DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 28 October 2025 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 16 are amended, claims 8-15 were previously withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9 March 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. US PGPUB No. 20210202460 (hereinafter Shin) in view of Ahn US PGPUB No. 20140306348.
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses (Shin fig. 9) a display device comprising:
a display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c, ¶167-170, 190) comprising a display area (AA corresponding to 110a, ¶167) and a non-display area (110c with circuit wirings connected to AA, ¶167);
a film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c, ¶167-170, 190) at least partially overlapping the non-display area (110c) of the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c);
a driving chip (165, ¶210) located on the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c);
a film layer (101a and 168, ¶186-193) on the surface of the display substrate,
an adhesive layer (170c, ¶212, 214-224) between the film layer (101a and 168) and a first surface (110b) of the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c);
and a resin layer (145, ¶224, 237) covering a second surface (110b) of the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c) and a portion of an upper surface (110a) of the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c) (fig. 9).
Shin does not disclose the film substrate contacting an upper surface of the display substrate, and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate; the film layer at the side surface of the display substrate; an adhesive layer between the film layer and a first surface of the film substrate; and the resin layer and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn discloses (fig. 1-6), a flexible chip on film, with the film substrate (SR and NP, Ahn ¶42-50) contacting an upper surface of the display substrate (PNL, Ahn ¶58-61), and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate (Ahn fig. 5);
the film layer (RL, Ayn ¶42-43) at the side surface of the display substrate (Ahn fig. 5);
an adhesive layer between the film layer and a first surface of the film substrate ("The reinforcing layer RL has a film shape formed of an organic polymer and is disposed on the solder resist layer SR while interposing an adhesive therebetween." Ahn ¶43); and
the resin layer (BI, Ahn ¶35-36) and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate (Ahn fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the film layer to be located on the side of the display substrate and the film substrate to be in contact with the upper surface of the display substrate and bent to the side with the film layer along with the resin layer, improving device reliability by providing increased structural support in the bending area.
Regarding claim 2, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising:
an overcoat layer (166, Shin ¶173-174, 178) above the upper surface (110a) of the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c, Shin ¶167-170, 190), and at least partially overlapping the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c); and
a protective film (162, Shin ¶166, 170-173) above an upper surface of the overcoat layer (166), and at least partially overlapping the overcoat layer (166) (Shin fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 2,
wherein the resin layer (145, Shin ¶224, 237) covers the second surface (110b) of the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c, Shin ¶167-170, 190) and a portion of the overcoat layer (166, Shin ¶173-174, 178), and contacts a side surface of the protective film (162, Shin ¶166, 170-173) (Shin fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 1,
wherein the film layer (101a and 168, Shin ¶186-193) comprises polyethylene terephthalate (Shin ¶191).
Regarding claim 7, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 1.
Shin does not disclose the adhesive layer (170, Shin ¶212, 214-224) comprises an optically clear adhesive layer. Shin does disclose an additional “adhesive layer 163 may include an optically clear adhesive (OCA)” (Shin ¶180). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the same adhesive material for both adhesive layers in order to promote stability of the device at elevated temperatures, as different thermal expansion coefficients could cause internal stresses.
Regarding claim 16, Shin discloses (fig. 9) a display device comprising:
a display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c, ¶167-170, 190) comprising a display area (AA corresponding to 110a, ¶167) and a non-display area (110c with circuit wirings connected to AA, ¶167);
a film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c, ¶167-170, 190) at least partially overlapping the non-display area (110c) of the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c);
a driving chip (165, ¶210) located on the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c);
a film layer (101a and 168, ¶186-193) on the surface of the display substrate,
an adhesive layer (170c, ¶212, 214-224) between the film layer (101a and 168) and a first surface (110b) of the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c);
an ink layer (170b) (¶214) (EMI shield layer 170b has been interpreted as an ink layer. No specific material for the ink layer has been claimed to distinguish over Shin’s EMI shielding layer 170b) between the film layer (101a and 168) and the adhesive layer(170c),
and a resin layer (145, ¶224, 237) covering a second surface (110b) of the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c) and a portion of an upper surface (110a) of the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c) (fig. 9).
Shin does not disclose the film substrate contacting an upper surface of the display substrate, and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate; the film layer at the side surface of the display substrate; an adhesive layer between the film layer and a first surface of the film substrate; and the resin layer and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn discloses (fig. 1-6), a flexible chip on film, with the film substrate (SR and NP, Ahn ¶42-50) contacting an upper surface of the display substrate (PNL, Ahn ¶58-61), and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to a side surface of the display substrate along a thickness direction of the display substrate (Ahn fig. 5);
the film layer (RL, Ayn ¶42-43) at the side surface of the display substrate (Ahn fig. 5);
an adhesive layer between the film layer and a first surface of the film substrate ("The reinforcing layer RL has a film shape formed of an organic polymer and is disposed on the solder resist layer SR while interposing an adhesive therebetween." Ahn ¶43); and
the resin layer (BI, Ahn ¶35-36) and bent from the upper surface of the display substrate to the side surface of the display substrate such that the film substrate is between the resin laver and the top and side surfaces of the display substrate (Ahn fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the film layer to be located on the side of the display substrate and the film substrate to be in contact with the upper surface of the display substrate and bent to the side with the film layer along with the resin layer, improving device reliability by providing increased structural support in the bending area.
Regarding claim 17, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 16, further comprising:
an overcoat layer (166, Shin ¶173-174, 178) above an upper surface (110a) of the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c, Shin ¶167-170, 190), and at least partially overlapping the display substrate (110a and top portion of 110c); and
a protective film (162, Shin ¶166, 170-173) above an upper surface of the overcoat layer (166), and at least partially overlapping the overcoat layer (166) (Shin fig. 9).
Regarding claim 18, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 17,
wherein the resin layer (145, Shin ¶224, 237) covers the second surface (110b) of the film substrate (110b and bottom portion of 110c, Shin ¶167-170, 190) and a portion of the overcoat layer (166, ¶173-174, 178), and to contact a side surface of the protective film (162, Shin ¶166, 170-173) (Shin fig. 9).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Ahn and Kwon et al. US PGPUB No 20180219165 (hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 4, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 3.
Shin does not disclose wherein the resin layer (145, Shin ¶224, 237) fills a space between the overcoat layer and the film substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Kwon discloses a resin layer (132, Kwon ¶189-198) may spread on the dispensed surface (Kwon ¶193) as well resin dispensing methods (Kwon ¶196) to control the amount of spread of resin spread before curing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the resin dispensing disclosed by Kwon to fill space between the overcoat (166, Shin ¶173-174, 178) and the film substrate (101b with 110b and bottom portion of 110c, Shin ¶167-170, 190), in order control resin dispensing and avoid uneven edges that make additional layer deposition more difficult.
Regarding claim 5, Shin in view of Ahn and Kwon discloses the display device according to claim 4.
Kwon discloses wherein an upper surface of the resin layer (132) and an upper surface of the protective film (114) (Kwon ¶189-198) are at substantially a same plane (Kwon fig. 14B).
Regarding claim 19, Shin in view of Ahn discloses the display device according to claim 18.
Shin does not disclose wherein the resin layer (145, ¶224, 237) fills a space between the overcoat layer and the film substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Kwon discloses a resin layer (132, Kwon ¶189-198) may spread on the dispensed surface (Kwon ¶193) as well resin dispensing methods (Kwon ¶196) to control the amount of spread of resin spread before curing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the resin dispensing disclosed by Kwon to fill space between the overcoat (166, Shin ¶173-174, 178) and the film substrate (101b with 110b and bottom portion of 110c, Shin ¶167-170, 190), in order control resin dispensing and avoid uneven edges that make additional layer deposition more difficult.
Regarding claim 20, Shin in view of Kwon discloses the display device according to claim 19.
Kwon discloses wherein an upper surface of the resin layer (132) and an upper surface of the protective film (114) (Kwon ¶189-198) are at substantially a same plane (Kwon fig. 14B).
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Seth D Lawson/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893