DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 8 January 2026. By this amendment, claims 1-5 are amended; claim 6 is cancelled. Claims 1-17 are currently pending; claims 10-17 stand withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0352727 A1 to Cheng et al. (hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a plurality of fins 302 (¶ 0054; Fig. 11A) grouped in a fin array, wherein:
a first symmetrical cross-sectional profile of an upper portion (Figs. 11B, 11C - “top portion of fins”) of each of the plurality of fins 302 located above a top surface of a shallow trench isolation layer 802 (¶ 0055) is substantially similar (Figs. 11B-11C);
a second symmetrical cross-sectional profile of a bottom portion (portion of 302 below the top surface of 802) of one or more inner fins 302 (Fig. 11B) in the fin array located below the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802 is different than a third profile of the bottom portion (Fig. 11C - portion of 302 below top surface of 802) of edge fins 302 (Fig. 11C) in the fin array located below the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802; and
a smallest lateral width of the bottom portion of the edge fins 302 (Fig. 11C) in the fin array located below the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802 is greater than a largest lateral width of the bottom portion of the one or more inner fins 302 (Fig. 11B) in the fin array located below the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first symmetrical cross-sectional profile of the upper portion (Figs. 11B, 11C - “top portion of fins”) of each of the plurality of fins 302 located above the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802 comprise a symmetrical cross-sectional profile selected from the group consisting of a linear tapered profile, a parabolic tapered profile, an exponential tapered profile, and a non-tapered profile having a constant width (Figs. 11B, 11C - non-tapered profile having a constant width).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the one or more inner fins 302 (Fig. 11B) in the fin array comprise a symmetrical cross-sectional profile selected from the group consisting of a linear tapered profile, a parabolic tapered profile, an exponential tapered profile, and a non-tapered profile having a constant width (Fig. 11 - non-tapered profile having a constant width).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein: a smallest lateral width of the upper portion (Fig. 11C - “top portion of fins”) of the edge fins 302 (Fig. 11C) in the fin array located above the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802 is substantially similar to a smallest lateral width of the upper portion (Fig. 11B - “top portion of fins”) of the one or more inner fins 302 (Fig. 11B) in the fin array located above the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802; and a largest lateral width of the upper portion (Fig. 11C - “top portion of fins”) of the edge fins 302 (Fig. 11C) in the fin array located above the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802 is substantially similar to a largest lateral width of the upper portion (Fig. 11B - “top portion of fins”) of the one or more inner fins 302 (Fig. 11B) in the fin array located above the top surface of the shallow trench isolation layer 802.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the shallow trench isolation layer 802 is formed from at least one material selected from the group consisting of silicon dioxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon oxide (SiO), a nitride, an undoped polysilicon, and combinations thereof (¶ 0050 - silicon dioxide).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of fins in the fin array are formed from at least one of silicon, gallium arsenide, germanium, or a nano sheet stack (¶ 0040).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the fin array is formed as part of a FinFET or a Nanoshefet FET (¶ 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0366776 A1 to Sung et al. (hereinafter “Sung”).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng (Figs. 11A-C) discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the one or more inner fins 302 (Fig. 11B) in the fin array have a symmetrical cross-sectional profile.
Cheng fails to expressly disclose: the edge fins in the fin array have an asymmetrical cross-sectional profile. In the same field of endeavor, Sung (Fig. 10) discloses a semiconductor device including fins 204 having an asymmetrical cross-sectional profile (¶ 0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the edge fins of Cheng to include an asymmetrical cross-sectional profile as disclosed by Sung for the purpose of providing enhanced electrical properties while decreasing drain induced barrier lowering (DIBL) (¶ 0057).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2015/0279971 A1 to Xie et al. disclosing FinFETs having fins with a stepped transition between upper fin portions and lower fin portions; US 2015/0145065 A1 to Kanakasabathy et al. disclosing an etching process for FinFETs including fins with asymmetrical cross-sectional profiles.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CANDICE Y. CHAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
7 March 2026
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813