DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments, filed 06/20/2025, with respect to the third nonmagnetic layer containing boron and at least one of the listed metals have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brockman et al. (US 2019/0280188).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 11-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eeh et al. (US 2019/0296226) in view of Brockman et al. (US 2019/0280188).
In reference to claim 1, Eeh et al. (US 2019/0296226), hereafter “Eeh,” discloses a magnetic memory device, with reference to Figure 13, comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer 150;
a first nonmagnetic layer 140 on the first ferromagnetic layer;
a second ferromagnetic layer 130 on the first nonmagnetic layer;
an oxide layer, 120, on the second ferromagnetic layer;
wherein the oxide layer contains an oxide of a rare-earth element, paragraph 50.
Eeh does not disclose a second nonmagnetic layer on the oxide layer; or
a third nonmagnetic layer on the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo), and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W).
Brockman et al. (US 2019/0280188), hereafter “Brockman,” discloses a magnetic memory device comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer 327;
a first nonmagnetic layer 326 on the first ferromagnetic layer;
a second ferromagnetic layer 325 on the first nonmagnetic layer;
an oxide layer, 320, on the second ferromagnetic layer;
a second nonmagnetic layer 315 on the oxide layer; and
a third nonmagnetic layer 310 on the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo), paragraph 19, and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W), paragraphs 16 and 17, (absorbed boron by metals Ta, Hf, or Ti).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a second nonmagnetic layer to be on the oxide layer; and
a third nonmagnetic layer to be the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo), and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W).
One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a boron absorption layer spaced from the magnetic layers in order to maintain good magnetic properties without damaging a capping layer, paragraphs 12, 13, and 20.
In reference to claim 2, Brockman discloses the second nonmagnetic layer contains molybdenum (Mo) and cobalt iron boron (CoFeB), paragraph 19.
In reference to claim 4, Eeh discloses wherein the oxide layer contains an oxide of at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), and lutetium (Lu), paragraph 50.
In reference to claim 6, Eeh discloses a magnetic memory device, with reference to Figure 13, comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer 150;
a first nonmagnetic layer 140 on the first ferromagnetic layer;
a second ferromagnetic layer 130 on the first nonmagnetic layer;
an oxide layer, 120, on the second ferromagnetic layer;
wherein the oxide layer contains an oxide of gadolinium (Gd), paragraph 50.
Eeh does not disclose a second nonmagnetic layer on the oxide layer; or
a third nonmagnetic layer on the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo), and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and, hafnium (Hf).
Brockman et al. (US 2019/0280188), hereafter “Brockman,” discloses a magnetic memory device comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer 327;
a first nonmagnetic layer 326 on the first ferromagnetic layer;
a second ferromagnetic layer 325 on the first nonmagnetic layer;
an oxide layer, 320, on the second ferromagnetic layer;
a second nonmagnetic layer 315 on the oxide layer; and
a third nonmagnetic layer 310 on the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo), paragraph 19, and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and hafnium (Hf), paragraphs 16 and 17, (absorbed boron by Hf).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a second nonmagnetic layer to be on the oxide layer; and
a third nonmagnetic layer to be the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and molybdenum (Mo), and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W), paragraph 17, (absorbed boron by metals Ta, Hf, or Ti).
One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a boron absorption layer spaced from the magnetic layers in order to maintain good magnetic properties without damaging a capping layer, paragraphs 12, 13, and 20.
In reference to claim 7, Brockman discloses the second nonmagnetic layer contains molybdenum (Mo) and cobalt iron boron (CoFeB), paragraph 19.
In reference to claim 11, Eeh discloses a magnetic memory device, with reference to Figure 13, comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer 150;
a first nonmagnetic layer 140 on the first ferromagnetic layer;
a second ferromagnetic layer 130 on the first nonmagnetic layer;
an oxide layer, 120, on the second ferromagnetic layer;
wherein the oxide layer contains an oxide of a rare-earth element, paragraph 50.
Eeh does not disclose a second nonmagnetic layer on the oxide layer; or
a third nonmagnetic layer on the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and tungsten (W), and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W).
Brockman discloses a magnetic memory device comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer 327;
a first nonmagnetic layer 326 on the first ferromagnetic layer;
a second ferromagnetic layer 325 on the first nonmagnetic layer;
an oxide layer, 320, on the second ferromagnetic layer;
a second nonmagnetic layer 315 on the oxide layer; and
a third nonmagnetic layer 310 on the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and tungsten (W), paragraph 19, and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W), paragraphs 16 and 17, (absorbed boron by metals Ta, Hf, or Ti).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a second nonmagnetic layer to be on the oxide layer; and
a third nonmagnetic layer to be the second nonmagnetic layer,
the second nonmagnetic layer contains cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), boron (B), and tungsten (W), and
the third nonmagnetic layer contains boron (B) and at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), titanium (Ti), yttrium (Y), zirconium (Zr), niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), and tungsten (W).
One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a boron absorption layer spaced from the magnetic layers in order to maintain good magnetic properties without damaging a capping layer, paragraphs 12, 13, and 20.
In reference to claim 12, Brockman discloses the second nonmagnetic layer contains tungsten (W) and cobalt iron boron (CoFeB), paragraph 19.
In reference to claim 13, Eeh discloses wherein the oxide layer contains an oxide of at least one element selected from a group consisting of scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), and lutetium (Lu), paragraph 50.
In reference to claim 15, Eeh discloses a third ferromagnetic layer, 170 in Figure 13, under the first ferromagnetic layer 150; and a fifth nonmagnetic layer 160 between the third ferromagnetic layer and the first ferromagnetic layer, paragraph 47, wherein the fifth nonmagnetic layer contains at least one element selected from a group consisting of ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), iridium (Ir), vanadium (V), and chromium (Cr), paragraph 57.
In reference to claim 16, Eeh discloses the fifth nonmagnetic layer 160 is antiferromagnetically coupled to the third ferromagnetic layer 170, and a magnetization direction of the third ferromagnetic layer 170 is fixed to a direction antiparallel to a magnetization direction of the first ferromagnetic layer 150, paragraph 58.
In reference to claim 17, Eeh discloses a stray field from the third ferromagnetic layer 170 is configured to reduce an influence of a stray field from the first ferromagnetic layer 150 on a magnetization direction of the second ferromagnetic layer 130, paragraph 58.
In reference to claim 18, Eeh discloses the first ferromagnetic layer 150 contains at least one element selected from a group consisting of iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), and nickel (Ni), paragraph 56, the first nonmagnetic layer 140 contains an oxide of at least one element or compound selected from a group consisting of magnesium (Mg), aluminum (AI), zinc (Zn), titanium (Ti), and lanthanum-strontium-manganese (LSM), paragraph 55, and the second ferromagnetic layer 130 contains at least one element selected from a group consisting of iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), and nickel (Ni), paragraph 54.
In reference to claim 19, Eeh discloses each of the first ferromagnetic layer and the second ferromagnetic layer has an axis of easy magnetization in a direction perpendicular to a film surface, a magnetization direction of the first ferromagnetic layer is fixed, paragraph 56, and a magnetization direction of the second ferromagnetic layer is more easily reversed than the magnetization direction of the first ferromagnetic layer, paragraph 54.
In reference to claim 20, Eeh discloses a first conductive layer, bit line 28(BL) in Figure 2, provided to extend in a first direction (x-direction); a second conductive layer, word line 23(WL), provided to extend in a second direction (y-direction) intersecting the first direction and to be spaced apart from the first conductive layer; and a memory cell 22 provided in a columnar shape between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, wherein the memory cell includes the first ferromagnetic layer, the first nonmagnetic layer, the second ferromagnetic layer, the oxide layer, and the second nonmagnetic layer, paragraphs 38-41, 121 and 122.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eeh et al. (US 2019/0296226) in view of Brockman et al. (US 2019/0280188) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above and further in view of Kariyada (US 2022/0077387).
In reference to claims 3 and 8, Brockman discloses the magnetic properties of the CoFeBMo second nonmagnetic layer 315 may be magnetic or non-magnetic depending on the impurity doping concentration, paragraph 17.
Kariyada (US 2022/0077387) teaches a non-magnetic CoFeBMo material wherein a content ratio of molybdenum (Mo) is 50 at% or more and 80 at% or less, paragraph 83. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a content ratio of molybdenum (Mo) in the second nonmagnetic layer to be 50 at% or more and 80 at% or less. One would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a non-magnetic CoFeBMo material as suggested by Brockman, paragraph 17.
Claims 5, 9, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eeh et al. (US 2019/0296226) in view of Brockman et al. (US 2019/0280188) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 11 above and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0255121).
In reference to claims 5, 9, and 14, Eeh does not disclose a fourth nonmagnetic layer on the third nonmagnetic layer, wherein the fourth nonmagnetic layer contains at least one element selected from a group consisting of platinum (Pt), tungsten (W), tantalum (Ta), and ruthenium (Ru).
Wang et al. (US 2023/0255121), hereafter “Wang,” discloses an analogous magnetic memory device including teaching a fourth nonmagnetic layer, Ta or Ru of capping layer 306, on the third nonmagnetic layer, Mo of capping layer 306, wherein the fourth nonmagnetic layer contains at least one element selected from a group consisting of platinum (Pt), tungsten (W), tantalum (Ta), and ruthenium (Ru), paragraphs 30 and 33 (Ta or Ru). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a fourth nonmagnetic layer to be on the third nonmagnetic layer, wherein the fourth nonmagnetic layer contains at least one element selected from a group consisting of platinum (Pt), tungsten (W), tantalum (Ta), and ruthenium (Ru). One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a capping layer to isolate the memory cell from outside conditions, paragraph 18.
In reference to claim 10, Wang discloses the fourth nonmagnetic layer contains ruthenium (Ru), Ru of capping layer 306, paragraphs 30 and 33.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897