Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN (Using [1-13C]Lactic Acid for Hyperpolarized 13C MR Cardiac Studies. Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. 2015.).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN teaches a method involving a composition of L-[1-13C]lactic acid (DNP sample preparation), which reads on a magnetic resonance (MR) probe and a glassification agent comprising lactic acid and OX63 trityl radical (DNP sample preparation), which reads on electron paramagnetic agent (EPA). The composition was polarized (DNP sample preparation), which reads on carrying out polarization on the composition to obtain a hyperpolarized amorphous solid MR probe material. The composition was then dissolved (DNP sample preparation), which reads on liquefying the hyperpolarized amorphous solid MR probe material by dissolving the hyperpolarized amorphous solid MR probe material to obtain a hyperpolarized liquid MR probe solution.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the MR probe comprises [1-13C] lactic acid (DNP sample preparation), which reads on a 13C MR probe and an MR probe that includes lactic acid.
Note, the term “about” is a relative term and the examiner broadly interprets this as ±10%. Therefore pure lactic acid, 100%, used in CHEN, reads on “up to about 90% volume percent lactic acid”.
Claims 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LAU (Cardiac metabolic imaging using hyperpolarized [1-13C]lactate as a substrate. bioRxiv. 2020.).
Regarding claim 15, LAU teaches a method of making a hyperpolarized 13C lactate MR probe (abstract). The probe is prepared by mixing [1-13C]lactic acid with 20% water, which reads on a magnetic resonance (MR) probe and a glassification agent comprising lactic acid wherein the glassification agent has a concentration up to about 80% lactic acid, and trityl radical, which reads on an EPA (Hardware and sample preparation). The mixture was then polarized (Hardware and sample preparation) and water was then added (Hardware and sample preparation), which reads on liquefying the probe material.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the MR probe comprises [1-13C] lactic acid (Hardware and sample preparation), which reads on a 13C MR probe and an MR probe that includes lactic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (Using [1-13C]Lactic Acid for Hyperpolarized 13C MR Cardiac Studies. Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. 2015.) or in the alternative LAU (Cardiac metabolic imaging using hyperpolarized [1-13C]lactate as a substrate. bioRxiv. 2020.) and in view of MALINOWSKI (Dissolution Dynamic Nuclear Polarization capability study with fluid path. Journal of Magnetic Resonance. 2016.).
CHEN and/or LAU teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
CHEN and/or LAU do not teach filtering out the EPA with the aid of an acid.
MALINOWSKI teaches a method of making hyperpolarized MR probes (abstract). The EPA used in the method is precipitated out at an acidic pH and is then removed effectively by mechanical filtration (Page 142, paragraph 1). The acceptance criterion for residual EPA in the product is less than 3μM for a human dose (Page 144, paragraph 8).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate filtering out the EPA with the aid of an acid. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the acceptance criterion for residual EPA in the product is less than 3μM for a human dose, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as methods of making hyperpolarized MR probes.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (Using [1-13C]Lactic Acid for Hyperpolarized 13C MR Cardiac Studies. Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. 2015.) or in the alternative LAU (Cardiac metabolic imaging using hyperpolarized [1-13C]lactate as a substrate. bioRxiv. 2020.) in view of MALINOWSKI (Dissolution Dynamic Nuclear Polarization capability study with fluid path. Journal of Magnetic Resonance. 2016.) and in further view of GHONEIM (Recent Progress in Electrochemical pH-Sensing Materials and Configurations for Biomedical Applications. Chemical Reviews. 2019).
CHEN and/or LAU in view of MALINOWSKI teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
CHEN and/or LAU in view of MALINOWSKI do not teach using lactic acid as an aid for filtration.
GHONEIM teaches that lactic acid lowers pH and causes acidic conditions (page 5249, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate filtering the EPA with the aid of lactic acid. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because lactic acid lowers pH and MALINOWSKI teaches that acidic conditions cause the EPA to precipitate out for filtration and reasonably would have expected success because both CHEN and LAU teach using lactic acid in the method.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Applicant has amended claim 15 to recite the glassification agent has a concentration up to about 90% volume percent lactic acid. Chen reports a study using neat [l-13C]lactic acid without the addition of any solvent or glassing agents.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive because as discussed above, the term “about” is a relative term and CHEN can be considered teaching “up to about 90%”.
Furthermore, as discussed above, LAU teaches a method of making a hyperpolarized 13C lactate MR probe (abstract). The probe is prepared by mixing [1-13C]lactic acid with 20% water, which reads on a magnetic resonance (MR) probe and a glassification agent comprising lactic acid wherein the glassification agent has a concentration up to about 80% lactic acid, and trityl radical, which reads on an EPA (Hardware and sample preparation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618