DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 06/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected (Group II, method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/06/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first gas supply plate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1-15 recite “a plurality of partitions;” should be “a plurality of partition plates.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1-15 recite “first gas supply plate;” should be “first gas dispersing plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 3 recites “wherein one ends of the partitions are in contact with the first gas supply plate; another ends of the partitions are in contact with the first electrode;” should be “wherein one end of each of the partition plates are in contact with the first gas supply plate; another end of each of the partition plates are in contact with the first electrode.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas introducing part (any structure that introduces gas, due to lack of disclosure of corresponding structure in the specification, para. [0036]) in claims 1-15.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Holder (carrier ring, para. [0035]) in claims 1-15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190145001 to Park in view of US 20090107403 to Moshtagh.
Claim 1: Park discloses a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising: a processing container (5 [process chamber], Fig. 6); a holder (40 [support structure], Fig. 1) provided in the processing container (5) and capable of holding a substrate (W [wafer]); a gas introducing part (30 [lower showerhead]) provided on a side of a first face of the substrate (WB) and configured to introduce a process gas into the processing container (para. [0027]);
a second electrode (10 [upper showerhead], Fig. 6) provided on a side of a second face of the substrate (WF) opposite to the first face (WB) and applying an electric field to the process gas between the first and second electrodes (para. [0022], [0028]).
However Park does not disclose a first gas supply plate provided between the substrate and the gas introducing part and having a plurality of first holes allowing the process gas to pass; a first electrode provided between the substrate and the first gas supply plate and having a plurality of second holes supplying the process gas to the first face of the substrate; and a plurality of partition plates provided between the first electrode and the first gas supply plate, extending substantially linearly in a first direction substantially parallel to the first face, and dividing a space between the first electrode and the first gas supply plate into a plurality of regions.
Regarding the “electrode,” Examiner interprets the “electrode” to be a plate capable of receiving power from a high frequency power source, however as a power source is not claimed, the electrode is interpreted as necessarily a plate. Additionally, it is well known in the prior art for showerhead plates to receive high frequency power.
Moshtagh discloses a first gas supply plate (29 [outside cover], Fig. 1, 9) provided between the substrate (15 [wafer]) and the gas introducing part (24-27 [gas inlets]) and having a plurality of first holes (holes of 29, Fig. 8) allowing the process gas to pass (para. [0054]); a first electrode (30 [inside cover]) provided between the substrate (15) and the first gas supply plate (29) and having a plurality of second holes (92 [apertures]) supplying the process gas to the first face of the substrate (15); and a plurality of partition plates (31-33 [partitions], Fig. 9) provided between the first electrode (30) and the first gas supply plate (29), extending substantially linearly in a first direction substantially parallel to the first face (Fig. 9), and dividing a space between the first electrode (30) and the first gas supply plate (29) into a plurality of regions (42-45 [zones]). Moshtagh discloses the above limitations for the purpose of facilitating the injection of different reactant gasses and/or different concentrations of reactant gasses into the CVD chamber (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above limitations as taught by Moshtagh with motivation to facilitate the injection of different reactant gasses and/or different concentrations of reactant gasses into the CVD chamber.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein the partition plates (31-33, Fig. 9, Moshtagh) extend substantially in parallel to each other in the first direction (Fig. 9).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein one end of the plurality of partition plates (one end of 31-33, Fig. 9, Moshtagh) are in contact with the first gas supply plate (29, Fig. 9); another end of the plurality of partition plates (another end of 31-33) are in contact with the first electrode (30, Fig. 9), and the partition plates (31-33) separate the process gases in the regions from each other (para. [0055-0056]).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein the gas introducing part (24-27, Fig. 1, 8, Moshtagh) comprises a plurality of inlets (24-27) introducing the process gas into the regions (42-45), respectively (para. [0054]).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein the process gas from the inlets of the gas introducing part is introduced to associated ones of the regions, respectively, through associated ones of the first holes of the first gas supply plate, and the process gas respectively introduced into the regions is supplied to the first face of the substrate through associated ones of the second holes of the first electrode (para. [0055-0057], Moshtagh). It is noted that the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 8: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate comprises lines of a conductive material on the second face, and the first direction in which the partitions extend is substantially parallel to an extending direction of the lines.
However, the limitations are drawn to the recitations tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Claim 9: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein the second holes (92, Fig. 9, Moshtagh) are arrayed in a matrix (92) to correspond to each of the regions on the first electrode.
Claim 11: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein the first electrode (30 or 30, Park or Moshtagh) has a substantially circular shape having a diameter equal to or larger than a diameter of the substrate as viewed from a perpendicular direction to the first face (Fig. 2, Park, or Fig. 1, Moshtagh).
Claims 13-14: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh does not explicitly (claim 13) disclose wherein the gas introducing part introduces a gas including SiH4a and N2O as the process gas into the processing container when a center of the substrate held by the holder is farther from the first electrode than is an end portion of the substrate; (claim 14) wherein the gas introducing part introduces a gas including SiH4 and NH3 as the process gas into the processing container when a center of the substrate held by the holder is closer to the first electrode than is an end portion of the substrate.
Moshtagh teaches that a gas introducing part (24-27, Fig. 1, 9) introduces different reactants or varying concentrations of metalorganic gases for example, to the center and/or edge of the substrate held by the holder (16, para. [0055-0057]) for the purpose of facilitating the formation of desired materials thereon according to the chemical vapor deposition process (para. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of gasses to different locations as taught by Moshtagh with motivation to facilitate the formation of desired materials thereon according to the chemical vapor deposition process.
Claim 15: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh discloses wherein the second electrode (10, Fig. 6, Park) has a plurality of third holes (14 [upper holes]) supplying an inert gas to the second face of the substrate (para. [0030]).
Claims 16-20: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Moshtagh as applied to claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, 13-15 above, and further in view of US 20210217609 to Kagaya.
Claims 6-7: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh does not explicitly disclose (claim 6) further comprising a controller configured to control a flow rate or an introducing time of the process gas to be introduced into each of the regions; (claim 7) wherein the controller increases the flow rate or the introducing time of the process gas to be introduced into a first region among the regions, corresponding to a central portion of the substrate, to be higher or longer than that in a second region corresponding to an end portion of the substrate.
Kagaya discloses explicitly (claim 6) further comprising a controller (10 [controller], Fig. 1-2) configured to control a flow rate or an introducing time of the process gas to be introduced into each of the regions (para. [0055]); (claim 7) wherein the controller (10) increases the flow rate or the introducing time of the process gas to be introduced into a first region among the regions, corresponding to a central portion of the substrate, to be higher or longer than that in a second region corresponding to an end portion of the substrate (para. [0055]). Kagaya discloses the above limitations for the purpose of adjusting the ejection time of the precursor to be shorter than the time required for the absorbed amount of the precursor on the wafer to reach saturation (para. [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Kagaya with motivation to adjust the ejection time of the precursor to be shorter than the time required for the absorbed amount of the precursor on the wafer to reach saturation.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Moshtagh as applied to claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, 13-15 above, and further in view of US 20190177851 to Ivanov.
Claim 10: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh does not disclose wherein the first electrode has a substantially quadrangular shape having four sides equal to or larger than a diameter of the substrate as viewed from a perpendicular direction to the first face.
Ivanov teaches that the major face of the electrode (32 [hollow plate], Fig. 2) may have a shape and size that is matched to and may be equal to the shape and size of the substrate (para. [0033], [0126]) for the purpose of simultaneously depositing material from two flow paths, thereby doing it in an efficient way, eliminating or reducing turbulences (para. [0090]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the shape optimization requirements as taught by Ivanov with motivation to simultaneously deposit material from two flow paths, thereby doing it in an efficient way, eliminating or reducing turbulences.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Moshtagh as applied to claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, 13-15 above, and further in view of US 20130052804 to Song.
Claim 12: The apparatus of Park in view of Moshtagh does not disclose wherein the second holes are arrayed on the first electrode radially from a center of the first electrode.
Song discloses second holes (281 [gas conduits], Fig. 4C) are arrayed on the first electrode (283 [showerhead face]) radially from a center of the first electrode (283, para. [0049]), for the purpose of being advantageously used in substrate processing, especially metal organic chemical vapor depositions or hydride vapor phase epitaxy processes (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the array configuration as taught by Song with motivation to be advantageously used in substrate processing, especially metal organic chemical vapor depositions or hydride vapor phase epitaxy processes.
Conclusion
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718