DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on July 07, 2026. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended. No new claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Claims 8-15 have been withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-7 and 16-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot as applied to the newly added claim limitations because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2021/0202460 A1; hereafter Shin) in view of Ahn (US 2014/0306348 A1) and Araki (US 2019/0101785 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a display device (see e.g., flexible display device, Figure 9) comprising:
a display substrate comprising a display area and a non-display area (see e.g., first flat portion 110a and top part of curved portion 110c comprise a display area AA corresponding to 110A and a non-display area corresponding to the top part of the curved portion 110c with circuit wirings, Figure 9, Paras [167] – [170], [190]);
a film substrate at least partially overlapping the non-display area of the display substrate (see e.g., second flat portion 110b and bottom part of curved portion 110c overlap with top part of 110c, Figure 9, Paras [167] – [170], [190]);
a driving chip located on the film substrate (see e.g., driver IC 165 located on second flat portion 110b and bottom part of 110c, Figure 9, Para [210]);
a film layer at the … surface of the display substrate (see e.g., first back plate 101a and cushion tape 168 on the surface of first flat portion 110a, Figure 9, Paras [186] – [193]),
an adhesive layer between the film layer and a first surface of the film substrate (see e.g., functional tape 170 between the first plate 101a/cushion tape 168 and second flat portion 110b and bottom part of 110c, Figure 9, Paras [212], [214] – [224]);
and a resin layer covering a second surface of the film substrate and a portion of an upper surface of the display substrate (see e.g., micro-coating layer 145 covering the surface of first flat portion 110a and top part of curved portion 110c and, second flat portion 110b and bottom part of curved portion 110c, Figure 9, Paras [224], [237]).
Shin does not explicitly teach
“a film substrate …. contacting an upper surface of the display substrate, and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate;
a film layer at the side surface of the display substrate;
a resin layer …. bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate”.
In the same field of endeavor Ahn teaches
a film substrate …. contacting an upper surface of the display substrate (see e.g., solder resist layer SR and neutral surface NP contact the surface of display panel PNL, Figures 5-6, Paras [0042] - [0050]), and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate (see e.g., the solder resist layer SR and neutral surface NP bend from the upper surface to the side surface of display panel PNL as shown in Figures 5 and 6);
a film layer at the side surface of the display substrate (see e.g., reinforcing layer RL at the side surface of display panel PNL, Figures 5-6, Paras [0042] – [0043]);
a resin layer …. bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate (see e.g., base insulating layer BI is bent from the upper surface to the side surface of the display panel PNL such that the solder resist layer SR and neutral surface NP are between the base insulating layer BI and the top and side surface of display panel PNL, Figures 5-6, Paras [0035], [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Ahn’s teachings of a film substrate …. contacting an upper surface of the display substrate, and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate; a film layer at the side surface of the display substrate; a resin layer …. bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate in the device of Shin in order to improve device reliability by providing increased structural support in the bending area.
Shin does not explicitly teach
“wherein the film layer contacts an upper portion, a central portion, and a lower portion of the side surface of the display substrate.”
In a similar field of endeavor Araki teaches
wherein the film layer contacts an upper portion, a central portion, and a lower portion of the side surface of the display substrate (see e.g., rear film RF comprising polyethylene terephthalate (PET) extends continuously along the bent side portion of the display panel PNL, Figure 19, Paras [0116], [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Araki’s teachings of wherein the film layer contacts an upper portion, a central portion, and a lower portion of the side surface of the display substrate in the device of Shin in order to provide continuous mechanical support to the flexible display substrate throughout the bending region.
Regarding claim 2, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Shin further teaches
further comprising:
an overcoat layer above the upper surface of the display substrate, and at least partially overlapping the display substrate; and (see e.g., touch panel 166 above and partially overlapping the surface of first flat portion 110a and top part of curved portion 110c, Figure 9, Paras [0167] – [0174], [0178], [0190])
a protective film above an upper surface of the overcoat layer, and at least partially overlapping the overcoat layer (see e.g., polarizing plate 162 above the surface and partially overlapping the touch panel 166, Figure 9, Paras [0166], [0170] – [0173]).
Regarding claim 3, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claim 2 as mentioned above. Shin further teaches
wherein the resin layer covers the second surface of the film substrate and a portion of the overcoat layer, and contacts a side surface of the protective film (see e.g., micro-coating layer 145 covers the surface of the second flat portion 110b/bottom part of curved portion 110c, a portion of the touch panel 166 and contacts the side surface of polarizing plate 162, Figure 9).
Regarding claim 6, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Shin further teaches
wherein the film layer comprises polyethylene terephthalate (see e.g., the back plate 101a and cushion tape 168 comprises a plastic thin film formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), Figure 9, Para [0191]).
Regarding claim 7, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Shin does not explicitly teach
“wherein the adhesive layer comprises an optically clear adhesive layer”.
Shin does not teach the adhesive layer 170 comprises an optically clear adhesive layer. However, Shin does teach an adhesive layer 163 may include an optically clear adhesive (OCA) (see e.g., Para 0180]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the same adhesive material for both adhesive layers as such substitution would merely involve selecting a known adhesive material for the same known adhesion function, yielding predictable bonding between adjacent layers.
Regarding claim 16, Shin teaches a display device (see e.g., flexible display device, Figure 9) comprising:
a display substrate comprising a display area and a non-display area (see e.g., first flat portion 110a and top part of curved portion 110c comprise a display area AA corresponding to 110A and a non-display area corresponding to the top part of the curved portion 110c with circuit wirings, Figure 9, Paras [167] – [170], [190]);
a film substrate at least partially overlapping the non-display area of the display substrate (see e.g., second flat portion 110b and bottom part of curved portion 110c overlap with top part of 110c, Figure 9, Paras [167] – [170], [190]);
a driving chip located on the film substrate (see e.g., driver IC 165 located on second flat portion 110b and bottom part of 110c, Figure 9, Para [210]);
a film layer at the … surface of the display substrate (see e.g., first back plate 101a and cushion tape 168 on the surface of first flat portion 110a, Figure 9, Paras [186] – [193]);
an adhesive layer between the film layer and a first surface of the film substrate (see e.g., double-sided tape 170c between the first plate 101a/cushion tape 168 and second flat portion 110b and bottom part of 110c, Figure 9, Paras [212], [214] – [224]);
an ink layer between the film layer and the adhesive layer; and (see e.g. EMI shielding sheet 170b between the first plate 101a/cushion tape 168 and the double-sided tape 170c, Figure 9, Para [0217]; the ink layer is broadly interpreted in view of specification which does not require a particular ink composition or method of formation)
a resin layer covering a second surface of the film substrate and a portion of the upper surface of the display substrate (see e.g., micro-coating layer 145 covering the surface of first flat portion 110a and top part of curved portion 110c and, second flat portion 110b and bottom part of curved portion 110c, Figure 9, Paras [224], [237]).
Shin does not explicitly teach
“a film substrate …. contacting an upper surface of the display substrate, and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate
a film layer at the side surface of the display substrate;
a resin layer … bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin layer and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate,”
In the same field of endeavor Ahn teaches
a film substrate …. contacting an upper surface of the display substrate (see e.g., solder resist layer SR and neutral surface NP contact the surface of display panel PNL, Figures 5-6, Paras [0042] - [0050]), and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate (see e.g., the solder resist layer SR and neutral surface NP bend from the upper surface to the side surface of display panel PNL as shown in Figures 5 and 6);
a film layer at the side surface of the display substrate (see e.g., reinforcing layer RL at the side surface of display panel PNL, Figures 5-6, Paras [0042] – [0043]);
a resin layer …. bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate (see e.g., base insulating layer BI is bent from the upper surface to the side surface of the display panel PNL such that the solder resist layer SR and neutral surface NP are between the base insulating layer BI and the top and side surface of display panel PNL, Figures 5-6, Paras [0035], [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Ahn’s teachings of a film substrate …. contacting an upper surface of the display substrate, and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate; a film layer at the side surface of the display substrate; a resin layer …. bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate in the device of Shin in order to improve device reliability by providing increased structural support in the bending area.
Shin does not explicitly teach
“wherein the film layer contacts an upper portion, a central portion, and a lower portion of the side surface of the display substrate.”
In a similar field of endeavor Araki teaches
wherein the film layer contacts an upper portion, a central portion, and a lower portion of the side surface of the display substrate (see e.g., rear film RF comprising polyethylene terephthalate (PET) extends continuously along the bent side portion of the display panel PNL, Figure 19, Paras [0116], [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Araki’s teachings of wherein the film layer contacts an upper portion, a central portion, and a lower portion of the side surface of the display substrate in the device of Shin in order to provide continuous mechanical support to the flexible display substrate throughout the bending region.
Regarding claim 17, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claim 16 as mentioned above. Shin further teaches
further comprising:
an overcoat layer above the upper surface of the display substrate, and at least partially overlapping the display substrate; and (see e.g., touch panel 166 above and partially overlapping the surface of first flat portion 110a and top part of curved portion 110c, Figure 9, Paras [0167] – [0174], [0178], [0190])
a protective film above an upper surface of the overcoat layer, and at least partially overlapping the overcoat layer (see e.g., polarizing plate 162 above the surface and partially overlapping the touch panel 166, Figure 9, Paras [0166], [0170] – [0173]).
Regarding claim 18, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claim 17 as mentioned above. Shin further teaches
wherein the resin layer covers a portion of the overcoat layer, and contacts a side surface of the protective film (see e.g., micro-coating layer 145 covers a portion of the touch panel 166 and contacts the side surface of polarizing plate 162, Figure 9).
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2021/0202460 A1; hereafter Shin) in view of Ahn (US 2014/0306348 A1) and Araki (US 2019/0101785 A1) and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2018/0219165 A1; hereafter Kwon).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Shin, as modified by Ahn and Araki, teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 18 as mentioned above. Shin does not explicitly teach
“wherein the resin layer fills a space between the overcoat layer and the film substrate”.
In a similar field of endeavor Kwon teaches
wherein the resin layer fills a space between the overcoat layer and the film substrate (see e.g., micro-coating layer 132 disposed in the bending region of the display panel. The micro-coating layer 132 is coated over the area between the chip-on-film (COF) and the encapsulation layer and may extend onto portions of both the encapsulation layer and the COF. Any open space between the micro-coating layer 132 and the encapsulation layer or the COF may become a defect site where moisture can permeate through, Figures 13A-13C and 14A-14B, Paras [0188], [0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Kwon’s teachings of wherein the resin layer fills a space between the overcoat layer and the film substrate in the device of Shin in order to improve sealing and bonding between adjacent structures and thereby reduce moisture penetration in the bending region.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Shin, as modified by Ahn, Araki and Kwon, teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 19 as mentioned above. Shin does not explicitly teach
wherein an upper surface of the resin layer and an upper surface of the protective film are at substantially a same plane.
In a similar field of endeavor Kwon teaches
wherein an upper surface of the resin layer and an upper surface of the protective film are at substantially a same plane (see e.g., the upper surface of the micro-coating layer 132 and the polarization layer 110 are substantially at a same plane, Figure 14B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Kwon’s teachings of wherein an upper surface of the resin layer and an upper surface of the protective film are at substantially a same plane in the device of Shin in order to control the neutral plane of the bent display structure and thereby reduce bending stress.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893