DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The status and relevant patent number of application 16/327,078 needs to be updated. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species J in the reply filed on July 3, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weir et al (2012/0209314).
Referring to claim 11, Weir et al teaches a method of generating feedback to an operator of a surgical instrument that seals and cuts tissue, the method comprising: actuating a jaw (72) of an end effector included in the surgical instrument from an open configuration towards a closed configuration to clamp tissue (paragraph 0051; Figures 1 and 6), wherein the jaw of the end effector is drivingly coupled with an actuation input (36) of a proximal assembly configured to be held and manipulated by an operator of the surgical instrument, wherein an incremental actuation of the actuation input produces an incremental actuation of the jaw from the open configuration towards the closed configuration (paragraphs 0052; Figures 1 and 2); generating, with an actuation monitoring assembly included in the surgical instrument, at least one of a jaw-angle output indicative of a clamping angle of the jaw or a clamping-force output indicative of a clamping force of the jaw; controlling, via a feedback assembly included in the surgical instrument, one or more output elements of the feedback assembly to output, in response to at least one of the jaw-angle output or the clamping-force output (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 1-22) one or more indications comprising at least one of: an indication to the operator that the clamping angle is greater than a maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; an indication to the operator that the clamping angle is equal to or less than the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; an indication to the operator that the clamping angle is greater than a maximum recommended clamping angle for cutting tissue clamped by the jaw; an indication to the operator that the clamping angle is equal to or less than the maximum recommended clamping angle for cutting tissue clamped by the jaw; an indication to the operator that the clamping force of the jaw is less than a minimum recommended clamping force of the jaw for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; and an indication to the operator that the clamping force of the jaw is equal to or greater than the minimum recommended clamping force of the jaw for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Referring to claims 12, Weir et al teaches generating, with the actuation monitoring assembly, the jaw-angle output, and wherein the one or more indications comprise at least one of: the indication to the operator that the clamping angle is greater than the maximum recommended clamping angle for cutting tissue clamped by the jaw; and the indication to the operator that the clamping angle is equal to or less than the maximum recommended clamping angle for cutting tissue clamped by the jaw (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Referring to claims 13, Weir et al teaches generating, with the actuation monitoring assembly, the jaw-angle output, and wherein the one or more indications comprise at least one of: the indication to the operator that the clamping angle is greater than the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; and the indication to the operator that the clamping angle is equal to or less than the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Referring to claims 14, Weir et al teaches generating, with the actuation monitoring assembly, the clamping-force output, and wherein the one or more indications comprise at least one of: the indication to the operator that the clamping force of the jaw is less than the minimum recommended clamping force of the jaw for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; and the indication to the operator that the clamping force of the jaw is equal to or greater than the minimum recommended clamping force of the jaw for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Referring to claims 15, Weir et al teaches generating, with the actuation monitoring assembly, the jaw-angle output and the clamping-force output; processing, with a control unit, the jaw-angle output and the clamping-force output to identify an initial contact jaw angle corresponding to initial contact between the jaw and tissue clamped by the jaw; selecting, by the control unit, the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw based on the initial contact jaw angle; and controlling, via the feedback assembly, operation of the one or more output elements to output at least one of: the indication to the operator that the clamping angle is greater than a maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; and the indication to the operator that the clamping angle is equal to or less than the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Referring to claims 16, Weir et al teaches processing, by the control unit, the jaw-angle output and the clamping-force output to determine a tissue stiffness of the tissue clamped by the jaw; and selecting, by the control unit, the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw based on the tissue stiffness (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0050, 0066, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Referring to claims 17, Weir et al teaches wherein the one or more output elements comprise at least one of: one or more indicator lights; an output display; and an aural output device (paragraphs 0015, 0051, 0054, 0055, 0082, 0085-0086; Figures 1, 15A-15B, 16A-16B, 22A-22B; claim 36).
Referring to claims 19, Weir et al teaches wherein generating, by the actuation monitoring assembly, a sealing enablement signal indicative of at least one of. the clamping angle is greater than the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; the clamping angle is equal to or less than the maximum recommended clamping angle for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; the clamping force of the jaw is less than the minimum recommended clamping force of the jaw for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; and the clamping force of the jaw is equal to or greater than the minimum recommended clamping force of the jaw for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw; and controlling, based on the sealing enablement signal, enablement of supply of a sealing energy to the surgical instrument for sealing tissue clamped by the jaw (paragraphs 0011, 0016, 0017, 0051, 0078-0080 and 0084; Figures 13-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weir et al (2012/0209314) in view of Brisson et al (2012/0310255).
Referring to claim 18, Weir et al is silent with regard to a spring assembly. Brisson et al teaches an analogous surgical instrument comprising a spring assembly comprising an output link (124) drivingly coupled with the jaw, an input link (122) drivingly coupled with the actuation input, and a spring (128) coupled with the input link and the output link to transfer an articulation force from the input link to the output link to induce a grip force of the jaw, the spring being preloaded to inhibit relative movement between the input link and the output link while the articulation force is below a predetermined level and so as to allow relative movement between the input link and the output link when the articulation force is above the predetermined level (paragraphs 0015, 0021, 0024, 0062-0065 and 0069; Figure 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the surgical instrument, as taught by Weir et al, to include the claimed spring assembly, as taught by Brisson et al, in order to provide flexibility with regard to the amount of jaw articulation that occurs such as when items of different sizes are gripped by the jaw (paragraph 0024).
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794