DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 04/03/2026, which have been entered. In the current amendments, claims 1, 10, 11, 18, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer”
“determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value”
“in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network, the halting scores representing a probability that processing of a corresponding token will be discontinued after the first layer (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can compute halting scores corresponding to probabilities of processing being discontinued for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network); determining that a first halting score of the set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can determine if a first halting score exceeds a threshold value); and if the first halting score exceeds the threshold value, executing subsequent layers of the transformer neural network to generate an output without processing a first token associated with the first halting score (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can generate an output from processing subsequent layers with processing the first token associated with the first halting score that exceeds the threshold value).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitations:
“a computer”
“a transformer neural network”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 2 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores computed for a second set of tokens”
“modifying at least one layer included in the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of training the transformer neural network”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores computed for a second set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use a second set of halting scores for a second set of tokens to compute one or losses); and modifying a layer of the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of neural network training (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use the one or more losses to modify layers of the transformer neural network).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 1 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 3,
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 3 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and layers of the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use the second set of halting scores and layers of the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens to compute a ponder loss).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 2 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 4,
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 4 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network”
“computing a distributional loss based on a divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution across a series of layers of the transformer neural network (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can aggregate the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores); and computing a distributional loss based on a divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use a divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution to compute a distributional loss).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 2 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 5 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on the second set of tokens”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a task loss associated with a prediction from a task network based on the second set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use a prediction from a task network based on the second set of tokens to compute a task loss).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 2 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 6 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein modifying the at least one layer of the transformer neural network comprises updating parameters associated with the first layer and the one or more layers based on a weighted combination of the one or more losses”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass updating parameters of the layers based on a weighted combination of the one or more losses (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use a weighted combination of the one or more losses to update parameters associated with layers of the neural network).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 2 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 7 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the first set of halting scores comprises applying a nonlinear function to a dimension of a token”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing the first set of halting scores by applying a nonlinear function to a dimension of a token(corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can apply a nonlinear function to a dimension of a token to compute the first set of halting scores).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 1 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 8 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the first set of halting scores comprises shifting and scaling the dimension prior to applying the nonlinear function”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing the first set of halting scores by shifting and scaling the dimension of a token before applying a nonlinear function to the dimension (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can shift and scale the dimension prior to applying the nonlinear function to compute the first set of halting scores).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 7 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 9 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises aggregating a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f))). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing the first set of halting scores by aggregating a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer preceding the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can aggregate a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer preceding the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer to compute the first set of halting scores).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 1 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 10 is directed to a method, which is directed to a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein executing the one or more layers without processing the first token comprises removing the first token from the first set of tokens prior to inputting the first set of tokens into the one or more layers that are subsequent to the first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass removing the first token from the first set of tokens prior to inputting the first set of tokens into subsequent layers (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can remove the first token from the first set of tokens).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 1 of a generic computer and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 11 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer”
“determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value”
“in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network, the halting scores representing a probability that processing of a corresponding token will be discontinued after the first layer (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can compute halting scores corresponding to probabilities of processing being discontinued for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network); determining that a first halting score of the set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can determine if a first halting score exceeds a threshold value); and if the first halting score exceeds the threshold value, executing subsequent layers of the transformer neural network to generate an output without processing a first token associated with the first halting score (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can generate an output from processing subsequent layers with processing the first token associated with the first halting score that exceeds the threshold value).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitations:
“one or more processors”
“a transformer neural network”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 12 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores for a second set of tokens”
“modifying at least one layer included in the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of training the transformer neural network”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores computed for a second set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use a second set of halting scores for a second set of tokens to compute one or losses); and modifying a layer of the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of neural network training (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use the one or more losses to modify layers of the transformer neural network).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitation:
“the one or more processors”
As drafted, is an additional element that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). In addition, the recitation of additional elements in claim 11 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 13 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and layers of the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use the second set of halting scores and layers of the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens to compute a ponder loss).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 12 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 14 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network”
“computing a distributional loss based on a Kullback-Leibler divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution across a series of layers of the transformer neural network (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can aggregate the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores); and computing a distributional loss based on a Kullback-Leibler divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution (corresponds to mathematical calculations).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 12 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 15 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on a weighted sum of values of a class token included in the second set of tokens”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a task loss associated with a prediction from a task network based on a weighted sum of values of a class token included in the second set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can use a prediction from a task network based on a weighted sum of values of a class token included in the second set of tokens to compute a task loss).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 12 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 16 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises applying a sigmoid function to a combination of a dimension of a token, a shifting parameter, and a scaling parameter”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing the first set of halting scores by applying a sigmoid function to a combination of a dimension of a token, a shifting parameter, and a scaling parameter (corresponds to mathematical calculations).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 11 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 17 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises summing a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing the first set of halting scores by summing a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer preceding the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer (corresponds to mathematical calculations).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 11 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 18 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein executing the one or more layers without processing the first token comprises removing the first token from the first set of tokens prior to inputting the first set of tokens into the one or more layers that are subsequent to the first layer”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass removing the first token from the first set of tokens prior to inputting the first set of tokens into subsequent layers (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can remove the first token from the first set of tokens).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The recitation of additional elements in claim 11 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 19 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable media, which is directed to an article of manufacture, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“converting a set of patches included in an input image into the first set of tokens”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass converting a set of patches from an image into the first set of tokens (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can convert a set of patches into the first set of tokens).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitation:
“the one or more processors”
As drafted, is an additional element that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). In addition, the recitation of additional elements in claim 11 of generic processors and neural network, as drafted, are reciting mere instructions to apply language such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exceptions. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic processors and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 20 is directed to a system, which is directed to a machine, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“compute a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer”
“determine that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value”
“in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, execute one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply language (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network, the halting scores representing a probability that processing of a corresponding token will be discontinued after the first layer (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can compute halting scores corresponding to probabilities of processing being discontinued for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network); determining that a first halting score of the set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can determine if a first halting score exceeds a threshold value); and if the first halting score exceeds the threshold value, executing subsequent layers of the transformer neural network to generate an output without processing a first token associated with the first halting score (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can generate an output from processing subsequent layers with processing the first token associated with the first halting score that exceeds the threshold value).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements that are mere instructions to apply (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The limitations:
“one or more memories that store instructions”
“one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories”
“a transformer neural network”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe generic memories, processors, and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-12, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayyaz et al. (US 2023/0153379 A1) in view of Elbayad et al. ("Depth-Adaptive Transformer").
Regarding Claim 1,
Fayyaz et al. teaches a computer-implemented method for executing a transformer neural network ([0098]: "According to another illustrative aspect, another method (e.g., the processes 802 and 902) is described for processing a data item (e.g., the image 116) using a transformer neural network" teaches a method for using a transformer neural network to process a data item (execute a transformer neural network)), the method comprising:
in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score (Fig. 9; Fig. 10; [0071]: "FIGS. 9 and 10 together show a process 902 that explains one manner of operation of the transformer neural network 106 of FIG. 1. In block 904, the transformer neural network 106 receives embedding vectors 110 that represent a plurality of item tokens (e.g., image tokens 114) generated based on a data item (e.g., the image 116), and the classification token 118. In blocks 906, 908, and 1002, the transformer neural network 106 performs an attention operation. The attention operation includes, in block 906, generating original attention information 212 based on the embedding vectors 110, the original attention information 212 having a plurality of attention values, each attention value describing an importance that a particular token plays in an interpretation of another particular token. In block 908, the transformer neural network 106 generates score information 216 based on attention values in the original attention information 212 that pertain to the classification token 118. In block 1002, the transformer neural network 106 generates modified attention information 218 by removing attention values from the original attention information 212 based on the score information 216. In block 804, the transformer neural network 106 performs subsequent operations based on the modified attention information 218. The subsequent operations perform fewer operations by using the modified attention information 218 rather than the original attention information 212" teaches that based on score information (e.g. halting score) for a token (e.g. the score exceeding a threshold), attention information for the token is removed from processing subsequent operations for the transformer neural network (from use in subsequent layers) (i.e. subsequent layer processing operations for the transformer neural network do not process tokens that have had their information removed based on their corresponding score information)).
Fayyaz et al. does not appear to explicitly teach computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer; and determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value.
However, Elbayad et al. teaches computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer (Eq. 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches a token-specific approach wherein the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) are computed for each token (including first halting scores for first set of tokens) for each block (layer) (i.e. first halting scores for first layer) to determine the probability of exiting and stopping (discontinuing) processing of a token after the block (layer). Section 1, fourth paragraph: "We encode the input sequence using a standard Transformer encoder to generate the output sequence with a varying amount of computation in the decoder network. Dynamic computation poses a challenge for self-attention because omitted layers in prior time-steps may be required in the future. We experiment with two approaches to address this and show that a simple approach works well (§2). Next, we investigate different mechanisms to control the amount of computation in the decoder network, either for the entire sequence or on a per-token basis" teaches that the input sequence input (encoded as tokens) to the transformer (input to first layer of transformer neural network) controls the amount of computation on a per-token basis (e.g. halting probability is computed for each token input to the transformer)); and
determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (Eq. 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) for the tokens are compared to a threshold to see if they exceed the threshold).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer; and determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 2,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
In addition, Elbayad et al. further teaches further comprising: computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores computed for a second set of tokens (Eq. 6; Eq. 7; Section 3, second paragraph: " We model the distribution of exiting at time-step t with a parametric distribution qt where qt(n) is the probability of computing block1, . . . , blockn and then emitting a prediction with Cn. The parameters of qt are optimized to match an oracle distribution
q
t
*
with cross-entropy:
The exit loss (Lexit) is back-propagated to the encoder-decoder parameters. We simultaneously optimize the decoding loss (Eq. (4)) and the exit loss (Eq. (6)) balanced by a hyper-parameter α to ensure that the model maintains good generation accuracy. The final loss takes the form:
" teaches computing losses based on a parametric distribution qt. Eq. 12; Eq. 13; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the parametric distribution qt is based on halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) are computed for the tokens (including second halting scores for second set of tokens)); and
modifying at least one layer included in the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of training the transformer neural network (Eq. 4; Fig. 10; Algorithm 1; Appendix A, second paragraph: "Adding intermediate supervision at different levels of the decoder results in richer gradients for lower blocks compared to upper blocks. This is because earlier layers affect more loss terms in the compound loss of Eq. (4). To balance the gradients of each block in the decoder, we scale up the gradients of each loss term (− LLn) when it is updating the parameters of its associated block (blockn with parameters θn) and revert it back to its normal scale before back-propagating it to the previous blocks. Figure 10 and Algorithm 1 illustrate this gradient scaling procedure. The θn are updated with γn-amplified gradients from the block’s supervision and (N−n) gradients from the subsequent blocks" teaches updating parameters θ for the blocks (layers) of the transformer based on gradients of each loss term of the compound loss (weighted combination of the one or more losses) and performing back-propagation (training) on the blocks (layers) of the transformer).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate further comprising: computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores computed for a second set of tokens; and modifying at least one layer included in the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of training the transformer neural network as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2.
In addition, Elbayad et al. further teaches wherein modifying the at least one layer of the transformer neural network comprises updating parameters associated with the first layer and the one or more layers based on a weighted combination of the one or more losses (Eq. 4; Fig. 10; Algorithm 1; Appendix A, second paragraph: "Adding intermediate supervision at different levels of the decoder results in richer gradients for lower blocks compared to upper blocks. This is because earlier layers affect more loss terms in the compound loss of Eq. (4). To balance the gradients of each block in the decoder, we scale up the gradients of each loss term (− LLn) when it is updating the parameters of its associated block (blockn with parameters θn) and revert it back to its normal scale before back-propagating it to the previous blocks. Figure 10 and Algorithm 1 illustrate this gradient scaling procedure. The θn are updated with γn-amplified gradients from the block’s supervision and (N−n) gradients from the subsequent blocks" teaches updating parameters θ for the blocks (layers) of the transformer based on gradients of each loss term of the compound loss (weighted combination of the one or more losses) and performing back-propagation on the blocks (layers) of the transformer).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein modifying the at least one layer of the transformer neural network comprises updating parameters associated with the first layer and the one or more layers based on a weighted combination of the one or more losses as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 7,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
In addition, Elbayad et al. further teaches wherein computing the first set of halting scores comprises applying a nonlinear function to a dimension of a token (Equation 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) for the tokens are computed based on applying a sigmoid function (nonlinear function) to a dimension of the token).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the first set of halting scores comprises applying a nonlinear function to a dimension of a token as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 8,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7.
In addition, Elbayad et al. further teaches wherein computing the first set of halting scores comprises shifting and scaling the dimension prior to applying the nonlinear function (Equation 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) for the tokens are computed based on multiplying the dimension of the token by the weights (scaling) and adding the biases (shifting) prior to applying the sigmoid function (nonlinear function)).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the first set of halting scores comprises shifting and scaling the dimension prior to applying the nonlinear function as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 10,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
In addition, Fayyaz et al. further teaches wherein executing the one or more layers without processing the first token comprises removing the first token from the first set of tokens prior to inputting the first set of tokens into the one or more layers that are subsequent to the first layer (Fig. 9; Fig. 10; [0071]: "FIGS. 9 and 10 together show a process 902 that explains one manner of operation of the transformer neural network 106 of FIG. 1. In block 904, the transformer neural network 106 receives embedding vectors 110 that represent a plurality of item tokens (e.g., image tokens 114) generated based on a data item (e.g., the image 116), and the classification token 118. In blocks 906, 908, and 1002, the transformer neural network 106 performs an attention operation. The attention operation includes, in block 906, generating original attention information 212 based on the embedding vectors 110, the original attention information 212 having a plurality of attention values, each attention value describing an importance that a particular token plays in an interpretation of another particular token. In block 908, the transformer neural network 106 generates score information 216 based on attention values in the original attention information 212 that pertain to the classification token 118. In block 1002, the transformer neural network 106 generates modified attention information 218 by removing attention values from the original attention information 212 based on the score information 216. In block 804, the transformer neural network 106 performs subsequent operations based on the modified attention information 218. The subsequent operations perform fewer operations by using the modified attention information 218 rather than the original attention information 212" teaches that based on score information (e.g. halting score) for a token (e.g. the score exceeding a threshold), attention information for the token is removed (e.g. token is removed) from processing subsequent operations for the transformer neural network (from use in subsequent layers) (i.e. subsequent layer processing operations for the transformer neural network do not process tokens that have had their information removed (token removed from processing))).
Regarding Claim 11,
Fayyaz et al. teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors ([0098]: "According to another illustrative aspect, another method (e.g., the processes 802 and 902) is described for processing a data item (e.g., the image 116) using a transformer neural network" teaches a method for using a transformer neural network to process a data item (execute a transformer neural network). Fig. 12; [0101]: "In yet another aspect, some implementations of the technology described herein include a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., the computer-readable storage media 1206) for storing computer-readable instructions (e.g., 1208). The computer-readable instructions, when executed by one or more hardware processors (e.g., 1204), perform any of the methods described herein (e.g., methods of A1-A11 and B1-B2)" teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions for execution by one or more hardware processors to perform the method for executing a transformer neural network), cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:
in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score (Fig. 9; Fig. 10; [0071]: "FIGS. 9 and 10 together show a process 902 that explains one manner of operation of the transformer neural network 106 of FIG. 1. In block 904, the transformer neural network 106 receives embedding vectors 110 that represent a plurality of item tokens (e.g., image tokens 114) generated based on a data item (e.g., the image 116), and the classification token 118. In blocks 906, 908, and 1002, the transformer neural network 106 performs an attention operation. The attention operation includes, in block 906, generating original attention information 212 based on the embedding vectors 110, the original attention information 212 having a plurality of attention values, each attention value describing an importance that a particular token plays in an interpretation of another particular token. In block 908, the transformer neural network 106 generates score information 216 based on attention values in the original attention information 212 that pertain to the classification token 118. In block 1002, the transformer neural network 106 generates modified attention information 218 by removing attention values from the original attention information 212 based on the score information 216. In block 804, the transformer neural network 106 performs subsequent operations based on the modified attention information 218. The subsequent operations perform fewer operations by using the modified attention information 218 rather than the original attention information 212" teaches that based on score information (e.g. halting score) for a token (e.g. the score exceeding a threshold), attention information for the token is removed from processing subsequent operations for the transformer neural network (from use in subsequent layers) (i.e. subsequent layer processing operations for the transformer neural network do not process tokens that have had their information removed based on their corresponding score information)).
Fayyaz et al. does not appear to explicitly teach computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer; and determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value.
However, Elbayad et al. teaches computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer (Eq. 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) are computed for the tokens (including first halting scores for first set of tokens). Section 1, fourth paragraph: "We encode the input sequence using a standard Transformer encoder to generate the output sequence with a varying amount of computation in the decoder network. Dynamic computation poses a challenge for self-attention because omitted layers in prior time-steps may be required in the future. We experiment with two approaches to address this and show that a simple approach works well (§2). Next, we investigate different mechanisms to control the amount of computation in the decoder network, either for the entire sequence or on a per-token basis" teaches that the input sequence input (encoded as tokens) to the transformer (input to first layer of transformer neural network) controls the amount of computation on a per-token basis (e.g. halting probability is computed for each token input to the transformer)); and
determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (Eq. 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) for the tokens are compared to a threshold to see if they exceed the threshold).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer; and determining that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 12,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11.
In addition, Elbayad et al. further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of: computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores for a second set of tokens (Eq. 6; Eq. 7; Section 3, second paragraph: "We model the distribution of exiting at time-step t with a parametric distribution qt where qt(n) is the probability of computing block1, . . . , blockn and then emitting a prediction with Cn. The parameters of qt are optimized to match an oracle distribution
q
t
*
with cross-entropy:
The exit loss (Lexit) is back-propagated to the encoder-decoder parameters. We simultaneously optimize the decoding loss (Eq. (4)) and the exit loss (Eq. (6)) balanced by a hyper-parameter α to ensure that the model maintains good generation accuracy. The final loss takes the form:
" teaches computing losses based on a parametric distribution qt. Eq. 12; Eq. 13; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the parametric distribution qt is based on halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) are computed for the tokens (including second halting scores for second set of tokens)); and
modifying at least one layer included in the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of training the transformer neural network (Eq. 4; Fig. 10; Algorithm 1; Appendix A, second paragraph: "Adding intermediate supervision at different levels of the decoder results in richer gradients for lower blocks compared to upper blocks. This is because earlier layers affect more loss terms in the compound loss of Eq. (4). To balance the gradients of each block in the decoder, we scale up the gradients of each loss term (− LLn) when it is updating the parameters of its associated block (blockn with parameters θn) and revert it back to its normal scale before back-propagating it to the previous blocks. Figure 10 and Algorithm 1 illustrate this gradient scaling procedure. The θn are updated with γn-amplified gradients from the block’s supervision and (N−n) gradients from the subsequent blocks" teaches updating parameters θ for the blocks (layers) of the transformer based on gradients of each loss term of the compound loss (weighted combination of the one or more losses) and performing back-propagation (training) on the blocks (layers) of the transformer).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of: computing one or more losses based on a second set of halting scores for a second set of tokens; and modifying at least one layer included in the transformer neural network based on the one or more losses as part of training the transformer neural network as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11.
In addition, Elbayad et al. further teaches wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises applying a sigmoid function to a combination of a dimension of a token, a shifting parameter, and a scaling parameter (Equation 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) for the tokens are computed based on multiplying the dimension of the token by the weights (scaling parameter) and adding the biases (shifting parameter) and applying the sigmoid function).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises applying a sigmoid function to a combination of a dimension of a token, a shifting parameter, and a scaling parameter as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 18,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11.
In addition, Fayyaz et al. further teaches wherein executing the one or more layers without processing the first token comprises removing the first token from the first set of tokens prior to inputting the first set of tokens into the one or more layers that are subsequent to the first layer (Fig. 9; Fig. 10; [0071]: "FIGS. 9 and 10 together show a process 902 that explains one manner of operation of the transformer neural network 106 of FIG. 1. In block 904, the transformer neural network 106 receives embedding vectors 110 that represent a plurality of item tokens (e.g., image tokens 114) generated based on a data item (e.g., the image 116), and the classification token 118. In blocks 906, 908, and 1002, the transformer neural network 106 performs an attention operation. The attention operation includes, in block 906, generating original attention information 212 based on the embedding vectors 110, the original attention information 212 having a plurality of attention values, each attention value describing an importance that a particular token plays in an interpretation of another particular token. In block 908, the transformer neural network 106 generates score information 216 based on attention values in the original attention information 212 that pertain to the classification token 118. In block 1002, the transformer neural network 106 generates modified attention information 218 by removing attention values from the original attention information 212 based on the score information 216. In block 804, the transformer neural network 106 performs subsequent operations based on the modified attention information 218. The subsequent operations perform fewer operations by using the modified attention information 218 rather than the original attention information 212" teaches that based on score information (e.g. halting score) for a token (e.g. the score exceeding a threshold), attention information for the token is removed (e.g. token is removed) from processing subsequent operations for the transformer neural network (from use in subsequent layers) (i.e. subsequent layer processing operations for the transformer neural network do not process tokens that have had their information removed (token removed from processing))).
Regarding Claim 20,
Fayyaz et al. teaches a system, comprising: one or more memories that store instructions, and one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories and, when executing the instructions ([0098]: "According to another illustrative aspect, another method (e.g., the processes 802 and 902) is described for processing a data item (e.g., the image 116) using a transformer neural network" teaches a method for using a transformer neural network to process a data item (execute a transformer neural network). Fig. 12; [0080]: "The computing system 1202 may perform any of the functions described above when the hardware processor(s) 1204 carry out computer-readable instructions stored in any instance of the computer-readable storage media 1206. For instance, the computing system 1202 may carry out computer-readable instructions to perform each block of the processes described in Section B" teaches a system comprising hardware processors (one or more processors) coupled to computer-readable storage media (one or more memories) storing executable instructions for performing the method for executing a transformer neural network. Fig. 12; [0079]: "The computing system 1202 can utilize any instance of the computer-readable storage media 1206 in different ways. For example, any instance of the computer-readable storage media 1206 may represent a hardware memory unit (such as Random Access Memory (RAM)) for storing transient information during execution of a program by the computing system 1202, and/or a hardware storage unit (such as a hard disk) for retaining/archiving information on a more permanent basis" teaches that the computer-readable storage media may represent hardware memory units), are configured to:
in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, execute one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score (Fig. 9; Fig. 10; [0071]: "FIGS. 9 and 10 together show a process 902 that explains one manner of operation of the transformer neural network 106 of FIG. 1. In block 904, the transformer neural network 106 receives embedding vectors 110 that represent a plurality of item tokens (e.g., image tokens 114) generated based on a data item (e.g., the image 116), and the classification token 118. In blocks 906, 908, and 1002, the transformer neural network 106 performs an attention operation. The attention operation includes, in block 906, generating original attention information 212 based on the embedding vectors 110, the original attention information 212 having a plurality of attention values, each attention value describing an importance that a particular token plays in an interpretation of another particular token. In block 908, the transformer neural network 106 generates score information 216 based on attention values in the original attention information 212 that pertain to the classification token 118. In block 1002, the transformer neural network 106 generates modified attention information 218 by removing attention values from the original attention information 212 based on the score information 216. In block 804, the transformer neural network 106 performs subsequent operations based on the modified attention information 218. The subsequent operations perform fewer operations by using the modified attention information 218 rather than the original attention information 212" teaches that based on score information (e.g. halting score) for a token (e.g. the score exceeding a threshold), attention information for the token is removed from processing subsequent operations for the transformer neural network (from use in subsequent layers) (i.e. subsequent layer processing operations for the transformer neural network do not process tokens that have had their information removed based on their corresponding score information)).
Fayyaz et al. does not appear to explicitly teach compute a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer; and determine that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value.
However, Elbayad et al. teaches compute a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer (Eq. 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches a token-specific approach wherein the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) are computed for each token (including first halting scores for first set of tokens) for each block (layer) (i.e. first halting scores for first layer) to determine the probability of exiting and stopping (discontinuing) processing of a token after the block (layer). Section 1, fourth paragraph: "We encode the input sequence using a standard Transformer encoder to generate the output sequence with a varying amount of computation in the decoder network. Dynamic computation poses a challenge for self-attention because omitted layers in prior time-steps may be required in the future. We experiment with two approaches to address this and show that a simple approach works well (§2). Next, we investigate different mechanisms to control the amount of computation in the decoder network, either for the entire sequence or on a per-token basis" teaches that the input sequence input (encoded as tokens) to the transformer (input to first layer of transformer neural network) controls the amount of computation on a per-token basis (e.g. halting probability is computed for each token input to the transformer)); and
determine that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (Eq. 12; Section 3.2, first - third paragraphs: "The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N" teaches that the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) for the tokens are compared to a threshold to see if they exceed the threshold).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate compute a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of a transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer; and determine that a first halting score included in the first set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value as taught by Elbayad et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to "adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time" (Elbayad et al. Section 1, second paragraph).
Claims 3, 9, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayyaz et al. (US 2023/0153379 A1) in view of Elbayad et al. ("Depth-Adaptive Transformer") and further in view of Graves et al. ("Adaptive Computation Time for Recurrent Neural Networks").
Regarding Claim 3,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens.
However, Graves et al. teaches wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens (Equation 11; Equation 12; Section 2.1: "If no constraints are placed on the number of updates R can take at each step it will naturally tend to ‘ponder’ each input for as long as possible (so as to avoid making predictions and incurring errors). We therefore require a way of limiting the amount of computation the network performs. Given a length T input sequence x, define the ponder sequence (ρ1, . . . , ρT ) of R as
Since R(t) ∈ (0, 1), P(x) is an upper bound on the (non-differentiable) property we ultimately want to reduce, namely the total computation
∑
t
=
1
T
N
(
t
)
during the sequence. We can encourage the network to minimize P(x) by modifying the sequence loss function L(x, y) used for training:
where τ is a time penalty parameter that weights the relative cost of computation versus error" teaches computing a ponder loss based on the halting probabilities (halting scores) and the associated layers at each step. Equations 5-8; Section 2, third paragraph: "To determine how many updates R performs at each input step an extra sigmoidal halting unit h is added to the network output, with associated weight matrix Wh and bias bh:
As with the output weights, some columns of Wh may be fixed to zero to give selective access to the network state. The activation of the halting unit is then used to determine the halting probability
p
t
n
of the intermediate steps:
and ε is a small constant (0.01 for the experiments in this paper), whose purpose is to allow computation to halt after a single update if
h
t
1
>= 1 − ε, as otherwise a minimum of two updates would be required for every input step. It follows directly from the definition that
∑
n
=
1
N
(
t
)
p
t
n
=
1
and 0 ≤
p
t
n
≤ 1 ∀n, so this is a valid probability distribution" teaches that the functions N(t) and R(t) used to compute the ponder loss are based on the halting probabilities (halting scores)).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
Graves et al. is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed to the use of halting scores for tokens for neural network efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens as taught by Graves et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to dynamically adapt the amount of computation it uses to the demands of the data" (Graves et al. Section 4, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises aggregating a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer.
However, Graves et al. teaches wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises aggregating a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer (Equations 5-8; Section 2, third paragraph: "To determine how many updates R performs at each input step an extra sigmoidal halting unit h is added to the network output, with associated weight matrix Wh and bias bh:
As with the output weights, some columns of Wh may be fixed to zero to give selective access to the network state. The activation of the halting unit is then used to determine the halting probability
p
t
n
of the intermediate steps:
and ε is a small constant (0.01 for the experiments in this paper), whose purpose is to allow computation to halt after a single update if
h
t
1
>= 1 − ε, as otherwise a minimum of two updates would be required for every input step. It follows directly from the definition that
∑
n
=
1
N
(
t
)
p
t
n
=
1
and 0 ≤
p
t
n
≤ 1 ∀n, so this is a valid probability distribution" teaches that the halting probabilities (halting scores) are computed based on aggregating previous (preceding layer) halting scores (second set of halting scores) with the current halting score (third set of halting scores)).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
Graves et al. is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed to the use of halting scores for tokens for neural network efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises aggregating a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer as taught by Graves et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to dynamically adapt the amount of computation it uses to the demands of the data" (Graves et al. Section 4, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 13,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 12.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens.
However, Graves et al. teaches wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens (Equation 11; Equation 12; Section 2.1: "If no constraints are placed on the number of updates R can take at each step it will naturally tend to ‘ponder’ each input for as long as possible (so as to avoid making predictions and incurring errors). We therefore require a way of limiting the amount of computation the network performs. Given a length T input sequence x, define the ponder sequence (ρ1, . . . , ρT ) of R as
Since R(t) ∈ (0, 1), P(x) is an upper bound on the (non-differentiable) property we ultimately want to reduce, namely the total computation
∑
t
=
1
T
N
(
t
)
during the sequence. We can encourage the network to minimize P(x) by modifying the sequence loss function L(x, y) used for training:
where τ is a time penalty parameter that weights the relative cost of computation versus error" teaches computing a ponder loss based on the halting probabilities (halting scores) and the associated layers at each step. Equations 5-8; Section 2, third paragraph: "To determine how many updates R performs at each input step an extra sigmoidal halting unit h is added to the network output, with associated weight matrix Wh and bias bh:
As with the output weights, some columns of Wh may be fixed to zero to give selective access to the network state. The activation of the halting unit is then used to determine the halting probability
p
t
n
of the intermediate steps:
and ε is a small constant (0.01 for the experiments in this paper), whose purpose is to allow computation to halt after a single update if
h
t
1
>= 1 − ε, as otherwise a minimum of two updates would be required for every input step. It follows directly from the definition that
∑
n
=
1
N
(
t
)
p
t
n
=
1
and 0 ≤
p
t
n
≤ 1 ∀n, so this is a valid probability distribution" teaches that the functions N(t) and R(t) used to compute the ponder loss are based on the halting probabilities (halting scores)).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
Graves et al. is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed to the use of halting scores for tokens for neural network efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a ponder loss based on the second set of halting scores and a set of layers included in the transformer neural network associated with halting the second set of tokens as taught by Graves et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to dynamically adapt the amount of computation it uses to the demands of the data" (Graves et al. Section 4, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 17,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises summing a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer.
However, Graves et al. teaches wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises summing a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer (Equations 5-8; Section 2, third paragraph: "To determine how many updates R performs at each input step an extra sigmoidal halting unit h is added to the network output, with associated weight matrix Wh and bias bh:
As with the output weights, some columns of Wh may be fixed to zero to give selective access to the network state. The activation of the halting unit is then used to determine the halting probability
p
t
n
of the intermediate steps:
and ε is a small constant (0.01 for the experiments in this paper), whose purpose is to allow computation to halt after a single update if
h
t
1
>= 1 − ε, as otherwise a minimum of two updates would be required for every input step. It follows directly from the definition that
∑
n
=
1
N
(
t
)
p
t
n
=
1
and 0 ≤
p
t
n
≤ 1 ∀n, so this is a valid probability distribution" teaches that the halting probabilities (halting scores) are computed based on aggregating previous (preceding layer) halting scores (second set of halting scores) with the current halting score (third set of halting scores)).
Fayyaz et al. and Elbayad et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
Graves et al. is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed to the use of halting scores for tokens for neural network efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the first set of halting scores for the first set of tokens comprises summing a second set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by a layer included in the transformer neural network that precedes the first layer and a third set of halting scores computed for the first set of tokens by the first layer as taught by Graves et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to dynamically adapt the amount of computation it uses to the demands of the data" (Graves et al. Section 4, first paragraph).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayyaz et al. (US 2023/0153379 A1) in view of Elbayad et al. ("Depth-Adaptive Transformer") and further in view of Banino et al. ("PonderNet: Learning to Ponder").
Regarding Claim 4,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network; and computing a distributional loss based on a divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution.
However, Banino et al. teaches wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network (Eq. 1; Eq. 2; Section 2.2: "The PonderNet architecture requires a step function s of the form ˆyn, hn+1, λn = s(x, hn), as well as an initial state h0. The output ˆyn and λn are respectively the network’s prediction and scalar probability of halting at step n. The step function s can be any neural network, such as MLPs, LSTMs, or encoder-decoder architectures such as transformers. We apply the step function recurrently up to N times.
The output ˆyn is a learned prediction conditioned on the dynamic number of steps n ∈ {1, . . . , N}. We rely on the value of λn to learn the optimal value of n. We define a Bernoulli random variable Λn in order to represent a Markov process for the halting with two states “continue” (Λn = 0) and “halt” (Λn = 1). The decision process starts from state “continue” (Λ0 = 0). We set the transition probability:
that is the conditional probability of entering state “halt” at step n conditioned that there has been no previous halting. Note that “halt” is a terminal state. We can then estimate the unconditioned probability that the halting happened in steps 0, 1, 2, ..., N where N is the maximum number of steps allowed before halting. We derive this probability distribution pn as a generalization of the geometric distribution:
which is a valid probability distribution" teaches aggregating the halting probabilities (halting scores) across each step N (each layer) for the transformer neural network into a distribution of halting probabilities (halting scores). Section D.2, first paragraph: "we set an upper bound N to the number of layers" teaches that N corresponds to the number of layers); and
computing a distributional loss based on a divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution (Eq. 3; Section 2.4: " The total loss is composed of reconstruction LRec and regularization LReg terms:
where L is a pre-defined loss for the prediction (usually mean squared error, or cross-entropy); and λp is a hyper-parameter that defines a geometric prior distribution pG(λp) on the halting policy (truncated at N). LRec is the expectation of the pre-defined reconstruction loss L across halting steps. LReg is the KL divergence between the distribution of halting probabilities pn and the prior (a geometric distribution truncated at N, parameterized by λp). This hyper-parameter defines a prior on how likely it is that the network will halt at each step. This regularization serves two purposes. First, it biases the network towards the expected prior number of steps 1/λp. Second, it provides an incentive to give a non-zero probability to all possible number of steps, thus promoting exploration" teaches computing a loss LReg (distributional loss) based on a KL divergence between the distribution of halting probabilities (halting scores) and a geometric prior distribution (target distribution)" teaches computing a loss LReg (distributional loss) based on a KL divergence between the distribution of halting probabilities (halting scores) and a geometric prior distribution (target distribution)).
Fayyaz et al., Elbayad et al., and Banino et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network; and computing a distributional loss based on a divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution as taught by Banino et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to achieve an effective compromise between training prediction accuracy, computational cost and generalization" (Banino et al. Abstract).
Regarding Claim 14,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 12.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network; and computing a distributional loss based on a Kullback-Leibler divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution.
However, Banino et al. teaches wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network (Eq. 1; Eq. 2; Section 2.2: "The PonderNet architecture requires a step function s of the form ˆyn, hn+1, λn = s(x, hn), as well as an initial state h0. The output ˆyn and λn are respectively the network’s prediction and scalar probability of halting at step n. The step function s can be any neural network, such as MLPs, LSTMs, or encoder-decoder architectures such as transformers. We apply the step function recurrently up to N times.
The output ˆyn is a learned prediction conditioned on the dynamic number of steps n ∈ {1, . . . , N}. We rely on the value of λn to learn the optimal value of n. We define a Bernoulli random variable Λn in order to represent a Markov process for the halting with two states “continue” (Λn = 0) and “halt” (Λn = 1). The decision process starts from state “continue” (Λ0 = 0). We set the transition probability:
that is the conditional probability of entering state “halt” at step n conditioned that there has been no previous halting. Note that “halt” is a terminal state. We can then estimate the unconditioned probability that the halting happened in steps 0, 1, 2, ..., N where N is the maximum number of steps allowed before halting. We derive this probability distribution pn as a generalization of the geometric distribution:
which is a valid probability distribution" teaches aggregating the halting probabilities (halting scores) across each step N (each layer) for the transformer neural network into a distribution of halting probabilities (halting scores). Section D.2, first paragraph: "we set an upper bound N to the number of layers" teaches that N corresponds to the number of layers); and
computing a distributional loss based on a Kullback-Leibler divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution (Eq. 3; Section 2.4: "The total loss is composed of reconstruction LRec and regularization LReg terms:
where L is a pre-defined loss for the prediction (usually mean squared error, or cross-entropy); and λp is a hyper-parameter that defines a geometric prior distribution pG(λp) on the halting policy (truncated at N). LRec is the expectation of the pre-defined reconstruction loss L across halting steps. LReg is the KL divergence between the distribution of halting probabilities pn and the prior (a geometric distribution truncated at N, parameterized by λp). This hyper-parameter defines a prior on how likely it is that the network will halt at each step. This regularization serves two purposes. First, it biases the network towards the expected prior number of steps 1/λp. Second, it provides an incentive to give a non-zero probability to all possible number of steps, thus promoting exploration" teaches computing a loss LReg (distributional loss) based on a KL divergence between the distribution of halting probabilities (halting scores) and a geometric prior distribution (target distribution)).
Fayyaz et al., Elbayad et al., and Banino et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the one or more losses comprises: aggregating the second set of halting scores into a distribution of halting scores across a series of layers included in the transformer neural network; and computing a distributional loss based on a Kullback-Leibler divergence of the distribution of halting scores from a target distribution as taught by Banino et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to achieve an effective compromise between training prediction accuracy, computational cost and generalization" (Banino et al. Abstract).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayyaz et al. (US 2023/0153379 A1) in view of Elbayad et al. ("Depth-Adaptive Transformer") and further in view of Jiang et al. ("All Tokens Matter: Token Labeling for Training Better Vision Transformers").
Regarding Claim 5,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on the second set of tokens.
However, Jiang et al. teaches wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on the second set of tokens (Eq. 1; Section 3.1, second paragraph: "In loss computing, the class token from the output tokens of the last transformer block is usually selected and sent into a linear layer for the classification score prediction. Mathematically, given an image I, denote the output of the last transformer block as [Xcls, X1, ..., XN], where N is the total number of patch tokens, and Xcls and X1, ..., XN correspond to the class token and the patch tokens, respectively. The classification loss for image I can be written as
where H(·, ·) is the SoftMax cross-entropy loss and ycls is the class label" teaches computing a classification loss (task loss) associated with a classification score prediction in a linear layer (task network) based on a SoftMax cross entropy loss (weighted sum) using values of class tokens).
Fayyaz et al., Elbayad et al., and Jiang et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on the second set of tokens as taught by Jiang et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to improve the object grounding and recognition capabilities of vision transformers with negligible computation overhead" (Jiang et al. Section 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 12.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on a weighted sum of values of a class token included in the second set of tokens.
However, Jiang et al. teaches wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on a weighted sum of values of a class token included in the second set of tokens (Eq. 1; Section 3.1, second paragraph: "In loss computing, the class token from the output tokens of the last transformer block is usually selected and sent into a linear layer for the classification score prediction. Mathematically, given an image I, denote the output of the last transformer block as [Xcls, X1, ..., XN], where N is the total number of patch tokens, and Xcls and X1, ..., XN correspond to the class token and the patch tokens, respectively. The classification loss for image I can be written as
where H(·, ·) is the SoftMax cross-entropy loss and ycls is the class label" teaches computing a classification loss (task loss) associated with a classification score prediction in a linear layer (task network) based on a SoftMax cross entropy loss (weighted sum) using values of class tokens).
Fayyaz et al., Elbayad et al., and Jiang et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein computing the one or more losses comprises computing a task loss associated with a prediction generated by a task network based on a weighted sum of values of a class token included in the second set of tokens as taught by Jiang et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "to improve the object grounding and recognition capabilities of vision transformers with negligible computation overhead" (Jiang et al. Section 1, third paragraph).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayyaz et al. (US 2023/0153379 A1) in view of Elbayad et al. ("Depth-Adaptive Transformer") and further in view of Touvron et al. ("Training data-efficient image transformers & distillation through attention").
Regarding Claim 19,
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11.
Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al. does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the step of converting a set of patches included in an input image into the first set of tokens.
However, Touvron et al. teaches wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the step of converting a set of patches included in an input image into the first set of tokens (Section 3, sixth-seventh paragraphs: "In order to get a transformer to process images, our work builds upon the ViT model [15]. It is a simple and elegant architecture that processes input images as if they were a sequence of input tokens. The fixed-size input RGB image is decomposed into a batch of N patches of a fixed size of 16 × 16 pixels (N = 14 × 14). Each patch is projected with a linear layer that conserves its overall dimension 3 × 16 × 16 = 768. The transformer block described above is invariant to the order of the patch embeddings, and thus does not consider their relative position. The positional information is incorporated as fixed [52] or trainable [18] positional embeddings. They are added before the first transformer block to the patch tokens, which are then fed to the stack of transformer blocks" teaches converting patches of an input image into a first set of tokens).
Fayyaz et al., Elbayad et al., and Touvron et al. are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed to efficient implementation of transformer neural networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform the step of converting a set of patches included in an input image into the first set of tokens as taught by Touvron et al. to the disclosed invention of Fayyaz et al. in view of Elbayad et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification "In order to get a transformer to process images" that "is invariant to the order of the patch embeddings" (Touvron et al. Section 3, sixth-seventh paragraphs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/03/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 abstract idea rejections to he claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts “The Examiner rejected claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant traverses the rejections with respect to the amended claims.
In the Response to Office Action filed October 28, 2025, Applicant presented arguments outlining why the prior claims are subject-matter eligible based on the two- step Alice test. Applicant submits that those arguments still apply with full force and effect to the amended claims.
In addition, the Examiner asserts in the Office Action that (1) under step 2A, prong one, the claimed steps, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) and mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations); and (2) under step 2A, prong two, the claims do not include additional elements that integrate an abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements are directed to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception. See Office Action at 3-29. Applicant disagrees.
Consistent with the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office ("2019 Guidance"), Applicant submits that the amended claims are not abstract. See Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) § 2106() (9th Ed., Rev. 10.2019, Last Revised Jun. 2020).
First, under step 2A, the amended claims do not recite mental processes. Claim limitations that encompass artificial intelligence (AI) in a way that cannot be practically performed in the human mind do not fall within the mental processes grouping. See Memorandum: Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35U.S.C. 101 at 2; see also MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I )(A). For example, as amended, the independent claims recite the limitations of (1) computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer, and (2) in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score. Each of independent claims 11 and 20 recites similar limitations. These recited limitations require computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, and executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens. The transformer neural network is an Al model having a particular architecture. Seehttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Types_of_artificial_neural_networks. Accordingly, these limitations quite clearly require the use of one or more computing devices because the execution of layers of the transformer neural network is necessarily computer-implemented. These limitations simply cannot be performed entirely in someone's mind or using pen/paper. Accordingly, the amended claims recite limitations that encompass Al in a way that cannot be practically performed in the human mind.
The amended claims also do not recite any mathematical relations, formulas, or calculations. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(l). Claims that are merely based on or involve a mathematical concept, but do not recite the mathematical concept, itself, do not fall into the mathematical concepts grouping. See Memorandum: Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 at 3 ("[e]xaminers should be careful to distinguish claims that recite an exception (which require further eligibility analysis) from claims that merely involve an exception (which are eligible and do not require further eligibility analysis)"); see also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Notably, the amended claims do not set forth or describe any mathematical relationships, calculations, formulas, or equations using words or mathematical symbols. For example, no equations are set forth or otherwise described in the amended claims. Further, the limitations of computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, which the Examiner asserts is a mathematical process, could encompass various techniques, each of which may involve or rely upon mathematical concepts, but the amended claims do not use words or mathematical symbols to set forth or describe any such specific mathematical concepts. See id.; see also Office Action at 3. Accordingly, the amended claims at best involve, but do not recite, any mathematical concepts. See Memorandum: Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 at 3 ("[e]xaminers should be careful to distinguish claims that recite an exception (which require further eligibility analysis) from claims that merely involve an exception (which are eligible and do not require further eligibility analysis)"); see also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
In addition, the amended claims do not recite any approaches or techniques for organizing human activities, such as fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, or personal behaviors or relationships or interactions between people. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II).
Because none of the limitations recited in the amended claims are directed towards any of the enumerated categories of abstract ideas, the amended claims cannot be properly interpreted as being abstract.
Second, under step 2A, prong two, the amended claims integrate any purported abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.04(d). In Ex Parte Desjardins, the Appeals Review Panel of the Patent Trial and Appeal Board explained that "[o]n the one hand, claims '[g]enerally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use' are not patent eligible.... On the other, claims directed to an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field are patent eligible." See Ex Parte Desjardins, Decision on Request for Rehearing at 7-8; see also Memorandum: Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 at 4-5 ("[i]n computer-related technologies, examiners can conclude that claims are eligible in Step 2A Prong Two by finding that a claim reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field, integrating a recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception"); MPEP § 2106.04(d). The Appeals Review Panel also found that improvements to how a machine learning model operates can integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. See Ex Parte Desjardins, Decision on Request for Rehearing at 8-9. Applicant submits that the amended claims, as a whole, improve machine learning technology, including how a machine learning model operates, and therefore integrate any purported abstract idea into a practical application.
Importantly, the claimed approach improves machine learning technology by reducing the number of tokens processed by a transformer neural network as inferencing operations proceed. See Application at paragraphs [0008], [0077]-[0079]. Accordingly, with the disclosed techniques, the transformer neural network can execute more quickly and efficiently than a conventional transformer neural network that processes all input tokens using all layers. See id. at [0008]. The improvements in execution speed and efficiency additionally enable transformer neural networks to be deployed on mobile phones, autonomous vehicles, or other edge devices with limited computational capabilities, memory, power, and/or network bandwidth. See id. Further, with the disclosed techniques, the transformer neural network can be trained in a way that balances the accuracy of the transformer neural network in performing a task with the efficiency with which the transformer neural network performs the task. See id.
This improvement to machine learning technology is effectuated by the specifically claimed steps of "computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer," and "in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score." Because the claimed limitations improve machine learning technology, the amended claims integrate any purported abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, the amended claims do not merely include instructions to implement mental processes and mathematical concepts on a computer, as the Examiner asserts. See Office Action at 3-4. Instead, the claimed limitations are specific to implementing the improvement to machine learning technology and go far beyond mere general instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See Memorandum: Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 at 4 ("[a]n important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology or a technical field is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome"). As previously discussed, the amended claims recite an improvement to machine learning technology, which is described in the Application and reflected in the amended claims, indicating that the amended claim are integrated into a practical application. See Ex Parte Desjardins at 7-9; MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1).
Because the claims do not recite an abstract idea, and because the claims recite limitations that integrate any purported abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are subject-matter eligible under Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the § 101 rejections of the claims be withdrawn.” (Remarks Pages 8-12).
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has made general assertions that claim 1 recites claim elements that are not directed to an abstract idea and that even if the claim elements are directed to an abstract idea, the judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application because the claims recite elements that cannot reasonably be characterized as covering mental processes or reflect an improvement to a technology or technical field. Regarding the “computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer” limitation of claim 1, this limitation, under it broadest reasonable interpretation, is considered an abstract idea encompassing computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network, the halting scores representing a probability that processing of a corresponding token will be discontinued after the first layer (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can compute halting scores corresponding to probabilities of processing being discontinued for a first set of tokens input to the first layer of the transformer neural network). In addition, regarding the “in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score” limitation of claim 1, this limitation, under it broadest reasonable interpretation, is considered an abstract idea encompassing executing subsequent layers of the transformer neural network to generate an output without processing a first token associated with the first halting score if the first halting score exceeds the threshold value (corresponds to evaluation and judgement; in particular, a human, with the assistance of pen and paper, can generate an output from processing subsequent layers with processing the first token associated with the first halting score that exceeds the threshold value). Furthermore, since the “computing a first set of halting scores …” and “in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token …” limitations are directed to a judicial exception, they cannot provide any alleged solution or improvement. See MPEP 2106.05(a): “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below.”
Additionally, claim 1 recites determining that a first halting score of the set of halting scores exceeds a threshold value (corresponds to evaluation and judgement with the assistance of pen and paper). Since this limitation is directed to a judicial exception, it cannot provide any alleged solution or improvement. See MPEP 2106.05(a): “It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below.”
Thus, it is the additional elements that are analyzed to determine whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, not the judicial exception itself. The additional elements in claim 1 of “a computer” and “a transformer neural network” as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, are high level recitations of applying a generic computer and neural network to implement the abstract ideas such that it amounts to no more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform generic computer functions. As such, the recitation that the abstract ideas are to be performed with such circuitry is a mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f): “Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more than a judicial exception in Step 2B is whether the additional elements amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. … Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Furthermore, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are “mere instructions to apply an exception” (I.e. the additional elements describe a generic computer and neural network for applying the abstract ideas) Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Additionally, Applicant argues that the “computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer” and “in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score” imitations of claim 1 are additional elements that recite a particular technical solution and integrates the claim into a practical application in accordance with the ruling regarding Ex Parte Desjardins. However, the claims are issue are distinguishable from Ex Parte Desjardins because Desjardins includes an improvement related to addressing catastrophic forgetting while the current claims only use machine learning models at a high level to perform an abstract idea, as discussed above.
In other words, the limitations of “computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer” and “in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score” are abstract ideas that are directed to a judicial exception, so they cannot provide any alleged solution or improvement. Furthermore, the additional elements recited in claim 1 are directed to mere instructions to apply an abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 does not recite additional element(s) that can provide any alleged solution, improvement, or inventive concept.
Applicant relies on the arguments above regarding independent claims 11 and 20 and dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 therefore the response above is applicable to those claims.
Applicant's arguments, filed 10/28/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejections to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts “Amended claim 1 recites the limitations of computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, where each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer. Amended claim 1 also recites in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score. None of the cited references teaches or suggests these limitations. Therefore, no combination of the cited references can teach or suggest each and every limitation of amended claim 1.
In the Office Action, the Examiner concedes that Fayyaz does not appear to explicitly teach computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network. See Office Action at 32. Instead, the Examiner relies on Elbayad. See id.
Elbayad discloses techniques for training Transformer models which can make output predictions at different stages of the network. See Elbayad at Abstract. The proposed Transformers adapt the number of layers to each input in order to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade off at inference time. See id. at p. 1, section 1. The input sequence is encoded using a standard Transformer encoder to generate the output sequence with a varying amount of computation in the decoder network. See id. At inference time, not all time-steps will have hidden states for the current layer since the model exited early. See i. at p. 3, section 2.2.1. A variety of mechanisms are presented to predict the decoder block at which the model will stop and output the next token, or when it should exit to achieve a good speed-accuracy trade-off. See i. at p. 3, section 3. Two approaches are considered: sequence-specific depth decodes all output tokens using the same block, while token-specific depth determines a separate exit for each individual token. See id. Elbayad's token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. See i. at p. 4, section 3.2. Two options for exit distribution at time-step t are disclosed: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state, and a geometric-like where an exit probability is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block. See id. During inference, the decoder exits when the halting signal exceeds a threshold, which is tuned on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade off. See id. at p. 5, section 3.2. If the thresholds have not been exceeded, then the decoder defaults to exiting at block N. See id.
In the rejections, the Examiner appears to map the first set of halting scores, recited in prior claim 1, to the halting signal/exit probabilities disclosed in Elbayad. See Office Action at 32-33. Based on this claim mapping, to teach or suggest the above limitations of amended claim 1, Elbayad would have to disclose computing a first set of halting signals/exit probabilities for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, where each halting signal/exit probability represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer, and in response to a first halting signal/exit probability exceeding a threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting signal/exit probability. Importantly, Elbayad contains no such teachings. Instead, Elbayad discloses a halting signal/exit probability that predicts the decoder block at which the model exits and stops further processing before reaching the final layer of the model. Notably, though, at no point does Elbayad teach or suggest calculating a probability that processing of a token is to be discontinued after a layer of the neural network even though subsequent layers continue to be executed to generate an output without processing the token. Accordingly, Elbayad is silent with respect to computing a first set of halting signals/exit probabilities for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, where each halting signal/exit probability represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer, and in response to a first halting signal/exit probability exceeding a threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting signal/exit probability, as required by the amended claim language. In view of at least these distinctions, Applicant submits that Elbayad cannot be properly interpreted as teaching or suggesting the above limitations of claim 1.
A careful review of the remaining references cited by the Examiner shows that those references also fail to teach or suggest the above limitations of amended claim 1.
As the foregoing illustrates, no combination of the cited references can teach or suggest each and every limitation of amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claim 1 and all claims dependent thereon are in condition for allowance in view of the cited references. Each of independent claims 11 and 20 has been amended to recite limitations similar to those discussed above with respect to allowable amended claim 1. Therefore, amended claims 11 and 20 and all claims dependent thereon, respectively, are in condition for allowance for at least the reasons set forth herein.” (Remarks Pages 12-14).
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion that “computing a first set of halting scores for a first set of tokens that has been input into a first layer of the transformer neural network, wherein each halting score included in the first set of halting scores represents a probability that processing of a corresponding token is to be discontinued after the first layer” is at least not taught by the cited prior arts. In particular, examiner points to Section 3.2, first-third paragraphs, with respect to Eq. 12, and Section 1, fourth paragraph of Elbayad et al. ("Depth-Adaptive Transformer"), which specifically disclose, “The token-specific approach can choose a different exit at every time-step. We consider two options for the exit distribution qt at time-step t: a multinomial with a classifier conditioned on the first decoder hidden state
h
t
1
and a geometric-like where an exit probability
X
t
n
is estimated after each block based on the activations of the current block
h
t
n
. …
where, d is the dimension of the decoder states, Wh ∈ RN×d and wh ∈ Rd are the weights of the halting mechanisms, and bh their biases. During inference the decoder exits when the halting signal
X
t
n
exceeds a threshold τn which we tune on the valid set to achieve a better accuracy-speed trade-off. If thresholds (τn)1≤n<N have not been exceeded, then we default to exiting at block N” (i.e. a token-specific approach wherein the halting signals/exit probabilities X (halting scores) are computed for each token (including first halting scores for first set of tokens) for each block (layer) (i.e. first halting scores for first layer) to determine the probability of exiting and stopping (discontinuing) processing of a token after the block (layer)) and “We encode the input sequence using a standard Transformer encoder to generate the output sequence with a varying amount of computation in the decoder network. Dynamic computation poses a challenge for self-attention because omitted layers in prior time-steps may be required in the future. We experiment with two approaches to address this and show that a simple approach works well (§2). Next, we investigate different mechanisms to control the amount of computation in the decoder network, either for the entire sequence or on a per-token basis” (i.e. the input sequence input (encoded as tokens) to the transformer (input to first layer of transformer neural network) controls the amount of computation on a per-token basis (e.g. halting probability is computed for each token input to the transformer)). Each token input to the transformer neural network has a halting signal/exit probability computed for each processing block/layer to determine the probability of exiting and stopping (discontinuing) processing of a token after the block (layer), meaning that the halted token is not used for subsequent processing operations (layers) for the transformer neural network. Furthermore, regarding the “in response to the first halting score exceeding the threshold value, executing one or more layers within the transformer neural network that are subsequent to the first layer to generate an output without processing a first token that is included in the first set of tokens and is associated with the first halting score” limitation of claim 1, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion that the limitation is at least not taught by the cited prior arts. In particular, examiner points to paragraph [0071] of Fayyaz et al. (US 2023/0153379 A1), which specifically discloses, with respect to Fig. 9 and Fig. 10, “FIGS. 9 and 10 together show a process 902 that explains one manner of operation of the transformer neural network 106 of FIG. 1. In block 904, the transformer neural network 106 receives embedding vectors 110 that represent a plurality of item tokens (e.g., image tokens 114) generated based on a data item (e.g., the image 116), and the classification token 118. In blocks 906, 908, and 1002, the transformer neural network 106 performs an attention operation. The attention operation includes, in block 906, generating original attention information 212 based on the embedding vectors 110, the original attention information 212 having a plurality of attention values, each attention value describing an importance that a particular token plays in an interpretation of another particular token. In block 908, the transformer neural network 106 generates score information 216 based on attention values in the original attention information 212 that pertain to the classification token 118. In block 1002, the transformer neural network 106 generates modified attention information 218 by removing attention values from the original attention information 212 based on the score information 216. In block 804, the transformer neural network 106 performs subsequent operations based on the modified attention information 218. The subsequent operations perform fewer operations by using the modified attention information 218 rather than the original attention information 212” (i.e. based on score information (e.g. halting score) for a token (e.g. the score exceeding a threshold), attention information for the token is removed from processing subsequent operations for the transformer neural network (from use in subsequent layers) (i.e. subsequent layer processing operations for the transformer neural network do not process tokens that have had their information removed based on their corresponding score information)). The attention values representing a token in the set of tokens is removed from the plurality of attention values based on score information (e.g. halting score) for the token. This set of modified attention values (e.g. without the removed attention values for the token) is then used for subsequent processing operations for the transformer neural network (e.g. processing subsequent layers), meaning that the removed attention values for a token are not processed by subsequent layers of the neural network.
Applicant relies on the arguments above regarding independent claims 11 and 20 and dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 therefore the response above is applicable to those claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN J HALES/Examiner, Art Unit 2125
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125