DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are cancelled. Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are currently amended. Claims 1, 4-11, and 14-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 4-11, and 14-20 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 as currently amended under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. New grounds of rejection have been introduced over Veasey in view of Swan to satisfy the newly added amended portions of claims 1 and 11.
Examiner acknowledges that the amendments to independent claims 1 and 11 provide sufficient structural limitations such that “a first/second/third transmission component”, a sliding component”, “a driving component”, and “a guiding portion” are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, that neither Veasey nor Swan disclose the newly claimed relationships of the rotating axes and the sliding direction, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that “the aforementioned limitation of the amended claims 1 and 11 of the present application achieve an unexpected technical effect of reducing a dimension in length by orienting the first rotating axis perpendicular to the sliding direction of the sliding component” (Remarks pg 12 para 2), the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veasey et al (US 20040087903 A1; hereafter Veasey) in view of Swan et al (US 20110028897 A1; hereafter Swan).
Regarding claim 1, Veasey discloses a driving mechanism for driving a plunger (piston 5, fig. 2, [0020]) of an auto-injector (medicament delivery device 2, fig. 1, [0020]) to slide relative to a reservoir of the auto-injector ([0020] lead screw 6 drives piston 5 within the medicament cartridge 4 to cause the medicament to be expelled), the driving mechanism comprising:
a first transmission component (14, see fig. 2) (see 112f interpretation above, fig. 2 shows a smaller gear wheel 14 connecting to a larger gear wheel 14’ and so meets the 112f interpretation);
a driving component (motor 12, [0022], see fig. 2) (see 112f interpretation above, motor 12 meets the limitation because it can be supplied power by a battery and thus is an electric motor; [0020] A power source such as batteries 18 may also be provided to power the drive means 8.) coupled to the first transmission component (14, see annotated fig. 2) and for driving the first transmission component to rotate ([0022] A motor 12 is connected to drive the lead screw 6 or plunger by way of a number of rotary driving means such as drive train elements 14,14' disposed to form a drive train.);
a second transmission component (14’, see fig. 2) (see 112f interpretation above, fig. 2 shows a smaller gear wheel 14 connecting to a larger gear wheel 14’ and so meets the 112f interpretation) rotatably engaged with the first transmission component ([0022] motor 12 is connected to lead screw 6 via a number of rotary elements 14, 14' in a drive train), the second transmission component (14’) being driven by the first transmission component to rotate when the driving component (12) drives the first transmission component (14) to rotate ([0022] motor 12 is connected to drive the lead screw 6 or plunger by way of a number of rotary driving means such as drive train elements 14,14' disposed to form a drive train, see fig. 2);
a third transmission component (threaded bore of final gear train element 14', fig. 2, [0023]) (see 112f interpretation above, threaded bore is a screw sleeve and thus meets the limitation as described above) fixedly connected to the second transmission component (Examiner notes that the threaded bore is fixedly connected to the gear train element 14’; Examiner also notes that the instant specification [0036] states that the third transmission component may be connected to the second transmission component by being integrally formed.), the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14’) being driven by the second transmission component (14’) to rotate when the first transmission component (14) drives the second transmission component (14’) to rotate ([0022] motor 12 causes rotation of rotary components which make up drive train; [0023] gear train element 14’ rotates and the threading causes movement of lead screw 6);
a sliding component (lead screw 6, fig. 2, [0023]) (see 112f interpretation above, the lead screw 6 is a screw rod and thus meets the limitation) at least partially slidably disposed inside the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14’) and coupled to the third transmission component ([0023] A final element 14' in the gear train is provided with a threaded bore through which the lead screw 6 also passes.), the sliding component being connected to the plunger (see fig. 3, which shows the sliding component/lead screw 6 connected to plunger/piston 5), the sliding component (6) being driven by the third transmission component to slide relative to the third transmission component when the third transmission component rotates ([0023] rotation of the final gear train element 14' in the drive train causes the lead screw 6 which is unable to rotate due to the guide housing to process therethrough);
and a bracket (guide housing unit 20, fig. 6, [0025]) comprising a guiding portion (guide housing 16, fig. 2, fig. 6) (see 112f interpretation above; [0022] The opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6; The lead screw 6 is typically of generally circular section though having oppositely disposed flat sides extending axially of the lead screw; Examiner notes that as described in [0022] and as shown in fig. 6, the guiding portion has a sliding through hole structure with two second arc parts and two second flat parts), the sliding component (6) passing through the guiding portion ([0022] guide housing 16 includes an opening through which the lead screw 6 passes), the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14') being rotatable relative to the bracket (16) ([0023] rotation of final gear train element 14' causes advancement of lead screw 6 without rotation; [0022] relative rotation is prevented between guide housing 16 and lead screw 6; Examiner notes that since the third transmission component rotates relative to the lead screw 6 and the lead screw 6 and guide housing 16 are rotationally locked, the third transmission component 14' must rotate relative to the bracket 16), and the guiding portion (16) being configured to guide the sliding component (6) to slide without a rotation ([0022] The opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6 to prevent relative rotation between the lead screw 6 and the guide housing 16.).
wherein when the driving component (12) drives the first transmission component (14) to rotate ([0022] motor 12 is connected to drive the lead screw 6 or plunger by way of a number of rotary driving means such as drive train elements 14,14' disposed to form a drive train, see fig. 2) around a first rotating axis (see annotated fig. 2 below),
the first transmission component (14) drives the second transmission component (14’) to rotate around a second rotating axis (see annotated fig. 2 above) so as to drive the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14’) to rotate around the second rotating axis together with the second transmission component (14’) (Examiner notes that since the second and third transmission components are integrally formed, they would rotate about the same axis),
so that the sliding component (6) is driven to slide relative to the third transmission component along a sliding direction parallel to the second rotating axis ([0016] FIG. 3 shows a view similar to that of FIG. 2 with the lead screw in an advanced position; Examiner notes that the advancement of the lead screw 6 is parallel to the second rotating axis shown in annotated fig. 2) without the rotation around the second rotating axis ([0023] rotation of final gear train element 14' causes advancement of lead screw 6 without rotation).
wherein the third transmission component is a screw sleeve (threaded bore of 14’, noted in [0023]), the sliding component is a screw rod (lead screw 6, fig. 2, described in [0022]), the driving component is an electric motor (motor 12 noted in [0022] is part of the drive means 8 as noted in fig. 2 and 3; [0020] notes that the drives means 8 may be powered by batteries 18), and the guiding portion (16, fig. 6) comprises a sliding through hole structure ([0022] The guide housing 16 includes an opening through which the lead screw 6 passes).
Examiner also notes that Veasey discloses wherein the second rotating axis and the sliding direction are parallel (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Veasey is silent to wherein the first transmission component is a worm screw, the second transmission component is a worm gear, and the first rotating axis being perpendicular to the second rotating axis and the sliding direction.
Swan, in the art of infusion pumps, teaches wherein a first transmission component is a worm screw (worm 22, fig. 1, [0055]), a second transmission component is a worm gear (worm wheel 18, fig. 1, [0055]) ([0055] The worm-wheel is turned by a worm 22 powered by a stepper motor 24.), and
wherein the first rotating axis (rotation axis of worm 22 shown by dashed double ended arrow in annotated fig. 1 below) is perpendicular to the second rotating axis (axis coming out of the page at center of worm wheel 18 shown by an “X” in annotated fig. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the known elements (worm screw and worm gear) taught by Swan in place of the element taught by Veasey (standard gears) because the worm screw and worm gear are substituted components with functions known in the art. Modifying the first transmission component and second transmission component of Veasey to be respectively a worm screw and worm gear as taught by Swan, while maintaining the arrangement of the second transmission component with the third transmission component and the sliding component, would necessarily change the first rotating axis to be perpendicular to the second rotating axis while maintaining the second rotating axis as parallel to the sliding direction, thus arriving naturally at all claimed limitations Both Swan and Veasey teach fluid delivery devices with a motor and gear systems, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the substitution of the worm screw and worm gear taught by Swan to arrive at a predictable result, a gear train including a worm screw as the first transmission component, rotating perpendicularly to the second rotating axis around which the worm gear is driven to rotate by the worm screw, as shown in Swan fig. 1, and a third transmission component rotating with the worm gear and driven to advance a screw rod along a sliding direction parallel to the second rotating direction, as shown in Veasey fig. 2. This predictable result would still allow Veasey to function appropriately to deliver fluid by advancing the lead screw 6, and discloses wherein the first rotating axis is perpendicular to both the second rotating axis and the sliding direction. See MPEP 2143 (B). Additionally, Swan motivates the modification in [0056] which notes that using a worm screw and worm gear prevents the motor from being back driven, since the worm screw can easily turn the worm gear but the worm gear cannot easily turn the worm screw, and that the arrangement requires very little current to drive the worm gear forward, thus providing a beneficially efficient drive mechanism.
Regarding claim 6, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the driving mechanism of claim 1, as described above. Veasey further discloses wherein the sliding component (6, fig. 2) slidably passes through the sliding through hole structure ([0022] lead screw 6 progresses through the opening of guide housing 16 without rotation), a cross section of the sliding component matches with a cross section of the sliding through hole structure ([0022] the opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6; note that the opening shown in fig. 6 matches the description of the lead screw 6 cross section described in [0022]), the sliding component comprises at least one first arc part (screw on remaining sides of lead screw 6 noted in [0022]) and at least one first flat part (flat sides of lead screw 6 described in [0022]) connected to the at least one first arc part ([0022] The lead screw 6 is typically of generally circular section though having oppositely disposed flat sides extending axially of the lead screw. A screw B is carried by the remaining sides of the lead screw 6.), the sliding through hole structure (opening in guide housing 16) comprises at least one second arc part and at least one second flat part connected to the at least one second arc part (see fig. 6, annotated below), and the at least one second arc part and the at least one second flat part are respectively corresponding to the at least one first arc part and the at least one first flat part ([0022] The opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6.)
Regarding claim 7, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the driving mechanism of claim 6, as described above. Veasey further discloses wherein an internal thread structure (threading on inside of bore of final element 14’, noted in [0023]) is formed on an inner periphery of the third transmission component (threaded bore of final element 14’, fig. 2, [0023] A final element 14' in the gear train is provided with a threaded bore), and an outer thread structure (screw B, noted in [0022]) is formed on the at least one first arc part of the sliding component (lead screw 6, fig. 2) ([0022] The lead screw 6 is typically of generally circular section though having oppositely disposed flat sides extending axially of the lead screw. A screw B is carried by the remaining sides of the lead screw 6.).
Regarding claim 11, Veasey discloses an autoinjector (medicament delivery device 2, fig. 1, [0020]) comprising: a reservoir (medicament cartridge 4, fig. 2, [0020]); a plunger (piston 5, fig. 2, [0020]) slidably disposed inside the reservoir ([0020] lead screw 6 drives piston 5 within the medicament cartridge 4 to cause the medicament to be expelled); and a driving mechanism for driving the plunger (piston 5, fig. 2, [0020]) to slide relative to the reservoir (medicament cartridge 4) ([0020] lead screw 6 drives piston 5 within the medicament cartridge 4 to cause the medicament to be expelled), the driving mechanism comprising:
a first transmission component (14, see fig. 2) (see 112f interpretation above, fig. 2 shows a smaller gear wheel 14 connecting to a larger gear wheel 14’ and so meets the 112f interpretation);
a driving component (motor 12, [0022], see fig. 2) (see 112f interpretation above, motor 12 meets the limitation because it can be supplied power by a battery and thus is an electric motor; [0020] A power source such as batteries 18 may also be provided to power the drive means 8.) coupled to the first transmission component (14, see annotated fig. 2) and for driving the first transmission component to rotate ([0022] A motor 12 is connected to drive the lead screw 6 or plunger by way of a number of rotary driving means such as drive train elements 14,14' disposed to form a drive train.);
a second transmission component (14’, see fig. 2) (see 112f interpretation above, fig. 2 shows a smaller gear wheel 14 connecting to a larger gear wheel 14’ and so meets the 112f interpretation) rotatably engaged with the first transmission component ([0022] motor 12 is connected to lead screw 6 via a number of rotary elements 14, 14' in a drive train), the second transmission component (14’) being driven by the first transmission component to rotate when the driving component (12) drives the first transmission component (14) to rotate ([0022] motor 12 is connected to drive the lead screw 6 or plunger by way of a number of rotary driving means such as drive train elements 14,14' disposed to form a drive train, see fig. 2);
a third transmission component (threaded bore of final gear train element 14', fig. 2, [0023]) (see 112f interpretation above, threaded bore is a screw sleeve and thus meets the limitation as described above) fixedly connected to the second transmission component (Examiner notes that the threaded bore is fixedly connected to the gear train element 14’; Examiner also notes that the instant specification [0036] states that the third transmission component may be connected to the second transmission component by being integrally formed.), the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14’) being driven by the second transmission component (14’) to rotate when the first transmission component (14) drives the second transmission component (14’) to rotate ([0022] motor 12 causes rotation of rotary components which make up drive train; [0023] gear train element 14’ rotates and the threading causes movement of lead screw 6);
a sliding component (lead screw 6, fig. 2, [0023]) (see 112f interpretation above, the lead screw 6 is a screw rod and thus meets the limitation) at least partially slidably disposed inside the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14’) and coupled to the third transmission component ([0023] A final element 14' in the gear train is provided with a threaded bore through which the lead screw 6 also passes.), the sliding component being connected to the plunger (see fig. 3, which shows the sliding component/lead screw 6 connected to plunger/piston 5), the sliding component (6) being driven by the third transmission component to slide relative to the third transmission component when the third transmission component rotates ([0023] rotation of the final gear train element 14' in the drive train causes the lead screw 6 which is unable to rotate due to the guide housing to process therethrough);
and a bracket (guide housing unit 20, fig. 6, [0025]) comprising a guiding portion (guide housing 16, fig. 2, fig. 6) (see 112f interpretation above; [0022] The opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6; The lead screw 6 is typically of generally circular section though having oppositely disposed flat sides extending axially of the lead screw; Examiner notes that as described in [0022] and as shown in fig. 6, the guiding portion has a sliding through hole structure with two second arc parts and two second flat parts), the sliding component (6) passing through the guiding portion ([0022] guide housing 16 includes an opening through which the lead screw 6 passes), the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14') being rotatable relative to the bracket (16) ([0023] rotation of final gear train element 14' causes advancement of lead screw 6 without rotation; [0022] relative rotation is prevented between guide housing 16 and lead screw 6; Examiner notes that since the third transmission component rotates relative to the lead screw 6 and the lead screw 6 and guide housing 16 are rotationally locked, the third transmission component 14' must rotate relative to the bracket 16), and the guiding portion (16) being configured to guide the sliding component (6) to slide without a rotation ([0022] The opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6 to prevent relative rotation between the lead screw 6 and the guide housing 16.).
wherein when the driving component (12) drives the first transmission component (14) to rotate ([0022] motor 12 is connected to drive the lead screw 6 or plunger by way of a number of rotary driving means such as drive train elements 14,14' disposed to form a drive train, see fig. 2) around a first rotating axis (see annotated fig. 2 below),
the first transmission component (14) drives the second transmission component (14’) to rotate around a second rotating axis (see annotated fig. 2 above) so as to drive the third transmission component (threaded bore of 14’) to rotate around the second rotating axis together with the second transmission component (14’) (Examiner notes that since the second and third transmission components are integrally formed, they would rotate about the same axis),
so that the sliding component (6) is driven to slide relative to the third transmission component along a sliding direction parallel to the second rotating axis ([0016] FIG. 3 shows a view similar to that of FIG. 2 with the lead screw in an advanced position; Examiner notes that the advancement of the lead screw 6 is parallel to the second rotating axis shown in annotated fig. 2) without the rotation around the second rotating axis ([0023] rotation of final gear train element 14' causes advancement of lead screw 6 without rotation).
wherein the third transmission component is a screw sleeve (threaded bore of 14’, noted in [0023]), the sliding component is a screw rod (lead screw 6, fig. 2, described in [0022]), the driving component is an electric motor (motor 12 noted in [0022] is part of the drive means 8 as noted in fig. 2 and 3; [0020] notes that the drives means 8 may be powered by batteries 18), and the guiding portion (16, fig. 6) comprises a sliding through hole structure ([0022] The guide housing 16 includes an opening through which the lead screw 6 passes).
Examiner also notes that Veasey discloses wherein the second rotating axis and the sliding direction are parallel (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Veasey is silent to wherein the first transmission component is a worm screw, the second transmission component is a worm gear, and the first rotating axis being perpendicular to the second rotating axis and the sliding direction.
Swan, in the art of infusion pumps, teaches wherein a first transmission component is a worm screw (worm 22, fig. 1, [0055]), a second transmission component is a worm gear (worm wheel 18, fig. 1, [0055]) ([0055] The worm-wheel is turned by a worm 22 powered by a stepper motor 24.), and
wherein the first rotating axis (rotation axis of worm 22 shown by dashed double ended arrow in annotated fig. 1 below) is perpendicular to the second rotating axis (axis coming out of the page at center of worm wheel 18 shown by an “X” in annotated fig. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the known elements (worm screw and worm gear) taught by Swan in place of the element taught by Veasey (standard gears) because the worm screw and worm gear are substituted components with functions known in the art. Modifying the first transmission component and second transmission component of Veasey to be respectively a worm screw and worm gear as taught by Swan, while maintaining the arrangement of the second transmission component with the third transmission component and the sliding component, would necessarily change the first rotating axis to be perpendicular to the second rotating axis while maintaining the second rotating axis as parallel to the sliding direction, thus arriving naturally at all claimed limitations Both Swan and Veasey teach fluid delivery devices with a motor and gear systems, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the substitution of the worm screw and worm gear taught by Swan to arrive at a predictable result, a gear train including a worm screw as the first transmission component, rotating perpendicularly to the second rotating axis around which the worm gear is driven to rotate by the worm screw, as shown in Swan fig. 1, and a third transmission component rotating with the worm gear and driven to advance a screw rod along a sliding direction parallel to the second rotating direction, as shown in Veasey fig. 2. This predictable result would still allow Veasey to function appropriately to deliver fluid by advancing the lead screw 6, and discloses wherein the first rotating axis is perpendicular to both the second rotating axis and the sliding direction. See MPEP 2143 (B). Additionally, Swan motivates the modification in [0056] which notes that using a worm screw and worm gear prevents the motor from being back driven, since the worm screw can easily turn the worm gear but the worm gear cannot easily turn the worm screw, and that the arrangement requires very little current to drive the worm gear forward, thus providing a beneficially efficient drive mechanism.
Regarding claim 16, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the autoinjector of claim 11, as described above. Veasey further discloses wherein the sliding component (6, fig. 2) slidably passes through the sliding through hole structure ([0022] lead screw 6 progresses through the opening of guide housing 16 without rotation), a cross section of the sliding component matches with a cross section of the sliding through hole structure ([0022] the opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6; note that the opening shown in fig. 6 matches the description of the lead screw 6 cross section described in [0022]), the sliding component comprises at least one first arc part (screw on remaining sides of lead screw 6 noted in [0022]) and at least one first flat part (flat sides of lead screw 6 described in [0022]) connected to the at least one first arc part ([0022] The lead screw 6 is typically of generally circular section though having oppositely disposed flat sides extending axially of the lead screw. A screw B is carried by the remaining sides of the lead screw 6.), the sliding through hole structure (opening in guide housing 16) comprises at least one second arc part and at least one second flat part connected to the at least one second arc part (see fig. 6, annotated below), and the at least one second arc part and the at least one second flat part are respectively corresponding to the at least one first arc part and the at least one first flat part ([0022] The opening of the guide housing 16 is configured to the cross-section of the lead screw 6.)
Regarding claim 17, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the autoinjector of claim 16, as described above. Veasey further discloses wherein an internal thread structure (threading on inside of bore of final element 14’, noted in [0023]) is formed on an inner periphery of the third transmission component (threaded bore of final element 14’, fig. 2, [0023] A final element 14' in the gear train is provided with a threaded bore), and an outer thread structure (screw B, noted in [0022]) is formed on the at least one first arc part of the sliding component (lead screw 6, fig. 2) ([0022] The lead screw 6 is typically of generally circular section though having oppositely disposed flat sides extending axially of the lead screw. A screw B is carried by the remaining sides of the lead screw 6.).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veasey modified by Swan as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Sekine et al (US 20120273292 A1; hereafter Sekine).
Regarding claim 4, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the driving mechanism of claim 1, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to a reducer.
Sekine, in the art of electric power steering using an electric motor, teaches a driving mechanism further comprising a reducer (reduction gearbox 11, [0039], fig. 8) coupled between the driving component (electric motor 12, fig. 7, [0039] electric motor 12 is coupled to the reduction gearbox 11) and the first transmission component (output shaft 2b, fig. 1, [0039] a reduction gearbox 11 includes a gear mechanism for transmitting the steering assist force to the output shaft 2b; see relative arrangement of claim elements in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive mechanism of Veasey modified by Swan to include the reduction gearbox of Sekine since all references deal with electric driving gear mechanisms to achieve movement. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the reduction assembly taught by Sekine would allow for more fine-tuned control of the resulting movement of the transmission components and overall device.
Regarding claim 5, Veasey modified by Swan and Sekine discloses the driving mechanism of claim 4, as described above, including wherein the reducer is a gearbox (Sekine: [0039] electric motor 12 is coupled to the reduction gearbox 11).
Regarding claim 14, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the auto-injector of claim 11, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to a reducer.
Sekine, in the art of electric power steering using an electric motor, teaches a driving mechanism further comprising a reducer (reduction gearbox 11, [0039], fig. 8) coupled between the driving component (electric motor 12, fig. 7, [0039] electric motor 12 is coupled to the reduction gearbox 11) and the first transmission component (output shaft 2b, fig. 1, [0039] a reduction gearbox 11 includes a gear mechanism for transmitting the steering assist force to the output shaft 2b; see relative arrangement of claim elements in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive mechanism of Veasey modified by Swan to include the reduction gearbox of Sekine since all references deal with electric driving gear mechanisms to achieve movement. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the reduction assembly taught by Sekine would allow for more fine-tuned control of the resulting movement of the transmission components and overall device.
Regarding claim 15, Veasey modified by Swan and Sekine discloses the auto-injector of claim 14, as described above, including wherein the reducer is a gearbox (Sekine: [0039] electric motor 12 is coupled to the reduction gearbox 11).
Claim(s) 8-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veasey as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Torii et al (US 20010026105 A1; hereafter Torii).
Regarding claim 8, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the driving mechanism of claim 1, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to the bracket having a holding portion.
Torii, in the art of geared motors, teaches wherein a bracket (gear housing 3, [0024], fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprises a holding portion (shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2, [0025]), the holding portion comprises a rotation through hole structure ([0025] a through hole penetrates through shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2), and the third transmission component (output shaft 27, fig. 2, [0024] rotation is transferred from worm shaft 21 to worm wheel 23; [0025] rotation is transferred from worm wheel 23 to output shaft 27) rotatably passes through the rotation through hole structure ([0025] the output shaft 27 is received and freely rotatably supported within a through hole penetrating through a shaft supporting portion 28 formed at a center of the wheel housing segment 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the rotation through hole structure taught by Torii with the third transmission component of Veasey modified by Swan because all references deal with motor-driven gear systems with rotating components. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the rotation through hole structure allows the transmission component to be “received and freely rotatably supported” (Torii [0025]). This support would help ensure that the transmission component does not fall out of place during use and thus keeps the transmission components in the correct relative orientation to ensure that the system continues to run appropriately.
Regarding claim 9, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the driving mechanism of claim 1, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to the bracket having a supporting portion.
Torii teaches wherein the bracket (gear housing 3, [0024], fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprises a supporting portion (shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2, [0025]), the supporting portion comprises a platform structure ([0025] a through hole penetrates through shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2), and the platform structure is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to support a side of the third transmission component (output shaft 27, fig. 2, [0024] rotation is transferred from worm shaft 21 to worm wheel 23; [0025] rotation is transferred from worm wheel 23 to output shaft 27; Examiner notes that the platform structure/through hole of shaft supporting portion 28 surrounds third transmission component/output shaft 27 and thus is capable of supporting a side of the third transmission component/output shaft 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the shaft supporting portion 28 and rotation through hole structure taught by Torii with the third transmission component of Veasey modified by Swan because all references deal with motor-driven gear systems with rotating components. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the rotation through hole structure allows the transmission component to be “received and freely rotatably supported” (Torii [0025]). This shaft supporting portion would help ensure that the transmission component does not fall out of place during use and thus keeps the transmission components in the correct relative orientation to ensure that the system continues to run appropriately.
Regarding claim 10, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the driving mechanism of claim 1, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to the bracket having an accommodating portion.
Torii teaches wherein the bracket (gear housing 3, [0024], fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprises an accommodating portion (worm housing segment 3a, fig. 2, [0024]), the accommodating portion comprises an L-shaped structure (see annotated fig. 2 below which shows the L-shaped structure), and the L-shaped structure is configured to accommodate the first transmission component (worm shaft 21, fig. 2, [0024] the worm shaft 21 is received in a worm housing segment 3a of the gear housing 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the worm shaft 21 as the first transmission component and the worm housing segment 3a including the L-shaped accommodating portion of Torii in the driving mechanism of Veasey modified by Swan since because all references deal with motor-driven gear systems with rotating components, and Veasey modified by Swan already includes a worm screw (Swan: worm 22, fig. 1) as the first transmission component. One would have been motivated to make the modification and include the L-shaped accommodating portion because the worm housing segment 3a of Torii would help ensure that the first transmission component/worm shaft 21 of Torii/worm 22 of Swan does not fall out of place during use and thus keeps the transmission components in the correct relative orientation to ensure that the system continues to run appropriately.
Regarding claim 18, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the auto-injector of claim 11, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to the bracket having a holding portion.
Torii, in the art of geared motors, teaches wherein a bracket (gear housing 3, [0024], fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprises a holding portion (shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2, [0025]), the holding portion comprises a rotation through hole structure ([0025] a through hole penetrates through shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2), and the third transmission component (output shaft 27, fig. 2, [0024] rotation is transferred from worm shaft 21 to worm wheel 23; [0025] rotation is transferred from worm wheel 23 to output shaft 27) rotatably passes through the rotation through hole structure ([0025] the output shaft 27 is received and freely rotatably supported within a through hole penetrating through a shaft supporting portion 28 formed at a center of the wheel housing segment 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the rotation through hole structure taught by Torii with the third transmission component of Veasey modified by Swan because all references deal with motor-driven gear systems with rotating components. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the rotation through hole structure allows the transmission component to be “received and freely rotatably supported” (Torii [0025]). This support would help ensure that the transmission component does not fall out of place during use and thus keeps the transmission components in the correct relative orientation to ensure that the system continues to run appropriately.
Regarding claim 19, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the auto-injector of claim 11, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to the bracket having a supporting portion.
Torii teaches wherein the bracket (gear housing 3, [0024], fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprises a supporting portion (shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2, [0025]), the supporting portion comprises a platform structure ([0025] a through hole penetrates through shaft supporting portion 28, fig. 2), and the platform structure is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to support a side of the third transmission component (output shaft 27, fig. 2, [0024] rotation is transferred from worm shaft 21 to worm wheel 23; [0025] rotation is transferred from worm wheel 23 to output shaft 27; Examiner notes that the platform structure/through hole of shaft supporting portion 28 surrounds third transmission component/output shaft 27 and thus is capable of supporting a side of the third transmission component/output shaft 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the shaft supporting portion 28 and rotation through hole structure taught by Torii with the third transmission component of Veasey modified by Swan because all references deal with motor-driven gear systems with rotating components. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the rotation through hole structure allows the transmission component to be “received and freely rotatably supported” (Torii [0025]). This shaft supporting portion would help ensure that the transmission component does not fall out of place during use and thus keeps the transmission components in the correct relative orientation to ensure that the system continues to run appropriately.
Regarding claim 20, Veasey modified by Swan discloses the auto-injector of claim 11, as described above.
Veasey modified by Swan is silent to the bracket having an accommodating portion.
Torii teaches wherein the bracket (gear housing 3, [0024], fig. 1, fig. 2) further comprises an accommodating portion (worm housing segment 3a, fig. 2, [0024]), the accommodating portion comprises an L-shaped structure (see annotated fig. 2 below which shows the L-shaped structure), and the L-shaped structure is configured to accommodate the first transmission component (worm shaft 21, fig. 2, [0024] the worm shaft 21 is received in a worm housing segment 3a of the gear housing 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the worm shaft 21 as the first transmission component and the worm housing segment 3a including the L-shaped accommodating portion of Torii in the driving mechanism of Veasey modified by Swan since because both references deal with motor-driven gear systems with rotating components, and Veasey modified by Swan already includes a worm screw (Swan: worm 22, fig. 1) as the first transmission component. One would have been motivated to make the modification and include the L-shaped accommodating portion because the worm housing segment 3a of Torii would help ensure that the first transmission component/worm shaft 21 of Torii/worm 22 of Swan does not fall out of place during use and thus keeps the transmission components in the correct relative orientation to ensure that the system continues to run appropriately.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 12/03/2025