DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 04/28/2026. Claims 1-45 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
a.
Applicant states that “In sum, none of Chauvet, Rimar, and Wouhaybi discloses a visualization that dynamically reflects container associations as the orchestrator instantiates containers between computing nodes during runtime (Reply, p. 14).”
a.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 23 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Specifically, the arguments present that Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi fails to provide for the amended language, where the rejection below now relies on Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi and Hilber to teach this subject matter.
Response to Amendment
The claim rejection under Double Patenting to co-pending Application No. 17/838,798 is now withdrawn in view of the claim amendments of the instant application and Application No. 17/838,798.
The claim rejection under Double Patenting to co-pending Application No. 17/836,624 remains. See details as follows.
The claim objections to claims 1 and 23 are now withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims 1-80 of co-pending Application No. 17/836,624 (hereinafter ’624), in view of Rimar et al. (US 20190379590 A1, published 12/12/2019; hereinafter Rimar), in view of Wouhaybi et al. (US 20200310394 A1, published 10/01/2020; hereinafter Wouhaybi), and in further view of Hilber et al. (US 20210006637 A1, published 01/07/2021; hereinafter Hilber).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations recited in the instant application are transparently found in the listed co-pending application with obvious wording variations.
Specifically, co-pending application ’624 does not teach “the graphical depiction including an indication of a manner in which at least one of the plurality of containers is currently associated with the one or more physical devices.” However, Rimar discloses the relationship manner between the containers and the software applications, as well as the relationship manner between the containers and the worker nodes in the computing cluster in a GUI (Rimar, ¶ 0113, ¶ 0116, ¶ 0145, ¶ 0146 and FIGS 9A, 9B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of ’624 to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
Further on, co-pending application ’624 does not teach “to thereby indicate a manner in which the one or more of the plurality of containers implement the process control strategy via the one or more input/output elements.” However, Wouhaybi discloses that the coordination of the function block applications is orchestrated to define a control strategy, the containers facilitate the control strategy of the application orchestration (Wouhaybi, ¶ 0170, ¶ 0185, ¶ 0190, ¶ 0191 and ¶ 0280) and the input/output elements/points/flow associate the containerized control applications with the field devices (i.e. sensors, actuators) (Wouhaybi, FIG. 11, FIG. 26, ¶ 0191 and ¶ 0250). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the orchestrating control strategy in the software-defined industrial system techniques of Wouhaybi with the system of ’624 and Rimar to “provide the ability, at a distributed application control strategy level, to leverage lower cost commodity hardware and software to achieve better system performance at a control strategy level” (Wouhaybi, ¶ 0183).
Further on, co-pending application ’624 does not teach visualization depicting the containers association and distribution “as the container orchestrator instantiates the one or more of the plurality of containers between the computing nodes during runtime of the process control system.” However, Hilber teaches real-time or near real-time visualization depicting the containers/pods being orchestrated to distribute in a cluster of computing nodes (Hilber, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 5 ¶ 0003, ¶ 0031, ¶ 0034, ¶ 0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the real-time or near real-time visualization of the states of the distributed application cluster techniques of Hilber with the system of ’624 and Rimar-Wouhaybi to provide an immediate overview of cluster health and resource utilization across the nodes and containers so as to troubleshoot failures and optimize the cluster performance (Hilber, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0031).
The table presented below exemplifies a mapping of independent claim 1 of the instant application to the claim 59 of ’624. Likewise, claims 2-45 contain subject matter found in claims 1-80 of co-pending application ’624.
Claim 1 of present application 17/838,951
Claim 59 of co-pending application 17/836,624
Claim 1: A method for use in controlling and visualizing an industrial process, having a process control system implemented on a data cluster having a plurality of computing nodes, each computing node including a processor executing an instance of an operating system, a memory, and a communication resource coupled to one or more other computing nodes in the data cluster, the method comprising:
executing a plurality of containers on the data cluster to perform runtime control operation using a plurality of process control field devices; communicatively coupling the plurality of containers with a software defined networking controller that communicatively couples the plurality of containers to the plurality of process control field devices operating to control a physical process in the industrial process plant via one or more input/output elements disposed between the plurality of containers and the process control field devices;
executing a container orchestrator on the data cluster to instantiate the containers and manage fault tolerance and load balancing functions on the data cluster; and
executing a visualization routine on the data cluster to receive real-time data from at least one of the plurality of containers, from the software defined networking controller, or from the container orchestrator, and
to present a graphical depiction based on at least a portion of the received real-time data, the graphical depiction representing a system runtime configuration including a physical configuration having one or more physical devices and a process control logical configuration having a plurality of process control logical elements that together define a process control strategy that is implemented at least partially by the plurality of containers on the data cluster during runtime of the process control system,
the graphical depiction including an indication of a manner in which one or more of the plurality of containers is currently associated with the one or more physical devices and with one or more of the plurality of process control logical elements and with the one or more input/output elements through which the one or more of the plurality of containers is communicatively coupled to the plurality of process control field devices as the container orchestrator instantiates the one or more of the plurality of containers between the computing nodes during runtime of the process control system to thereby indicate a manner in which the one or more of the plurality of containers implement the process control strategy via the one or more input/output elements.
Claim 59: A method for use in controlling an industrial process having a control system implemented on a data cluster having a plurality of computing nodes, each computing node including a processor executing an instance of an operating system, a memory, and a communication resource coupled to one or more other computing nodes in the data cluster, the method comprising:
communicating, via a processor, with one or more computing nodes in the data cluster; executing, via one or more processors on the data cluster, a plurality of containers; executing, via a processor, a software defined networking controller that communicatively couples the plurality of containers to a plurality of process control field devices operating to control a physical process in an industrial process plant via one or more input/output elements disposed between the plurality of containers and the plurality of process control field devices;
executing, via a processor, a container orchestrator to instantiate and manage the containers on the data cluster; and
executing, via a processor, a visualization routine, the visualization routine operable to receive real-time data from one or more of the plurality of containers, or from the software defined networking controller, or from the container orchestrator, and
to present a graphical depiction of an operation of at least a portion of the control system based on the received data, the graphical depiction representing a logical configuration associated with the runtime configuration of the plurality of containers and a physical configuration associated with the runtime configuration of one or more physical elements within the process control system, the logical configuration including a plurality of process control logical elements that together define a process control strategy that is implemented at least partially by the plurality of containers on the data cluster during runtime of the control system,
the graphical depiction of the logical configuration including a depiction of a manner in which one or more of the plurality of containers is currently associated with the one or more of the process control logical elements and with the one or more input/output elements through which the one or more of the plurality of containers is communicatively coupled to the plurality of process control field devices to thereby indicate a manner in which the one or more of the plurality of containers implement the process control strategy.
This is a provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 21-24, 30-41 and 43-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauvet et al. (US 20180316729 A1, published 11/01/2018; hereinafter Chauvet), in view of Rimar et al. (US 20190379590 A1, published 12/12/2019; hereinafter Rimar), in view of Wouhaybi et al. (US 20200310394 A1, published 10/01/2020; hereinafter Wouhaybi), and in further view of Hilber et al. (US 20210006637 A1, published 01/07/2021; hereinafter Hilber).
For Claim 1, Chauvet teaches a method for use in controlling and visualizing an industrial process, having a process control system implemented on a data cluster having a plurality of computing nodes, each computing node including a processor executing an instance of an operating system, a memory, and a communication resource coupled to one or more other computing nodes in the data cluster (Chauvet, FIG. 1, ¶ 0042 “… This disclosure describes Software-defined Automation (hereinafter ‘SDA’) technology and system (hereinafter ‘SDA system’) which provides a reference architecture for designing, managing and maintaining a highly available, scalable and flexible automation system …”; ¶ 0045 “… As depicted in FIG. 1, the architecture of an SDA system 100 comprises of three aspects: (1) a smart distributed system 105, (2) a communication backbone 110, and (3) smart connected devices 115 … the system exhibits distributed intelligence by enabling a guest (e.g., a control/automation application) to be logically defined and distributed and re-distributed to run on one or more hosts (e.g., virtual machines, containers, bare metals) on a server, on a physical automation controller, an embedded system, and the like …”; ¶ 0047 “… Smart connected devices 115 can comprise of hardware, software, sensors, storage, microprocessor(s), connectivity and the like …”), the method comprising:
executing a plurality of containers on the data cluster to perform runtime control operations using a plurality of process control field devices (Chauvet, FIG. 2B, FIG. 8A, ¶ 0054 “… the example OT architecture as defined by the SDA technology depicted in FIG. 2B is considerably simpler, with three levels of control … an application running in a PLC in functional unit 275B can be moved to the server(s) 285 (e.g., by creating a virtual PLC which is a software implementation of a PLC on a host such as a virtual machine or a container) and the network can be automatically configured to ensure traffic from the virtual PLC (‘vPLC’) in the server(s) 285 flows to the I/O devices in functional unit 275B in a timely manner to monitor and/or control input/output devices or field devices …”; ¶ 0111 “… The fog server is comprised of a control and management infrastructure called the controller nodes 810-1, 810-2 along with the associated compute nodes 820-1, 820-2, 820-3, ... , 820-N. Each of the compute nodes 820-1, 820-2, 820-3, ... , 820-N can execute a number of hosts 802-1, ... , 802-N and associated virtual networks 820. These hosts can be virtual machines, containers or bare metals … The virtual networks 820 connect from within the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, . .. ) through external interfaces (e.g., Ethernet ports) to the external physical networks (e.g., Data/OT network 865 (i.e. Operational Technology network includes field devices such as sensors and actuators, etc.)). Virtual networks 820 reside inside the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, ... ) and provide connectivity between the virtualized entities and the physical world …”);
communicatively coupling the plurality of containers with a software defined networking controller that communicatively couples the plurality of containers to the plurality of process control field devices operating to control a physical process in an industrial process plant via one or more input/output elements (Chauvet, ¶ 0111 external interfaces (e.g., Ethernet ports)) disposed between the plurality of containers and the process control field devices (Chauvet, FIG. 6B, FIG. 8A, ¶ 0095 “… the fog server controller 610 can create the virtual networks 620 in the fog server 605 and control connectivity between the virtual machines/containers hosted on the compute nodes 615 and the virtual networks 620, while the network controller 690 can configure the virtual network components 622 of the virtual networks 620 in accordance with one or more network policies …”; ¶ 0111 “… The virtual networks 820 connect from within the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, …) through external interfaces (e.g., Ethernet ports) to the external physical networks (e.g., Data/OT network 865 (i.e. Operational Technology network includes field devices such as sensors and actuators, etc.)). Virtual networks 820 reside inside the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, ... ) and provide connectivity between the virtualized entities and the physical world. In some embodiments, a compute node can be a smart connected device, which can have a physical part and a virtual part …”);
executing a container orchestrator on the data cluster to instantiate the plurality of containers and manage fault tolerance and load balancing functions on the data cluster (Chauvet, FIG. 10B, ¶ 0133 “… While each one of the orchestration components are individually orchestrated, a top level orchestration component-the system orchestration component 1016 - orchestrates them together to virtualize devices and applications on compute nodes 1015 in the fog server 1005 (via fog server orchestration 1024), manage data associated with those virtualized devices and applications in storage 1025/1026 (via storage orchestration 1026), define and disseminate cyber security policies to all components of the SDA system (via cyber security orchestration 1018), and network flows and communications (via network orchestration 1022) …”); and
Chauvet does not explicitly teach, but Rimar teaches executing a visualization routine on the data cluster to receive real-time data from at least one of the plurality of containers, or from the software defined networking controller, or from the container orchestrator (Rimar, FIG. 3, FIG. 6, FIG. 8B, ¶ 0111 “… A containerized software application may be a software application configured to be executed in a container. A container, in turn, is a software package that includes an entire runtime environment needed to execute a given software application …”; ¶ 0144 “… For example, a computing device disposed within managed network 300, within remote network management platform 320, or within computing cluster 604 may request configuration data from API 608. The configuration data may indicate that application 800 is executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A, a first copy of application 802 is executing in pod 808A on worker node 612B, a second copy of application 802 is executing in pod 808B on worker node 612D, and application 804 is executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C. The computing device may also request and receive, from each of the packet detection modules executing on worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D, traffic data corresponding to any connections that have been established between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810…”; ¶ 0135 “… the computing device may be configured to periodically access the configuration data via API 608 and access the traffic data from packet detection modules 700A and 700B to keep track of the distribution and communicative relationships between software application(s) 624A and 624B, container(s) 622A and 622B, pod(s) 620A and 620B, and worker nodes 612A and 612B over time …”),
and to present a graphical depiction based on at least a portion of the received real-time data, the graphical depiction representing a system runtime configuration including a physical configuration having one or more physical devices and a process control logical configuration having a plurality of process control logical elements … that is implemented at least partially by the plurality of containers on the data cluster during runtime of the process control system (Rimar discloses generating the service mappings into a graph to depict the distribution and communicative relationships between the software applications, containers, and worker nodes, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplify a graphical user interface showing the configuration of software applications, pods and containers, as well as the configuration of the worker nodes; FIG. 3, FIG. 6, FIG. 8B, FIG.9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0145 “… The traffic data may be parsed by the computing device for patterns indicative of communicative relationships between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810 (and thus applications 800, 802, and 804 as well as the containers in which these application are executed). The computing device may also generate mappings between any pods (and thus any containers and applications) that have communicative relationships therebetween. The generated mappings may be organized into a graph that can be displayed on a user interface to allow a user to visualize the distribution of software applications 800, 802, and 804 among the nodes of computing cluster 604 …”),
the graphical depiction including an indication of a manner in which one or more of the plurality of containers is currently associated with the one or more physical devices and with one or more of the plurality of process control logical elements … (Rimar discloses the relationship manner between the containers and the software applications, as well as the relationship manner between the containers and the worker nodes in the computing cluster in the GUI; FIG. 6, FIG. 8B, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0113 “… Software application(s) 624A and 624B may be executable within corresponding container(s) 622A and 622B, respectively. Generally, each of container(s) 622A and 622B may be configured to execute a single software application of software application(s) 624A and 624B. However, in some cases, some of container(s) 622A and 622B may also be configured to execute therein multiple software applications of software application(s) 624A and 624B …”; ¶ 0116 “… Cluster 604 may also include master node 606 configured to manage the number, distribution, and scheduling of pods, containers, and/or software applications amongst the plurality of worker nodes (e.g., worker nodes 614A and 614B) within computing cluster 604 …”; ¶ 0145 “… The traffic data may be parsed by the computing device for patterns indicative of communicative relationships between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810 (and thus applications 800, 802, and 804 as well as the containers in which these application are executed). The computing device may also generate mappings between any pods (and thus any containers and applications) that have communicative relationships therebetween. The generated mappings may be organized into a graph that can be displayed on a user interface to allow a user to visualize the distribution of software applications 800, 802, and 804 among the nodes of computing cluster 604 …”; ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A. Pod 806, in turn, communicates with software application 802, executing in pods 808A and 808B on worker nodes 612B and 612D, respectively, and with software application 804 executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C. Pods 808A, 808B, and 810 (or the applications therein) do not communicate directly with one another in this example …”).
Chauvet and Rimar are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
Chauvet-Rimar does not explicitly teach, but Wouhaybi teaches a plurality of process control logical elements that together define a process control strategy (Wouhaybi discloses that the coordination of the function block applications is orchestrated to define a control strategy using a graphical environment; FIG. 9; FIG. 11; ¶ 0170 “… a process engineer (or other operator) defines control flows and applications by combining and configuring existing functional blocks 990 from the library 980. These functional blocks 990 may represent application logic or control loops (e.g., control loops 970, data storage, analytics modules, data acquisition or actuation modules, or the like), control modules … such functional blocks may be utilized to implement end-to-end logic, including control flows or end-to-end applications using a graphical, drag-and-drop environment …”; ¶ 0191 “… FIG. 11 depicts an example application distribution mapping for a control strategy of an orchestration scenario that includes four applications, where application redundancy is depicted in designs 1120 for native, virtual machine, container, and container in a virtual machine deployments. As illustrated, the orchestration of application assets may encompass different deployment options to consider for dynamic allocation of resources, subject to various compute, storage, memory, and application constraints …”), and
one or more of the plurality of containers is also currently associated with the one or more input/output elements through which the one or more of the plurality of containers is communicatively coupled to the plurality of process control field devices … to thereby indicate a manner in which the one or more of the plurality of containers implement the process control strategy via the one or more input/output elements (Wouhaybi discloses the input/output elements/points/flow to associate the containerized control applications with the field devices (i.e. sensors, actuators), FIG. 11 and FIG. 26 exemplify the visualization of the process control strategies by using containers; ¶ 0191 “… FIG. 11 depicts an example application distribution mapping for a control strategy of an orchestration scenario that includes four applications, where application redundancy is depicted in designs 1120 for native, virtual machine, container, and container in a virtual machine deployments. As illustrated, the orchestration of application assets may encompass different deployment options to consider for dynamic allocation of resources, subject to various compute, storage, memory, and application constraints …”; ¶ 0250 “… FIG. 26 depicts an overview of a control application as represented by an example control application graph 2600, represented at the level of sensors and actuators. As shown, the control application is defined by a control engineer as a graph of software modules in which the outputs of each module (e.g., outputs from Sensor A 2610, and Sensor B 2620) are connected to the inputs of other modules (e.g., inputs into Actuator C 2640, and PID controller 2630). The control engineer may also specify other factors, such as starting values for module parameters. The control engineer may find these software modules in a software library or request that custom modules be implemented by an IT department. In an example, this graph may be defined through use of a graphical user interface, or other visual-based representation. For instance, the example control application graph 2600 may be defined by the control engineer to reflect inputs, outputs, and controllers of an industrial system. The example control application graph 2600 may reflect connections of a physical system, and be used to accomplish the various functional operations (and real-world changes, measurements, and effects) of the control application …”).
Wouhaybi and Chauvet-Rimar are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the orchestrating control strategy in the software-defined industrial system techniques of Wouhaybi with the system of Chauvet-Rimar to “provide the ability, at a distributed application control strategy level, to leverage lower cost commodity hardware and software to achieve better system performance at a control strategy level” (Wouhaybi, ¶ 0183).
As discussed above, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi teaches that the visualization routine depicts the associations between the containers and the physical devices, the processing control logical elements, the I/O elements in a process control system. Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi does not explicitly teach, but Hilber teaches real time visualization depicting the containers association and distribution as the container orchestrator instantiates the one or more of the plurality of containers between the computing nodes during runtime of the process control system (Hilber teaches real-time or near real-time visualization depicting the containers/pods being orchestrated to distribute in a cluster of computing nodes; FIG. 2; FIG. 3; FIG. 5; ¶ 0003 “… Visualizing data from a distributed application cluster involves a monitoring server retrieving cluster data from the distributed application cluster. The distributed application cluster includes one or more nodes running one or more pods. The monitoring server generates a cluster visualization based on the retrieved cluster data …”; ¶ 0031 “… The master 210 is a component of the container orchestration platform that manages the distributed application cluster 120. It monitors microservice 228 usage and adds and removes pods 224 to the nodes 122 in response to the usage. The master 210 also monitors the nodes 122, and reacts to downed nodes … The master 210 may add or remove nodes 122 based on node usage, e.g., how much of each node's 122 processing units, memory, and persistent storage is in use …”; ¶ 0034 “… The interface generator 130 may provide real or near-real time functionality by periodically generating cluster visualizations for the same distributed application cluster 120. For example, the application monitor 250 collects new data every ten seconds, and the interface generator 130 generates a new cluster visualization for each new batch of data collected by the application monitor 250 …”; ¶ 0043 “… FIG. 5 illustrates a primary user interface visualizing distributed application cluster structure and health, according to one embodiment. The primary user interface includes a cluster visualization 500 and a pod chart 502. The cluster visualization 500 includes a node spoke graphical element 504, which has a health region 525 and a pod region. The pod region is the combination of a running pod region 510 and an alerting pod region 515. The center of the cluster visualization is a pending pod region 520 that is not specific to any one node …”).
Hilber and Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the real-time or near real-time visualization of the states of the distributed application cluster techniques of Hilber with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi to provide an immediate overview of cluster health and resource utilization across the nodes and containers so as to troubleshoot failures and optimize the cluster performance (Hilber, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0031).
For Claim 2, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting, on the graphical depiction, one or more performance indications for at least a portion of the process control logical configuration (Rimar, FIG. 3, ¶ 0081 “… Remote network management platform 320 may include modules that integrate with third-party networks 340 to expose virtual machines and managed services therein to managed network 300 … The modules may allow users to request virtual resources and provide flexible reporting for third-party networks 340 … These modules may then automatically discover the manageable resources in the account, and also provide reports related to usage, performance, and billing …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 3, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction representing a logical configuration that visually indicates the manner in which a set of containers are nested with respect to one another (Rimar, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplifies graphical user interface that shows the mapping hierarchy between pods at different time periods and the containerized software applications are nested in the pods; ¶ 0148 “… a node representing a pod may be clicked or otherwise selected to view the containerized software applications executing therein …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 5, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction representing an interaction between a first logical configuration element and a first physical configuration element (Rimar, FIG. 9A, ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 6, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 5, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction that visually indicates a manner in which a first container is pinned to a first physical element (Rimar, FIG. 9A, ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 7, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 5, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction that visually indicates a manner in which a first container is dynamically associated with a first physical element, wherein the dynamic association may be changed during runtime of the process control system (Rimar, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0147 “… User interface 900 may additionally include timeline 902, cursor 904 indicating a time point along the timeline 902 at which the state of computing cluster 604 is shown, and the date and time corresponding to the time point (e.g., Apr. 30, 2018 9:02 AM) …”; ¶ 0149 “… The distribution of software applications, containers, and pods across worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D may change from time to time as worker nodes, pods, and/or containers terminate their operation due to planned or unplanned causes …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 8, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes enabling a user, via user input based on the graphical depiction, to dynamically change the manner in which a first container is associated with a first physical element (Rimar, FIG. 8D, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0153 “… A further tenth request from remote user(s) 602 may be received by front-end software application 800 executing in pod 806. Pod 806 may, in response, transmit an eleventh request to software application 802 by utilizing pod 808C, as shown in the bottom portion of FIG. 8D. In response, software application 802 executing in pod 808C may process the eleventh request and provide a corresponding response 830 …”; ¶ 0155 “… FIG. 9B shows graphical user interface 900 updated to illustrate the communicative relationships amongst components of computing cluster 604 after replacement of pod 808B with pod 808C. Notably, cursor 904 has moved towards the right and the time corresponding thereto (i.e., Apr. 30, 2018 9:15 AM) has been updated to indicate that FIG. 9B shows the state of computing cluster at a later time than FIG. 9A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 9, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction representing an interaction between a first logical element and a second logical element (Rimar, FIG. 9A, ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A. Pod 806, in turn, communicates with software application 802, executing in pods 808A and 808B on worker nodes 612B and 612D, respectively, and with software application 804 executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 11, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 9, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction that visually indicates a manner in which a first container is nested within a second container (Rimar, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplifies graphical user interface that shows the mapping hierarchy between pods at different time periods and the containerized software applications are nested in the pods; ¶ 0148 “… a node representing a pod may be clicked or otherwise selected to view the containerized software applications executing therein …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 12, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 9, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction that visually indicates a manner in which the first logical element is dynamically associated with the second logical element, wherein the dynamic association may be changed during runtime of the process control system (Rimar, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0147 “… User interface 900 may additionally include timeline 902, cursor 904 indicating a time point along the timeline 902 at which the state of computing cluster 604 is shown, and the date and time corresponding to the time point (e.g., Apr. 30, 2018 9:02 AM) …”; ¶ 0149 “… The distribution of software applications, containers, and pods across worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D may change from time to time as worker nodes, pods, and/or containers terminate their operation due to planned or unplanned causes …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 13, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 12, wherein executing the visualization routine includes enabling a user, via user input based on the graphical depiction, to dynamically change the manner in which the first logical element is associated with the second logical element (Rimar, FIG. 8D, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0153 “… A further tenth request from remote user(s) 602 may be received by front-end software application 800 executing in pod 806. Pod 806 may, in response, transmit an eleventh request to software application 802 by utilizing pod 808C, as shown in the bottom portion of FIG. 8D. In response, software application 802 executing in pod 808C may process the eleventh request and provide a corresponding response 830 …”; ¶ 0155 “… FIG. 9B shows graphical user interface 900 updated to illustrate the communicative relationships amongst components of computing cluster 604 after replacement of pod 808B with pod 808C. Notably, cursor 904 has moved towards the right and the time corresponding thereto (i.e., Apr. 30, 2018 9:15 AM) has been updated to indicate that FIG. 9B shows the state of computing cluster at a later time than FIG. 9A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 14, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction including an identification of one or more containers executing on one or more computing nodes (Rimar, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplifies the user interfaces displaying that the pods (and thus containers and applications) execute on the worker nodes; ¶ 0146 “… Pod 806, in turn, communicates with software application 802, executing in pods 808A and 808B on worker nodes 612B and 612D, respectively, and with software application 804 executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 15, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction including a configuration hierarchy indicating a current operation of the process control system including relationships between one or more physical elements and the one or more process control logical elements of the process control system (Rimar, FIG. 9A, ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A illustrates graphical user interface 900 that shows the mapping between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810. Namely, FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A. Pod 806, in turn, communicates with software application 802, executing in pods 808A and 808B on worker nodes 612B and 612D, respectively, and with software application 804 executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 16, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the visualization routine presents a graphical depiction representing a logical configuration that visually indicates the manner in which a set of containers are nested with respect to one another (Rimar, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplifies graphical user interface that shows the mapping hierarchy between pods at different time periods and the containerized software applications are nested in the pods; ¶ 0148 “… a node representing a pod may be clicked or otherwise selected to view the containerized software applications executing therein …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 21, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 16, wherein executing the visualization routine further includes enabling a user, via a user interface, to change the manner in which the set of containers are associated with one another during runtime of the process control system (Rimar, FIG. 8D, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0153 “… A further tenth request from remote user(s) 602 may be received by front-end software application 800 executing in pod 806. Pod 806 may, in response, transmit an eleventh request to software application 802 by utilizing pod 808C, as shown in the bottom portion of FIG. SD. In response, software application 802 executing in pod 808C may process the eleventh request and provide a corresponding response 830 …”; ¶ 0155 “… FIG. 9B shows graphical user interface 900 updated to illustrate the communicative relationships amongst components of computing cluster 604 after replacement of pod 808B with pod 808C. Notably, cursor 904 has moved towards the right and the time corresponding thereto (i.e., Apr. 30, 2018 9:15 AM) has been updated to indicate that FIG. 9B shows the state of computing cluster at a later time than FIG. 9A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 22, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 21, wherein executing the visualization routine further includes enabling a user, via the user interface, to change the manner in which the set of containers are nested with respect to one another during runtime of the process control system (Rimar, FIG. 9A, ¶ 0148 “… When displayed on user interface 900, the nodes of the graph may be interactive, allowing for the level within the hierarchy represented by each node to be modified. For example, a node representing a pod may be clicked or otherwise selected to view the containerized software applications executing therein. Further, the containerized software applications may be selected to view the different processes that make up the software application …”; ¶ 0149 “… The distribution of software applications, containers, and pods across worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D may change from time to time as worker nodes, pods, and/or containers terminate their operation due to planned or unplanned causes …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 23, Chauvet teaches an industrial process control system (Chauvet, ¶ 0042 “… This disclosure describes Software-defined Automation (hereinafter ‘SDA’) technology and system (hereinafter ‘SDA system’) which provides a reference architecture for designing, managing and maintaining a highly available, scalable and flexible automation system …”) comprising:
a data cluster comprising a plurality of computing nodes, each computing node comprising: a processor executing an instance of an operating system; a memory; and a communication resource coupled to one or more other computing nodes in the data cluster (Chauvet, FIG. 1, ¶ 0045 “… As depicted in FIG. 1, the architecture of an SDA system 100 comprises of three aspects: (1) a smart distributed system 105, (2) a communication backbone 110, and (3) smart connected devices 115 … the system exhibits distributed intelligence by enabling a guest (e.g., a control/automation application) to be logically defined and distributed and re-distributed to run on one or more hosts (e.g., virtual machines, containers, bare metals) on a server, on a physical automation controller, an embedded system, and the like …”; ¶ 0047 “… Smart connected devices 115 can comprise of hardware, software, sensors, storage, microprocessor(s), connectivity and the like …”);
a plurality of containers executing on the data cluster, the plurality of containers in communication with a plurality of process control field devices operating to control a physical process in an industrial process plant via one or more input/output elements (Chauvet, ¶ 0111 external interfaces (e.g., Ethernet ports)) disposed between the plurality of containers and the plurality of process control field devices (Chauvet, FIG. 6B, FIG. 8A, ¶ 0095 “… the fog server controller 610 can create the virtual networks 620 in the fog server 605 and control connectivity between the virtual machines/containers hosted on the compute nodes 615 and the virtual networks 620, while the network controller 690 can configure the virtual network components 622 of the virtual networks 620 in accordance with one or more network policies …”; ¶ 0111 “… The virtual networks 820 connect from within the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, …) through external interfaces (e.g., Ethernet ports) to the external physical networks (e.g., Data/OT network 865 (i.e. Operational Technology network includes field devices such as sensors and actuators, etc.)). Virtual networks 820 reside inside the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, ... ) and provide connectivity between the virtualized entities and the physical world. In some embodiments, a compute node can be a smart connected device, which can have a physical part and a virtual part …”),
the plurality of containers executing on the data cluster to perform runtime control operations using the plurality of process control field devices (Chauvet, FIG. 2B, FIG. 8A, ¶ 0054 “… the example OT architecture as defined by the SDA technology depicted in FIG. 2B is considerably simpler, with three levels of control … an application running in a PLC in functional unit 275B can be moved to the server(s) 285 (e.g., by creating a virtual PLC which is a software implementation of a PLC on a host such as a virtual machine or a container) and the network can be automatically configured to ensure traffic from the virtual PLC (‘vPLC’) in the server(s) 285 flows to the I/O devices in functional unit 275B in a timely manner to monitor and/or control input/output devices or field devices …”; ¶ 0111 “… The fog server is comprised of a control and management infrastructure called the controller nodes 810-1, 810-2 along with the associated compute nodes 820-1, 820-2, 820-3, ... , 820-N. Each of the compute nodes 820-1, 820-2, 820-3, ... , 820-N can execute a number of hosts 802-1, ... , 802-N and associated virtual networks 820. These hosts can be virtual machines, containers or bare metals … The virtual networks 820 connect from within the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, . .. ) through external interfaces (e.g., Ethernet ports) to the external physical networks (e.g., Data/OT network 865 (i.e. Operational Technology network includes field devices such as sensors and actuators, etc.)). Virtual networks 820 reside inside the compute nodes (e.g., 820-1, 820-2, ... ) and provide connectivity between the virtualized entities and the physical world …”);
a container orchestrator operable to instantiate and manage the plurality of containers on the data cluster (Chauvet, FIG. 10B, ¶ 0133 “… While each one of the orchestration components are individually orchestrated, a top level orchestration component-the system orchestration component 1016 - orchestrates them together to virtualize devices and applications on compute nodes 1015 in the fog server 1005 (via fog server orchestration 1024), manage data associated with those virtualized devices and applications in storage 1025/1026 (via storage orchestration 1026), define and disseminate cyber security policies to all components of the SDA system (via cyber security orchestration 1018), and network flows and communications (via network orchestration 1022) …”); and …
Chauvet does not explicitly teach, but Rimar teaches a visualization routine executing on the data cluster, the visualization routine operable to receive real-time data from at least one of the plurality of containers or from the container orchestrator (Rimar, FIG. 3, FIG. 6, FIG. 8B, ¶ 0111 “… A containerized software application may be a software application configured to be executed in a container. A container, in turn, is a software package that includes an entire runtime environment needed to execute a given software application …”; ¶ 0144 “… For example, a computing device disposed within managed network 300, within remote network management platform 320, or within computing cluster 604 may request configuration data from API 608. The configuration data may indicate that application 800 is executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A, a first copy of application 802 is executing in pod 808A on worker node 612B, a second copy of application 802 is executing in pod 808B on worker node 612D, and application 804 is executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C. The computing device may also request and receive, from each of the packet detection modules executing on worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D, traffic data corresponding to any connections that have been established between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810…”; ¶ 0135 “… the computing device may be configured to periodically access the configuration data via API 608 and access the traffic data from packet detection modules 700A and 700B to keep track of the distribution and communicative relationships between software application(s) 624A and 624B, container(s) 622A and 622B, pod(s) 620A and 620B, and worker nodes 612A and 612B over time …”), and to
present a graphical depiction based on at least a portion of the received real-time data, the graphical depiction representing a system runtime configuration including a physical configuration having one or more physical devices and a process control logical configuration having a plurality of process control logical elements … that is implemented at least partially by one or more of the plurality of containers on the data cluster during runtime of the industrial process control system (Rimar discloses generating the service mappings into a graph to depict the distribution and communicative relationships between the software applications, containers, and worker nodes, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplify a graphical user interface showing the configuration of software applications, pods and containers, as well as the configuration of the worker nodes; FIG. 3, FIG. 6, FIG. 8B, FIG.9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0145 “… The traffic data may be parsed by the computing device for patterns indicative of communicative relationships between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810 (and thus applications 800, 802, and 804 as well as the containers in which these application are executed). The computing device may also generate mappings between any pods (and thus any containers and applications) that have communicative relationships therebetween. The generated mappings may be organized into a graph that can be displayed on a user interface to allow a user to visualize the distribution of software applications 800, 802, and 804 among the nodes of computing cluster 604 …”),
the graphical depiction including an indication of a manner in which at least one of the one or more of the plurality of containers is currently associated with the one or more physical devices and with the one or more of the plurality of process control logical elements … (Rimar discloses the relationship manner between the containers and the software applications, as well as the relationship manner between the containers and the worker nodes in the computing cluster in the GUI; FIG. 6, FIG. 8B, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0113 “… Software application(s) 624A and 624B may be executable within corresponding container(s) 622A and 622B, respectively. Generally, each of container(s) 622A and 622B may be configured to execute a single software application of software application(s) 624A and 624B. However, in some cases, some of container(s) 622A and 622B may also be configured to execute therein multiple software applications of software application(s) 624A and 624B …”; ¶ 0116 “… Cluster 604 may also include master node 606 configured to manage the number, distribution, and scheduling of pods, containers, and/or software applications amongst the plurality of worker nodes (e.g., worker nodes 614A and 614B) within computing cluster 604 …”; ¶ 0145 “… The traffic data may be parsed by the computing device for patterns indicative of communicative relationships between pods 806, 808A, 808B, and 810 (and thus applications 800, 802, and 804 as well as the containers in which these application are executed). The computing device may also generate mappings between any pods (and thus any containers and applications) that have communicative relationships therebetween. The generated mappings may be organized into a graph that can be displayed on a user interface to allow a user to visualize the distribution of software applications 800, 802, and 804 among the nodes of computing cluster 604 …”; ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A. Pod 806, in turn, communicates with software application 802, executing in pods 808A and 808B on worker nodes 612B and 612D, respectively, and with software application 804 executing in pod 810 on worker node 612C. Pods 808A, 808B, and 810 (or the applications therein) do not communicate directly with one another in this example …”).
Chauvet and Rimar are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
Chauvet-Rimar does not explicitly teach, but Wouhaybi teaches a plurality of process control logical elements that together define a process control strategy (Wouhaybi discloses that the coordination of the function block applications is orchestrated to define a control strategy using a graphical environment; FIG. 9; FIG. 11; ¶ 0170 “… a process engineer (or other operator) defines control flows and applications by combining and configuring existing functional blocks 990 from the library 980. These functional blocks 990 may represent application logic or control loops (e.g., control loops 970, data storage, analytics modules, data acquisition or actuation modules, or the like), control modules … such functional blocks may be utilized to implement end-to-end logic, including control flows or end-to-end applications using a graphical, drag-and-drop environment …”; ¶ 0191 “… FIG. 11 depicts an example application distribution mapping for a control strategy of an orchestration scenario that includes four applications, where application redundancy is depicted in designs 1120 for native, virtual machine, container, and container in a virtual machine deployments. As illustrated, the orchestration of application assets may encompass different deployment options to consider for dynamic allocation of resources, subject to various compute, storage, memory, and application constraints …”), and
one or more of the plurality of containers is also currently associated with the one or more input/output elements through which the one or more of the plurality of containers is communicatively coupled to the plurality of process control field devices … to thereby indicate a manner in which the one or more of the plurality of containers implement the process control strategy (Wouhaybi discloses the input/output elements/points/flow to associate the containerized control applications with the field devices (i.e. sensors, actuators), FIG. 11 and FIG. 26 exemplify the visualization of the process control strategies by using containers; ¶ 0191 “… FIG. 11 depicts an example application distribution mapping for a control strategy of an orchestration scenario that includes four applications, where application redundancy is depicted in designs 1120 for native, virtual machine, container, and container in a virtual machine deployments. As illustrated, the orchestration of application assets may encompass different deployment options to consider for dynamic allocation of resources, subject to various compute, storage, memory, and application constraints …”; ¶ 0250 “… FIG. 26 depicts an overview of a control application as represented by an example control application graph 2600, represented at the level of sensors and actuators. As shown, the control application is defined by a control engineer as a graph of software modules in which the outputs of each module (e.g., outputs from Sensor A 2610, and Sensor B 2620) are connected to the inputs of other modules (e.g., inputs into Actuator C 2640, and PID controller 2630). The control engineer may also specify other factors, such as starting values for module parameters. The control engineer may find these software modules in a software library or request that custom modules be implemented by an IT department. In an example, this graph may be defined through use of a graphical user interface, or other visual-based representation. For instance, the example control application graph 2600 may be defined by the control engineer to reflect inputs, outputs, and controllers of an industrial system. The example control application graph 2600 may reflect connections of a physical system, and be used to accomplish the various functional operations (and real-world changes, measurements, and effects) of the control application …”).
Wouhaybi and Chauvet-Rimar are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the orchestrating control strategy in the software-defined industrial system techniques of Wouhaybi with the system of Chauvet-Rimar to “provide the ability, at a distributed application control strategy level, to leverage lower cost commodity hardware and software to achieve better system performance at a control strategy level” (Wouhaybi, ¶ 0183).
As discussed above, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi teaches that the visualization routine depicts the associations between the containers and the physical devices, the processing control logical elements, the I/O elements in an industrial process control system. Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi does not explicitly teach, but Hilber teaches real time visualization depicting the containers association and distribution as the container orchestrator instantiates the one or more of the plurality of containers between the computing nodes during runtime of the industrial process control system (Hilber teaches real-time or near real-time visualization depicting the containers/pods being orchestrated to distribute in a cluster of computing nodes; FIG. 2; FIG. 3; FIG. 5; ¶ 0003 “… Visualizing data from a distributed application cluster involves a monitoring server retrieving cluster data from the distributed application cluster. The distributed application cluster includes one or more nodes running one or more pods. The monitoring server generates a cluster visualization based on the retrieved cluster data …”; ¶ 0031 “… The master 210 is a component of the container orchestration platform that manages the distributed application cluster 120. It monitors microservice 228 usage and adds and removes pods 224 to the nodes 122 in response to the usage. The master 210 also monitors the nodes 122, and reacts to downed nodes … The master 210 may add or remove nodes 122 based on node usage, e.g., how much of each node's 122 processing units, memory, and persistent storage is in use …”; ¶ 0034 “… The interface generator 130 may provide real or near-real time functionality by periodically generating cluster visualizations for the same distributed application cluster 120. For example, the application monitor 250 collects new data every ten seconds, and the interface generator 130 generates a new cluster visualization for each new batch of data collected by the application monitor 250 …”; ¶ 0043 “… FIG. 5 illustrates a primary user interface visualizing distributed application cluster structure and health, according to one embodiment. The primary user interface includes a cluster visualization 500 and a pod chart 502. The cluster visualization 500 includes a node spoke graphical element 504, which has a health region 525 and a pod region. The pod region is the combination of a running pod region 510 and an alerting pod region 515. The center of the cluster visualization is a pending pod region 520 that is not specific to any one node …”).
Hilber and Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the real-time or near real-time visualization of the states of the distributed application cluster techniques of Hilber with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi to provide an immediate overview of cluster health and resource utilization across the nodes and containers so as to troubleshoot failures and optimize the cluster performance (Hilber, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0031).
For Claim 24, the claim is substantially similar to claim 16 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 30, the claim is substantially similar to claim 5 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 31, the claim is substantially similar to claim 6 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 32, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 23, wherein the visualization routine presents a graphical depiction that visually indicates a manner in which a first container is dynamically associated with a second container, wherein the dynamic association may be changed during runtime of the industrial process control system (Rimar, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0147 “… User interface 900 may additionally include timeline 902, cursor 904 indicating a time point along the timeline 902 at which the state of computing cluster 604 is shown, and the date and time corresponding to the time point (e.g., Apr. 30, 2018 9:02 AM) …”; ¶ 0149 “… The distribution of software applications, containers, and pods across worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D may change from time to time as worker nodes, pods, and/or containers terminate their operation due to planned or unplanned causes …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 33, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 32, wherein the visualization routine enables a user, via user input based on the graphical depiction, to dynamically change the manner in which the first container is associated with the second container (Rimar, FIG. 8D, FIG. 9A, FIG. 9B; ¶ 0148 “… When displayed on user interface 900, the nodes of the graph may be interactive, allowing for the level within the hierarchy represented by each node to be modified. For example, a node representing a pod may be clicked or otherwise selected to view the containerized software applications executing therein. Further, the containerized software applications may be selected to view the different processes that make up the software application …”; ¶ 0149 “… The distribution of software applications, containers, and pods across worker nodes 612A, 612B, 612C, and 612D may change from time to time as worker nodes, pods, and/or containers terminate their operation due to planned or unplanned causes …”; ¶ 0153 “… A further tenth request from remote user(s) 602 may be received by front-end software application 800 executing in pod 806. Pod 806 may, in response, transmit an eleventh request to software application 802 by utilizing pod 808C, as shown in the bottom portion of FIG. 8D. In response, software application 802 executing in pod 808C may process the eleventh request and provide a corresponding response 830 …”; ¶ 0155 “… FIG. 9B shows graphical user interface 900 updated to illustrate the communicative relationships amongst components of computing cluster 604 after replacement of pod 808B with pod 808C. Notably, cursor 904 has moved towards the right and the time corresponding thereto (i.e., Apr. 30, 2018 9:15 AM) has been updated to indicate that FIG. 9B shows the state of computing cluster at a later time than FIG. 9A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 34, the claim is substantially similar to claim 12 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 35, the claim is substantially similar to claim 13 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 36, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 23, wherein the visualization routine presents a graphical depiction further including a performance indication indicating a performance metric of one of the process control logical elements (Rimar, FIG. 3, ¶ 0081 “… Remote network management platform 320 may include modules that integrate with third-party networks 340 to expose virtual machines and managed services therein to managed network 300. The modules may allow users to request virtual resources and provide flexible reporting for third-party networks 340 … These modules may then automatically discover the manageable resources in the account, and also provide reports related to usage, performance, and billing …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 37, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 23, wherein the visualization routine presents a graphical depiction further representing one or more physical elements of the physical configuration, and a performance indication indicating a performance metric of one of the one or more physical elements (Rimar, FIG. 3, ¶ 0066 “… Managed network 300 may be, for example, an enterprise network used by an entity for computing and communications tasks, as well as storage of data. Thus, managed network 300 may include various client devices 302, server devices 304, routers 306, virtual machines 308, firewall 310, and/or proxy servers 312 …”; ¶ 0081 “… Remote network management platform 320 may include modules that integrate with third-party networks 340 to expose virtual machines and managed services therein to managed network 300. The modules may allow users to request virtual resources and provide flexible reporting for third-party networks 340 … These modules may then automatically discover the manageable resources in the account, and also provide reports related to usage, performance, and billing …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 38, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 37, wherein the physical element is a computer device or a communication connection (Rimar, FIG. 3, ¶ 0066 “… Managed network 300 may be, for example, an enterprise network used by an entity for computing and communications tasks, as well as storage of data. Thus, managed network 300 may include various client devices 302, server devices 304, routers 306, virtual machines 308, firewall 310, and/or proxy servers 312 …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 39, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 23, wherein the visualization routine presents a performance indication indicating one or more of: a messaging speed, a storage utilization, a network bandwidth, an error rate, an assigned physical node, a message diagnostic, an error condition, a physical network adapter, a CPU loading, or a temperature (Rimar, FIG. 3, ¶ 0067 “… virtual machines 308 may be managed by a centralized server device or application that facilitates allocation of physical computing resources to individual virtual machines, as well as performance and error reporting …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 40, the claim is substantially similar to claim 14 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 41, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 23, wherein the visualization routine presents a graphical depiction including a health status of each of a plurality of computing nodes (Rimar, FIG. 3, ¶ 0090 “… In order for remote network management platform 320 to administer the devices, applications, and services of managed network 300, remote network management platform 320 may first determine what devices are present in managed network 300, the configurations and operational statuses of these devices, and the applications and services provided by the devices, and well as the relationships between discovered devices, applications, and services …”; ¶ 0104 “… This collected information may be presented to a user in various ways to allow the user to view the hardware composition and operational status of devices, as well as the characteristics of services that span multiple devices and applications …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 43, the claim is substantially similar to claim 15 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 44, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 43, wherein the configuration hierarchy illustrates a manner in which one or more logical elements are nested in or pinned to other logical elements (Rimar, FIG. 9A and FIG. 9B exemplifies graphical user interface that shows the mapping hierarchy between pods at different time periods and the containerized software applications are nested in the pods; ¶ 0148 “… a node representing a pod may be clicked or otherwise selected to view the containerized software applications executing therein …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
For Claim 45, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 43, wherein the configuration hierarchy illustrates a manner in which one or more logical elements are currently pinned to one or more physical elements (Rimar, FIG. 9A, ¶ 0146 “… FIG. 9A shows that requests from remote user(s) 602 are handled by software application 800 executing in pod 806 on worker node 612A …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Rimar with the system of Chauvet to discover and logically organize representations and relationships of the containerized software applications (Rimar ¶ 0002) and generate service mapping to facilitate analysis of service impacts, help locate outages, and identify other potential issues in a managed network (Rimar, ¶ 0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauvet et al. (US 20180316729 A1, published 11/01/2018; hereinafter Chauvet), in view of Rimar et al. (US 20190379590 A1, published 12/12/2019; hereinafter Rimar), in view of Wouhaybi et al. (US 20200310394 A1, published 10/01/2020; hereinafter Wouhaybi), in view of Hilber et al. (US 20210006637 A1, published 01/07/2021; hereinafter Hilber), and in further view of Jangam et al. (US 11451447 B1, filed 11/18/2020; hereinafter Jangam).
For Claim 4, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 1. Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber does not explicitly teach, but Jangam teaches wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction representing a logical configuration that visually indicates the manner in which a first container is pinned to a second container (Jangam discloses container visualization depicting all of the containers in a cluster/pod; FIG. 2B, FIG. 2C; col. 7, l. 62 – col. 8, l. 57 “… FIG. 2B depicts a Network Topology 200B for a data center including a variety of physical and virtual components after selection of a component … Upon receiving this selection, in the illustrated embodiment, the Network Topology 200B is revised and output to depict all of the Containers 115B in the cluster … a single container in the VM Cluster 230 has been selected. As illustrated, in response to this selection, the Network Topology 200C has been updated to include Information 235 about the selected container. In the illustrated embodiment, this Information 235 includes the name of the container, a name of the host where the pod/collection of containers is executing (which may be a virtual machine or a bare metal cluster, in one embodiment), an identifier of the container, the host IP for the container, the pod IP for the container …”).
Jangam and Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Jangam with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help depicting the topology of the complex, ever-changing data center with physical and virtualized components (Jangam, col. 1, ll. 48-67).
For Claim 10, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 9. Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber does not explicitly teach, but Jangam teaches wherein executing the visualization routine includes presenting a graphical depiction that visually indicates the manner in which a first container is pinned to a second container (Jangam discloses container visualization depicting all of the containers in a cluster/pod; FIG. 2B, FIG. 2C; col. 7, l. 62 – col. 8, l. 57 “… FIG. 2B depicts a Network Topology 200B for a data center including a variety of physical and virtual components after selection of a component … Upon receiving this selection, in the illustrated embodiment, the Network Topology 200B is revised and output to depict all of the Containers 115B in the cluster … a single container in the VM Cluster 230 has been selected. As illustrated, in response to this selection, the Network Topology 200C has been updated to include Information 235 about the selected container. In the illustrated embodiment, this Information 235 includes the name of the container, a name of the host where the pod/collection of containers is executing (which may be a virtual machine or a bare metal cluster, in one embodiment), an identifier of the container, the host IP for the container, the pod IP for the container …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Jangam with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help depicting the topology of the complex, ever-changing data center with physical and virtualized components (Jangam, col. 1, ll. 48-67).
For Claim 29, the claim is substantially similar to claim 4 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20, and 25-28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauvet et al. (US 20180316729 A1, published 11/01/2018; hereinafter Chauvet), in view of Rimar et al. (US 20190379590 A1, published 12/12/2019; hereinafter Rimar), in view of Wouhaybi et al. (US 20200310394 A1, published 10/01/2020; hereinafter Wouhaybi), in view of Hilber et al. (US 20210006637 A1, published 01/07/2021; hereinafter Hilber), and in further view of Resurreccion et al. (US 20120259436 A1, published 10/11/2012; hereinafter Resurreccion).
For Claim 17, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the method of claim 16. Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber does not explicitly teach, but Resurreccion teaches wherein the set of nested containers includes a control container and an I/O server container nested within a subsystem container (Resurreccion, FIG. 3, ¶ 0075 “… the example in FIG. 3 shows that logical containers may be nested to enable process control personnel to further organize process control resources … Further, the My Device Watch List logical container 306 includes a Hart Devices logical container 318 and a Foundation Fieldbus (FF) devices logical container 320. The logical containers 318 and 320 enable process control personnel to organize process control resources by a communication protocol type within the My Device Watch List logical container 306 …”).
Resurreccion and Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Resurreccion with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help organizing “information associated with field devices, controllers, and other process control components into a hierarchical structure” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0004) and “enable process control personnel to manage process control resources by creating logical containers” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0021).
For Claim 18, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber-Resurreccion teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the set of nested containers further includes a further container nested with respect to the control container, the I/O server container and the subsystem container (Resurreccion, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, ¶ 0050 “… The example container manager 204 also enables process control personnel to create logical containers. To create a logical container, the container manager 204 prompts process control personnel, via the workstation interface 202, for a name of the container, an identifier for the container, a characteristic of the container, and/or a directory location for the container. The directory location may indicate if the logical container is to be nested within another logical container or may indicate if the logical container is to be included within a relatively high level structure within, for example, an asset management tool …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Resurreccion with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help organizing “information associated with field devices, controllers, and other process control components into a hierarchical structure” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0004) and “enable process control personnel to manage process control resources by creating logical containers” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0021).
For Claim 19, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber-Resurreccion teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the further container is one of a data collection container, a data processing container, a third party container, and a performance index container (Resurreccion, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, ¶ 0051 “… A characteristic selected by process control personnel may be any feature, function, location, and/or property of a process control resource including for example, a fault type, a history of common issues, a type of resource, a physical location, a user preference, a manufacturer, a calibration date, an installation date, and/or a communication type …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Resurreccion with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help organizing “information associated with field devices, controllers, and other process control components into a hierarchical structure” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0004) and “enable process control personnel to manage process control resources by creating logical containers” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0021).
For Claim 20, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber-Resurreccion teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the graphical depiction visually indicates whether the containers within the set of containers are statically or are dynamically nested with respect to one another (Examiner notes that the claimed limitations are not located in the instant specification, examiner considers the instant specification ¶ 0385 and FIG. 43 are close to interpret the claimed limitations for examination such as “For example, the hierarchy 3210 of FIG. 43 indicates that various recipes 3270 are dynamically assignable containers;” Resurreccion, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, ¶ 0050 “… The example container manager 204 also enables process control personnel to create logical containers. To create a logical container, the container manager 204 prompts process control personnel, via the workstation interface 202, for a name of the container, an identifier for the container, a characteristic of the container, and/or a directory location for the container. The directory location may indicate if the logical container is to be nested within another logical container or may indicate if the logical container is to be included within a relatively high level structure within, for example, an asset management tool …”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Resurreccion with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help organizing “information associated with field devices, controllers, and other process control components into a hierarchical structure” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0004) and “enable process control personnel to manage process control resources by creating logical containers” (Resurreccion, ¶ 0021).
For Claim 25, the claim is substantially similar to claim 17 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 26, the claim is substantially similar to claim 18 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 27, the claim is substantially similar to claim 19 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim 28, the claim is substantially similar to claim 20 and therefore is rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chauvet et al. (US 20180316729 A1, published 11/01/2018; hereinafter Chauvet), in view of Rimar et al. (US 20190379590 A1, published 12/12/2019; hereinafter Rimar), in view of Wouhaybi et al. (US 20200310394 A1, published 10/01/2020; hereinafter Wouhaybi), in view of Hilber et al. (US 20210006637 A1, published 01/07/2021; hereinafter Hilber), and in further view of Law et al. (US 20180114414 A1, published 04/26/2018; hereinafter Law).
For Claim 42, Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber teaches the industrial process control system of claim 23. Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber does not explicitly teach, but Law teaches wherein the visualization routine presents a graphical depiction including a view of interactions between a set of process control field devices, at least a portion of an I/O subsystem, and one or more containers, depicting data flows between each of the process control field devices and the one or more containers via the portion of the I/O subsystem (Law, FIG. 1, FIG. 2, ¶ 0042 “… The plant display 97 may be based on a PI&D diagram and may depict various icons or other representations of devices such as valves, tanks, transmitters (e.g., sensors) as interconnected within the plant 5, and may depict various important parameters and values such as device tags or names, control system references or logic, measured process parameter values, etc. … The plant display view 96 may also or instead include one or more faceplate displays 98 for various devices (such as controllers, I/O devices, field devices, etc.), modules (such as control or safety system modules) or other containers within the plant 5 …”; ¶ 0043 “… Generally speaking, a container may be a physical device, such as a field device, an I/O device, etc., or a logical module executed on a processor, such as a process control module, a safety system logic module, etc., or any other entity that generates an alarm …”).
Law and Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber are analogous art because they are both related to containers.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the visualization techniques of Law with the system of Chauvet-Rimar-Wouhaybi-Hilber to help depicting control system logic of the process control components (Law, ¶ 0002 and ¶ 0008).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed below, thank you:
i. US 20210200814 A1 (Tal) teaches that An example computing system includes a database disposed within a remote network management platform associated with a managed network that obtains service from a computing cluster that includes one or more worker nodes configured to execute containerized software applications using a containerized orchestration engine. The computing system also includes a computing device configured to identify a namespace associated with the containerized orchestration engine. The computing device is also configured to query a deployment configuration application programming interface (API) associated with a containerized application platform to obtain deployment configuration data. Further, the computing device is configured to query a build configuration API associated with the containerized application platform to obtain build configuration data. In addition, the computing device is configured to store, in the database, the deployment configuration data, the build configuration data, and one or more relationships between the deployment configuration data and the build configuration data (Abstract). Master node 606 may periodically poll worker node 612D to determine the state of the pods executing thereon. After termination of pod 808B, master node may determine that pod 808B is no longer executing on worker node 612D and, in response, may deploy a replacement pod for software application 802 to one of the other worker nodes in computing cluster 604 (FIG. 6, FIG. 8, ¶ 0199).
ii. US 20220171646 A1 (Birsan) teaches that scalable visualization of a containerized application in a multiple-cluster environment is disclosed. Deployment information that identifies a deployment status on a plurality of clusters of a set of resources that compose a containerized application is obtained. User interface imagery that identifies the set of resources, wherein each resource in the set is represented in the user interface imagery by only one corresponding resource representation, irrespective of a number of clusters on which the resource is deployed, is generated. A corresponding group deployment status indicator based on a deployment status of the resource on each cluster on which the resource was to be deployed is determined for at least one resource. The corresponding group deployment status indicator is included in association with the resource representation that corresponds to the resource. The user interface imagery is presented on a display device (Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/SCOTT B CHRISTENSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444