DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (JP 2020-21071 and its machine translation) in view of Nakagawa et al (JP 2018-116160 and its machine translation).
Moon et al disclose a radiation-sensitive composition comprising an organometallic compound and a solvent, wherein the organometallic compound includes a compound having a structure falling within the scope of the instant General Formula 1.
R1 is alkyl, cycloalkyl, alkenyl, aryl,, and arylalkyl, and R2 to R4 are each -ORa or -OC(=O)O-Rb, similar to that of general formula 1, wherein ,-(L)n-(R1) with Ra being a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted cycloalkyl group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, A substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted arylalkyl group having 7 to 30 carbon atoms, or a combination thereof, and
Rb being a hydrogen atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted cycloalkyl group having 3 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, It is a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted arylalkyl group having 7 to 30 carbon atoms, or a combination thereof.
The exemplified compounds fall within the scope of the instant formula:
For the examples, instant L is -O- or -COO-, n is 1 or 0 (0 for R1 groups), and Ra and Rb are alkyl or alkenyl. These compounds and monodentate ligands meet the limitations of the instant claims 1 and 2.
The reference teaches that known additives such as cross-linkers, surfactants, and other non-limiting examples may be added, but fails to specifically teach a PAG or a surfactant.
Nakagawa et al disclose a resist composition disclose an organometallic oxide sol-containing composition, wherein the composition comprises the organometallic additive and additional known additives including an acid generator ([0111];instant claim 7), a solvent ([0101]), surfactant ([0102]), acid-diffusion controller (quencher; [0103]; instant claim 8).
Given that the primary reference teaches a resist composition, and that the secondary reference Nakagawa et al teach a resist composition comprising known and conventional resist additives, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the organometallic resist of Moon et al, choosing as the resist additives, those as taught by Nakagawa et al as known and conventional including a PAG.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al in view of Kobayashi et al (2021/0063871).
Moon et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches that known additives such as cross-linkers, surfactants, and other non-limiting examples may be added, but fails to specifically teach a PAG or a quencher.
Kobayashi et al disclose a resist material comprising a metal compound having at least a metal core with at least one organic ligand bonded to the core. The composition further comprises a photoacid generator ([0062]; instant claim 7 a), a basic compound as known additives ([0073; instant claim 8).
Given that the primary reference teaches a resist composition, and that the secondary reference Kobayashi et al teach a resist composition comprising known and conventional resist additives, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the organometallic resist of Moon et al, choosing as the resist additives, those as taught by Kobayashi et al as known and conventional including a PAG.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al in view of Kudo et al (2020/0257195).
Moon et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches that known additives such as cross-linkers, surfactants, and other non-limiting examples may be added, but fails to specifically teach a PAG, initiator, or a quencher.
Kudo et al disclose a photoresist composition comprising an initiator, a solvent, a photoacid generator, a quencher (claims 7-11; instant claims 1, 7-9), and an organometallic compound. The composition further teaches the addition of initiators, including acylphosphine oxides. Specific examples include commercially available IRGACURE 1173, 651, and 184 ([0072], [0073]), all taught as preferred initiators by the instant specification ([0059]) and meet the limitations of the instant claims 7, 8, 9, and 10.
Given that the primary reference teaches a resist composition, and that the secondary reference Kudo et al teach a resist composition comprising known and conventional resist additives, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the organometallic resist of Moon et al, choosing as the resist additives, those as taught by Kudo et al as known and conventional including a PAG, quencher, and initiator.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman et al (2015/0079393).
Freedman et al disclose an organometallic resist comprising a complex, a solvent, and may include a PAG ([0047], [0049]), wherein the complex comprises an organic polydentate ligand, and additional ligands including polydentate or monodentate ligands, wherein metals include Cr, Mn, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Sn, Bi, Fe and other various transition metals ([0019], Table 1, [0023]), and
Ligands meet the limitations of claim 1 wherein n is 1 or 0, and monodentate ligands include those wherein n is 0 and R1 is alkyl, aryl, and wherein n is 1 such as alkoxy (-O-R) ([0030]; instant claims 1 and 2), and as seen in examples the complex must comprisse at least one polydentate ligand, which includes quinolines ([0032], [0045]; instant claims 5, 11).
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art priro top the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Freedman et al, choosing to prepare the material including a PAG, wherein the resultant compositons and complex would meet the the limitations of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 9-11, 14, 16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freedman et al in view of Kudo et al.
Each reference has been discussed above. Freedman et al teaches that additional known additives may be incldues, inclduign PAGs, but fails to specifically teach a quencher or inititator.
Kudo et al disclose a photoresist composition comprising an initiator, a solvent, a photoacid generator, a quencher (claims 7-11; instant claims 1, 7-9, and 16), and an organometallic compound. The composition further teaches the addition of initiators, including acylphosphine oxides. Specific examples include commercially available IRGACURE 1173, 651, and 184 ([0072], [0073]), all taught as preferred initiators by the instant specification ([0059]) and meet the limitations of the instant claims 9-11, 14, and 21.
Given that the primary reference teaches a resist composition, and that the secondary reference Kudo et al teach a resist composition comprising known and conventional resist additives, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the organometallic resist of Freedman et al, choosing as the resist additives, those as taught by Kudo et al as known and conventional including a quencher, and initiator.
Double Patenting
Claim1, 2, 7, 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,158,699. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘699 patent claims a composition wherein there is a metal-ligand bond, and where R is alkyl (n is 0) and X-Z are -OC(=O)O-R2 with R2 falling within the scope of the instant claims and meeting –(L)n-R1, and includes a quencher and PAG. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to prepare the material of the ‘699 patent, wherein the resultant compound also meets the limitations of the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1/6/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In light of applicant’s amendments, new rejections reflecting the claims as currently written have been formulated above.
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722