DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1, 2, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20, 21
Withdrawn claims:
None
Previously canceled claims:
3, 4, 10, 16
Newly canceled claims:
19
Amended claims:
1, 2, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21
New claims:
None
Claims currently under consideration:
1, 2, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20, 21
Currently rejected claims:
1, 2, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20, 21
Allowed claims:
None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “wherein the oil content in the pomace is no greater than 5.70%” does not have support in the original disclosure. Tables 3 and 4 in the specification show the resulting oil content in pomace following treatment. Although experiment 4 of Example 3 had an oil content of 5.70%, there are no experiments that result in a lower oil content. Thus, there is no support in the original disclosure for an oil content in a pomace of no greater than 5.70%.
Claims 2, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 are rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackisch et al. (DE 10339010A) in view of Schroder et al. (US PGPub 2003/0017575 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jackisch teaches a process for producing olive oil (process for olive oil extraction, [0009]) comprising adding an enzyme composition to an olive paste (providing a mass of olives then adding an enzyme mixture, [0030]) and incubating the obtained mixture (mixture is incubated, [0030]), wherein the enzyme composition comprises a polygalacturonase, a pectin methyl esterase, a pectin lyase, an arabinofuranosidase, a cellulase, a xylanase (examples of enzymes used in the invention include polygalacturonase [0013] and [0017], pectin esterase (which is understood to be the same as pectin methyl esterase) [0013], pectin lyase [0022], arabinosidases (which is understood to be the same as arabinofuranosidase) [0037], cellulase [0021], and xylanase, [0023]). Jackisch also teaches wherein the enzyme composition is added after the crushing (providing an olive mass, then adding an enzyme mixture and mixing the olive mass and enzyme mixture [0030], wherein the mass of olives is usually pre-crushed, [0031]). Jackisch also teaches after incubation with enzymes, performing solid/liquid separation (i.e., separating oil from a pomace) using a decanter (i.e., subjecting the mixture to decantation; [0106]). Jackisch also teaches the oil content remaining in the dry mass after processing with enzyme treatment was 0.50% ([0106], Table, col. 3, row 5; see attached translation), which falls within the claimed range of “no greater than 5.70%”.
Although Jackisch teaches adding the enzyme after crushing, MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C) states “Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.” In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). Therefore, absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to add the enzymes during the crushing of the olive component rather than after the crushing has occurred.
Jackisch does not teach a second enzyme composition comprising a rhamnogalacturonase and a mannanase.
Regarding the enzyme composition comprising a rhamnogalacturonase and a mannanase, Schroder teaches a rhamnogalacturonase, and a mannanase (invention can further comprise enzymes such as a rhamnogalacturonase or a mannanase [0211] where the present invention can be used to improve the extraction of oil from plant material, such as olive oil from olives [0234]). Additionally, Schroder teaches the same enzymes as taught by Jackisch (invention may further comprise one or more of polygalacturonase, pectin methyl esterase, pectin lyase, arabinanases (which is understood to be the same as arabinofuranosidase), cellulase, and xylanase, [0211]) in combination with the rhamnogalacturonase and mannanase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the enzymes taught by Jackisch with the additional enzymes taught by Schroder. Schroder teaches that rhamnogalacturonase and mannanase, along with many other enzymes that are also used by Jackisch, can be used to improve the extraction of olive oil from olives. It is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions when each of which is taught in the art to be useful for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06.
Although the cited prior art does not teach adding the enzymes in a first enzyme composition and a second enzyme composition separately, MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C) states “Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.” In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). Furthermore, because both the first and second enzyme mixture are added during the same processing step, it logically follows that the first enzyme composition and second enzyme composition are intermediate products that do not result in a patentably different process compared to the cited prior art.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Jackisch also teaches wherein the enzyme composition further comprises a beta-glucanase (enzyme mixture further contains β-1,3-glucanase, [0020]). Although Jackisch does not teach adding beta-glucanase to the first enzyme mixture (claim 2) or the second enzyme mixture (claim 17), MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C) states “Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.” In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). Thus, there would not be a patentable difference between a process adding beta-glucanase in the first enzyme mixture vs. a process where beta-glucanase is added in a second enzyme mixture.
Regarding claim 6, Jackisch also teaches wherein the olive paste is made from an olive having a maturity index of 2 or 3 (Example 2 uses olives in the 3rd stage of maturity, [0098]).
Regarding claim 7 Jackisch also teaches wherein the process further comprises subjecting the obtained mixture to malaxation. While Jackisch does not explicitly teach malaxation in the steps of the embodiment laid out in [0030], Jackisch does teach that it is known in the art to subject the olive paste to maceration, which is understood to be a synonym for malaxation, in order to further break down the olive paste ([0003]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of producing olive oil as taught by Jackisch by adding the step of maceration after the incubation step in the inventive process as described in [0030]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because, as taught by Jackisch to be known in the art, further maceration of the olive paste and enzyme composition would further break down the crushed olives, which would then increase the yield of olive oil.
Regarding claim 8, Jackisch also teaches wherein the process further comprises a solid-liquid separation after malaxation (after maceration, liquid is extracted by pressure and/or centrifugal force, [0003]; separation of oil phase from olive mass, step e, [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Jackisch also teaches wherein the solid-liquid separation is performed by at least one of application of pressure, a percolation, and/or a centrifugation technique, or combinations thereof (after maceration, liquid is extracted by pressure and/or centrifugal force, [0003]; examples include centrifugation of olive mass and enzyme mixture, [0083], [0094], [0097], [0098], [0100], [0106], [109]).
Regarding claim 11, Jackisch also teaches wherein the obtained mixture is incubated for 10 to 200 minutes at a temperature ranging from 5[Symbol font/0xB0]C to 70[Symbol font/0xB0]C (incubation time preferably 30 to 90 minutes and incubation temperature between 20 and 50[Symbol font/0xB0]C, [0034], where “30 to 90 minutes” falls within the claimed range “10 to 200 minutes” and where “between 20 and 50[Symbol font/0xB0]C” falls within the claimed range “from 5[Symbol font/0xB0]C to 70[Symbol font/0xB0]C.”).
Regarding claim 13, Jackisch also teaches wherein the enzyme composition is liquid (enzyme can be liquid, [0032]).
Claim 14 is a product-by-process claim. MPEP §2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.”
Claim 14 recites the method steps of an olive paste being formed by separately adding a first and second enzyme composition during crushing of olives. The structure imparted by the process of claim 14 is an olive paste comprising polygalacturonase, a pectin methyl esterase, a pectin lyase, a arabinofuranosidase, a cellulase, a xylanase, rhamnogalacturonase, and a mannanase. Although claim 14 recites that the enzymes are added in two separate enzyme compositions, adding the enzymes separately during process would not result in a patentably distinct product.
Regarding claim 14, Jackisch teaches an olive paste (a mass in which the olives have been crushed, [0011], if the olives are crushed, it would necessarily follow that the olive mass is a paste), a polygalacturonase, a pectin methyl esterase, a pectin lyase, an arabinofuranosidase, a cellulase, a xylanase (examples of enzymes used in the invention include polygalacturonase [0013] and [0017], pectin esterase (which is understood to be the same as pectin methyl esterase) [0013], pectin lyase [0022], arabinosidases (which is understood to be the same as arabinofuranosidase) [0037], cellulase [0021], and xylanase, [0023]).
Jackisch does not teach an enzyme comprising a rhamnogalacturonase and a mannanase or wherein the enzyme composition is added in an amount ranging from 100 ppm to 300 ppm.
Regarding the enzyme composition comprising a rhamnogalacturonase and a mannanase, Schroder teaches a rhamnogalacturonase, and a mannanase (invention can further comprise enzymes such as a rhamnogalacturonase or a mannanase [0211] where the present invention can be used to improve the extraction of oil from plant material, such as olive oil from olives [0234]). Additionally, Schroder teaches the same enzymes as taught by Jackisch (invention may further comprise one or more of polygalacturonase, pectin methyl esterase, pectin lyase, arabinanases (which is understood to be the same as arabinofuranosidase), cellulase, and xylanase, [0211]) in combination with the rhamnogalacturonase and mannanase.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the enzymes taught by Jackisch with the additional enzymes taught by Schroder. Schroder teaches that rhamnogalacturonase and mannanase, along with many other enzymes that are also used by Jackisch, can be used to improve the extraction of olive oil from olives. It is prima facie obvious to combine two or more compositions when each of which is taught in the art to be useful for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06.
Regarding claim 15, Jackisch also teaches wherein the enzyme further comprises a beta-glucanase (enzyme mixture further contains β-1,3-glucanase, [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, Jackisch also teaches that following decantation, the residual oil content of the deoiled olive mass (i.e., pomace) was measured to determine yield ([0100]).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackisch et al. (DE 10339010A) in view of Schroder et al. (US 2003/0017575 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Catania et al. (“An oxygen monitoring and control system inside a malaxation machine to improve extra virgin olive oil quality”, 2013).
Regarding claim 5, Jackisch modified by Schroder does not teach wherein the olive paste is made from an olive having a maturity index of 0 or 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Catania teaches wherein the olive paste is made from an olive having a maturity index of 0 or 1 (maturity index of olives varying from 0 to 7, section 2.3, paragraph 2, where “0 to 7” overlaps with the claimed range of “0 or 1”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process for making olive oil as taught by Jackisch by substituting the olives to make the olive mass in Jackisch with the olives with a maturity index from 0 to 7 as taught by Catania. The claim would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make this simple substitution of one known element for another and yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP §2143(B).
With respect to the above overlapping numerical ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Catania because selection of overlapping ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, Jackisch modified by Schroder does not teach wherein the obtained mixture is incubated in a container having a volume ranging from 0.5 m3 to 5000 m3.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Catania teaches wherein the obtained mixture is incubated in a container having a volume ranging from 0.5 m3 to 5000 m3 (malaxer capacity of 500L, or 0.5 m3, page 3, col. 1, paragraph 2, where “500L”, or 0.5 m3, falls within the claimed range of “0.5 m3 to 5000 m3”). Although Catania does not teach incubating in the malaxer, Jackisch teaches that the olive paste is incubated with horizontal stirring for additional maceration ([0003]), which is understood in the art to be how a malaxer functions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the malaxer having capacity of 500L of Catania in the process for making olive oil as taught by Jackisch modified by Schroder. The claim would have been obvious because the claimed elements were known in the art prior to the effective filing date and one skilled in the art could have combined the known methods with no change to their respective function, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the malaxer of modified Jackisch as the incubation container for the incubation step of the invention taught in Jackisch in [0030] because Jackisch teaches that it is known in the art for incubation to occur with horizontal stirring for additional maceration [0003]. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious, see MPEP §2143(D).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackisch et al. (DE 10339010A) in view of Schroder et al. (US PGPub 2003/0017575 A1) and Sharma et al. (“Improving the olive oil yield and quality through enzyme-assisted mechanical extraction, antioxidants, and packaging”, 2013).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Jackisch and Schroder do not teach wherein the first enzyme composition is added to the olive paste in an amount ranging from 100 to 300 ppm (claim 20) or wherein the second enzyme composition is added to the olive paste in an amount ranging from 100 to 300 ppm (claim 21).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sharma teaches wherein the enzyme is added in an amount ranging from 100 to 300 ppm (in experiments, enzymes were applied at a rate of 0.01 and 0.03 (or 100 ppm and 300 ppm, respectively), page 158 col. 2, paragraph “Extraction and Storage of Oil”, where “0.01 and 0.03” both fall within the claimed range of “each added… from 100 to 300 ppm.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of producing olive oil taught by Jackisch modified by Schroder to use the enzyme amounts taught by Sharma. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Sharma teaches that addition of enzymes at the rates provided resulted in a higher oil yield than the control that did not have an enzyme treatment (p. 160, Table 1).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 1-2, 6-9, 11, 13-15, 18, and 20-21 over Jackisch, Schroder, and Sharma: Applicant’s arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s assertion that claim 18 was not specifically listed in either rejection in the Office Action, Applicant is directed to p. 8, ¶ 31 of the Final Rejection mailed November 14, 2025 for the rejection of claim 18.
Applicant argued that the prior art fails to teach all limitations of claim 1 as amended. Applicant further argued that the Office’s reliance on MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C) is misplaced. Applicant states that adding a first and second enzyme composition of claim 1 is fundamentally different from adding an enzyme to already crushed olive paste (Remarks, p. 6, ¶ 4- p. 7, ¶ 1).
This argument has been considered. However, the Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to add the enzyme during the crushing step of Jackisch because MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C) states “See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results)”. At present, the Applicant has failed to provide any evidence to support the assertion that new or unexpected results occur by adding the enzymes to the olives during crushing instead of adding after the crushing has been performed. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 regarding when the enzymes are added is maintained.
Applicant further argued that the cited prior art does not teach or suggest the requirement of adding the first and second enzyme compositions separately during crushing (Remarks, p. 7, ¶ 2- p. 8, ¶ 1).
This argument has been considered. However, as stated above in the rejection of claim 1, the Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to add the two enzyme compositions separately. MPEP §2144.04(IV)(C) states “See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results)”. Additionally, because both the first and second enzyme mixture are added during the same processing step, it logically follows that the first enzyme composition and second enzyme composition are intermediate products that do not result in a patentably different process compared to the cited prior art. A showing of unexpected results by the Applicant would be required to demonstrate that adding the enzymes as a first and second enzyme composition result in a different process.
Applicant also argued that claim 1 now requires the oil content of the pomace after decantation, and that this limitation specifies a particular outcome that is not taught by the prior art. Applicant argued that Jackisch is directed to two extraction treatments, whereas the present claim 1 is a single-pass extraction. Applicant then states that the Office has not provided any evidence that the cited prior art would achieve an oil content of no greater than 5.70% (Remarks, p. 8, ¶ 2- p. 9, ¶ 1).
This argument has been considered. However, claim 1 currently uses the transition phrase “comprising”. MPEP §2111.03(I) states “The transitional term ‘comprising’, which is synonymous with ‘including,’ ‘containing,’ or ‘characterized by,’ is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.” Although claim 1 only recites a single extraction step, presence of the word “comprising” renders the claim open to additional method steps not recited. Because claim 1 does not preclude a second extraction step from being performed, Jackisch is sufficient to teach the claimed oil content of the pomace.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that the Office has not provided evidence that the prior art would achieve an oil content of no greater than 5.70%, MPEP §2145 states “If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (en banc).” Furthermore, MPEP §716.02(B)(I) states “Burden on Applicant to establish results are unexpected and significant” and “The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992)”. Thus, the burden of establishing unexpected results is presently on the Applicant.
Applicant further argued unexpected synergistic results from the claimed process (Remarks, p. 9, ¶ 3).
This argument has been considered. However, MPEP §716.02(d) states that “Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980)” and “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).” The data provided by the Applicant does not provide a sufficient of number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range. Additionally, the units for yield increase provided in the Remarks filed 02/10/2026 and Tables 1 and 2 of the instant specification are given at minus and plus signs. However, the instant specification provides no information regarding what the minus and plus signs correspond to. Thus, the data provided is arbitrary, and insufficient to show unexpected results.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 5 and 12 over Jackisch, Schroder, Sharma, and Catania: Applicant’s arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the combination of prior art failed to teach or suggest all limitations of claims 5 and 12. Applicant asserts that Catania does not cure the deficiencies of Jackisch, Schroder, and Sharma (Remarks, p. 10, ¶ 6- p. 11, ¶ 2).
Applicant's arguments as related to claim 1 were determined to be unpersuasive as detailed previously herein. Examiner further maintains that the dependent claims are properly rejected in light of the cited combinations of prior art as described in the claim rejections.
The rejections of claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 have been maintained herein.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793