DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 06/29/2026, in which claims 1, 12 were amended, claims 8 and 17 were cancelled, has been entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification fails to provide antecedent basis for the claimed term “first dielectric layer” and “second dielectric layer”.
Paragraph [0033] of the specification defines a first dielectric layer as element 202 and paragraph [0046] of the specification defines “a fifth dielectric layer 704”, “a seventh dielectric layer 904.” However, claims 1 and 7 appears to define a first dielectric layer as layer 904 and a second dielectric layer as layer 704. Claim 16 further appears to define a first dielectric layer as element 302.
Per MPEP 608.01 (o), “[t]he meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be apparent from the descriptive portion of the specification with clear disclosure as to its import; and in mechanical cases, it should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies” and “[t]he use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Pub. 20150270308) in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. 20190057994), Wang et al. (US Pub. 20080191296), Tu (US Pub. 20160343765).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Choi discloses in Fig. 1 a semiconductor device, comprising:
a polysilicon structure [110] over a memory unit [126] disposed in a substrate [102A][paragraph [0039]-[0041]];
one or more dielectric layers [130, 140, 142, 150, 152, 154] over a photodiode [120] in the substrate [102A][paragraph [0042]-[0045]];
a radiation channeling structure [172] extending through the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154], wherein the radiation channeling structure [172] overlies the photodiode [120][paragraph [0046]];
a lens layer [180, 182 and 184] comprising one or more color filter layers [182] over the radiation channeling structure [172][paragraph [0047]];
a lens [186] overlying the radiation channeling structure [172], wherein:
the radiation channeling structure [172] comprises: a body [172].
Choi fails to disclose
a protective layer over the substrate and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure;
an etch stop layer over the protective layer and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure;
one or more dielectric layers over the etch stop layer and over the photodiode;
the radiation channeling structure overlies the photodiode, overlies the protective layer, and overlies the etch stop layer.
Huang et al. discloses in Fig. 3
a protective layer [306 and/or 308] over the substrate [110] and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure [130][paragraph [0031]-[0033]];
an etch stop layer [310] over the protective layer [306 and/or 308] and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure [130][paragraph [0031]-[0033]];
one or more dielectric layers [318a-318c and 320a-320c] over the etch stop layer [310] and over the photodiode [104][paragraph [0033]];
the radiation channeling structure [102] overlies the photodiode [104], overlies the protective layer [306 and/or 308], and overlies the etch stop layer [310].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the method of Choi to include a protective layer over the substrate and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure; an etch stop layer over the protective layer and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure; one or more dielectric layers over the etch stop layer and over the photodiode; the radiation channeling structure overlies the photodiode, overlies the protective layer, and overlies the etch stop layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of separating the ILD structure from the substrate and protecting the substrate, the polysilicon structure during subsequence processes [paragraph [0033] of Huang et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Choi fails to disclose
a bottom surface of the radiation channeling structure is defined by a first tapered sidewall having a first linear slope and a second tapered sidewall having a second linear slope;
the second linear slope is opposite in polarity to the first linear slope; and
the first linear slope extends toward a top surface of the radiation channeling structure from an edge of the body toward a middle of the body.
Huang et al. discloses in Fig. 2C, paragraph [0015], [0019], [0024], [0026]
a bottom surface [222] of the radiation channeling structure [102] is defined by a first tapered sidewall having a first linear slope and a second tapered sidewall having a second linear slope;
the second linear slope is opposite in polarity to the first linear slope; and
the first linear slope extends toward a top surface of the radiation channeling structure [102] from an edge of the body toward a middle of the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the method of Choi to include a bottom surface of the radiation channeling structure is defined by a first tapered sidewall having a first linear slope and a second tapered sidewall having a second linear slope; the second linear slope is opposite in polarity to the first linear slope; and the first linear slope extends toward a top surface of the radiation channeling structure from an edge of the body toward a middle of the body. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of reflecting incident radiation towards a focal point that is within or above the photodetector, and thereby prevents the incident radiation from reflecting to adjacent photodetectors to provide for a high quantum efficiency and low crosstalk [paragraph [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0026], [0074], [0077] of Huang et al.].
Choi fails to disclose
wherein: the radiation channeling structure comprises:
a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer separated from the body by the first dielectric layer, and a third dielectric layer separated from the first dielectric layer by the second dielectric layer;
the first dielectric layer is between the one or more dielectric layers and the body;
the lens layer is in direct contact with the first dielectric layer and the body;
the first dielectric layer, the second dielectric layer, and the third dielectric layer are disposed above an uppermost surface of an uppermost one of the one or more dielectric layers;
the body has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the first dielectric layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0021]-[0022]
wherein: the radiation channeling structure comprises:
multi-film structure [150a] comprising a first dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] and lower dielectric layer(s) [lower layers of multi-film structure 150a];
the first dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] is between the one or more dielectric layers [140] and the body [150];
the lens layer [160 and 170] is in direct contact with the first dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] and the body [150];
the first dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] and the lower dielectric layer(s) [lower layers of multi-film structure 150a] are disposed above an uppermost surface of an uppermost one of the one or more dielectric layers [140];
the body [150] has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the first dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a][paragraph [0022], “the filled dielectric material in the lined trench has a refractive index higher than that of the lining layer 150a”].
Tu discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0029]-[0031]
wherein: the radiation channeling structure comprises:
a first dielectric layer [310 or 320], a second dielectric layer [330] separated from the body [200] by the first dielectric layer [310 or 320], and a third dielectric layer [340] separated from the first dielectric layer [310 or 320] by the second dielectric layer [330];
the first dielectric layer [310 or 320] is between the one or more dielectric layers [350] and the body [200];
the body [200] has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the first dielectric layer [310 or 320].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Tu into the method of Choi to include wherein: the radiation channeling structure comprises: a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer separated from the body by the first dielectric layer, and a third dielectric layer separated from the first dielectric layer by the second dielectric layer; the first dielectric layer is between the one or more dielectric layers and the body; the lens layer is in direct contact with the first dielectric layer and the body; the first dielectric layer, the second dielectric layer, and the third dielectric layer are disposed above an uppermost surface of an uppermost one of the one or more dielectric layers; the body has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of the first dielectric layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of providing additional protection layer to reduce light cross-talk reduction and reducing the loss of light and achieving high photosensitivity; providing a sealing effect for eliminating moisture and other contamination from MLI, and/or a reflection function to control imaging light toward the sensor element for higher imaging efficiency and less interference with other functional units such as other sensor elements in the semiconductor device [paragraph [0022] of Wang et al. and paragraph [0027], [0029] of Tu].
Regarding claims 2-3, 6, Choi discloses in Fig. 1
wherein: a first portion [bottom portion] of the radiation channeling structure [172] is a first distance from the photodiode [120];
a second portion [top portion] of the radiation channeling structure [172] is a second distance from the photodiode [120];
the first distance is less than the second distance; and
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has the first tapered sidewall with which a first tapered sidewall of a dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154] is aligned;
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has the second tapered sidewall with which a second tapered sidewall of the dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154] is aligned;
wherein: a width of an uppermost portion of the radiation channeling structure [170] is larger than a width of a lowermost portion of the radiation channeling structure.
Huang et al. also discloses in Fig. 10, paragraph [0047]-[0049]
the first portion [bottom portion] of the radiation channeling structure [102] has the first tapered sidewall with which a first tapered sidewall of a dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers [316 and 602] is aligned;
wherein: the first portion [bottom portion] of the radiation channeling structure [130] has the second tapered sidewall with which a second tapered sidewall of the dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers [316 and 602] is aligned;
wherein: a width of an uppermost portion of the radiation channeling structure [102] is larger than a width of a lowermost portion of the radiation channeling structure [102].
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses in Fig. 1
wherein a width of the photodiode [120] is greater than a maximum width of the radiation channeling structure [172].
In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a width of the photodiode with respect to a maximum width of the radiation channeling structure: a width of the photodiode is greater than/less than or equal to a maximum width of the radiation channeling structure. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try a width of the photodiode is greater than a maximum width of the radiation channeling structure to yield suitable width of the photodiode.
Regarding claims 9-11, Choi discloses in Fig. 1,
wherein: the one or more dielectric layers comprise a passivation layer [142] and an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer [150, 152, 154];
a fourth dielectric layer [130] between the substrate [102A] and the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154], wherein the bottom surface of the radiation channeling structure [172] is over the fourth dielectric layer [130];
wherein: the fourth dielectric layer [130] comprises an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer.
Note, “passivation”, “inter-metal” or “interlayer” directs to intended purposes of a dielectric layer. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further, per MPEP 2131: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 4
the second dielectric layer [a lower layer of multilayer 150a] is separated from the lens layer [160 and 170] by the first dielectric layer [an uppermost layer of multilayer 150a].
Consequently, the combination of Choi, Tu and Wang et al. discloses limitation of claim 21.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Pub. 20150270308) in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. 20190057994), Wang et al. (US Pub. 20080191296), Tu (US Pub. 20160343765) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Iida et al. (US Pub. 20110156186).
Regarding claim 7, Choi fails to disclose
wherein: the first dielectric layer is a first oxide layer.
the third dielectric layer is a second oxide layer;
the second dielectric layer is a nitride layer
Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0022]
the multi-film structure 150a may include nitrogen-containing materials, such as silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride.
Tu discloses in paragraph [0030]
wherein: the first dielectric layer [310] is a first oxide layer.
the third dielectric layer [340] is a second oxide layer.
Iida et al. discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 15, paragraph [0059], [0061]
the first dielectric layer [166] is a first oxide layer.
the third second dielectric layer [164] is a second oxide layer.
the second dielectric layer [162] is a nitride layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al., Tu and Iida into the method of Choi to include wherein: the first dielectric layer is a first oxide layer; the third dielectric layer is a second oxide layer; the second dielectric layer is a nitride layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of the first, second and third dielectric layers to provide a highly-sensitive solid-state imaging device that has less optical crosstalk and less electrical crosstalk.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Pub. 20150270308) in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. 20190057994) and Wang et al. (US Pub. 20080191296).
Regarding claims 12-15, Choi discloses in Fig. 1 a semiconductor device, comprising:
a polysilicon structure [110] over a memory unit [126] disposed in a substrate [102A][paragraph [0039]-[0041]];
one or more dielectric layers [130, 140, 142, 150, 152, 154] over a photodiode [20] in the substrate [102A][paragraph [0042]-[0045]];
a radiation channeling structure [172] extending through the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154], wherein:
the radiation channeling structure [172] overlies the photodiode [20][paragraph [0046]];
the radiation channeling structure [172] comprise a body;
the body [172] has a refractive index higher than a refractive index of a material [silicon oxide 130] disposed between the photodiode [120] and the body [172][paragraph [0056], [0073], “The light transmitting material layer may have a higher refractive index than … the silicon oxide-based materials”];
a lens layer [180, 182 and 184] comprising one or more color filter layers [182] over the radiation channeling structure [172][paragraph [0047]];
a lens [186] overlying the radiation channeling structure [172], wherein
a first portion [bottom portion] of the radiation channeling structure [172] is a first distance from the photodiode [120];
a second portion [top portion] of the radiation channeling structure [172] is a second distance from the photodiode [120];
the first distance is less than the second distance;
the first portion [bottom portion] of the radiation channeling structure has the first tapered sidewall with which a first tapered sidewall of a first dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154] is aligned;
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a second tapered sidewall with which a second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer (of the one or more dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154]) is aligned;
wherein: the first tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a first slope;
the second tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a second slope;
the second slope is opposite in polarity relative to the first slope.
Choi fails to disclose
a protective layer over the substrate and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure;
an etch stop layer over the protective layer and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure;
one or more dielectric layers over the etch stop layer and over the photodiode;
the radiation channeling structure overlies the photodiode, overlies the protective layer, and overlies the etch stop layer.
Huang et al. discloses in Fig. 3
a protective layer [306 and/or 308] over the substrate [110] and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure [130][paragraph [0031]-[0033]];
an etch stop layer [310] over the protective layer [306 and/or 308] and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure [130][paragraph [0031]-[0033]];
one or more dielectric layers [318a-318c and 320a-320c] over the etch stop layer [310] and over the photodiode [104][paragraph [0033]];
the radiation channeling structure [102] overlies the photodiode [104], overlies the protective layer [306 and/or 308], and overlies the etch stop layer [310].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the method of Choi to include a protective layer over the substrate and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure; an etch stop layer over the protective layer and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure; one or more dielectric layers over the etch stop layer and over the photodiode; the radiation channeling structure overlies the photodiode, overlies the protective layer, and overlies the etch stop layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of separating the ILD structure from the substrate and protecting the substrate, the polysilicon structure during subsequence processes [paragraph [0033] of Huang et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Choi fails to disclose
a vertical thickness of the body at a center of the body is less than a vertical thickness of the body adjacent an edge of the body;
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a third tapered sidewall with which a third tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer is aligned; and
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a fourth tapered sidewall with which a fourth tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer is aligned;
the third tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a third slope;
the fourth tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a fourth slope;
the third slope is opposite in polarity relative to the fourth slope.
Huang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2C, Fig. 2D, Fig. 3, Fig. 10, paragraph [0015], [0019], [0024], [0026]
a vertical thickness of the body at a center of the body is less than a vertical thickness of the body adjacent an edge of the body;
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure [102] has a third tapered sidewall with which a third tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer [316] is aligned; and
the first portion of the radiation channeling structure [102] has a fourth tapered sidewall with which a fourth tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer [316] is aligned;
the third tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure [120] has a third slope;
the fourth tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure [12] has a fourth slope;
the third slope is opposite in polarity relative to the fourth slope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the method of Choi to include a vertical thickness of the body at a center of the body is less than a vertical thickness of the body adjacent an edge of the body; the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a third tapered sidewall with which a third tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer is aligned; and the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a fourth tapered sidewall with which a fourth tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer is aligned; the third tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a third slope; the fourth tapered sidewall of the first portion of the radiation channeling structure has a fourth slope; the third slope is opposite in polarity relative to the fourth slope. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of reflecting incident radiation towards a focal point that is within or above the photodetector, and thereby prevents the incident radiation from reflecting to adjacent photodetectors to provide for a high quantum efficiency and low crosstalk [paragraph [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0026], [0074], [0077] of Huang et al.].
Choi fails to disclose
wherein: the radiation channeling structure comprises: a dielectric layer;
the dielectric layer is between the one or more dielectric layers and the body;
a top surface of the body is co-planar with a top surface of the dielectric layer; and
wherein the lens layer is separated from the one or more dielectric layers by the dielectric layer of the radiation channeling structure;
wherein the radiation channeling structure comprises: a second dielectric layer under the dielectric layer and separating the body from the one or more dielectric layers, wherein the second dielectric layer is spaced apart from the lens layer by the dielectric layer of the radiation channeling structure.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0021]-[0022]
wherein: the radiation channeling structure [150 and 150a] comprises: a dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a];
the dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] is between the one or more dielectric layers [140] and the body [150];
a top surface of the body [150] is co-planar with a top surface of the dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a][paragraph [0020]-[0022]]; and
wherein the lens layer [160 and 170] is separated from the one or more dielectric layers [140] by the dielectric layer [150a] of the radiation channeling structure [150 and 150a];
wherein the radiation channeling structure comprises: a second dielectric layer [lower layers of multi-film structure 150a] under the dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] and separating the body [150] from the one or more dielectric layers [140], wherein the second dielectric layer [lower layers of multi-film structure 150a] is spaced apart from the lens layer [160 and 170] by the dielectric layer [uppermost layer of multi-film structure 150a] of the radiation channeling structure [150 and 150a].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the method of Choi to include wherein: the radiation channeling structure comprises: a dielectric layer; the dielectric layer is between the one or more dielectric layers and the body; a top surface of the body is co-planar with a top surface of the dielectric layer; and wherein the lens layer is separated from the one or more dielectric layers by the dielectric layer of the radiation channeling structure; wherein the radiation channeling structure comprises: a second dielectric layer under the dielectric layer and separating the body from the one or more dielectric layers, wherein the second dielectric layer is spaced apart from the lens layer by the dielectric layer of the radiation channeling structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of providing a sealing effect for eliminating moisture and other contamination from MLI, and/or a reflection function to control imaging light toward the sensor element for higher imaging efficiency and less interference with other functional units such as other sensor elements in the semiconductor device [paragraph [0022] of Wang et al.].
Claims 16-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Pub. 20150270308) in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. 20190057994), Wang et al. (US Pub. 20080191296) and Iida et al. (US Pub. 20110156186).
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Choi discloses in Fig. 1-Fig. 8 a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a polysilicon structure [110] over a memory unit [126] disposed in a substrate [102A][paragraph [0039]-[0041]];
forming a plurality of dielectric layers [130, 140, 142, 150, 152, 154][paragraph [0042]-[0045]];
forming a trench [170] through one or more dielectric layers of the plurality of dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154], wherein
the trench [170] overlies a photodiode [120] in the substrate [102A];
forming a body [172], of a radiation channeling structure, in the trench [170], wherein a refractive index of the body [172] is higher than a refractive index of a material [silicon oxide 130] of a first dielectric layer [140 and 142][paragraph [0062], [0073], “The light transmitting material layer may have a higher refractive index than … the silicon oxide-based materials”. Besides, titanium oxide has a refractive index typically ranging from 2.4 to 2.9 which is higher than a refractive index from 1.9 to 2.1 of silicon nitride];
forming a lens layer [180, 182 and 184] comprising one or more color filter layers [182] over the radiation channeling structure [172][paragraph [0047]].
Choi fails to disclose
forming a protective layer over the substrate and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure;
forming an etch stop layer over the protective layer and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure;
forming the plurality of dielectric layers over the etch stop layer;
the trench overlies the etch stop layer, and overlies the protective layer.
Huang et al. discloses in Fig. 3
forming a protective layer [306 and/or 308] over the substrate [110] and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure [130][paragraph [0031]-[0033]];
forming an etch stop layer [310] over the protective layer [306 and/or 308] and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure [130][paragraph [0031]-[0033]];
forming the plurality of dielectric layers [312, 316, 318] over the etch stop layer [310][paragraph [0033]];
the trench [trench for forming 102] overlies the photodiode [104], overlies the protective layer [306 and/or 308], and overlies the etch stop layer [310].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the method of Choi to include forming a protective layer over the substrate and contacting a sidewall of the polysilicon structure; forming an etch stop layer over the protective layer and contacting the sidewall of the polysilicon structure; forming the plurality of dielectric layers over the etch stop layer; the trench overlies the etch stop layer, and overlies the protective layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of separating the ILD structure from the substrate and protecting the substrate, the polysilicon structure during subsequence processes [paragraph [0033] of Huang et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Choi fails to disclose
a bottom of the trench is defined by a first tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers and a second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer;
the first tapered sidewall and the second tapered sidewall slope upward toward a middle of the trench;
the first tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer has a first linear slope;
the second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer has a second linear slope; and
the second linear slope is opposite in polarity relative to the first linear slope.
Huang et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2C, Fig. 8, paragraph [0015], [0019], [0024], [0026]
a bottom of the trench [trench for forming structure 102, ie. trench 804] is defined by a first tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer [316] of the one or more dielectric layers [314, 316, and 318] and a second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer [316];
the first tapered sidewall and the second tapered sidewall slope upward toward a middle of the trench [ie., trench 804];
the first tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer has a first linear slope [Fig. 2];
the second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer has a second linear slope [Fig. 2]; and
the second linear slope is opposite in polarity relative to the first linear slope [Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Huang et al. into the method of Choi to include a bottom of the trench is defined by a first tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer of the one or more dielectric layers and a second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer; the first tapered sidewall and the second tapered sidewall slope upward toward a middle of the trench; the first tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer has a first linear slope; the second tapered sidewall of the first dielectric layer has a second linear slope; and the second linear slope is opposite in polarity relative to the first linear slope. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of reflecting incident radiation towards a focal point that is within or above the photodetector, and thereby prevents the incident radiation from reflecting to adjacent photodetectors to provide for a high quantum efficiency and low crosstalk [paragraph [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0026], [0074], [0077] of Huang et al.].
Choi fails to disclose
forming a plurality of layers, of a radiation channeling structure, in the trench,
wherein forming the plurality of layers comprises:
forming a first oxide layer;
forming a nitride layer over the first oxide layer; and
forming a second oxide layer covering the one or more dielectric layers;
forming the body, of the radiation channeling structure, in the trench over the second oxide layer; and
the lens layer is in direct contact with the second oxide layer and the body; and
the lens layer is separated from the one or more dielectric layers by the second oxide layer;
wherein sidewalls of the body are aligned with a surface of the second oxide layer.
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0021]-[0022]
forming a plurality of layers [multi-film structure [150a]], of a radiation channeling structure [150 and 150a], in the trench, wherein
forming an uppermost layer of the plurality of layers [multi-film structure [150a]] covering the one or more dielectric layers [140];
forming the body [150], of the radiation channeling structure, in the trench over the uppermost layer of the plurality of layers [multi-film structure [150a]]; and
the lens layer [160 and 170] is in direct contact with the uppermost layer of the plurality of layers [multi-film structure [150a]] and the body [150]; and
the lens layer [160 and 170] is separated from the one or more dielectric layers [140] by the uppermost layer of the plurality of layers [multi-film structure [150a]];
wherein sidewalls of the body [150] are aligned with a surface of the uppermost layer of the plurality of layers [multi-film structure [150a]].
Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0022]
the multi-film structure 150a may include nitrogen-containing materials, such as silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride.
Iida et al. discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 15, Fig. 17, paragraph [0059], [0061]
the uppermost layer of the plurality of layers [164, 162, 166] comprising a second oxide layer [166];
wherein forming the plurality of layers [164, 162, 166] comprises:
forming a first oxide layer [164];
forming a nitride layer [162] over the first oxide layer [164]; and
forming a second oxide layer [166].
The combination of Wang et al. and Iida et al. would result to “forming a second oxide layer covering the one or more dielectric layers; forming the body, of the radiation channeling structure, in the trench over the second oxide layer; the lens layer is in direct contact with the second oxide layer and the body; and the lens layer is separated from the one or more dielectric layers by the second oxide layer; wherein sidewalls of the body are aligned with a surface of the second oxide layer.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. and Iida into the method of Choi to include forming a plurality of layers, of a radiation channeling structure, in the trench, wherein forming the plurality of layers comprises: forming a first oxide layer; forming a nitride layer over the first oxide layer; and forming a second oxide layer covering the one or more dielectric layers; forming the body, of the radiation channeling structure, in the trench over the second oxide layer; and the lens layer is in direct contact with the second oxide layer and the body; and the lens layer is separated from the one or more dielectric layers by the second oxide layer; wherein sidewalls of the body are aligned with a surface of the second oxide layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of providing a sealing effect for eliminating moisture and other contamination from MLI, and/or a reflection function to control imaging light toward the sensor element for higher imaging efficiency and less interference with other functional units such as other sensor elements in the semiconductor device, and to provide a highly-sensitive solid-state imaging device that has less optical crosstalk and less electrical crosstalk [paragraph [0022] of Wang et al., paragraph [0061] of Iida].
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses in Fig. 1 and paragraph [0076]
forming a lens [186] over the plurality of dielectric layers [140, 142, 150, 152, 154] and the lens layer [180, 182, 184], wherein the lens [186] overlies the radiation channeling structure [172].
Regarding claim 22, Choi, Wang et al. and Iida fails to disclose
wherein forming the trench and forming the second oxide layer comprises forming the trench and forming the second oxide layer such that a vertical distance between a bottommost point of the first oxide layer nearest the photodiode and a top surface of the second oxide layer at an uppermost point of a bottom of the radiation channeling structure is between 500 and 4000 Angstroms.
However, Applicant has not provided any criticality of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to modify Choi, Wang et al. and Iida to provide the claimed range. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi, Wang et al. and Iida in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide the radiation channeling structure having desired dimension for its intended function. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Pub. 20150270308) in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. 20190057994), Wang et al. (US Pub. 20080191296) and Iida et al. (US Pub. 20110156186) in view of claim 16 above and further in view of Nozaki et al. (US Pub. 20050274874).
Regarding claim 20, Choi fails to disclose
wherein forming the polysilicon structure comprises forming the polysilicon structure such that a width of the polysilicon structure is greater than a width of the memory unit.
Choi discloses the polysilicon structure is a transfer gate and the memory unit is a floating diffusion node.
Nozaki et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, paragraph [0025]
forming the transfer gate such that a width of the transfer gate is greater than a width of the floating diffusion node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nozaki et al. into the method of Choi to include wherein forming the polysilicon structure comprises forming the polysilicon structure such that a width of the polysilicon structure is greater than a width of the memory unit. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Choi in the above manner for the purpose of effectively decreasing parasitic capacitance between transfer gate and floating node and providing higher sensitivity [paragraph [0025] of Nozaki et al.].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses similar materials, devices and methods.
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893