DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (DE 10 2006 033240) in view of Hellerman Tyton GMBH (DE 20 2007 013 238) (machine translation attached) and further in view of Shirai (WO 2015/015857) (machine translation attached).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lucas discloses a brake caliper for a disk brake (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) comprising: a supporting structure (2) having a bridge (3) and at least one bridge finger (4), wherein the at least one bridge finger has a brake lining side (see FIGS. 1-3; side of fingers opposite faceplate (8)), an outer side (see FIGS. 1-3; side of fingers facing faceplate (8)) and a bore (6), wherein the bore is introduced into the outer side and has a bore axis and a bore wall (see FIGS. 1-3, 11, 12), a faceplate (8) having a peg (9), which projects into the bore and has a non-threaded peg circumferential surface (see FIGS. 6, 7), a sleeve (7), which has a sleeve body (16) and is arranged between the bore wall and the peg circumferential surface (see FIG. 13), wherein the sleeve has a spring arm (13), which is bent outwardly in the radial direction away from the sleeve body (see FIG. 11).
Lucas does not disclose a profiling recessed into the bore wall, wherein profiling is designed in such a way that the outwardly bent spring arm can latch into the profiling at various points of the profiling in an axial direction of the bore axis.
Hellerman Tyton teaches a fastening device (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) comprising a sleeve (1) and a bore having a profiling recessed into the bore wall (see ¶ 0036, “a bore with internal thread), wherein profiling is designed in such a way that an outwardly bent spring arm (15) can latch into the profiling at various points of the profiling in an axial direction of the bore axis (see ¶ 0036, “a surface into which the locking elements 15 can engage [with] . . . an internal thread”), and a peg which projects into the bore and is either threaded or non-threaded (see ¶ 0008, “a threaded bolt or a smooth bolt”).
It would have been obvious to combine the threaded profile of the bore with the bore of Lucas to provide means for positively locking the sleeve within the bore, thereby increasing the retaining force of the sleeve in the bore.
Lucas does not disclose that the peg comprises at least one circumferential groove spaced from an end of the peg wherein the sleeve is fixed axially on the peg in a positive-locking manner by the at least one circumferential groove.
Shirai teaches a fastening device (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising a sleeve (20), an a peg (10) comprising at least one circumferential groove (11) (see FIGS. 1(a), 1(b)) spaced from an end of the peg (see FIG. 3) wherein the sleeve is fixed axially on the peg in a positive-locking manner by the at least one circumferential groove (see FIGS. 3(b), 3(d)).
It would have been obvious to combine the circumferential groove of Shirai with the peg of Lucas to provide a locking recess that positively engages with the sleeve, thereby increasing the retaining force between the peg and the sleeve.
Regarding claim 2, Lucas discloses that the sleeve has a sleeve longitudinal axis (see FIGS. 8, 9), wherein, in a no-load state, a bending angle of the outwardly bent spring arm relative to the sleeve longitudinal axis is less than 90° (see machine translation, ¶ 0030), and wherein the bending angle of the outwardly bent spring arm decreases when the sleeve is inserted into the bore (see FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Hellerman Tyton teaches that in an engaged state, there is a positive connection between the sleeve and the profiling (see ¶ 0036), at least counter to the insertion direction of the peg and of the sleeve into the bore (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Lucas discloses that the faceplate has a visible side and a contact side (see FIGS. 1-3), wherein the peg is arranged on the contact side (see FIGS. 1-4) and the faceplate is resting with its contact side against the outer side of the bridge finger (see FIGS. 1-4). Hellerman Tyton teaches that the profiling is arranged such that its longitudinal extent, in the axial direction of the bore axis, is that the outwardly bent spring arm is latched in the profiling (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 5, Hellerman Tyton teaches that the profiling comprises an internal thread (see machine translation, ¶ 0036) and wherein a thread flight or thread flights of the internal thread provide the various locations at which the outwardly bent spring arm can latch in (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 6, Shirai discloses that there is a frictional and/or a positive connection between the peg and the sleeve (see FIGS. 3b, 3d).
Regarding claim 8, Lucas discloses that the sleeve comprises a spring arm (14) bent radially inwardly away from the sleeve body (see FIGS. 8-10), wherein, in a no-load state, a bending angle of the inwardly bent spring arm relative to a sleeve longitudinal axis is less than 90° (see machine translation, ¶ 0030). Shirai teaches that the inwardly bent spring arm engages in the circumferential groove (see FIGS. 3b, 3d).
Regarding claim 10, Shirai teaches that the sleeve is fixed axially on the peg by fitting the sleeve body into the circumferential groove (see FIGS. 3b, 3d).
Regarding claim 11, Lucas discloses that the bending angle of the outwardly bent spring arm relative to the sleeve longitudinal axis is less than 60° (see machine translation, ¶ 0030).
Regarding claim 12, Hellerman Tyton teaches that in an engaged state, there is a positive connection between the sleeve and the profiling (see ¶ 0036), at least counter to the insertion direction of the peg and of the sleeve into the bore (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 13, Lucas discloses that the bending angle of the outwardly bent spring arm relative to the sleeve longitudinal axis is less than 60° (see machine translation, ¶ 0030).
Regarding claim 14, Lucas discloses that the faceplate has a visible side and a contact side (see FIGS. 1-3), wherein the peg is arranged on the contact side (see FIGS. 1-4) and the faceplate is resting with its contact side against the outer side of the bridge finger (see FIGS. 1-4). Hellerman Tyton teaches that the profiling is arranged such that its longitudinal extent, in the axial direction of the bore axis, is that the outwardly bent spring arm is latched in the profiling (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 15, Hellerman Tyton teaches that the profiling comprises an internal thread (see machine translation, ¶ 0036) and wherein a thread flight or thread flights of the internal thread provide the various locations at which the outwardly bent spring arm can latch in (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 16, Shirai discloses that there is a frictional and/or a positive connection between the peg and the sleeve (see FIGS. 3b, 3d).
Regarding claim 19, Lucas discloses a brake caliper for a disk brake (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) comprising: a supporting structure (2) having a bridge (3) and at least one bridge finger (4), wherein the at least one bridge finger has a brake lining side (see FIGS. 1-3; side of fingers opposite faceplate (8)), an outer side (see FIGS. 1-3; side of fingers facing faceplate (8)) and a bore (6), wherein the bore is introduced into the outer side and has a bore axis and a bore wall (see FIGS. 1-3, 11, 12), a faceplate (8) having a peg (9), which projects into the bore and has a non-threaded peg circumferential surface (see FIGS. 6, 7), a sleeve (7), which has a sleeve body (16) and is arranged between the bore wall and the peg circumferential surface (see FIG. 13), wherein the sleeve has a spring arm (13), which is bent outwardly in the radial direction away from the sleeve body (see FIG. 11).
Lucas does not disclose a profiling recessed into the bore wall, wherein profiling is designed in such a way that the outwardly bent spring arm can latch into the profiling at various points of the profiling in an axial direction of the bore axis.
Hellerman Tyton teaches a fastening device (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) comprising a sleeve (1) and a bore having a profiling recessed into the bore wall (see ¶ 0036, “a bore with internal thread), wherein profiling is designed in such a way that an outwardly bent spring arm (15) can latch into the profiling at various points of the profiling in an axial direction of the bore axis (see ¶ 0036, “a surface into which the locking elements 15 can engage [with] . . . an internal thread”), and a peg which projects into the bore and is either threaded or non-threaded (see ¶ 0008, “a threaded bolt or a smooth bolt”).
It would have been obvious to combine the threaded profile of the bore with the bore of Lucas to provide means for positively locking the sleeve within the bore, thereby increasing the retaining force of the sleeve in the bore.
Lucas does not disclose that the peg comprises at least one continuous circumferential groove spaced from an end of the peg wherein the sleeve is fixed axially on the peg in a positive-locking manner by direct engagement of the sleeve with the at least one circumferential groove, such that the groove provides axial retention without rotational or threaded engagement.
Shirai teaches a fastening device (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising a sleeve (20), an a peg (10) comprising at least one continuous circumferential groove (11) (see FIGS. 1(a), 1(b)) spaced from an end of the peg (see FIG. 3) wherein the sleeve is fixed axially on the peg in a positive-locking manner by direct engagement of the sleeve with the at least one circumferential groove (see FIGS. 3(b), 3(d)), such that the groove provides axial retention without rotational or threaded engagement (see FIGS. 3(b), 3(d)).
It would have been obvious to combine the circumferential groove of Shirai with the peg of Lucas to provide a locking recess that positively engages with the sleeve, thereby increasing the retaining force between the peg and the sleeve.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
June 5, 2026