangeable and can be switched to suit a particular device construction, pixel design, or driving operation method (see Figs. 4a-6 and paragraphs 7, 35, 39, 53; note TFT can be a top gate structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the transistor 150 of Kim would be a thin film transistor as taught by Winters because the such thin film transistors are well known in the art and active matrix circuitry for OLED displays is commonly achieved by forming thin film transistors from thin layers of semiconductor material, such a silicon, deposited over the substrate (see MPEP 2144 I and see Winters: paragraph 7). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the transistor 150 of Kim the electrode 153 would be a drain and thus the electrode 154 would be source as taught by Winters because one skilled in the art will realize that the source and drain terminal indications are interchangeable and can be switched to suit a particular device construction, pixel design, or driving operation method (see Winters: paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Kim and Winters discloses the organic light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the thin film transistor 150 includes: a semiconductor layer 152 over the first substrate 111 and under the gate insulating layer 113; the gate electrode 151 on the gate insulating layer 113 and under the interlayer insulating layer 114; and a source electrode 154 and the drain electrode 153 on the interlayer insulating layer 114 (see Kim: Fig. 8 and paragraphs 70, 71, 74, 80. Also see Winters: paragraph 39 for source and drain interchangeability).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Kim and Winters discloses the organic light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the first aging voltage supply line 781 is formed of the same material as the gate electrode 151 (see Kim: Fig. 8 and paragraphs 171).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Kim and Winters discloses the organic light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the second aging voltage supply line 782 is formed of the same material as the drain electrode 153 (see Kim: Fig. 8 and paragraphs 174. Also see Winters: paragraph 39 for source and drain interchangeability).
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Kim and Winters discloses the organic light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the first aging voltage supply line 781 is directly connected to the gate electrode 151 of the thin film transistor 150 (see Kim: Fig. 8 and paragraphs 70-72, 74, 99, 169-171; 171 may be disposed on the same layer as the gate electrode 151 and made of the same material as the gate electrode 151, also 171 connected to 151 to transmit a gate signal. Element 116 over 188a as seen in Fig.4 of in the instant application is understood to be a gate pad like 171 of Kim. Also see Winters: Figs. 4a-6 and paragraphs 7, 35, 39, 53; note transistor is a TFT).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “in Kim, the second connecting line 782 (allegedly considered the claimed second aging voltage supply line) is not connected to the drain electrode that is connected to the anode 161 of the organic light emitting element 160. Accordingly, Kim fails to disclose or suggest the features of ‘a second aging voltage supply line connected to a drain electrode of the thin film transistor that is connected to the organic light emitting diode through a second contact hole formed in the first substrate, the gate insulating layer, and an interlayer insulating layer,’ as recited in claim 1, as amended.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As outlined in the rejection above, Kim discloses a second aging voltage supply line 782 connected to an electrode 153 of the transistor 150 that is connected to the organic light emitting diode 160 through a second contact hole CT2 formed in the first substrate 111, the gate insulating layer 113, and an interlayer insulating layer 114 (see Fig. 8 and paragraphs 70-72, 74, 75, 94, 172-174). The second connecting line 782/182 transmits a data signal to the subpixels of which the OLEDs 160 are components. Therefore, element 782 is understood to be connected to 160. Winters discloses that a skilled in the art will realize that the source and drain terminal indications are interchangeable and can be switched to suit a particular device construction, pixel design, or driving operation method (see Winters: paragraph 39). It is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893