DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in reply to correspondence filed 6 January 2026 in regard to application no. 17/842,265. Claims 1-20 are pending and are considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 11 each specify tracking purchases “across unaffiliated platforms and devices”. There is no support for this in the originally filed application and it therefore represents impermissible new matter.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Reasonable people could reasonably as to what devices and platforms are “unaffiliated” from anything else; further, the claims do not make it clear with what those are supposed to be unaffiliated. As the originally filed application does not mention this, it does not provide any hint as to what this is supposed to mean.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are directed to statutory categories of invention, as each is directed to a method (process) or system (machine). Claim 17 is the most detailed of the independent claims, so it will serve here as exemplary. The claim(s) recite(s) (a) associating an item of value (e.g. product or service) with a person ("user"), (6) creating a token in no particular manner, (c) communicating information about the token based on a request, (d) tracking use of the token by a third party in no particular manner, (e) storing information and (f) providing compensation to the person after verifying two pieces of data.
First, this recites a commercial interaction or a fundamental business practice. Businesses have been providing items of value (e.g. coupons) to consumers for many decades, and have tracked their use and stored information about them, and have done so long before there was any such thing as a computer. For one example, well known to people of the Examiner's age, for a good many decades the Sperry & Hutchinson company provided collectible stamps ("S&H Green Stamps") through retailers; consumers earned the stamps by making purchases, and when they had filled various- sized books with the stamps, could go to a redemption center and redeem the stamps for merchandise. The company initiated this reward system in 1896, five decades before there was any such thing as a computer. Similarly, in banking transactions, it was quite routine, years before computers came into being, for bankers to verify account numbers and customers' identities prior to allowing transactions.
Further, these steps consist of mental steps and insignificant, extra-solution activity. Step (d) is mere data gathering, which is insignificant, pre-solution activity. Step (c) is simply provision of output, which is insignificant, post-solution activity. Steps a, b and e can be practically performed in the human mind or, at most, with a pen and paper.
A store clerk (or anyone else) can mentally associate a person with a product; e.g. she may mentally observe that a customer is carrying a carton of milk. Consistent with the instant specification, e.g. pg. 6, lines 25-29, a token is an indicia of value, so the store clerk writing a coupon on a piece of paper would suffice as such, and then she could provide compensation (e.g. a discounted price) in exchange for the customer using the coupon. The consumer could share the coupon with another person who might use it in her place. The clerk could validate the coupon and the identity of the person using it. Various platforms and devices can be used: one person could be given a coupon using pen and paper; another could be told verbally over the telephone of an offer. None of this would present any practical difficulty, and none requires any technology beyond a pen and paper or conventional use of the telephone.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because aside from the bare inclusion of a generic computer, nothing is done beyond what was set forth above. This is, at most, simply using a generic computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As the claims only manipulate data about tokens, purchases and the like, they do not improve the "functioning of a computer" or of "any other technology or technical field". See MPEP § 2106.05(a). They do not apply the abstract idea "with, or by use of a particular machine", MPEP $ 2106.05(b), as the below-cited Guidance is clear that a generic computer is not the particular machine envisioned.
They do not effect a "transformation or reduction of a particular article toa different state or thing", MPEP § 2106.05(c). First, such data, being intangible, are not a particular article at all. Second, the claimed manipulation is neither transformative nor reductive; as the courts have pointed out, in the end, data are still data.
They do not apply the abstract idea "in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking [it] to a particular technological environment", MPEP § 2106.05(e), as the lack of technical and algorithmic detail in the claims is so as not to go beyond such a general linkage.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional claim limitations, considered individually and as an ordered combination, are insufficient to confer patent eligibility on an otherwise-ineligible invention. The claims generally include a processor and memory which can execute a "data application" and use a "network". It makes use of a “smart contract”, which is nothing more than software stored in a specific place.
These elements are recited at a high degree of generality and the specification does not meaningfully limit them, such that generic computers will suffice. They only perform generic computer functions of nondescriptly manipulating data and sharing data with persons and/or other devices. Generic computers performing generic computer functions, without an inventive concept, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The type of information being manipulated does not impose meaningful limitations or render the idea less abstract. Saying a step is performed "automatically" does not alter the analysis; anything done by a computer is, to some extent, automatic. The claim elements when considered as an ordered combination - generic computers performing a chronological sequence of abstract steps - do nothing more than when they are analyzed individually.
The other independent claims are simply different embodiments but likewise are directed to a computer performing nearly the same process. The dependent claims further do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea: claims 2, 12 and 20 appear to limit objects entirely outside the scope of the claimed invention. Claims 3, 10 and 13 simply recite further, abstract manipulation of data. Claims 4, 6 and 14 simply recite output; claims 5 and 18 consist entirely of mere labeling, and claims 7-9, 15, 16 and 19 are simply further descriptive of the type of information being manipulated.
The claims are not patent eligible. For further guidance please see MPEP § 2106.03 – 2106.07(c) (formerly referred to as the “2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance”, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 55 (7 January 2019)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatterjee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0276654) in view of Molinari et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0080406) further in view of Castinado et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0243213).
In-line citations are to Chatterjee. Claims are examined as best understood.
With regard to Claim 11:
Chatterjee teaches: A system for token utilization, comprising:
a plurality of electronic devices executing a data application, [0050; "computers" are used] the data application is configured to automatically communicate one or more tokens; [Fig. 2; in response to creating a token which, as shown above, was based on a request, it is communicated to a database]
a data platform accessible by the plurality of electronic devices through one or more network executing the data application, [0015; "the Internet'] wherein the data platform generates the one or more tokens and an identifier associated with a product or service and a user, [Fig. 5; each token is assigned a "Token #" which reads on an identifier and associates it with a rewards identifier; 0031; the tokens are generated in response to a request from a user; 0017; it may be related to a product such as "free item" or service such as "hotel nights"] communicate the one or more tokens to one or more of the plurality of electronic devices based on a request from the user, [Fig. 2; in response to creating the token which, as shown above, was based on a request, it is communicated to a database and, 0029, transmitted “to the device of the registered user”] tracks... associated with the one or more tokens... [0001; "tracking rewards associated with tokenized transactions originating in a digital wallet"] and automatically compensates the user… associated with the one or more tokens. [0012; merchants may provide rewards in exchange for tokenized transactions using a computer]
Chatterjee does not explicitly teach tracking the use of tokens for purchases of the product or service, or using a smart contract, but it is known in the art. Molinari teaches an e-wallet system. [title] A person may use a "token" to receive "rewards" that "can be used in exchange to purchase the products or services of the issuer", [0085] and tracking of this is performed. [0096] It uses “smart contracts”. [0022] Molinari and Chatterjee are analogous art as each Is directed to electronic means for using tokens to exchange for other items of value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art just prior to the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Molinari with that of Chatterjee in order to improve safekeeping of assets, as taught by Molinari; [0021] further, it is simply a substitution of one known part for another with predictable results, simply using tokens and storing software in the manner of Molinari rather than the less-specific manner of Chatterjee; the substitution produces no new and unexpected result.
Chatterjee does not explicitly teach associating the token with third parties across unaffiliated platforms and devices, utilizing one or more digital ledgers or verif(ying) the identifier associated with the token and one or more of the purchases, but it is known in the art. Castinado teaches a contactless transaction system [title] that operate with multiple differently-owned computers across networks. [Sheet 1, Fig. 1] It stores data in "distributed ledger(s)" of "block chain systems". [0026] Data is "verified across multiple proprietary platforms" during "NFC transactions". [0064] The system may "verify individual identities" and a "unique identification number associated with the user" such as an "account number". [0067] Castinado and Chatterjee are analogous art as each is directed to the use of identifiers in financial transactions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art just prior to the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Castinado with that of Chatterjee in order to enable contactless transactions, as taught by Castinado; [abstract] further, it is simply a substitution of one known part for another with predictable results, simply processing a transaction in the manner of, and using the network topology of, Castinado in place of that of Chatterjee; the substitution produces no new and unexpected result.
With regard to Claim 12:
The system of claim 11, wherein compensation of the user is controlled by the smart contract, [Molinari, as cited above in regard to claim 11] and wherein communication of the one or more tokens is tracked via a secure application program interface (API). [Molinari, 0036; APIs are used]
With regard to Claim 13:
The system of claim 11, wherein the data platform associates the one or more tokens with the product or service. [Chatterjee, as cited above in regard to claim 11]
With regard to Claim 14:
The system of claim 11, wherein the data platform communicates the one or more tokens including information regarding the goods and services through a web page or mobile application. [0027; it may be on a "merchant or rewards program website"]
With regard to Claim 15:
The system of claim 11, further comprising: one or more databases in communication with the data platform, [0005; a "database" is used to manage rewards] wherein the one or more databases store a smart contract governing creation and utilization of the one or more tokens associated with the product or service. [Molinari as cited above in regard to claim 11]
With regard to Claim 16:
The system of claim 15, wherein the one or more databases further store utilization data associated with the one or more tokens and utilization or transactions involving the one or more tokens. [0005; a "database" is used to "manage [the] rewards account" which involves use of data as cited above]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 December 2025, except as in regard to the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of claims 1-10 and 17-20, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to § 101, the use of a data platform including a processor and memory is nothing more than recitation of a generic computer. Tracking and compensating user referrals and activity is squarely within the abstract idea, and the Internet, which has been in nearly continuous use since 1969, in continuous use since 1984, and ubiquitous since the mid 1990s at least, is a “decentralized digital ecosystem”.
The fact that the claims perform a “concrete series of steps” is undisputed but unhelpful, and the Examiner sees no “specially configured data platform” in the claims, but merely a networked computer comprising a processor and memory. The steps provided in the arguments, other than generic computer recitations, are abstract.
The applicant is using a broader interpretation of “integrated into a practical application” than the Examiner is compelled to use. The Examiner does not see how, and the applicant does not explain sufficiently how, it is supposed to improve the functioning of a computer, transform matter, invoke a particular machine, or go beyond a general link between abstraction and technology.
In regard to step 2B, referring to the abstract steps as a “specific configuration” does not change the fact that the only, actual non-abstract claim elements are a processor and memory. As mentioned above, a smart contract is nothing more than software stored in a particular place. The claims are not patent eligible and the rejection is maintained.
The applicant, in arguments regarding § 103, does not argue specifically about any limitations of claim 11.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 10-12, filed 8 December 2025, with respect to rejections made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 of claims 1-10 and 17-20, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of those claims on that basis has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/SCOTT C ANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3694