DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 11-12 Applicant in part argues that selecting a single-crystalline semiconductor material for the metal and/or doped polysilicon contact plug park teaches would render Park unsatisfactory for its intended purposes by frustrating the conductive pathway. The examiner respectfully disagrees that the resulting device would be unsatisfactory for its intended purposes and/or unsatisfactory in function and/or operability, “It is to be presumed also that skilled workers would as a matter of course, if they do not immediately obtain desired results, make certain experiments and adaptations” [see MPEP 716.07 and 2121.01]
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 34 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, modified Park as relied upon in prior office action does not teach “single-crystalline semiconductor pillars” nor did the prior art relied upon prior office action teach “the crystallization starting from an interface between the non-single crystalline semiconductor material and the semiconductor pillar”. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made incorporating US 20210043516 A1 Gardner et al and US 20070224789 A1 Kang et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150004777 A1 Kohji et al hereafter “Kohji” in further view of US. 20100032762 A1“Park” et al hereafter “Park”, US 20230094757 A1 Clevenger et al hereafter “Clevenger” and US 20210043516 A1 Gardner et al hereafter “Gardner”
Claim 14 Kohji teaches a method comprising:
forming a semiconductor pillar (comprising 140 and 145 fig. 16C, under broadest reasonable interpretation as it is illustrated as a composite pillar structure that comprises channel structures 140 and crystal growth layer 145 which are semiconductor materials) extending from a substrate (comprising 110 fig. 16C);
forming a dielectric layer (comprising 150 fig. 16C) over the substrate [150 is in a vertical position over the substrates 110 illustrated in fig. 16];
performing an etching process (illustrated fig. 6, paragraph 0052 “recessed” and/or recessing qualifies as an etching process under broadest reasonable interpretation wherein “etch” includes the meaning “to make a strong clear mark or pattern on something” [oxford learner’s dictionary] wherein the mark or pattern is a recess) on the dielectric layer to form a hole (H fig. 6, illustrated in fig. 16C but not labeled) in the dielectric layer;
depositing a non-single crystalline semiconductor material (comprising 144a fig. 16A, “amorphous silicon” paragraph 0079) in the hole and on the semiconductor pillar;
performing an anneal (illustrated fig. 16C) process to crystallize the non-single crystalline semiconductor material into a single-crystalline semiconductor material [paragraph 0081-0082 “annealing process” and “the amorphous channel pad patterns 144a are crystallized into single-crystalline silicon by MILC”]; and
forming a second semiconductor material (211 fig. 16C) on the single-crystalline material
Kohji does not explicitly teach forming a transistor on the single-crystalline semiconductor material; after forming the semiconductor pillar and the dielectric layer, performing the etch process; nor
the crystallization starting from an interface between the non-single crystalline semiconductor material and the semiconductor pillar
Park teaches a stacked semiconductor device comprising a substrate (comprising 200 fig. 10), a semiconductor pillar (224 fig. 10, sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0119-0120 “Alternatively, polysilicon doped with impurities having a conductive type the same as that of the well 216 may be deposited to form the conductive layer” and “The conductive layer may be planarized to form a second contact plug 224”) extending from the substrate, a dielectric layer (222 fig. 10) over the substrate, and a transistor (240 fig. 10) formed on top of the dielectric layer and the semiconductor pillar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of forming the semiconductor pillar, the single-crystalline semiconductor material and the second single-crystalline semiconductor material as Kohji teaches as a step to form the device Park teaches such that the method includes “forming a transistor on the single-crystalline semiconductor material” using the second single-crystalline semiconductor material so that the semiconductor material of the transistor is “materially continuous” [Paragraph 0059 Kohji] with the pillar and/or substituting/combining equivalent processes known for the same purpose of forming a semiconductor pillar [see MPEP 2144.06].
Clevenger teaches a process comprising forming a dielectric layer (comprising and/or 89 fig. 9) over top a pillar (44 fig. 9); after forming the semiconductor pillar and the dielectric layer, performing an etch process (sufficiently illustrated figs. 10 and/or 11, Paragraph 0045 “ILD 91 can be patterned using lithography and removed using a dry etch process”) on the dielectric layer to form a hole [sufficiently illustrated figs. 10 and/or 11, wherein the “trench” is illustrated as material and structurally the same as a “hole” (see MPEP 2112.01) and/or under broadest reasonable interpretation a “trench” and/or recess qualifies as a specific type of hole within a surface or structure] in the dielectric layer; depositing a material (134 and/or 144 fig. 14) in the hole and on the semiconductor pillar [illustrated fig. 14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Park in view of Kohji in further view of Clevenger such that “after forming the semiconductor pillar and the dielectric layer, performing an etch process” to enable a uniform depth of the hole and/or to ensure a suitable width of the hole [See Clevenger paragraph 0045 “upon completing the selective etch of ILD 91, the trench depth is controlled by etch stop 89 and can have uniform depth” and “The trench formed during the selective etching of ILD 91 has a width suitable”].
Gardner teaches an anneal process [disclosed paragraph 0089 as “laser annealing”], wherein crystallization starts from an interface (the surface between 301 and 503, best illustrated fig. 20, also illustrated fig. 5 and fig. 13) between a non-single crystalline semiconductor (301 fig. 5 and/or 13) material and a semiconductor pillar (503 fig. 5 and/or 13, the embodiment where 503 is illustrated as a pillar and/or part of a pillar and/or via under broadest reasonable interpretation is best illustrated fig. 20, disclosed as “single crystal seed region”). [sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0090 “In particular, a single crystal seed region 503 starts at a bottom of a Via hole 109 and grows upward to form a single-crystal silicon 505 located between grain edges 507”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohji in view of Park and Clevenger in further view of Gardner such that “the crystallization starting from an interface between the non-single crystalline semiconductor material and the semiconductor pillar”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for the use of any type of laser [Gardner disclosed paragraph 0091] and/or to enable a preferred crystal orientation and/or to control the crystal orientation in different regions [Paragraph 0006 Gardner].
Claim 18 Kohji in view of Park Clevenger and Gardner as shown above teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: patterning the non-single crystalline semiconductor material into a plurality of non-single crystalline semiconductor islands (211a fig. 16A paragraph 0079 sufficiently disclosed “forming amorphous silicon patterns”) before performing the anneal process (fig. 16C).
Claim 20 Kohji in view of Park Clevenger, and Gardner as shown above teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising:
forming an spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer (220 fig. 16C meets this limitation under MPEP 2112.01 as Paragraph 0080 discloses the material as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride which is the same that is disclosed in paragraph 0109 of the instant application) over the dielectric layer, wherein the
non-single crystalline semiconductor material is deposited over the spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer. [this limitation is met under broadest reasonable interpretation as at least a top most portion of the single crystalline semiconductor material 211 is deposited over the bottom most portion of the spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer 220 fig. 16C].
Alternatively, if the applicant disagrees it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Kohji in view of Park such that “the non-single crystalline semiconductor material is deposited over the spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer” as reversal and/or rearrangement of parts is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.04 VI. A. and/or C.]
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohji in further view of Park and Clevenger and Gardner as applied to claim 14 above and in further view of US 8324660 B2 Lochtefeld et al hear after “Lochtefeld”
Claim 15 Kohji in view of Park Clevenger and Gardner as shown above teach the method of claim 14,
Kohji in view of Park does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor pillar is formed by patterning the substrate.
Lochtefeld teaches a semiconductor pillar (regrowth region fig. 5B and/or fig. 7C) is formed by patterning the substrate
[column 2 line 65 – column 3 line 20 Lochtefeld “a combination of substrate patterning and epitaxial lateral overgrowth ("ELO") techniques was demonstrated to greatly reduce defect densities” and “Techniques involving substrate patterning exploit the fact that the threading dislocations are constrained by geometry, i.e. that a dislocation cannot end in a crystal”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kohji in view of Park, and Clevenger in view of Lochtefeld such that “the semiconductor pillar is formed by patterning the substrate” to greatly reduce the defect densities of the semiconductor material and/or as an art recognized equivalent for achieving the same [see MPEP 2144.06].
Claim 17 Kohji in view of Park Clevenger and Gardner as shown above teach the method of claim 14, wherein the anneal process is laser anneal [met in view of Gardner as shown above disclosed paragraph 0089 “laser annealing”]
Claims 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in further view of Kohji and US 20070224789 A1 Kang et al hereafter “Kang”.
Claim 21 Park teaches a method comprising:
forming first transistor (214 fig. 10) on a substrate (200 fig. 10);
forming a dielectric layer (222 fig. 10) over the first transistor;
forming a plurality of semiconductor pillars (224 fig. 10, sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0119-0120 “Alternatively, polysilicon doped with impurities having a conductive type the same as that of the well 216 may be deposited to form the conductive layer” and “The conductive layer may be planarized to form a second contact plug 224” ) extending from the substrate into the dielectric layer [illustrated fig. 19];
forming a semiconductor structure (226b fig. 10) over the top surface of the dielectric layer; and
forming a second transistor (240 fig. 10) on the semiconductor structure.
Park does not teach forming a plurality of semiconductor plugs extending from a top surface of the dielectric layer into the dielectric layer to the plurality of semiconductor pillars, wherein one of the semiconductor plugs has a sidewall in contact with a sidewall of the dielectric layer; nor the plurality of semiconductor pillars being a plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars.
Kohji teaches forming a plurality of semiconductor plugs (comprising 144 and 211 fig. 16C) extending from a top surface of a dielectric layer (150 fig. 16C) into the dielectric layer to the plurality of semiconductor pillars (comprising 140 and 145 fig. 16C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Kohji such that Park includes “a plurality of semiconductor plugs extending from a top surface of the dielectric layer into the dielectric layer to the plurality of semiconductor pillars” as Kohji teaches so that the semiconductor material of the semiconductor material and/or transistor are “materially continuous” [Paragraph 0059 Kohji] with the pillar, and/or substituting/combining equivalent processes known for the same purpose of forming a semiconductor pillar [see MPEP 2144.06].
Park in view of Kohji necessarily meets the limitation “wherein one of the semiconductor plugs has a sidewall in contact with a sidewall of the dielectric layer” at least in part as it is required to modify Park such that it has the limitation “a plurality of semiconductor plugs extending from a top surface of the dielectric layer into the dielectric layer to the plurality of semiconductor pillars” as shown above, as Park does not teach Kohji elements 141 and 142 fig. 16C which physically separate the semiconductor plug (144 fig. 16C Kohji) of Kohji from the dielectric layer (150 fig. 16C Kohji) nor has any 103 statements been made to incorporate such elements. See annotation below highlighting wherein the semiconductor plugs would necessarily be located to meet the limitation as modified above.
Kang teaches a semiconductor device including (fig. 4f); single crystalline semiconductor pillars (425 fig. 4f) below and/or connected to semiconductor bodies (431 fig. 4f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Kohji in furhter view of Kang such that the plurality of semiconductor pillars being “a plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to reduce or substantial avoid defects at the interfaces therebetween and associated undesirable effects thereof” and/or “reduce or prevent the occurrence of accumulation of holes and associated undesirable effects on the operation of the MOS transistor formed therein” Kang paragraph 0064.
In addition, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness [See MPEP 2144.07] in this case it is the known single crystalline semiconductor material for its known semiconductive and/or stress/strain properties.
Park Annotated fig. 10: highlighting the necessary location of plug when Park is modified in view of Kohji
Claim 22 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars each have a top surface higher than a topmost position of the first transistor [sufficiently illustrated in fig. 10].
Claim 23 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first transistor is a FinFET having a fin [the fin shape and FinFET structure of a transistor comprising 114, 124, 116, 118, and 120 is illustrated in fig. 1, 2, the structure of transistor 214 fig 10 is disclosed and/or illustrated as being substantially the same], and the fin of the FinFET has a top surface lower than a top surface of the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars [illustrated fig. 10].
Claim 24 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 21,
Park teaches a cell array region (fig. 10)
Park does not explicitly illustrate wherein the plurality of semiconductor plugs are arranged in rows and columns from a top view.
Kohji teaches the plurality of semiconductor plugs are arranged in rows and columns from a top view [sufficiently illustrated in fig. 1 by 140 wherein the semiconductor plugs 144 is illustrated as part of 140].
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention take the method of Park in view of Kohji and modify it such that “the plurality of semiconductor plugs are arranged in rows and columns from a top view” as rearrangements and/or duplication of parts is prima facie type obviousness [see MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. and/or C.]
Claim 25 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 21 in view of claim 24 as shown above, wherein the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars are arranged in rows and columns from a top view [as shown in claim 24].
Claim 26 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the semiconductor structure is a semiconductor fin [the fin shape structure of a transistor comprising 114 is illustrated in fig. 1, 2, the semiconductor structure 226b fig 10 is disclosed and/or illustrated as being substantially the same 114]on the top surface of the dielectric layer [illustrated fig. 10].
Claim 27 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising:
forming a spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer over the dielectric layer [in view of Kohji 220 fig 16C this limitation under MPEP 2112.01 as Paragraph 0080 discloses the material as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride which is the same that is disclosed in paragraph 0109 of the instant application].
Park in view Kohji does not teach forming the spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer prior to forming the plurality of semiconductor plugs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park in view of Kohji such that “forming the spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer prior to forming the plurality of semiconductor plugs” takes place as “selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results” [See MPEP 2144.04 IV C.]
Claim 28 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the spontaneous nucleation inhibition layer is a nitride-based material [Paragraph 0109 sufficiently discloses “silicon nitride” and/or “silicon oxynitride”]
Claim 29 Park in view of Kohji and Kang teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars have a height greater than a height of the plurality of semiconductor plugs [in view of Kohji sufficiently illustrated in fig. 16C].
Claim 30 Park teaches a method comprising:
forming a first transistor (214 and 208 fig. 10) on a substrate (200 fig. 10);
forming an interconnect structure over the first transistor (220 fig. 10), the interconnect structure
comprising a conductive via (220 fig. 10) vertically extending above the substrate and a conductive line laterally extending above the conductive via [sufficiently disclosed but not illustrated paragraph 0095 “A first contact plug 220 and a conductive line (not illustrated) may be provided in the first insulating interlayer 218 to be electrically connected to the impurity region 206 and the source/drain region 212, respectively”];
forming a semiconductor pillar (224 fig. 10, sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0119-0120 “Alternatively, polysilicon doped with impurities having a conductive type the same as that of the well 216 may be deposited to form the conductive layer” and “The conductive layer may be planarized to form a second contact plug 224”) extending upwards from the substrate to a position higher than the conductive via and the conductive line [sufficiently illustrated fig. 10];
forming a dielectric layer (222 fig. 10) laterally surrounding an upper portion of the semiconductor pillar;
a second transistor (234 and 240 fig. 10) over the dielectric layer
Park does not teach forming a semiconductor plug inlaid in the dielectric layer and disposed over the semiconductor pillar, wherein the semiconductor plug has opposite sidewalls interfacing opposite sidewalls of the dielectric layer;
The second transistor above the semiconductor plug; nor
The semiconductor pillar being a single-crystalline semiconductor pillar
Kohji teaches forming a semiconductor plug (144 fig. 16C) inlaid in a dielectric layer (150 fig. 16C) and disposed over the semiconductor pillar (140 and 145 fig. 16C)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the method of Park teaches and combine it with the method Kohji teaches such that “a semiconductor plug inlaid in the dielectric layer and disposed over the semiconductor pillar” so that the semiconductor material of the transistor is “materially continuous” [Paragraph 0059 Kohji] with the pillar and/or substituting/combining equivalent processes known for the same purpose of forming a semiconductor pillar [see MPEP 2144.06].
In view of the above the limitation the second transistor above the semiconductor plug is necessarily met in order to achieve the transistor being above the dielectric layer.
Park in view of Kohji as modified above necessarily meets the limitation “wherein the semiconductor plug has opposite sidewalls interfacing opposite sidewalls of the dielectric layer” at least in part as it is required to modify Park such that it has the limitation “a semiconductor plug inlaid in the dielectric layer and disposed over the semiconductor pillar” as shown above, as Park does not teach Kohji elements 141 and 142 fig. 16C which physically separate the semiconductor plug (144 fig. 16C Kohji) of Kohji from the dielectric layer (150 fig. 16C Kohji) nor has any 103 statements been made to incorporate such elements. See annotation below highlighting wherein the semiconductor plugs would necessarily be located to meet the limitation as modified above.
Kang teaches a semiconductor device including (fig. 4f); single crystalline semiconductor pillars (425 fig. 4f) below and/or connected to semiconductor bodies (431 fig. 4f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Kohji in further view of Kang such that the plurality of semiconductor pillars being “a plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “to reduce or substantial avoid defects at the interfaces therebetween and associated undesirable effects thereof” and/or “reduce or prevent the occurrence of accumulation of holes and associated undesirable effects on the operation of the MOS transistor formed therein” Kang paragraph 0064.
In addition, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness [See MPEP 2144.07] in this case it is the known single crystalline semiconductor material for its known semiconductive and/or stress/strain properties.
Park Annotated fig. 10: highlighting the necessary location of plug when Park is modified in view of Kohji
Claim 31 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 30, wherein the semiconductor plug has opposite sidewalls respectively offset from opposite sidewalls of the single-crystalline semiconductor pillar [in view of Kohji this limitation is met under broadest reasonable interpretation as illustrated in fig. 16C as the left and right lateral side walls the semiconductor plug are offset in a vertical direction from left and right sidewalls of the semiconductor pillar].
Claim 32 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 30, wherein the semiconductor plug has opposite sidewalls respectively aligned with opposite sidewalls of the single-crystalline semiconductor pillar [in view of Kohji this limitation is met under broadest reasonable interpretation as illustrated in fig. 16C as the left and right lateral side walls are aligned in a horizontal direction from left and right sidewalls of the semiconductor pillar].
Claim 33 Park in view of Kohji and Kang as shown above teaches the method of claim 30, wherein the semiconductor plug is silicon, germanium or silicon germanium [in view of Kohji “silicon” Paragraph 0084].
Claims 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in further view of Kohji and Kang, and in further view of Clevenger and Gardner
Claim 35 Park in view of Kohji and Kang teach as shown above the method of claim 21, wherein forming the plurality of semiconductor plugs comprises:
a plurality of holes in the dielectric layer [the holes around the plugs in view of Kohji fig. 16C];
depositing a non-single crystalline semiconductor material [met in view of the plugs of Kohji 144a fig. 16A] in the holes and in contact with the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars; and
crystallize the non-single crystalline semiconductor material into a single-crystalline semiconductor material [paragraph 0081-0082 “annealing process” and “the amorphous channel pad patterns 144a are crystallized into single-crystalline silicon by MILC”, illustrated fig. 16C].
Park in view of Kohji and Kang does not teach performing an etching process on the dielectric layer to form the plurality of holes in the dielectric layer; nor using the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars as seeds [for the single crystalline material].
Clevenger teaches a process comprising forming a dielectric layer (comprising and/or 89 fig. 9) over top a pillar (44 fig. 9); after forming the semiconductor pillar and the dielectric layer, performing an etch process (sufficiently illustrated figs. 10 and/or 11, Paragraph 0045 “ILD 91 can be patterned using lithography and removed using a dry etch process”) on the dielectric layer to form a hole [sufficiently illustrated figs. 10 and/or 11, wherein the “trench” is illustrated as material and structurally the same as a “hole” (see mpep 2112.01) and/or under broadest reasonable interpretation a “trench” and/or recess qualifies as a specific type of hole within a surface or structure] in the dielectric layer; depositing a material (134 and/or 144 fig. 14) in the hole and on the semiconductor pillar [illustrated fig. 14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Park in view of Kohji and Kang in further view of Clevenger such that “performing an etching process on the dielectric layer to form the plurality of holes in the dielectric layer” to enable a uniform depth of the hole and/or to ensure a suitable width of the hole [See Clevenger paragraph 0045 “upon completing the selective etch of ILD 91, the trench depth is controlled by etch stop 89 and can have uniform depth” and “The trench formed during the selective etching of ILD 91 has a width suitable”].
Gardner teaches an anneal process [disclosed paragraph 0089 as “laser annealing”], wherein crystallization starts from an interface (the surface between 301 and 503, best illustrated fig. 20, also illustrated fig. 5 and fig. 13) between a non-single crystalline semiconductor (301 fig. 5 and/or 13) material and a semiconductor pillar (503 fig. 5 and/or 13, the embodiment where 503 is illustrated as a pillar and/or part of a pillar and/or via under broadest reasonable interpretation is best illustrated fig. 20, disclosed as “single crystal seed region”). [sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0090 “In particular, a single crystal seed region 503 starts at a bottom of a Via hole 109 and grows upward to form a single-crystal silicon 505 located between grain edges 507”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Kohji, Kang, and Clevenger in further view of Gardner such that “using the plurality of single-crystalline semiconductor pillars as seeds” occurs.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for the use of any type of laser [Gardner disclosed paragraph 0091] and/or to enable a preferred crystal orientation and/or to control the crystal orientation in different regions [Paragraph 0006 Gardner].
In addition, combining and/or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06] in this case it known process for the same purpose of forming single-crystalline material from non-single crystalline material in a via and/or pillar structure.
Claim 36 Park in view of Kohji and Kang teach as shown above the method of claim 30, wherein forming the semiconductor plug comprises:
a hole in the dielectric layer [the hole around the plugs in view of Kohji fig. 16C];
depositing a non-single crystalline semiconductor material [met in view of the plugs of Kohji 144a fig. 16A] in the holes and in contact with the single-crystalline semiconductor pillar [met in view of Kohji fig. 16A]; and
crystallize the non-single crystalline semiconductor material into a single-crystalline semiconductor material [paragraph 0081-0082 “annealing process” and “the amorphous channel pad patterns 144a are crystallized into single-crystalline silicon by MILC”, illustrated fig. 16C].
Park in view of Kohji and Kang does not teach performing an etching process on the dielectric layer to form the hole in the dielectric layer; nor using the single-crystalline semiconductor pillar a seed [for the single crystalline material].
Clevenger teaches a process comprising forming a dielectric layer (comprising and/or 89 fig. 9) over top a pillar (44 fig. 9); after forming the semiconductor pillar and the dielectric layer, performing an etch process (sufficiently illustrated figs. 10 and/or 11, Paragraph 0045 “ILD 91 can be patterned using lithography and removed using a dry etch process”) on the dielectric layer to form a hole [sufficiently illustrated figs. 10 and/or 11, wherein the “trench” is illustrated as material and structurally the same as a “hole” (see mpep 2112.01) and/or under broadest reasonable interpretation a “trench” and/or recess qualifies as a specific type of hole within a surface or structure] in the dielectric layer; depositing a material (134 and/or 144 fig. 14) in the hole and on the semiconductor pillar [illustrated fig. 14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Park in view of Kohji and Kang in further view of Clevenger such that “an etching process on the dielectric layer to form a hole in the dielectric layer” to enable a uniform depth of the hole and/or to ensure a suitable width of the hole [See Clevenger paragraph 0045 “upon completing the selective etch of ILD 91, the trench depth is controlled by etch stop 89 and can have uniform depth” and “The trench formed during the selective etching of ILD 91 has a width suitable”].
Gardner teaches an anneal process [disclosed paragraph 0089 as “laser annealing”], wherein crystallization starts from an interface (the surface between 301 and 503, best illustrated fig. 20, also illustrated fig. 5 and fig. 13) between a non-single crystalline semiconductor (301 fig. 5 and/or 13) material and a semiconductor pillar (503 fig. 5 and/or 13, the embodiment where 503 is illustrated as a pillar and/or part of a pillar and/or via under broadest reasonable interpretation is best illustrated fig. 20, disclosed as “single crystal seed region”). [sufficiently disclosed Paragraph 0090 “In particular, a single crystal seed region 503 starts at a bottom of a Via hole 109 and grows upward to form a single-crystal silicon 505 located between grain edges 507”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Kohji, Kang, and Clevenger in further view of Gardner such that “using the single-crystalline semiconductor pillar a seed” occurs.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for the use of any type of laser [Gardner disclosed paragraph 0091] and/or to enable a preferred crystal orientation and/or to control the crystal orientation in different regions [Paragraph 0006 Gardner].
In addition, combining and/or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06] in this case it known process for the same purpose of forming single-crystalline material from non-single crystalline material in a via and/or pillar structure.
Conclusion
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893