DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 6/22/2022.
Claims 1-17 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/22/2022 and 4/6/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copy required by 37 CFR 1.55 for parent Application No CN202210082895.2 filed on 1/25/2022.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s submission of drawings received on 6/22/2022. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“An apparatus for acquiring system parameters of a soft access device, the soft access device comprising a first logical access point operating on a primary link and a second logical access point operating on a non-primary link, wherein the apparatus comprises a parameter acquisition module…” in Claim 14.
“The apparatus for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the reduced neighbor report information element comprises a first parameter, the first parameter is used for indicating duration of sending updated system parameters of the second logical access point in the broadcast message of the first logical access point;,” in Claim 15.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claims purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claims recite a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim and the claim constitutes improper single means claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite:
“A computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program implements steps of the method as claimed in claim 1 when executed by a processor” in Claim 17.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations are well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). Claim 17 cites software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baron et al. (US 2024/0284305 A1; hereinafter Baron).
Regarding Claim 1, Baron discloses:
A method for acquiring system parameters of a soft access device, the soft access device comprising a first logical access point operating on a primary link and a second logical access point operating on a non-primary link, wherein the method comprises: [Baron discloses multiple access points and multiple links (Abstract; ¶7 and ¶ 80-82; Fig. 1)]
receiving a broadcast message sent by the soft access device on the primary link [Baron discloses that multi-link (ML) beacon frames that are broadcast by the access point multi-link device (AP MLD) to the non-AP MLD (¶90, ¶101; Fig. 2 Items 110, 111, 120, 121, 213)], the broadcast message comprising a reduced neighbor report information element [reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) (¶ 119-122; Fig. 4 Item 410)], the reduced neighbor report information element is used for indicating information of a neighboring logical access point [Baron discloses RNR IE includes information on various neighbor APs, including the APs affiliated to the same AP MLD as the reporting AP but also possibly other APs outside the AP MLD (¶132)] and comprising a multi-link device identifier [MLD ID (Fig. 4 Item 441)], a first link identifier[Link ID (Fig. 4 Item 442)] and a system parameter change count [mapped to BSS Parameters change count (Fig. 4 Item 443)], the multi-link device identifier is used for identifying a device to which the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with [Baron discloses MLD ID being an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated (¶129)], the first link identifier is used for identifying a link corresponding to the neighboring logical access point and being configured as an identifier of the non-primary link [Baron discloses Link ID being a unique identifier (within an MLD) of the reported AP (¶130)], and the system parameter change count is used for identifying a state of update of system parameters[Baron discloses BSS parameters change count being used to count the number of BSS parameter critical updates announced/reported (through beacon frames) by the reported AP over time (¶131)];
sending a first message to the soft access device on the primary link [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)] in a case that a received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that a value of a system parameter change count corresponding to the non-primary link is different from a value of a system parameter change count received previously [Baron discloses the scenario in which a critical update flag subfield is set to 1 if there is a change to a value carried in BSS parameters change subfield (¶ 133-134)], the first message is used for requesting system parameters of a logical access point [Baron discloses that ML probe request frame requests the profiles of access points (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)] and comprising a second link identifier and an identifier of a target multi-link device [Baron discloses the ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5), which includes Link ID (Item 322a) and Link info field (Item 330) which comprises a set of profile sub-elements of affiliated APs (¶ 105, ¶ 117)], the second link identifier is used for identifying a link corresponding to a requested logical access point and being configured as an identifier of the non-primary link, and the identifier of the target multi-link device is used for identifying a device to which the requested logical access point is affiliated with and being configured to indicate a device to which the first logical access point receiving the first message is affiliated with [Baron discloses the ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5), which includes Link ID (Item 322a) and Link info field (Item 330) which comprises a set of profile sub-elements (Items 331 and 350) of affiliated APs (¶ 105, ¶ 116-117; Fig. 3)]; and
receiving a second message in response to the first message and sent by the soft access device on the primary link, the second message comprising an identifier of the non-primary link, system parameters of the second logical access point operating on the non-primary link and a system parameter change count. [Baron discloses a ML probe response frame may include BSS parameters change count and modified BSS parameters as well as a multi-link element (i.e. basic variant multi-link element) which includes common info such as Link ID (¶ 182-185; Fig. 2 Item 212; Fig. 3 Item 322, 322a)]
Regarding Claim 2, Baron disclose(s):
The method for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first message further comprises
a system parameter change count corresponding to a state of local system parameters and an instruction whether to request only updated system parameters [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211), which includes ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5) and that the BSS parameters change count subfield (323) carries a counter counting the number of BSS parameters critical updates]; and
in a case that the instruction in the first message requests only the updated system parameters [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)], system parameters of the second logical access point operating on the non-primary link comprised in the second message are changed system parameters of the second logical access point between the system parameter change count in the second message and the system parameter change count corresponding to the state of the local system parameters in the first message. [ Baron discloses the method of sending a ML probe response includes at step 924 determining the list of information elements that have been modified and integrating all the prepared sub-elements (Item 350) in the ML probe response, including BSS parameters concerned by changes (¶ 219-223; Fig. 9 Item 925)]
Regarding Claim 3, Baron disclose(s):
The method for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 1, wherein after the receiving the broadcast message sent by the soft access device on the primary link and before sending the first message, the method further comprises:
determining whether a link indicated by the first link identifier is the non-primary link according to locally stored information and a value of a link identifier in the reduced neighbor report information element [Baron discloses that RNR IE includes Link ID which is the unique identifier (within a Multi-link device) of the reported AP (¶ 85-87; ¶130; Fig. 4 Item 442)] in a case that the multi-link device identifier in the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message; [Baron discloses that in RNR IE includes MLD ID subfield which indicates an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated and may indicate if the reported AP is affiliated to the same MLD as the reporting AP or if the reported AP is part of another AP MLD (¶85; ¶121; ¶129; Fig. 4 Item 441).]
alternatively, determining the link indicated by the first link identifier as the non-primary link in a case that the multi-link device identifier in the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same soft access device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message, and the neighboring logical access point is a logical access point operating on the non-primary link in the soft access device. [Baron discloses that in RNR IE includes MLD ID subfield which indicates an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated and may indicate if the reported AP is affiliated to the same MLD as the reporting AP or if the reported AP is part of another AP MLD (¶121; ¶128-130; ¶138 Fig. 4 Item 441).]
Regarding Claim 4, Baron disclose(s):
The method for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first message is a multi-link probe request message, and the second message is a multi-link probe response message. [Baron discloses a ML probe response frame and a ML probe request frame (¶ 182; Fig. 2 Items 211 and 212)].
Regarding Claim 5, Baron disclose(s):
The method for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reduced neighbor report information element comprises a first parameter, the first parameter is used for indicating duration of sending updated system parameters of the second logical access point in the broadcast message of the first logical access point [Baron discloses that the reduced neighbor report information (Fig. 4) includes a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) information header (¶ 125-127, ¶ 171; Fig. 4 Item 421 and 424)]; and the method further comprises:
reading the updated system parameters of the second logical access point within the duration indicated by a value of the first parameter [Baron discloses reporting AP determines time for emission of ML beacon frame (TBTT), and that the reporting AP determines whether one or more of the BSS parameters critically changed since the last emission of a ML beacon frame by the reporting AP (¶ 172-173; Fig. 7)] in a case that the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the value of a system parameter change count corresponding to the non-primary link is different from the value of the system parameter change count received previously [Baron discloses reporting AP determines time for emission of ML beacon frame (TBTT), and that the reporting AP determines whether one or more of the BSS parameters critically changed since the last emission of a ML beacon frame by the reporting AP (¶ 172-173; Fig. 7 Item 711)] and the value of the first parameter indicates that a subsequent broadcast message comprises the updated system parameters of the second logical access point. [Baron discloses the reporting AP informs the AP MLD of the modification of at least one of its BSS parameters By keeping track of the last critical changes at BSS parameter level and it is possible for a non-AP affiliated station to only provide the last received MLD BSS Parameters Change Count for the AP to identify precisely the modified BSS parameters so that only those modified BSS parameters can be sent in response (¶ 176-184)]
Regarding Claim 6, Baron disclose(s):
The method for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 5, wherein after the receiving the broadcast message sent by the soft access device on the primary link and before the reading the updated system parameters of the second logical access point, the method further comprises:
determining whether the link indicated by the first link identifier is the non-primary link according to locally stored information and the value of a link identifier in the reduced neighbor report information element [Baron discloses that RNR IE includes Link ID which is the unique identifier (within a Multi-link device) of the reported AP (¶ 85-87; ¶130; Fig. 4 Item 442)] in a case that the multi-link device identifier in the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message; [Baron discloses that in RNR IE includes MLD ID subfield which indicates an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated and may indicate if the reported AP is affiliated to the same MLD as the reporting AP or if the reported AP is part of another AP MLD (¶85; ¶121; ¶129; Fig. 4 Item 441).]
alternatively, determining the link indicated by the first link identifier as the non-primary link in a case that the multi-link device identifier in the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same soft access device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message and is a logical access point operating on the non-primary link in the soft access device. [Baron discloses that in RNR IE includes MLD ID subfield which indicates an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated and may indicate if the reported AP is affiliated to the same MLD as the reporting AP or if the reported AP is part of another AP MLD (¶121; ¶128-130; ¶138 Fig. 4 Item 441).]
Regarding Claim 7, Baron disclose(s):
A method for sending system parameters of a soft access device, the soft access device comprising a first logical access point operating on a primary link and a second logical access point operating on a non-primary link, wherein the method comprises: [Baron discloses multiple access points and multiple links (Abstract; ¶7 and ¶ 80-82; Fig. 1)]
sending a broadcast message on the primary link [Baron discloses that multi-link (ML) beacon frames that are broadcast by the access point multi-link device (AP MLD) to the non-AP MLD (¶90, ¶101; Fig. 2 Items 110, 111, 120, 121, 213)], the broadcast message comprising a reduced neighbor report information element [reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) (¶ 119-122; Fig. 4 Item 410)], the reduced neighbor report information element is used for indicating information of a neighboring logical access point [Baron discloses RNR IE includes information on various neighbor APs, including the APs affiliated to the same AP MLD as the reporting AP but also possibly other APs outside the AP MLD (¶132)] and comprising a multi-link device identifier [MLD ID (Fig. 4 Item 441)], a first link identifier [Link ID (Fig. 4 Item 442)] and a system parameter change count [mapped to BSS Parameters change count (Fig. 4 Item 443)], the multi-link device identifier is used for identifying a device to which the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with [Baron discloses MLD ID being an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated (¶129)], the first link identifier is used for identifying a link corresponding to the neighboring logical access point and being configured as an identifier of the non-primary link [Baron discloses Link ID being a unique identifier (within an MLD) of the reported AP (¶130)], and the system parameter change count is used for identifying a state of update of system parameters [Baron discloses BSS parameters change count being used to count the number of BSS parameter critical updates announced/reported (through beacon frames) by the reported AP over time (¶131)];
receiving a first message sent by a terminal device on the primary link [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)], the first message is used for requesting system parameters of a logical access point [Baron discloses that ML probe request frame requests the profiles of access points (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)] and comprising a second link identifier and an identifier of a target multi-link device [Baron discloses the ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5), which includes Link ID (Item 322a) and Link info field (Item 330) which comprises a set of profile sub-elements of affiliated APs (¶ 105, ¶ 117)], the second link identifier is used for identifying a link corresponding to a requested logical access point and being configured as an identifier of the non-primary link, and the identifier of the target multi-link device is used for identifying a device to which the requested logical access point is affiliated with and being configured to indicate a device to which the first logical access point receiving the first message is affiliated with [Baron discloses the ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5), which includes Link ID (Item 322a) and Link info field (Item 330) which comprises a set of profile sub-elements of affiliated APs (¶ 105, ¶ 117)]; and
sending a second message in response to the first message to the terminal device on the primary link in a case that the identifier of the target multi-link device in a received first message indicates the device to which the first logical access point receiving the first message is affiliated with, the second message comprising an identifier of the non-primary link, system parameters of the second logical access point operating on the non-primary link and a system parameter change count. [Baron discloses a ML probe response frame may include BSS parameters change count and modified BSS parameters as well as a multi-link element (i.e. basic variant multi-link element) which includes common info such as Link ID (¶ 182-185; Fig. 2 Item 212; Fig. 3 Item 322, 322a)]
Regarding Claim 8, Baron disclose(s):
The method for sending system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the first message further comprises a system parameter change count corresponding to a state of local system parameters and an instruction whether to request only updated system parameters [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211), which includes ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5) and that the BSS parameters change count subfield (323) carries a counter counting the number of BSS parameters critical updates]; and
system parameters of the second logical access point operating on the non-primary link comprised in the second message are changed system parameters of the second logical access point between the system parameter change count in the second message and the system parameter change count corresponding to the state of the local system parameters in the first message in a case that the instruction in the first message requests only the updated system parameters. [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211) and that the method of sending a ML probe response includes at step 924 determining the list of information elements that have been modified and integrating all the prepared sub-elements (Item 350) in the ML probe response, including BSS parameters concerned by changes (¶ 219-223; Fig. 9 Item 924-925)],
Regarding Claim 10, Baron disclose(s):
The method for sending system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the multi-link device identifier in the reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message, or indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same soft access device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message and is a logical access point operating on the non-primary link in the soft access device. [Baron discloses that in RNR IE includes MLD ID subfield which indicates an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated and may indicate if the reported AP is affiliated to the same MLD as the reporting AP or if the reported AP is part of another AP MLD (¶121; ¶129; Fig. 4 Item 441).]
Regarding Claim 11, Baron disclose(s):
The method for sending system parameters of a soft access device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the first message is a multi-link probe request message, and the second message is a multi-link probe response message. [Baron discloses a ML probe response frame and a ML probe request frame (¶ 182; Fig. 2 Items 211 and 212)].
Regarding Claim 12, Baron disclose(s):
The method for sending system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the reduced neighbor report information element further comprises a first parameter, the first parameter is used for indicating duration of sending updated system parameters of the second logical access point in the broadcast message of the first logical access point [Baron discloses that the reduced neighbor report information (Fig. 4) includes a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) information header (¶ 125-127, ¶ 171; Fig. 4 Item 421 and 424) and that reporting AP determines time for emission of ML beacon frame (TBTT) as well as whether one or more of the BSS parameters critically changed since the last emission of a ML beacon frame by the reporting AP (¶ 172-173; Fig. 7 Item 711)], and the broadcast message sent within the duration indicated by a value of the first parameter comprising the updated system parameters of the second logical access point. [Baron discloses the reporting AP informs the AP MLD of the modification of at least one of its BSS parameters by keeping track of the last critical changes at BSS parameter level and it is possible for a non-AP affiliated station to only provide the last received MLD BSS Parameters Change Count for the AP to identify precisely the modified BSS parameters so that only those modified BSS parameters can be sent in response (¶ 176-184)]
Regarding Claim 13, Baron disclose(s):
The method for sending system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the multi-link device identifier in the reduced neighbor report information element indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message, or indicates that the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with the same soft access device as the first logical access point sending the broadcast message and is a logical access point operating on the non-primary link in the soft access device. [Baron discloses that in RNR IE includes MLD ID subfield which indicates an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated and may indicate if the reported AP is affiliated to the same MLD as the reporting AP or if the reported AP is part of another AP MLD (¶121; ¶129; Fig. 4 Item 441).]
Regarding Claim 14, Baron disclose(s):
An apparatus for acquiring system parameters of a soft access device, the soft access device comprising a first logical access point operating on a primary link and a second logical access point operating on a non-primary link, wherein the apparatus comprises a parameter acquisition module, the parameter acquisition module is used for executing: [Baron discloses multiple access points and multiple links (Abstract; ¶7 and ¶ 80-82; Fig. 1)]
receiving a broadcast message sent by the soft access device on the primary link [Baron discloses that multi-link (ML) beacon frames that are broadcast by the access point multi-link device (AP MLD) to the non-AP MLD (¶90, ¶101; Fig. 2 Items 110, 111, 120, 121, 213)], the broadcast message comprising a reduced neighbor report information element [reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) (¶ 119-122; Fig. 4 Item 410)], the reduced neighbor report information element is used for indicating information of a neighboring logical access point [Baron discloses RNR IE includes information on various neighbor APs, including the APs affiliated to the same AP MLD as the reporting AP but also possibly other APs outside the AP MLD (¶132)] and comprising a multi-link device identifier [MLD ID (Fig. 4 Item 441)], a first link identifier [Link ID (Fig. 4 Item 442)] and a system parameter change count [mapped to BSS Parameters change count (Fig. 4 Item 443)], the multi-link device identifier is used for identifying a device to which the neighboring logical access point is affiliated with [Baron discloses MLD ID being an identifier of the AP MLD to which the considered reported AP is affiliated (¶129)], the first link identifier is used for identifying a link corresponding to the neighboring logical access point and configured as an identifier of the non-primary link [Baron discloses Link ID being a unique identifier (within an MLD) of the reported AP (¶130)], and the system parameter change count is used for identifying a state of update of system parameters [Baron discloses BSS parameters change count being used to count the number of BSS parameter critical updates announced/reported (through beacon frames) by the reported AP over time (¶131)];
sending a first message to the soft access device on the primary link [Baron discloses requesting updated BSS parameters by sending a ML probe request frame (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)] in a case that the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that a value of a system parameter change count corresponding to the non-primary link is different from a value of a system parameter change count received previously [Baron discloses the scenario in which a critical update flag subfield is set to 1 if there is a change to a value carried in BSS parameters change subfield (¶ 133-134)], the first message is used for requesting system parameters of a logical access point [Baron discloses that ML probe request frame requests the profiles of access points (¶ 138; Fig. 2 Item 211)] and comprising a second link identifier and an identifier of a target multi-link device [Baron discloses the ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5), which includes Link ID (Item 322a) and Link info field (Item 330) which comprises a set of profile sub-elements of affiliated APs (¶ 105, ¶ 117)], the second link identifier is used for identifying a link corresponding to a requested logical access point and being configured as an identifier of the non-primary link, and the identifier of the target multi-link device is used for identifying a device to which the requested logical access point is affiliated with and being configured to indicate a device to which the first logical access point receiving the first message is affiliated with [Baron discloses the ML information element inside the ML probe request (¶ 202; Fig. 5), which includes Link ID (Item 322a) and Link info field (Item 330) which comprises a set of profile sub-elements (Items 331 and 350) of affiliated APs (¶ 105, ¶ 116-117; Fig. 3)]; and
receiving a second message in response to the first message and sent by the soft access device on the primary link, the second message comprising an identifier of the non-primary link, system parameters of the second logical access point operating on the non-primary link and a system parameter change count. [Baron discloses a ML probe response frame may include BSS parameters change count and modified BSS parameters as well as a multi-link element (i.e. basic variant multi-link element) which includes common info such as Link ID (¶ 182-185; Fig. 2 Item 212; Fig. 3 Item 322, 322a)]
Regarding Claim 15, Baron disclose(s):
The apparatus for acquiring system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the reduced neighbor report information element comprises a first parameter, the first parameter is used for indicating duration of sending updated system parameters of the second logical access point in the broadcast message of the first logical access point [Baron discloses that the reduced neighbor report information (Fig. 4) includes a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) information header (¶ 125-127, ¶ 171; Fig. 4 Item 421 and 424)]; the parameter acquisition module is used for executing:
reading the updated system parameters of the second logical access point within the duration indicated by a value of the first parameter [Baron discloses reporting AP determines time for emission of ML beacon frame (TBTT), and that the reporting AP determines whether one or more of the BSS parameters critically changed since the last emission of a ML beacon frame by the reporting AP (¶ 172-173; Fig. 7)] in a case that the received reduced neighbor report information element indicates that a value of the system parameter change count corresponding to the non-primary link is different from that of a system parameter change count received previously [Baron discloses reporting AP determines time for emission of ML beacon frame (TBTT), and that the reporting AP determines whether one or more of the BSS parameters critically changed since the last emission of a ML beacon frame by the reporting AP (¶ 172-173; Fig. 7 Item 711)] and a value of the first parameter indicates that a subsequent broadcast message comprises the updated system parameters of the second logical access point. [Baron discloses the reporting AP informs the AP MLD of the modification of at least one of its BSS parameters By keeping track of the last critical changes at BSS parameter level and it is possible for a non-AP affiliated station to only provide the last received MLD BSS Parameters Change Count for the AP to identify precisely the modified BSS parameters so that only those modified BSS parameters can be sent in response (¶ 176-184)]
Regarding Claim 16, Baron disclose(s):
An electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored on the memory, wherein the processor executes the computer program to implement steps of the method as claimed in claim 1. [Baron discloses the communication device with memory, processor, and executable code (¶236-244; Fig. 11 Items 1101 and 1103)]
Regarding Claim 17, Baron disclose(s):
A computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program implements steps of the method as claimed in claim 1 when executed by a processor. [Baron discloses the communication device with memory, processor, and executable code (¶236-244; Fig. 11 Items 1101 and 1103)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baron et al. (US 2024/0284305 A1; hereinafter Baron), and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 2024/0422674 A1; hereinafter Ryu).
Regarding Claim 9, Baron fully disclose(s): The method for sending system parameters of the soft access device as claimed in claim 7.
Baron fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein after the receiving a first message and before the sending the second message, the method further includes:
starting a timer; and
sending the second message when time of the timer is up.
However Ryu, analogous art that teaches enhanced multi-link power-save mode does disclose:
wherein after the receiving a first message and before the sending the second message, the method further includes:
starting a timer; and
sending the second message when time of the timer is up. [Ryu discloses target wake time (TWT) operation, a feature introduced in IEEE 802.11ah standard, which allows multi-link logical access point to manage activity with scheduling access points to operate at different times to reduce contention (¶ 52; Fig. 3). Ryu also discloses that a timer value may be indicated in a beacon frame and/ a probe response frame (¶ 159) and that during a power save mode, the non-AP MLD may start a timer during which certain multi-link stations may listen for beacon frames on the enabled links at each target beacon transmission time (TBTT) while the timer runs (¶167).]
It would have been obvious by the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified multi-link communication network of Baron with that of Ryu to include a timer such that messages are scheduled accordingly. One would be motivated to do so in order to allow for power saving and contention reduction, as indicated by Ryu (¶52 and ¶167), with reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Rowan K Fakhro/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468