DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's reply filed 4/9/2026 includes claim amendments and arguments corresponding to the new limitations. The Claim Objection (Claim 23) set forth in the previous action has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant has added the new limitation “the protective film is a polyethylene terephthalate patch and is configured to be broken under high temperature or high pressure” to Claims 1 and 23. This amendment is supported by the instant disclosure. Applicant argues none of the references cited in the previous action disclose this limitation. Applicant specifically states the secondary reference Asahina “does not disclose or suggest that the sealing portion 11A of the valve member 11 is a film structure configured to be broken under high temperature or high pressure and made of polyethylene terephthalate (PET).” Applicant also argues the other references cited in the previous action do not disclose this limitation.
Examiner agrees Zhang and/or modified Zhang does not teach the protective film (Zhang, protective sheet 220) is made of the claimed polyethylene terephthalate material. After an updated search of the amended claims, the claimed invention remains obvious, but over a new reference (Li et al., US 20140315050 A1) that teaches the PET material. See underlined portions of the action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Office action.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 24 and 25 each include the limitation “a size of the reception groove is larger than a size of the through hole,” which does not clearly define the structural relationship between the reception groove and the through hole. “A size” can have multiple interpretations (e.g., a thickness or height, a width, a volume, a diameter, etc.), wherein each “size” would create a different structural relationship between the two components. In light of the instant disclosure, “a size” is best understood as “a width.”
For this office action, the limitation will be examined as “a width of an opening defined by the reception groove is larger than a width of the through hole.” It is also possible “a width” could be “a diameter,” but the instant claims do not require the structure/through hole to be circular. See Examiner’s annotations to instant Figs. 7 and 8:
17/842,622 – Fig. 8 Annotated by Examiner
17/842,622 – Fig. 7 Annotated by Examiner
Examiner requests further definition of “a size” in Claims 24 and 25.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., CN 210403875 U, and further in view of Liu et al., CN 210429943 U and Li et al., US 20140315050 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a battery cell (battery cell 200 [0043], Fig. 4), comprising:
a battery box (aluminum shell [0047]) comprising a first wall (top cover of battery cell [0047]) and a pressure relief mechanism (explosion-proof valve sheet 210 [0004, 0044], Figs. 3-4), wherein the pressure relief mechanism is arranged on the first wall (an explosion-proof valve sheet 210 is provided on the top of the battery cell 200 [0044, 0047]) and the pressure relief mechanism is actuated to relieve internal pressure of the battery cell when the internal pressure or temperature reaches a threshold value ([0047, 0051]);
a protective member (protective plate 410 of bracket 400 [0047], Figs. 1-6) positioned on an outer side of the first wall (arranged on an upper surface of battery cell 200 [0047]), and comprising a body portion (plate body 411 [0047]), a shielding portion (portion of protrusion 412, see Annotated Fig. 6), and a weak portion (notched thinning area on plate 410 [0018, 0046-0047], see Annotated Fig. 6), wherein the body portion is configured to be connected to the first wall (protective cover 300 attached to the top of the battery cells 200, and bracket 400 arranged between the protective cover 300 and the battery cells 200 [0044-0047]), the shielding portion is configured to shield the pressure relief mechanism (protective plate is arranged above the explosion-proof valve plate 210 to provide protection for it [0045]), the weak portion is configured to connect the body portion to the shielding portion (see Annotated Fig. 6), and the weak portion is configured to be broken, disconnecting the body portion from the shielding portion, when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0045-0047]); and
a protective film (protective sheet 220 [0051]) facing the shielding portion and covering the pressure relief mechanism ([0051], see Fig. 4).
Zhang – Fig. 4 (left) and Annotated Fig. 6 (right)
Zhang does not disclose how the body portion (411) of the protective member is connected to the first wall (top of 200). Therefore, Zhang does not disclose the Claim 1 limitations “a bonding member connecting the protective member to the first wall, wherein the bonding member is gum arranged at a surface of the body portion facing the first wall but not at a surface of the shielding portion facing the first wall and a surface of the weak portion facing the first wall, and the body portion and the bonding member are stacked together in a thickness direction of the first wall.” However, these limitations are taught by Liu et al.
Liu teaches a gum bonding member connects a protective member to a first wall of a battery (gum sealing pad 5 adheres and connects metal connecting plate 4 of explosion-proof valve to battery box body 1, pg. 2-4, Figs. 1-3). Liu teaches the gum is arranged at a surface of the body portion facing a first wall but not at a surface of the shielding portion facing the first wall and a surface of the weak portion facing the first wall (Annotated Fig. 1), and the body portion and the bonding member are stacked together in a thickness direction of the first wall (Annotated Fig. 1). Liu teaches the gum bonding member establishes a stable and reliable seal between the first wall and outer circumference of the protective member, and the gum bonding member also does not need any curing time during assembly (Abstract, pg. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to connect the body portion to the first wall with gum, in the battery cell of Zhang, as Liu teaches gum can adhere a body portion of an explosion-proof valve to a battery wall in a reliable and stable manner.
Liu – Annotated Fig. 1
Although modified Zhang discloses a protective film (Zhang, protective sheet 220), modified Zhang does not disclose the following limitations required by Claim 1:
“a protrusion is placed at an outer surface of the first wall, and the shielding portion is positioned on one side of the protrusion, away from the pressure relief mechanism, in the direction perpendicular to the first wall,”
the protective film is “arranged on a surface, facing the shielding portion, of the protrusion and covering the pressure relief mechanism,” and
“the protective film is a polyethylene terephthalate patch and is configured to be broken under high temperature or high pressure.”
However, these limitations are taught by Li et al. Li teaches a battery vent comprising a protrusion (1211) placed at an outer surface of a battery first wall (upper portion 1211 of vent body 12 [0047-0049]), with a protective film (13) arranged on a surface of the protrusion (vent protective sheet 13 is fixedly connected to the upper end surface 1213 of wall portion 121 [0050]). Li teaches the protective film covers a pressure relief mechanism and seals a vent hole ([0050-0051], Fig. 3; thus a “patch” as claimed), and is preferably made of a material that will not corrode when in contact with the battery electrolyte, such as polyethylene terephthalate ([0060]).
Li – Fig. 3
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the protective sheet of modified Zhang (Zhang, 220) with the polyethylene terephthalate protective sheet (13) and add the first wall structure (vent body 12) to the first wall of modified Li, in order to cover the pressure relief mechanism and seal vent hole, while also preventing corrosion from the electrolyte.
Addition of the protrusion to modified Zhang would establish a structure meeting the limitations “the shielding portion (Zhang, portion of protrusion 412 in Annotated Fig. 6) is positioned on one side of the protrusion (Li, upper portion 1211 of the wall portion 121), away from the pressure relief mechanism (Li, vent body 11 positioned on opposite side of wall portion 121), in the direction perpendicular to the first wall (shielding portion 412 is horizontal, wall portion 121 is vertical),” and the protective film (Li, 13) is arranged on a surface of the protrusion “facing the shielding portion” (upper end surface 1213 faces shielding portion 412).”
Regarding the limitation “configured to be broken under high temperature or high pressure,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since the structure of the prior art (Li, polyethylene terephthalate protective sheet 13) teaches all structural limitations of the claim (“the protective film is a polyethylene terephthalate patch”), the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Li, which includes the first wall structure (vent body 12) of Li, also teaches the first wall is provided with a through hole (Li, hollow portion 122 [0047], Fig. 3) and a reception groove (Li, recessed portion 123 [0052]), the through hole penetrates the first wall in the thickness direction of the first wall (see Annotated Li Fig. 3), the reception groove is recessed from an inner surface of the first wall and arranged around the through hole (Li, the wall portion 121 of the vent body 12 is provided with a recessed portion 123 at a lower end surface 1214 [0052], Fig. 3), a size of the reception groove is larger than a size of the through hole (see Annotated Li Fig. 3; See 35 USC 112(b) Section for Examiner’s best understanding of this limitation), and the pressure relief mechanism is at least partially accommodated in the reception groove and covers the through hole (Li, vent body 11 is fixedly connected in the recessed portion 123 [0052], Figs. 1-5).
Li – Annotated Fig. 3
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Capati et al., US 20190077276 A1.
Regarding Claims 4-6, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang does not disclose a melting point of the protective member is higher than that of the pressure relief mechanism (Claim 4), the melting point of the protective member is not lower than 600 degrees Celsius (Claim 5), and also does not disclose the protective member is made from materials that include at least one of mica, rubber or ceramic (Claim 6). However, these limitations are taught by Capati et al.
Capati teaches a protective member (ceramic top layer 110 [0036], Fig. 1) for a battery pack, wherein a pressure relief mechanism (inserts 220 [0036]) is disposed in a plurality of openings 215 on the top layer 110 to achieve a watertight seal under pressure ([0036]). Capati teaches the melting temperature of the pressure relief mechanism can range from 70° C to 400° C, whereas the melting temperature of the protective member can be 600° C ([0035]). Capati teaches the pressure relief mechanism (220) melts before the protective member (110), in order to alleviate pressure in the battery pack, while the protective member (110) remains fully functional until much higher temperatures are reached ([0042-0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a melting point of a ceramic protective member be higher than the pressure relief mechanism, as taught by Capati, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, in order to ensure the pressure relief mechanism melts and properly relieves internal pressure.
Claims 7-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Nogami et al., US 20220021072 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang does not disclose a thickness of the shielding portion is less than that of the body portion. However, this limitation is disclosed by Nogami.
Nogami teaches a battery sealing assembly 17 comprising a shielding portion (top part 32 [0026]) and a body portion (flange part 31 ([0030]). Nogami teaches a weak subarea between the shielding portion must be the thinnest component of the sealing assembly to ensure proper fracturing, but the thicknesses of the top part 32 and the flange part 31 may be the same or different from each other ([0031-0034]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a thickness of the shielding portion be less than that of the body portion, as disclosed by Nogami, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, as Nogami teaches the thicknesses of the two components may be different from each other.
Nogami – Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 8, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the pressure relief mechanism includes a first groove (Zhang, notched thinning area of sheet 210 [0051]), and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be broken at the first groove to relieve the internal pressure of the battery cell when the internal pressure or temperature reaches a threshold value (Zhang, explosion-proof valve sheet 210 is provided with a notched thinning area so that the high-pressure gas inside the battery cell 200 can flush it open [0051]), and the shielding portion completely covers the first groove (Zhang, protective plate 410 is arranged above the explosion-proof valve plate 210 to provide protection for it [0045], Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the shielding portion (Zhang, protrusion 412) protrudes outward from the body portion (Zhang, plate body 411) in a direction perpendicular to the first wall (Zhang [0047], Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses a groove is provided on a surface of the weak portion (Zhang, a notched thinning area is provided on the inner surface of the protection plate facing the explosion-proof valve plate [0018, 0046-0047]). Modified Zhang does not disclose “the weak portion has an acute angle or an obtuse angle relative to the shielding portion.” However, this limitation is taught by Nogami.
Nogami teaches a thin inclined part 33 between a flange part 31 and top part 32, wherein the thin inclined part fractures due to high internal pressure of a battery ([0027-0029]). Nogami teaches in order to ensure sufficient tensile stress acts on the thin inclined part 33 to create the fracture, it is important for an angle θ formed by the flange part and the inclined part be between 90º and 135º ([0027], Annotated Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the weak portion be inclined to the flange part between 90º and 135º, as taught by Nogami, in the protective member of modified Zhang, in order to ensure sufficient tensile stress acts on the thin inclined part (groove) to create a fracture.
Examiner notes this structure places the groove on an inclined portion of the protective member, with an acute angle between outer surfaces of the weak portion and shielding portion (see angle “β” in Annotated Fig. 2) and an obtuse angle between the inner surfaces of the weak portion and shielding portion (see “λ” in Annotated Fig. 2), thus meeting the limitation “the weak portion has an acute angle or an obtuse angle relative to the shielding portion.”
Nogami – Annotated Fig. 2
Claims 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Asahina et al., US 20090155672 A1 (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang does not teach the shielding portion compresses the protective film. However, this is taught by Asahina.
Asahina teaches a battery protective element (sealing portion 11A) is pressed to a surface of a protrusion (11A1 is pressed to sealed surface 33A [0048]) by a shielding portion (pressing portion 212T of holding member 212 [0047-0048], Annotated Fig. 4B). Asahina teaches by adjusting the amount of compression provided by the shielding portion, the amount of gas pressure required to separate the protective element from the protrusion can be customized (see pressing force and valve opening pressures [0050-0054]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the shielding portion compress the protective film, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, as Asahina teaches this configuration allows for a customizable gas venting pressure for the battery.
Asahina – Annotated Fig. 4B
Regarding Claim 15, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses a second groove is provided in a surface of one side of the protective member, close to the first wall, and the weak portion is a bottom wall of the second groove. (Zhang, inner surface of protective plate 410 facing the explosion-proof valve plate 210 can be provided with a notched thinning area [0046], Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses the second groove is an annular groove surrounding the shielding portion (Zhang, notched thinning area shown in Fig. 6 is consistent with an annular cross-section; Annotated Zhang Fig. 2 shows shielding portion 412 as circular):
Zhang – Annotated Fig. 2
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Newman et al., US 20190006776 A1.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang does not disclose the battery cell “includes a plurality of through open holes between the body portion and the shielding portion, the weak portion comprises a plurality of weak subareas, and the plurality of weak subareas and the plurality of open holes are alternately and circumferentially arranged in the shielding portion.” However, these limitations are taught by Newman et al.
Newman teaches a battery cell cap comprising a plurality of through open holes (vent spaces 214 [0042]) between a body portion (base ring 204 [0041]) and a shielding portion (disk 208 [0042]). Newman teaches a weak portion (legs 212 [0042-0045], Figs. 2-5) comprises a plurality of weak subareas (controlled cross-sectional area 216 [0043]), and the plurality of weak subareas (216) and the plurality of open holes (214) are alternately and circumferentially arranged in the shielding portion (see Figs. 2A-D). Newman teaches the through open holes (214) provide an open gas vent path for the battery, and the weak subareas (216) ensure a specific failure point for the battery cap ([0039, 0043-0044]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a plurality of through open holes, and weak subareas, as taught by Newman, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, in order to have additional vent paths for the battery gas and ensure a specific failure point for the battery cap.
Modified Zhang does not disclose “the thickness of the weak subarea is less than or equal to that of the shielding portion.” However, this limitation is also taught by Nogami.
Nogami teaches the thickness of a weak subarea (shown by arrows on inclined part 33, Fig. 2) is less than that of the shielding portion (top part 32 [0026]). Nogami teaches when the thickness of the thin part is 30% to 50% relative to a thickness of the top part 32, high durability and stable gas discharge performance can be compatible with each other, as the thin part takes priority in fracturing when the internal pressure of the battery case exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0023, 0032]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the thickness of the weak subarea be less than or equal to that of the shielding portion, as taught by Nogami, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, in order to ensure the weak subarea takes priority in fracturing during a high pressure event.
Nogami – Fig. 2
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Suzuki et al., US 20100233520 A1.
Regarding Claims 17 and 18, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang does not disclose the limitations of Claims 17 and 18. However, Suzuki teaches these details.
Suzuki teaches a battery box (battery case 110 [0048], Fig. 1) comprising a casing with an accommodation cavity and an opening (walls 112-116 [0049]); and an end cover assembly comprising a cover plate (case upper wall 111 [0049-0050]) and an electrode terminal (positive terminal 161/negative terminal 163 [0050]), wherein the cover plate (111) covers the opening of the casing ([0050]), the electrode terminal is arranged on the cover plate ([0050]), and the first wall is the cover plate (Suzuki Fig. 1). Suzuki teaches an electrode assembly is accommodated in the accommodation cavity (electrode body housed in battery case 110 [0048-0050]). Suzuki teaches a battery box (110) comprising these features are compatible with and benefit from having a safety valve ([0010-0013]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have Zhang’s battery box further comprise a casing with an electrode assembly in an accommodation cavity, an end cover assembly covering an opening of the casing and having a cover plate and an electrode terminal, wherein the electrode terminal is arranged on the cover plate and the first wall is a cover plate, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, as Suzuki teaches these battery box components are appropriate for use in combination with a safety valve.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses a battery (Zhang, battery module [0044]), comprising a box (Zhang, shell 100 [0044]) and at least one battery cell, the battery cell being received in the box (Zhang, a plurality of battery cells 200 accommodated in shell 100 [0044]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses an electric device, configured to receive electrical energy provided by the battery (Zhang, battery module is used in a battery pack for a vehicle [0019-0020]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim, US 20050181272 A1.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Zhang discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhang discloses an inner groove is provided on a surface of the weak portion (Zhang, a notched thinning area is provided on the inner surface of the protection plate facing the explosion-proof valve plate [0018, 0046]). Modified Zhang does not disclose “the inner groove and an outer groove are respectively provided on two opposite surfaces of the weak portion, and the inner groove and the outer groove at least partially overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the weak portion.” However, these limitations are taught by Kim.
Kim teaches a battery safety vent on a battery wall, wherein the safety vent is ruptured due to battery pressure (inner notch 125 [0032, 0053-0056], Fig. 1C). Kim teaches the safety vent, which is an inner groove on an inner surface of a battery wall, can be improved by adding another groove on an outer surface corresponding to the inner groove (auxiliary notch 226 on an outer surface of inner notch 225 [0033, 0063-0065], Figs. 2A-D). Kim discloses the inner groove (inner notch 225) and outer groove (auxiliary notch 226) overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the weak portion (thin wall portion [0032], Figs. 2B-D), which allows the battery safety vent to open at a lower pressure, thereby
increasing the safety of the battery ([0032-0033, 0065]).
Kim – Fig. 2B (left) and Fig. 2D (right)
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add an outer groove opposite the inner groove, wherein the inner groove and outer groove at least partially overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the weak portion, as taught by Kim, in the weak portion of modified Zhang, in order for the weak portion to break at a low pressure.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., CN 210403875 U, and further in view of Kim et al., US 20140045009 A1, Nogami et al., US 20220021072 A1, Liu et al., CN 210429943 U, and Li et al., US 20140315050 A1.
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang discloses a battery cell (battery cell 200 [0043], Fig. 4), comprising:
a battery box (aluminum shell [0047]) comprising a first wall (top cover of battery cell [0047]) and a pressure relief mechanism (explosion-proof valve sheet 210 [0004, 0044], Figs. 3-4), wherein the pressure relief mechanism is arranged on the first wall (an explosion-proof valve sheet 210 is provided on the top of the battery cell 200 [0044, 0047]) and the pressure relief mechanism is actuated to relieve internal pressure of the battery cell when the internal pressure or temperature reaches a threshold
value ([0047, 0051]);
a protective member (protective plate 410 [0047], Figs. 1-6) positioned on an outer side of the first wall (arranged on an upper surface of battery cell 200 [0047]), and comprising a body portion (plate body 411 [0047]), a shielding portion (portion of protrusion 412, see Annotated Fig. 6), and a weak portion (notched thinning area [0018, 0046], Annotated Fig. 6), wherein the body portion is configured to be connected to the first wall ([0044-0047]), the shielding portion is configured to shield the pressure relief mechanism (protective plate is arranged above the explosion-proof valve plate 210 to provide protection for it [0045]), the weak portion is configured to connect the body portion to the shielding portion (see Annotated Fig. 6), and the weak portion is configured to be broken, disconnecting the body portion from the shielding portion, when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0045-0047]).
Zhang – Fig. 4 (left) and Annotated Fig. 6 (right)
Zhang also discloses the weak portion comprises two surfaces parallel to each other (Annotated Fig. 6), a groove is provided on one of the two surfaces of the weak portion (inner surface [0018, 0047], Annotated Fig. 6), and the groove comprises two side surfaces (Annotated Fig. 6):
Zhang – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding the shape of the claimed groove, Zhang discloses a bottom of the groove (apex of groove/where both side surfaces meet, Fig. 6) is “not coplanar with the two surfaces of the weak portion” (bottom portion of groove is between the two planes, see Fig. 6). Should Zhang’s groove not disclose “a bottom surface of the groove not coplanar with the two surfaces of the weak portion” with sufficient specificity, the limitation is taught by Kim.
Kim teaches a battery cap 140 comprising a groove which ruptures to vent high pressure battery gas (safety vent 144 [0045-0058] Figs. 2A-2C). Kim teaches the groove includes a bottom surface (first surface 144a [0058]) between two side surfaces (pair of second surfaces 144b and 144c [0058]), and the bottom surface is not coplanar with two surfaces of the battery cap (first surface 144a not coplanar with 141a or 141b in Fig. 2C). Kim teaches the rupture pressure of the battery cap can be controlled by adjusting the depth D1 of the safety vent, and/or the angle θ1 formed between the pair of second surfaces ([0054-0058]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the groove of Zhang comprise two side surfaces and a bottom surface between the two side surfaces, wherein the bottom surface is not coplanar with two surfaces of the weak portion, in the protective member of Zhang, as Kim teaches dimensions of a groove comprising two side surfaces and a bottom surface can be adjusted to control the battery rupture pressure.
Kim – Fig. 2C
Modified Zhang does not disclose “the weak portion has an acute angle or an obtuse angle relative to the shielding portion” as required by the claim. However, this limitation is taught by Nogami.
Nogami teaches a thin inclined part 33 between a flange part 31 and top part 32, wherein the thin inclined part fractures due to high internal pressure of a battery ([0027-0029]). Nogami teaches in order to ensure sufficient tensile stress acts on the thin inclined part 33 to create the fracture, it is important for an angle θ formed by the flange part and the inclined part be between 90º and 135º ([0027], Annotated Fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the weak portion be inclined to the flange part between 90º and 135º, as taught by Nogami, in the protective member of modified Zhang, in order to ensure sufficient tensile stress acts on the thin part (groove) to create a fracture.
Examiner notes this structure changes modified Zhang’s weak portion to an incline shape and places modified Zhang’s groove on the inclined portion of the protective member. This structure has an acute angle between outer surfaces of the weak portion and shielding portion (see angle “β” in Annotated Fig. 2) and an obtuse angle between the inner surfaces of the weak portion and shielding portion (see “λ” in Annotated Fig. 2), thus meeting the limitation “the weak portion has an acute angle or an obtuse angle relative to the shielding portion.”
Nogami – Annotated Fig. 2
Modified Zhang does not disclose how the body portion (411) of the protective member is connected to the first wall (top of 200). Therefore, modified Zhang does not disclose the Claim 23 limitations “a bonding member connecting the protective member to the first wall, wherein the bonding member arranged at a surface of the body portion facing the first wall but not at a surface of the shielding portion facing the first wall and a surface of the weak portion facing the first wall, and the body portion and the bonding member are stacked together in a thickness direction of the first wall.” However, these limitations are taught by Liu et al.
Liu teaches a bonding member connects a protective member to a first wall of a battery (sealing pad 5 adheres and connects metal connecting plate 4 of explosion-proof valve to battery box body 1, pg. 2-4, Figs. 1-3). Liu teaches the bonding member (5) is arranged at a surface of the body portion facing a first wall but not at a surface of the shielding portion facing the first wall and a surface of the weak portion facing the first wall (Annotated Fig. 1), and the body portion and the bonding member are stacked together in a thickness direction of the first wall (Annotated Fig. 1). Liu teaches the bonding member establishes a stable and reliable seal between the first wall and outer circumference of the protective member, and the bonding member also does not need any curing time during assembly (Abstract, pg. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to connect the body portion to the first wall with a bonding member, in the battery cell of modified Zhang, as Liu teaches a bonding member (sealing pad) can adhere a body portion of an explosion-proof valve to a battery wall in a reliable and stable manner.
Liu – Annotated Fig. 1
Although modified Zhang discloses a protective film (Zhang, protective sheet 220), modified Zhang does not disclose the following limitations required by Claim 23:
“a protrusion is placed at an outer surface of the first wall, and the shielding portion is positioned on one side of the protrusion, away from the pressure relief mechanism, in the direction perpendicular to the first wall,”
the protective film is “arranged on a surface, facing the shielding portion, of the protrusion and covering the pressure relief mechanism,” and
“the protective film is a polyethylene terephthalate patch and is configured to be broken under high temperature or high pressure.”
However, these limitations are taught by Li et al. Li teaches a battery vent comprising a protrusion (1211) placed at an outer surface of a battery first wall (an upper portion 1211 of the wall portion 121 is fixedly connected to a cap plate 2 [0047-0049]), with a protective film (13) arranged on a surface of the protrusion (vent protective sheet 13 is fixedly connected to the upper end surface 1213 of wall portion 121 [0050]). Li teaches the protective film covers a pressure relief mechanism and seals a vent hole ([0050-0051], Fig. 3; thus a “patch” as claimed), and is preferably made of a material that will not corrode when in contact with the battery electrolyte, such as polyethylene terephthalate ([0060]).
Li – Fig. 3
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the protective sheet of modified Zhang (Zhang, 220) with the polyethylene terephthalate protective sheet (13) and first wall protrusion (1211) of Li, in order to cover the pressure relief mechanism and seal vent hole, while also preventing corrosion from the electrolyte.
Addition of the protrusion to modified Zhang would establish a structure meeting the limitations “the shielding portion (Zhang, portion of protrusion 412 in Annotated Fig. 6) is positioned on one side of the protrusion (Li, upper portion 1211 of the wall portion 121), away from the pressure relief mechanism (Li, vent body 11 positioned on opposite side of wall portion 121), in the direction perpendicular to the first wall (shielding portion 412 is horizontal, wall portion 121 is vertical),” and the protective film (Li, 13) is arranged on a surface of the protrusion “facing the shielding portion” (upper end surface 1213 faces shielding portion 412).”
Regarding the limitation “configured to be broken under high temperature or high pressure,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since the structure of the prior art (Li, polyethylene terephthalate protective sheet 13) teaches all structural limitations of the claim (“the protective film is a polyethylene terephthalate patch”), the same is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitations.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., CN 210403875 U, and further in view of Liu et al., CN 210429943 U and Li et al., US 20140315050 A1.
Regarding Claim 25, Zhang discloses a battery cell (battery cell 200 [0043], Fig. 4), comprising:
a battery box (aluminum shell [0047]) comprising a first wall (top cover of battery cell [0047]) and a pressure relief mechanism (explosion-proof valve sheet 210 [0004, 0044], Figs. 3-4), wherein the pressure relief mechanism is arranged on the first wall (an explosion-proof valve sheet 210 is provided on the top of the battery cell 200 [0044, 0047]) and the pressure relief mechanism is actuated to relieve internal pressure of the battery cell when the internal pressure or temperature reaches a threshold value ([0047, 0051]);
a protective member (protective plate 410 of bracket 400 [0047], Figs. 1-6) positioned on an outer side of the first wall (arranged on an upper surface of battery cell 200 [0047]), and comprising a body portion (plate body 411 [0047]), a shielding portion (portion of protrusion 412, see Annotated Fig. 6), and a weak portion (notched thinning area on plate 410 [0018, 0046-0047], see Annotated Fig. 6), wherein the body portion is configured to be connected to the first wall (protective cover 300 attached to the top of the battery cells 200, and bracket 400 arranged between the protective cover 300 and the battery cells 200 [0044-0047]), the shielding portion is configured to shield the pressure relief mechanism (protective plate is arranged above the explosion-proof valve plate 210 to provide protection for it [0045]), the weak portion is configured to connect the body portion to the shielding portion (see Annotated Fig. 6), and the weak portion is configured to be broken, disconnecting the body portion from the shielding portion, when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated ([0045-0047]); and
a protective film (protective sheet 220 [0051]) facing the shielding portion and covering the pressure relief mechanism ([0051], see Fig. 4).
Zhang – Fig. 4 (left) and Annotated Fig. 6 (right)
Zhang does not disclose how the body portion (411) of the protective member is connected to the first wall (top of 200). Therefore, Zhang does not disclose the limitation “a bonding member connecting the protective member to the first wall, wherein the bonding member is gum arranged at a surface of the body portion facing the first wall but not at a surface of the shielding portion facing the first wall and a surface of the weak portion facing the first wall, and the body portion and the bonding member are stacked together in a thickness direction of the first wall.” However, these limitations are taught by Liu et al.
Liu teaches a gum bonding member connects a protective member to a first wall of a battery (gum sealing pad 5 adheres and connects metal connecting plate 4 of explosion-proof valve to battery box body 1, pg. 2-4, Figs. 1-3). Liu teaches the gum is arranged at a surface of the body portion facing a first wall but not at a surface of the shielding portion facing the first wall and a surface of the weak portion facing the first wall (Annotated Fig. 1), and the body portion and the bonding member are stacked together in a thickness direction of the first wall (Annotated Fig. 1). Liu teaches the gum bonding member establishes a stable and reliable seal between the first wall and outer circumference of the protective member, and the gum bonding member also does not need any curing time during assembly (Abstract, pg. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to connect the body portion to the first wall with gum, in the battery cell of Zhang, as Liu teaches gum can adhere a body portion of an explosion-proof valve to a battery wall in a reliable and stable manner.
Liu – Annotated Fig. 1
Modified Zhang does not disclose the first wall is “provided with a through hole and a reception groove, the through hole penetrates the first wall in the thickness direction of the first wall, the reception groove is recessed from an inner surface of the first wall and arranged around the through hole, a size of the reception groove is larger than a size of the through hole, and the pressure relief mechanism is at least partially accommodated in the reception groove and covers the through hole.” However, these limitations
are taught by Li et al.
Li teaches a battery vent comprising a first wall provided with a through hole (hollow portion 122 of vent body 12 [0047], Figs. 1-5) and a reception groove (recessed portion 123 [0052], Fig. 3), the through hole penetrates the first wall in the thickness direction of the first wall (see Annotated Fig. 3), the reception groove is recessed from an inner surface of the first wall and arranged around the through hole (the wall portion 121 of the vent body 12 is provided with a recessed portion 123 at a lower end surface 1214 [0052], Fig. 3), a size of the reception groove is larger than a size of the through hole (see Annotated Li Fig. 3; See 35 USC 112(b) Section for Examiner’s best understanding of this limitation), and a pressure relief mechanism is at least partially accommodated in the reception groove and covers the through hole (vent body 11 is fixedly connected in the recessed portion 123 [0052], Figs. 1-5). Li teaches the reception groove (123) improves the sealing reliability between the pressure relief mechanism (11) and the first wall (12 [0052]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a through hole and reception groove to the first wall of modified Zhang, with the pressure relief mechanism at least partially accommodated in the reception groove, as Li teaches this configuration improves sealing reliability between a pressure relief mechanism and a first wall.
Li – Annotated Fig. 3
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721