DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-14, and 16-23 are pending and have been examined in this application.
An information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 07/01/2022 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-14, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lush (U.S. Pub. 20100288200) in view of Cote (U.S. Pat. 6253707) and Cote (U.S. Pub. 20170339926).
In regard to claim 1, Lush discloses a bird feeder comprising: an inner housing, including a seed reservoir having at least one feed port defined therethrough for providing access to seed contained within the seed reservoir (Figs. 1-7, where there is a bird feeder 10 with an inner housing 14 that has a seed reservoir having at least one feed port 86/86’/86” defined therethrough for providing access to seed contained within the seed reservoir), the inner housing includes an inner base arranged on an end of the seed reservoir (Figs. 1-7, where there is an inner base 63 arranged on an end (at least the bottom end) of the seed reservoir); an outer housing moveably mounted to the inner housing and including a reservoir cover arranged over the seed reservoir and defining at least one feed opening, the outer housing moveable relative to the inner housing along a central axis of the feeder between a first position, wherein the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are aligned, and a second position, wherein the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are not aligned and the outer housing covers the feed port (Figs. 1-7, where there is an outer housing 12 moveably mounted to the inner housing 14 that has a reservoir cover 30 arranged over the seed reservoir and defining at least one feed opening 42/52/60, the outer housing 12 moveable relative to the inner housing 14 along an axis of the feeder between a first position (where the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are aligned, see Fig. 1) and a second position (where the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are not aligned and the outer housing covers the feed port, see Fig. 7)), the outer housing includes an outer base supporting the reservoir cover (Figs. 1-7, where there is an outer base 56 supporting the reservoir cover 30 (mesh wall)); the reservoir cover has a wire frame defining a plurality of openings, one of the openings of the wire frame is the at least one feed port opening aligned with the at least one feed port in the first position (Figs. 1-7, where the reservoir cover 30 is a wire frame defining at least a plurality of openings and where one of the openings of the wire frame is the feed opening 42/52/60 aligned with the at least one feed port 86/86’/86” in the first position); and a tension spring operatively connected to the inner housing and the outer housing for biasing the outer housing into the first position relative to the inner housing (Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0038], where there is a tension spring 118 operatively connected to the inner housing 14 and the outer housing 12 for biasing the outer housing 12 into the first position relative to the inner housing 14 (also see Fig. 1)), wherein the application of a predetermined force on the outer housing is operative to bias the outer housing into the second position against an elastic return force of the tension spring (Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0038], where the application of a predetermined force on the outer housing 12 is operative to bias the outer housing 12 into the second position against an elastic return force of the tension spring 118 (also see Fig. 7)).
Lush is silent on at least a portion of the outer base is received within a hollow interior of the inner base in the first position of the outer housing, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts the inner base in the hollow interior in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position. Cote ‘707 discloses at least a portion of the outer base is received within a hollow interior of the inner base in the first position of the outer housing, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts the inner base in the hollow interior in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position (Figs. 3-4, where at least a portion of the outer base (base on bottom) is received within a hollow interior of the inner base (base on top which receives the bottom, outer base) in the first position of the outer housing, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts the inner base in the hollow interior in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position). Lush and Cote ‘707 are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush such that at least a portion of the outer base is received within a hollow interior of the inner base in the first position of the outer housing, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts the inner base in the hollow interior in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position in view of Cote ‘707. The motivation would have been to provide further structural stability to the device, when in the first position. Additionally, nesting the outer base inside the inner base would allow for a relatively more compact device footprint and relatively reduce imbalance caused by horizontal sway of the outer base.
Lush is silent on the reservoir cover has a wire frame defining at least one port cover positioned over the wire frame, the at least one port cover is a solid element that covers the at least one feed port in the second position. Cote ‘926 discloses the reservoir cover has a wire frame defining a plurality of openings and at least one port cover positioned over the wire frame (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0040-0042], where there is a reservoir cover 12 with a wire frame (“mesh”) defining a plurality of openings 18 and at least one port cover 42 positioned over the wire frame of 12), one of the openings of the wire frame is the feed port opening aligned with the at least one feed port in the first position, the at least one port cover is a solid element that covers the at least one feed port in the second position (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0040-0042], where one of the openings of the wire frame is at least a feed port opening aligned with the at least one feed port 52 in the first position (Fig. 1) and where the at least one port cover 42 is a solid element that covers the at least one feed port in the second position (Fig. 2)). Lush and Cote ‘926 are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush such that the reservoir cover has a wire frame defining at least one port cover positioned over the wire frame, the at least one port cover is a solid element that covers the at least one feed port in the second position in view of Cote ‘926. The motivation would have been to further prevent animals from accessing the food through the openings in the wire frame, even when extended into the second position. Having a solid element blocking the feed port reduces the likelihood of smaller animals reaching the feed when in the second position.
In regard to claim 2, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the outer housing is moveable in a telescoping manner over the inner housing (Lush, Fig. 6, where the outer housing 12 is at least moveable in a telescoping manner over the inner housing 14).
In regard to claim 5, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the inner base and the outer base abut one another in an axial direction in the first position (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the inner base 63 and the outer base 56 at least abut one another in an axial direction in the first position).
In regard to claim 6, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the tension spring includes a first end attached to the outer base (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the tension spring 118 at least has a first end engaging with the outer base (with 56) for biasing the outer housing 12 into the first position relative to the inner housing 14).
In regard to claim 7, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 6, wherein the inner housing includes a mount fixedly attached to the seed reservoir, a second end of the tension spring attached to the mount (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the inner housing 14 includes a mount (shown under 110) fixedly attached to the seed reservoir and a second end of the tension spring 118 attached to the mount under 110 (see Fig. 6)).
In regard to claim 8, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 7, wherein the mount extends horizontally through the seed reservoir (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the mount under 110 at least extends horizontally through the seed reservoir (also see Fig. 6, where extension 106” is considered part of the mount)). Lush as modified by Rich et al. is silent on the mount extends horizontally through at least one wall of the seed reservoir. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 to have the mount extend horizontally through at least one wall of the seed reservoir, since applicant has not disclosed that doing so solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the mount of Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926. The motivation would have been to have a mount large enough to hold multiple springs if necessary. Additionally, having a mount which is visible through at least one wall of the seed reservoir would allow the user to relatively more easily replace or view the spring attachment mechanism, in case of damage or malfunction.
In regard to claim 10, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the inner base and the outer base comprise complementary guides for maintaining an alignment between the outer housing and the inner housing between the first and second positions (Cote ‘707, Figs. 3-4, where the inner base and the outer base comprise complementary guides (nesting side profiles extending from base portions) and for maintaining an alignment between the outer housing and the inner housing between the first and second positions).
In regard to claim 11, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the tension spring is arranged within a spring space defined by the outer base (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the tension spring 118 is at least arranged in a space confined within the outer base 56 (see Fig. 6)).
In regard to claim 12, Lush as modified by Rich et al. and Cote discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the tension spring extends along the central axis of the feeder (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the tension spring 118 extends along the central axis of the feeder).
In regard to claim 13, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the inner housing includes a feeder support fixedly attached to the seed reservoir for suspending the feeder in a substantially vertical orientation (Lush, Fig. 2, where the inner housing 14 at least has a feeder support 114 fixedly attached to the seed reservoir for suspending the feeder 10 in a substantially vertical orientation).
In regard to claim 14, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, further comprising a top cover arranged over and receiving a portion of the inner housing (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where there is a top cover 112 arranged over and receiving a portion of the inner housing 14).
In regard to claim 22, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the at least one feed port is a plurality of feed ports of the inner housing (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the at least one feed port is a plurality of feed ports 86/86’/86”of the inner housing 14) and the at least one port cover is positioned over and covers one of the feed ports in the second position (Cote ‘926, Figs. 1-2, where the at least one port cover 42 is positioned over and covers one of the feed ports 52 in the second position). Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 is silent on the at least one port cover is a plurality of port covers distributed over the wire frame, each of the port covers is positioned over and covers one of the feed ports in the second position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one port cover be a plurality of port covers distributed over the wire frame, each of the port covers is positioned over and covers one of the feed ports in the second position, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The motivation would have been to provide port covers over all of the feed ports, to prevent access to feed through any of the available feed openings of the device while in the second position.
In regard to claim 23, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 1, wherein the outer base is entirely received within the hollow interior of the inner base in the first position of the outer housing (Cote ‘707, Figs. 3-4, where the outer base (substantially horizontal portions 52 connected to 103) is entirely received within the hollow interior of the inner base (26) in the first position of the outer housing).
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lush (U.S. Pub. 20100288200) in view of Cote (U.S. Pat. 6253707) and Cote (U.S. Pub. 20170339926) as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Coroneos (U.S. Pub. 20050263083).
In regard to claim 3, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 discloses the bird feeder of claim 2. Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 does not disclose the outer housing further includes a support guide including at least one roller bearing engaged with a surface of the inner housing for maintaining alignment of the outer housing relative to the inner housing as the outer housing moves between the first and second positions. Coroneos discloses the outer housing further includes a support guide including at least one roller bearing engaged with a surface of the inner housing for maintaining alignment of the outer housing relative to the inner housing as the outer housing moves between the first and second positions (Figs. 36-39, where the outer housing 440 further includes a support guide 1020 including at least one roller bearing 1035 engaged with a surface of the inner housing 500 for maintaining alignment of the outer housing 440 relative to the inner housing 500 as the outer housing 440 moves between the first and second positions). Lush and Coroneos are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush as modified by Cote ‘707 and Cote ‘926 such that the outer housing further includes a support guide including at least one roller bearing engaged with a surface of the inner housing for maintaining alignment of the outer housing relative to the inner housing as the outer housing moves between the first and second positions in view of Coroneos. The motivation would have been to ensure alignment between the inner housing and the outer housing and ensure a smooth transition between the first and second positions, in order to prevent snagging of the outer housing on the inner housing during movement.
In regard to claim 21, Lush as modified by Cote ‘707, Cote ‘926, and Coroneos discloses the bird feeder of claim 3, wherein the at least one roller bearing is positioned between the outer housing and the inner housing in a horizontal direction perpendicular to a direction of motion of the outer housing between the first position and the second position (Coroneos, Figs. 36-39, where the at least one roller bearing is positioned between the outer housing and the inner housing and in a horizontal direction (see change of horizontal positioning from Fig. 38 to Fig. 39) at least perpendicular to a direction of motion (vertical positioning change) of the outer housing between the first position and the second position).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lush (U.S. Pub. 20100288200) in view of Rich et al. (U.S. Pat. 7540260), Cote (U.S. Pat. 6253707), and Hardison (U.S. Pub. 20030033985).
In regard to claim 16, Lush discloses a bird feeder comprising: an inner housing having a seed reservoir and at least one feed port for accessing an interior of the seed reservoir (Figs. 1-7, where there is a bird feeder 10 with an inner housing 14 that has a seed reservoir having at least one feed port 86/86’/86” defined therethrough for providing access to seed contained within the seed reservoir), the inner housing includes a spring mount and an inner base arranged on an end of the seed reservoir (Figs. 1-7, where the inner housing 14 includes a mount (shown under 110) and an inner base 63 arranged on an end of the seed reservoir); an outer housing arranged over the inner housing and including at least one feed opening and an outer base, the outer housing moveable relative to the inner housing between a first position (Figs. 1-7, where there is an outer housing 12 relatively moveable to the inner housing 14 that has a reservoir cover 30 arranged over the seed reservoir and defining at least one feed opening 42/52/60 and an outer base 56), wherein the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are aligned (Fig. 1, where the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are aligned in the first position), and a second position, wherein the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are not aligned (Fig. 7, where the at least one feed port and the at least one feed opening are not aligned in a second position); and an elastic return assembly biasing the outer housing into the first position relative to the inner housing, the elastic return assembly is attached to the spring mount (Figs. 1-7 and Paragraph [0038], where there is a tension spring 118 operatively connected to the inner housing 14 and the outer housing 12 for biasing the outer housing 12 into the first position relative to the inner housing 14 and where the tension spring 118 is at least attached to the spring mount under 110).
Lush is silent on an elastic return assembly arranged entirely below the seed reservoir along an upward direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction. Rich et al. discloses an elastic return assembly arranged entirely below the seed reservoir along an upward direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction (Figs. 5-7, where there is an elastic return assembly 56 arranged entirely below the seed reservoir 12 along an upward direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction). Lush and Rich et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush such that an elastic return assembly arranged entirely below the seed reservoir along an upward direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction in view of Rich et al. The motivation would have been to provide more space within the seed reservoir to relatively hold more seed. Furthermore, arranging the elastic return assembly entirely below the seed reservoir would allow for relatively easier access to the elastic return assembly for repair or replacement.
Lush is silent on the outer base is received within the inner base in the first position, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts an interior of the inner base in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position. Cote discloses the outer base is received within the inner base in the first position, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts an interior of the inner base in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position (Figs. 3-4, where the outer base (base on the bottom) is received within the inner base (base on the top) in the first position, the outer base slides within the inner base (base on top which receives the bottom, outer base) and contacts an interior of the inner base in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position). Lush and Cote are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush such that the outer base is received within the inner base in the first position, the outer base slides within the inner base and contacts an interior of the inner base in the first position and the second position as the outer housing moves between the first position and the second position in view of Cote. The motivation would have been to provide further structural stability to the device, when in the first position. Additionally, nesting the outer base inside the inner base would allow for a relatively more compact device footprint and relatively reduce imbalance caused by horizontal sway of the outer base.
Lush is silent on the inner housing includes a spring mount extending through the seed reservoir in a horizontal direction; a direction of motion of the outer housing between the first position and the second position is perpendicular to the horizontal direction in which the spring mount extends through the seed reservoir. Hardison discloses the inner housing includes a spring mount extending through the seed reservoir in a horizontal direction (Figs. 2-4 and Paragraph [0029], where the inner housing includes a spring mount 37 at least extending through the seed reservoir in a horizontal direction); a direction of motion of the outer housing between the first position and the second position is perpendicular to the horizontal direction in which the spring mount extends through the seed reservoir (Figs. 2-4 and Paragraph [0029], where a direction of motion of the outer housing between the first position (Fig. 2) and the second position (Fig. 4) is perpendicular to the horizontal direction in which the spring mount 37 at least extends through the seed reservoir). Lush and Hardison are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush such that the inner housing includes a spring mount extending through the seed reservoir in a horizontal direction; a direction of motion of the outer housing between the first position and the second position is perpendicular to the horizontal direction in which the spring mount extends through the seed reservoir in view of Hardison. The motivation would have been to use a simple wire that can be manufactured at low cost (without machining a through hole) and easily replaced in case of damage, as the spring mount.
In regard to claim 17, Lush as modified by Rich et al., Cote, and Hardison discloses the bird feeder of claim 16, wherein outer housing includes a reservoir cover supported on the outer base (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the reservoir cover 30 is supported on the outer base 56), the elastic return assembly includes a tension spring arranged below a floor of the seed reservoir and attached between the seed reservoir and the outer base (Lush, Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0038], where there is a tension spring 118 operatively connected to the inner housing 14 at least below a floor and attached to the outer housing 12), the tension spring biasing the outer housing in an upward direction and into the first position relative to the inner housing (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the tension spring 118 biases the outer housing 12 into the first position relative to the inner housing 14), wherein the application of a predetermined force on the outer housing biases the outer housing into the second position against an elastic return force of the tension spring (Lush, Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0038], where the application of a predetermined force on the outer housing 12 is biases the outer housing 12 into the second position against an elastic return force of the tension spring 118 (also see Fig. 7)).
In regard to claim 18, Lush as modified by Rich et al., Cote, and Hardison discloses the bird feeder of claim 17, wherein the tension spring is arranged between the spring mount and a side of the outer base opposing the seed reservoir (Lush, Figs. 1-7, where the second end of the tension spring 118 is attached to the mount under 110 and the first end of the tension spring 118 is attached to a side of the outer base 56 at least opposing the seed reservoir).
In regard to claim 19, Lush as modified by Rich et al., Cote, and Hardison discloses the bird feeder of claim 17, wherein the inner base and the outer base comprise complementary guides for maintaining an alignment between the outer housing and the inner housing between the first and second positions (Rich et al., Figs. 4-7, where the inner base 30 and the outer base 32 comprise complementary guides 104 and 30c for maintaining an alignment between the outer housing and the inner housing between the first and second positions).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lush (U.S. Pub. 20100288200) in view of Rich et al. (U.S. Pat. 7540260), Cote (U.S. Pat. 6253707), and Hardison (U.S. Pub. 20030033985) as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Coroneos (U.S. Pub. 20050263083).
In regard to claim 20, Lush as modified by Rich et al., Cote, and Hardison discloses the bird feeder of claim 16. Lush as modified by Rich et al., Cote, and Hardison does not disclose the outer housing further includes a support guide including at least bearing surface engaged with a surface of the inner housing for maintaining alignment of the outer housing relative to the inner housing as the outer housing moves between the first and second positions. Coroneos discloses the outer housing further includes a support guide including at least bearing surface engaged with a surface of the inner housing for maintaining alignment of the outer housing relative to the inner housing as the outer housing moves between the first and second positions (Figs. 36-39, where the outer housing 440 further includes a support guide 1020 including at least one roller bearing surface 1035 engaged with a surface of the inner housing 500 for maintaining alignment of the outer housing 440 relative to the inner housing 500 as the outer housing 440 moves between the first and second positions). Lush and Coroneos are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include feeding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Lush as modified by Rich et al., Cote, and Hardison such that the outer housing further includes a support guide including at least bearing surface engaged with a surface of the inner housing for maintaining alignment of the outer housing relative to the inner housing as the outer housing moves between the first and second positions in view of Coroneos. The motivation would have been to ensure alignment between the inner housing and the outer housing and ensure a smooth transition between the first and second positions, in order to prevent snagging of the outer housing on the inner housing during movement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (filed 01/23/2026) with respect to claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-14, and 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited, for the full list of prior art made of record. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of feeding devices.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647