DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim objection
The objection to claim 1 is overcome by amendment.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s first argument is that Mor teaches two-dimensional source arrays rather than a one-dimensional source array; however, this argument is moot. While the baseline pattern 158 in FIG. 5, as an example, may be interpreted as comprising five such one-dimensional, line-form source arrays (and the open-ended “comprising” does not preclude a device from having multiple one-dimensional light source arrays as light source arrays), the present action does not rely on such an interpretation, and Mor is not relied on to teach a one-dimensional light source array.
Applicant’s second argument is that using a one-dimensional light source array would render Mor unsuited for its intended purpose, however, this argument is not persuasive. In particular, using only a single one-dimensional light source array would retain much of the benefit of Mor relative to using a single light source. For example, using only a single row of baseline pattern 158 in FIG. 5 would result in a composite pattern 164 with five rows of tightly spaced dots (one row for each row in replication scheme 160). Such a pattern would still have higher overall dot density than a single light source would provide (using the number of dots in FIG. 5, there would be seven times as many dots in an area that would not be much larger). Depending on the dot size relative to dot spacing, each row may even overlap to form a line. Also see FIG. 1, which shows a view of multiple light sources increasing dot density in their area of overlap, even without showing the second dimension.
Applicant’s third argument is that Xu does not state a one-dimensional light source array and that the discussion of multiple sub-light sources as a “single beam” refers to a grouping of several beams from different sub-light sources and does not define the dimensional arrangement of the sub-light sources in the VCSEL array, citing the paragraphs that are numbered 36 and 37 in the previously provided translation. This argument is not persuasive. It should be noted initially that the pattern of dots sharing a single number, corresponding to illumination of the same diffraction order from separate sub-light sources does, in fact, define the pattern of sub-light sources that emits that illumination. In particular, Xu relies on the same underlying physics as Mor (and, later, the claimed invention) to project multiple dots from multiple light sources in a way that images the pattern of those sight sources into the pattern of the dots (with a diffraction pattern applied to each light source providing multiple replicas of that same pattern), so FIG. 6 of Xu indicates a two-by-two arrangement of light sources in a square shape, FIG. 7 indicates a shape with greater spacing between light sources in the y direction, as does FIG. 8, but with a greater spacing along both axes than in FIG. 7. Further, the present action does not rely on Xu to explicitly teach that the sub-light sources are in a one-dimensional arrangement, but rather points out that such an arrangement would produce a pattern of lines similar to the pattern already produced (and similar to the claimed invention), rendering such a pattern obvious, as described below.
Applicant’s fourth argument is that the cited references do not teach the inventive concept of (i) a one-dimensional, line-form light source array in one direction, (ii) a diffractive MLA with greater lens pitch in the first direction, and (iii) light patterns extending along that same first direction; however, this argument is not persuasive. Xu teaches the linear illumination of (iii), the combination teaches (ii), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined apparatus in line with (i) simply by having fewer light sources producing fewer lines while retaining the advantages of having multiple light sources and of producing multiple lines. For further details of how the references relate to the claim language as filed, see the prior art rejections below.
Since the independent claims are not allowed, the dependent claims are not automatically allowable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the image capturing device in claim 7, interpreted as corresponding to the structure recited in paragraph 24 of the specification, comprising a focusing lens, a filter and an image sensor (note that a camera would meet this description or be equivalent thereto, absent evidence to the contrary).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor (US patent publication 20160178915) in view of Xu (foreign patent document CN 108227231 A), further in view of Paschotta (non-patent literature “Microlenses”).
Regarding claim 1, Mor teaches a line pattern projector, comprising:
a light source array (FIG. 1 and paragraph 21, array of optical emitters constructed on die 120), including a plurality of light sources that emit light beams (paragraph 21, VCSELs constructed on die 120);
a lens, configured to collimate the light beams (FIG. 1, projection lens 146); and
a diffractive device, configured to diffract the collimated light beams thereby to project an illumination pattern (FIG. 1, fan-out diffractive optical element 144);
wherein the illumination pattern is formed by overlapping multiple dot patterns that are projected by the light sources (abstract); and the illumination pattern includes a plurality of light patterns in the first direction (FIGs. 2-5 show examples of illumination patterns using dots, each figure first showing an individual dot pattern (158), then the way that the pattern will be overlapped (160), then the overlapping pattern (164)).
Mor does not explicitly teach that the diffractive device configured to diffract the collimated light beams thereby to project an illumination pattern is a diffractive microlens array (MLA), that the diffractive MLA includes a plurality of unit lenses, and a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along the first direction is greater than a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along a second direction, nor that the plurality of light patterns are a plurality of line light patterns.
In the same field of endeavor of generating structured light, Xu does teach a diffractive device, configured to diffract the collimated light beams thereby to project an illumination pattern, wherein the diffractive MLA includes a plurality of unit lenses, and a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along the first direction is greater than a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along a second direction (FIG. 7 shows different arrangements of dots projected by the diffractive optical element. The dots labeled with the same number represent dots projected with the same order of diffraction by different light sources. The dots labeled “3” are displaced farther from the dots labeled “1” than the dots labeled “2” are. This indicates that diffraction was applied more strongly in the y-direction than in the x-direction. A smaller pitch relative to wavelength produces stronger diffraction effects, so the x-direction, with its reduced deflection, must have a greater pitch than in the y-direction. Note that while widening the individual dots along one axis could alternatively be used to create stripes from individual spots, such an alternative approach does not appear to be consistent with the figures as they actually appear in Xu.) and that the plurality of light patterns are a plurality of line light patterns (FIG. 5 shows lines of illumination, with dots overlapping). By designing the diffractive device with a wider pitch along a first direction than along a second, Xu is able to simplify the production of fringe patterns by placing dots in an adjacent or overlapping position along one axis with obvious gaps between adjacent stripes (paragraphs 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dot pattern projector of Mor with the difference in diffractive pitches of Xu in order to produce fringes or stripes in a simplified, cost-effective, and miniaturized way.
While the present action does not rely on Mor or Xu to explicitly teach that the light source array is a one-dimensional light source array in which the plurality of light sources are arranged in a line form along a first direction, as both references teach several one-dimensional light source arrays arranged in a line form along a first direction (see FIGs. 3-5 of Mor, considering a single row of dots in baseline pattern 158. Also see FIGs. 6-8 of Xu, considering only one row for each pattern of numbers (e.g., in FIG. 6, only a single 1,1,2,2,… row, a single 3,3,4,4,… row, etc.); however, simply removing light sources outside of a single one-dimensional light source array would still project a set of lines along the direction of the remaining one-dimensional light source array (for example, FIGs. 6-8 of Xu each show a pattern projected by a two-by-two array of sub-light sources (each sub-light source projects one dot for each number). Removing two of the sub-light sources would cause the lines in FIG. 6 to be thinner, resulting in a wider separation from one line to another. In FIGs. 7-8, there would be half as many lines, also resulting in a wider gap between the remaining lines.). By including fewer VCSELs, costs can be reduced and a device can be more compact (see paragraph 7 of Xu). Further, it is generally considered obvious to eliminate both an element (such as a subset of the light emitters in an array) and the function of that element (such as projecting a corresponding subset of lines). See MPEP 2144.04 II.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the line pattern projector of Mor, as modified by Xu, by including fewer individual light sources, limiting the remaining light sources to a one-dimensional array, while still achieving the predictable result of retaining an increased density of illumination compared to a single light source while having a wider gap between the remaining lines, all with a reasonable expectation of success.
While microlenses are referenced by both Mor (paragraph 4) and Xu (paragraph 10), neither specifically uses microlenses as the diffractive device.
In the same field of endeavor of diffractive optics, Paschotta does teach the use of diffractive microlenses, which use diffraction as the basic principle of their operation (section “Operation Principles of Microlenses”, paragraph 3). Diffractive microlenses can be fabricated using techniques developed for use in semiconductor devices, which aids in their construction (section “Fabrication of Microlenses”, third example). Paschotta also mentions rectangular microlens arrays, which would have a greater pitch in one direction than another (section “Microlens Arrays”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the line pattern projector of Mor, as modified by Xu, by substituting diffractive optical element with a diffractive microlens array like that of Paschotta, that performs the same function and can take advantage of wafer-level optical techniques.
Regarding claim 2, Mor, as modified by Xu and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the line pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above).
Mor further teaches that each of the light sources is a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL) (paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 3, Mor, as modified by Xu and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the line pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above).
Mor further teaches that a light source pitch between two neighbor light sources is regular (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 5, Mor, as modified by Xu and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the line pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above).
Mor further teaches that the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (FIG. 5, which shows both the ways that the dots are arranged within each replica (first part of the figure) and the way the replicas are arranged (second part of the figure) as being aligned with the horizontal and vertical axes, which are perpendicular, forming rectangular or square grids).
Regarding claim 6, Mor, as modified by Xu and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the line pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above).
Mor further teaches that the first direction is a horizontal direction, while the second direction is a vertical direction (paragraph 36 describes the two axes of FIG. 5 as horizontal and vertical).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mor (US Patent Publication 20160178915) in view of Xu (Foreign Patent Document CN 108227231 A), further in view of Paschotta (Non-Patent Literature “Microlenses”) and Zappe (Non-Patent Literature “Micro-optics: a micro-tutorial”).
Regarding claim 4, Mor, as modified by Xu and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the line pattern projector of claim 1 (as described above).
Mor, Xu, and Paschotta do not discuss the minutia of sag heights and angles, so are silent as to whether a maximum sag height of the diffractive MLA is 33.69 µm, and a maximum slope of the diffractive MLA is 73 degrees.
In the same field of endeavor of microlens arrays, Zappe does teach a microlens array for which a maximum sag height of the diffractive MLA is 33.69um, and a maximum slope of the diffractive MLA is 73 degrees (section 4.1, second paragraph, which lists several values of sag heights that do not exceed a maximum sag height of 33.69 µm, and which would not exceed a maximum slope of 73 degrees).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the line pattern projector of Mor, as modified by Xu and Paschotta, through routine optimization to arrive at dimensions like those of Zappe and which conform to the claimed dimensions as a way to set the desired angles of diffraction and the proper distribution of optical power between diffraction orders.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (US Patent Publication 20190068853) in view of Mor (US Patent Publication 20160178915), further in view of Xu (Foreign Patent Document CN 108227231 A) and Paschotta (Non-Patent Literature “Microlenses”).
Regarding claim 7, Price teaches an optical distance measurement system, comprising:
a flood illuminator (FIG. 6, flood fill light illuminator 44), including at least one light source (FIG. 6, light emitter 46) and a diffuser (FIG. 6, diffuser optical element 48), configured to project a first illumination pattern (FIG. 6, flood fill illumination 28);
a line pattern projector (FIG. 5, structured light illuminator 38), configured to project a second illumination pattern (FIG. 5, structured light pattern 26), comprising:
a light source (FIG. 5, light emitter 40);
a lens, configured to collimate the light beams (FIG. 5, unnumbered collimating lens); and
a diffractive device (FIG. 5, diffractive optical element 42), configured to diffract the collimated light beams thereby to project the second illumination pattern (FIG. 5, structured light pattern 26); and
an image capturing device, configured to capture images of illumination patterns reflected from an object (FIG. 7, camera 24).
Price does not explicitly teach that the structured light is generated specifically by a light source array including a plurality of light sources, that the diffraction device is specifically a microlens array (MLA) wherein the diffractive MLA includes a plurality of unit lenses, and a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along the first direction is greater than a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along a second direction, wherein the second illumination pattern is formed by overlapping multiple dot patterns that are projected by the light sources; nor that the illumination pattern includes a plurality of line light patterns in the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor of structured light generation, Mor does teach the use of a light source array including a plurality of light sources (FIG. 1, VCSELs constructed on die 120) and that the second illumination pattern is formed by overlapping multiple dot patterns that are projected by the light sources (FIGs 1-6 all show patterns of light that are overlapped by interlacing the dots of different light sources). By using multiple light sources and using diffraction to repeat the pattern in an overlapping way, Mor interlaces the dots from the different copies of the various light sources, which increases the dot density for the same size of device and same level of power per VCSEL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structured and flood light device of Price with the light source array of Mor in order to gain the benefit of increasing total density of dots without having to use more powerful individual light sources.
In the same field of endeavor of generating structured light, Xu does teach a diffractive device, configured to diffract the collimated light beams thereby to project a second illumination pattern, wherein the diffractive MLA includes a plurality of unit lenses, and a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along the first direction is greater than a lens pitch of the plurality of unit lenses along a second direction (FIG. 7 shows different arrangements of dots projected by the diffractive optical element. The dots labeled with the same number represent dots projected with the same order of diffraction by different light sources. The dots labeled “3” are displaced farther from the dots labeled “1” than the dots labeled “2” are. This indicates that diffraction was applied more strongly in the y-direction than in the x-direction. A smaller pitch relative to wavelength produces stronger diffraction effects, so the x-direction, with its reduced deflection, must have a greater pitch than in the y-direction. Note that while widening the individual dots along one axis could alternatively be used to create stripes from individual spots, such an alternative approach does not appear to be consistent with the figures as they actually appear in Xu.) and that the plurality of light patterns are a plurality of line light patterns (FIG. 5 shows lines of illumination, with dots overlapping). By designing the diffractive device with a greater pitch along a first direction than along a second, Xu is able to simplify the production of fringe patterns by placing dots in an adjacent or overlapping position along one axis with obvious gaps between adjacent stripes (paragraphs 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structured and flood light device of Price, as modified by Mor, with the difference in diffractive pitches of Xu in order to produce fringes or stripes in a simplified, cost-effective, and miniaturized way.
While the present action does not rely on Price, Mor, or Xu to explicitly teach that the light source array is a one-dimensional light source array in which the plurality of light sources are arranged in a line form along a first direction, as both references teach several one-dimensional light source arrays arranged in a line form along a first direction (see FIGs. 3-5 of Mor, considering a single row of dots in baseline pattern 158. Also see FIGs. 6-8 of Xu, considering only one row for each pattern of numbers (e.g., in FIG. 6, only a single 1,1,2,2,… row, a single 3,3,4,4,… row, etc.); however, simply removing light sources outside of a single one-dimensional light source array would still project a set of lines along the direction of the remaining one-dimensional light source array (for example, FIGs. 6-8 of Xu each show a pattern projected by a two-by-two array of sub-light sources (each sub-light source projects one dot for each number). Removing two of the sub-light sources would cause the lines in FIG. 6 to be thinner, resulting in a wider separation from one line to another. In FIGs. 7-8, there would be half as many lines, also resulting in a wider gap between the remaining lines.). By including fewer VCSELs, costs can be reduced and a device can be more compact (see paragraph 7 of Xu). Further, it is generally considered obvious to eliminate both an element (such as a subset of the light emitters in an array) and the function of that element (such as projecting a corresponding subset of lines). See MPEP 2144.04 II.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structured and flood light device of Price, as modified by Mor and Xu, by including fewer individual light sources, limiting the remaining light sources to a one-dimensional array, while still achieving the predictable result of retaining an increased density of illumination compared to a single light source while having a wider gap between the remaining lines, all with a reasonable expectation of success.
While microlenses are referenced by Price (paragraph 51), Mor (paragraph 4), and Xu (paragraph 10), none of them specifically use microlenses as the diffractive device.
In the same field of endeavor of diffractive optics, Paschotta does teach the use of diffractive microlenses, which use diffraction as the basic principle of their operation (section “Operation Principles of Microlenses”, paragraph 3). Diffractive microlenses can be fabricated using techniques developed for use in semiconductor devices, which aids in their construction (section “Fabrication of Microlenses”, third example). Paschotta also mentions rectangular microlens arrays, which would have a wider pitch in one direction than another (section “Microlens Arrays”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structured and flood light device of Price, as modified by Mor and Xu, by substituting diffractive optical element with a diffractive microlens array like that of Paschotta, that performs the same function and can take advantage of wafer-level optical techniques.
Regarding claim 8, Price, as modified by Mor, Xu, and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the optical distance measurement system of claim 7 (as described above).
Price further teaches that the diffuser of the flood illuminator is a microlens array (paragraph 51).
Regarding claim 9, Price, as modified by Mor, Xu, and Paschotta, teaches or renders obvious the optical distance measurement system of claim 7 (as described above).
Price further teaches that the diffuser of the flood illuminator is a diffractive optical element (diffuser optical element 48 described in paragraph 51).
Conclusion
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877