CTFR 17/846,303 CTFR 86656 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION In response to an Office action mailed on 10/22/2025 ("10-22-25 OA"), the Applicant substantively amended claims 1, 6 and 12-18, canceled claims 2, 7-11, 19 and 20, and added new claims 21-28 on 01/20/2026 ("01-20-26 Response"). Currently, claims 1, 3-6, 12-18 and 21-28 are pending. Response to Arguments Applicant's amendments to the independent claim 1 have overcome the objection to the Drawings set forth on page 2 under line item number 1 of the 10-22-25 OA. Applicant's amendments to claims 6, 11 and 13-15 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 6, 11 and 13-15 1 set forth starting on page 3 under line item number 2 of the 10-22-25 OA. Applicant's amendments to the independent claim 1 and 12 and the cancelation of the independent claim 10 have overcome (i) the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-12 and 16-20 as being anticipated by Chen set forth starting on page 5 under line item number 3 of the 10-22-25 OA, (ii) the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 13 and 14 as being unpatentable over Chen and further in view of Ryu set forth starting on page 13 under line item number 4 of the 10-22-25 OA and (iii) the 35 US.C. 103 rejection of claim 15 as being unpatentable over Chen and further in view of Roozeboom set forth starting on page 16 under line item number 5 of the 10-22-25 OA. Substantive-amendments to the independent claims 1 and 12 and new claims 21-28 required further consideration and updated search. New grounds of rejection are provided below. Claim Objections Claims 1, 12 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, “the opening exposing a at a bottom of the opening” should read “the opening exposing a bottom of the opening.” In claim 12, “depositing a first layer of comprising a first conductive material” should read “depositing a first layer comprising a first conductive material.” In claim 25, “is a bottom of the opening” should read “is at a bottom of the opening.” Appropriate corrections are required. A. Prior-art rejections based on Lu Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Pub. No. US 2014/0252601 A1 to Lu et al. ("Lu") . Fig. 9A of Lu has been provided to support the rejection below: PNG media_image1.png 177 400 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding independent claim 1 , Lu teaches a semiconductor assembly (see Fig. 9A for example; see also Fig. 7) comprising: a substrate 20 (para [0014] - “a substrate 20”); a metallic layer 28 (para [0022] - “…the conductive material of the PPI 28 may comprise copper, tungsten, aluminum, silver, gold, the like, or a combination thereof.”) thereon; a dielectric layer 60 (para [0037] - “third passivation layer 60”) over the metallic layer 28; a solder resist layer 68 (para [0047] - “The molding compound 68 may be similar to the molding compound 34 described above except that it is formed on the third passivation layer 60 rather than the PPI 28 and the second passivation layer 26 and the description of the molding compound will not be repeated. The molding compound may undergo similar processing as molding compound 34 such as pressure molding, curing, and plasma cleaning as described above.”; para [0025] - “In an embodiment, the molding compound 34 may be a nonconductive material, such as an epoxy, a resin, polyimide, polybenzoxazole (PBO), benzocyclobutene (BCB), a silicone, an acrylate, the like, or a combination thereof.”; para [0027] - “In some other embodiments the molding compound 34 may be an ultraviolet (UV) cured polymer applied as a gel or malleable solid capable of being disposed on the PPI 28 and second passivation layer 26 and around or conforming to the connector 32 surface.”) over the dielectric layer 60; an opening in the solder resist layer 68 and the dielectric layer 60, the opening exposing a portion of the metallic layer 28 at a bottom of the opening; and a stacked electrical conductor 70 (para [0045] - “In an embodiment the UBM 70 may comprise three layers of conductive materials, such as a layer of titanium, a layer of copper, and a layer of nickel. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that there are many suitable arrangements of materials and layers, such as an arrangement of chrome/chrome-copper alloy/copper/gold, an arrangement of titanium/titanium tungsten/copper, or an arrangement of copper/nickel/gold, that are suitable for the formation of the UBM 70. Any suitable materials or layers of material that may be used for the UBM 70 are fully intended to be included within the scope of the current application.”) on the metallic layer 28 within the opening, the stacked electrical connector 70 including three stacked layers of conductive materials. Regarding claim 3 , Lu teaches the dielectric layer 60 that comprises silicon and nitrogen (para [0037] - “Alternatively, the third passivation layer 60 may be formed…silicon nitrides…”). Regarding claim 4 , Lu teaches the metallic layer 28 that comprises copper (para [0022] - “…the conductive material of the PPI 28 may comprise copper…”). Regarding claim 6 , Lu teaches the semiconductor assembly that is part of a processor die or a memory die (A limitation of “is part of a processor die or a memory die” is a statement of an intended use so it does not structurally distinguish the claimed semiconductor assembly over the semiconductor assembly of Lu. Lu teaches that the substrate 20 may include active and passive device (para [0015]) and maybe part of “WLCSP assemblies” (para [0012]). Thus, the semiconductor assembly of Lu is capable of being used in a processor die or a memory die.). Regarding independent claim 12 , Lu teaches a process of making a semiconductor device, the process comprising: patterning a metallic layer 28 (para [0022] - “…the conductive material of the PPI 28 may comprise copper, tungsten, aluminum, silver, gold, the like, or a combination thereof.”) on a substrate 20; depositing an adhesion promoter layer 60 (para [0037] - “Alternatively, the third passivation layer 60 may be formed…silicon nitrides…” The limitation of “adhesion promoter” does not structurally distinguish the layer because it is directed to an intended use or intended property. Since silicon nitride is the same material that the Applicant discloses to have the intended use or intended property of being an adhesion promoter, the silicon nitride layer of Lu is reasonably capable of being used or having the property as claimed.) on the metallic layer 28 opposite the substrate 20; patterning the adhesion promoter layer 60 to expose a portion of the metallic layer 28; depositing a first layer copper (para [0045] - “In an embodiment the UBM 70 may comprise three layers of conductive materials, such as a layer of titanium, a layer of copper, and a layer of nickel. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that there are many suitable arrangements of materials and layers, such as an arrangement of chrome/chrome-copper alloy/copper/gold, an arrangement of titanium/titanium tungsten/copper, or an arrangement of copper/nickel/gold, that are suitable for the formation of the UBM 70. Any suitable materials or layers of material that may be used for the UBM 70 are fully intended to be included within the scope of the current application.”) of comprising a first conductive material copper ; depositing a second layer nickel comprising a second conductive material nickel on the first layer copper ; and depositing a third layer gold comprising a third conductive material gold on the second layer nickel . Regarding claim 14 , Lu teaches patterning the metallic layer 28 that comprises lithography (para [0022] - “The conductive material may be formed by an electro-chemical plating process, CVD, ALD, physical vapor deposition (PVD), the like, or a combination thereof. In an embodiment, the conductive material of the PPI 28 may comprise copper, tungsten, aluminum, silver, gold, the like, or a combination thereof. The conductive material may then be patterned to form the PPI 28. In other embodiments, the PPI 28 may be formed by first forming and patterning a photo resist (not shown), and then forming the PPI 28 in the patterned photo resist.”). Regarding claim 15 , Lu teaches patterning the metallic layer 28 on a substrate 20 that comprises a single pass (para [0022] discloses that the conductive material may be formed by an electrochemical plating process, which can be construed as a “single” pass process.). Regarding claim 16 , Lu teaches the adhesion promoter layer 60 that comprises a dry adhesion promoter (silicon nitride). Regarding claim 17 , Lu teaches the adhesion promoter layer 60 that comprises silicon and nitrogen (silicon nitride). Regarding claim 18 , Lu teaches attaching one or more micro-balls 72 to the third layer gold . Regarding independent claim 25 , Lu teaches a semiconductor assembly (see Fig. 9A for example; see also Fig. 7) comprising: a substrate 20 (para [0014] - “a substrate 20”); a conductive structure 28 (para [0022] - “…the conductive material of the PPI 28 may comprise copper, tungsten, aluminum, silver, gold, the like, or a combination thereof.”) over the substrate 20; a dielectric layer 60 (para [0037] - “third passivation layer 60”) over the conductive structure 28; a solder resist layer 68 (para [0047] - “The molding compound 68 may be similar to the molding compound 34 described above except that it is formed on the third passivation layer 60 rather than the PPI 28 and the second passivation layer 26 and the description of the molding compound will not be repeated. The molding compound may undergo similar processing as molding compound 34 such as pressure molding, curing, and plasma cleaning as described above.”; para [0025] - “In an embodiment, the molding compound 34 may be a nonconductive material, such as an epoxy, a resin, polyimide, polybenzoxazole (PBO), benzocyclobutene (BCB), a silicone, an acrylate, the like, or a combination thereof.”; para [0027] - “In some other embodiments the molding compound 34 may be an ultraviolet (UV) cured polymer applied as a gel or malleable solid capable of being disposed on the PPI 28 and second passivation layer 26 and around or conforming to the connector 32 surface.”) over the dielectric layer 60; an opening in the solder resist layer 68 and the dielectric layer 60, wherein a portion of the conductive structure 28 is a bottom of the opening; and a stack 70 (para [0045] - “In an embodiment the UBM 70 may comprise three layers of conductive materials, such as a layer of titanium, a layer of copper, and a layer of nickel. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will recognize that there are many suitable arrangements of materials and layers, such as an arrangement of chrome/chrome-copper alloy/copper/gold, an arrangement of titanium/titanium tungsten/copper, or an arrangement of copper/nickel/gold, that are suitable for the formation of the UBM 70. Any suitable materials or layers of material that may be used for the UBM 70 are fully intended to be included within the scope of the current application.”) of a first conductive layer copper , a second conductive layer nickel , and a third conductive layer gold at the bottom of the opening. Regarding claim 26 , Lu teaches the first conductive layer copper is a layer of a first metal copper , the second conductive layer nickel is a layer of a second metal nickel , the third conductive layer gold is a layer of a third metal gold , the second metal nickel is different from the first metal copper and the third metal gold , and the first metal copper is different from the third metal gold . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: (1). Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (2). Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. (3). Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. (4). Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu and further in view of Roozeboom (previously-cited Pub. No. US 2011/0210452 A1 to Roozeboom et al.) . Regarding claim 15 , Lu does not specifically disclose patterning a metallic layer on a substrate that comprises a single pass. Roozeboom teaches that forming a RDL in one single step has made it easier for subsequent UBM contacting (para [0075]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pattern a metallic layer on a substrate of Chen in a single step or a single pass as taught by Roozeboom, so as to make it easier for subsequent UBM contacting (Roozeboom, para [0075]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu and further in view of Pub. No. US 2019/0348352 A1 to Huang et al. (Huang) . Regarding claim 27 , Lu does not teach the conductive structure that includes a fourth metal, and the fourth metal that is different from the first metal, the second metal, and the third metal. Huang teaches a UBM 5 that includes a titanium seed layer below a copper layer 52, a nickel layer 53 and a gold layer 54 (para [0069]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conductive structure of Lu by using a titanium seed layer so as to improve adhesion of the subsequent UBM layers of copper, nickel and gold. B. Prior-art rejections based on the combination of Chen and Cho Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: (1). Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (2). Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. (3). Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. (4). Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-6, 12, 16-18, 21-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (previously-cited US 2013/0207258 A1 to Chen et al.) in view of Pub. No. US 2017/0125364 A1 to Cho et al. (“Cho”) . Figs. 5, 6 and 7 of Chen have been provided to support the rejection below: [AltContent: textbox (IS)] PNG media_image2.png 328 432 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 616 640 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding independent claim 1 , Chen teaches a semiconductor assembly 100 (para [0023] - “FIG. 7 is a cross-sectional diagram depicting an exemplary embodiment of a flip-chip assembly 300. The device 100 shown in FIG. 6 is flipped upside down and attached to another substrate 200.”; see also Figs. 5 and 6) comprising: a substrate 16 and/or 24 (para [0011] - “the one or more IMD layers 16”; para [0014 - “In some embodiments, the passivation layer 24 is formed of a dielectric material, such as…silicon oxynitride…”); a metallic layer 28 (para [0016] - “The PPI structure 28 includes an interconnection line region 28I and a landing pad region 28P”) thereon; a dielectric layer 34 (para [0017] - “In some embodiments, the dielectric layer 34 is a nitride layer, for example a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer or the like.”) over the metallic layer 28, a solder resist layer 30 (para [0018] - “In some embodiments, the second protective layer 30 is formed of a polymer layer, such as an epoxy, polyimide, benzocyclobutene (BCB), polybenzoxazole (PBO), and the like, although other relatively soft, organic, dielectric materials may also be used.”) over the dielectric layer 34; an opening 32b (para [0019] - “[0019] Next, as shown in FIG. 5, the exposed dielectric layer 34 is removed, resulting in an opening 32b exposing a portion 28P1 of the landing pad region 28P.”) in the solder resist layer 30 and the dielectric layer 34, the opening 32b connecting to a portion 28P1 of the metallic layer 28 (see Fig. 5) at a bottom of the opening 32b; and a stacked electrical connector 35 (para [0020] - “…the UBM layer 35 includes at least one Ti-containing layer and at least one Cu-containing layer.”; para [0021] - “bump 36”) on the metallic layer 28 within the opening 32b, the stacked electrical connector 35 that includes two stacked layers Ti/Cu of conductive material. Cho teaches that a “…UBM layer 152 may be formed of titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), gold (Au), nickel vanadium NiV, nickel phosphide (NiP), titanium nickel (TiNi), titanium tungsten (TiW), tantalum nitrogen (TaN), aluminum (Al), palladium (Pd), copper chromium (CuCr), or a combination thereof.” (para [0135]). Cho specifies some examples in which a UBM layer 152 may have, inter alia, a Ti/Cu laminated structure and a Ni/Pd/Au laminated structure (para [0135]). That is, Cho recognizes that both Ti/Cu and Ni/Pd/Au structure are functional equivalents when it comes to serving as a UBM. According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff , 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the semiconductor assembly of Chen by substituting the Ti/Cu material of the UBM by another functionally-equivalent Ni/Pd/Au material as taught by Cho as "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout , 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) (see Section 2144.06.II). Regarding claim 3 , Chen further teaches the dielectric layer 34 that comprises silicon and nitrogen (para [0017] - “In some embodiments, the dielectric layer 34 is a nitride layer, for example a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer or the like.”). Regarding claim 4 , Chen further teaches the metallic layer 28 that comprises copper (para [0016] - “In one embodiment, the PPI structure 28 includes a copper layer or a copper alloy layer.”). Regarding claim 5 , Chen further teaches the substrate 16 that comprises nitrogen (para [0011] - “The IMD layers 16 may be formed of a low-K dielectric material, such as FSG formed by PECVD techniques or high-density plasma CVD (HDPCVD), or the like, and may include intermediate etch stop layers. In some embodiments, one or more etch stop layers (not shown) are positioned between adjacent ones of the dielectric layers, e.g., the ILD layer 14 and the IMD layers 16. Generally, the etch stop layers provide a mechanism to stop an etching process when forming vias and/or contacts. The etch stop layers are formed of a dielectric material having a different etch selectivity from adjacent layers, e.g., the underlying semiconductor substrate 10, the overlying ILD layer 14, and the overlying IMD layers 16. In some embodiments, etch stop layers are formed of SiN, SiCN, SiCO, CN, combinations thereof, or the like, deposited by CVD or PECVD techniques.”), and wherein the dielectric layer 34 (silicon nitride Si 3 N 4 of the dielectric layer 34 has four nitrogen atoms.) comprises four times as much nitrogen as the substrate 16 and/or 24 (SiCN of IMD layers 16 has one nitrogen atom. Silicon oxynitride of the passivation layer 24 has one nitrogen atom.). Regarding claim 6 , Chen of the combination above further teaches the semiconductor assembly is part of a processor die or a memory die (A limitation of “is part of a processor die or a memory die” is a statement of an intended use so it does not structurally distinguish the claimed semiconductor assembly over the semiconductor assembly of Chen. Chen disclose the following; para [0009] - “In an embodiment, the electrical circuitry 12 includes electrical devices formed on the substrate 10 with one or more dielectric layers overlying the electrical devices…The functions may include memory structures, processing structures, sensors, amplifiers, power distribution, input/output circuitry, or the like.” Thus, the semiconductor assembly taught by Chen of the combination above is capable of being used in a processor die or a memory die.).). Regarding independent claim 12 , Chen teaches a process of making a semiconductor device, the process comprising: patterning a metallic layer 28 (para [0016] - “The PPI structure 28 includes an interconnection line region 28I and a landing pad region 28P”) on a substrate 16 and/or 24 (para [0011] - “the one or more IMD layers 16”; para [0014 - “In some embodiments, the passivation layer 24 is formed of a dielectric material, such as…silicon oxynitride…”); depositing an adhesion promoter layer 34 (para [0017] - “In some embodiments, the dielectric layer 34 is a nitride layer, for example a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer or the like.” The limitation of “adhesion promoter” does not structurally distinguish the layer because it is directed to an intended use or intended property. Since silicon nitride is the same material that the Applicant discloses to have the intended use or intended property of being an adhesion promoter, the silicon nitride layer 34 of Chen is reasonably capable of being used or having the property as claimed.) on the metallic layer 28 opposite the substrate 16 and/or 24; patterning the adhesion promoter layer 34 (see Fig. 5) to expose a portion of the metallic layer 28 (para [0016] - “The at least one metallization layer is then patterned as an intereconnect layer 28, which is electrically connected to the conductive pad 22 and may expose a portion of the underlying first protective layer 26.”); and depositing a first layer Ti comprising a first conductive material (para [0020] - “…the UBM layer 35 includes at least one Ti-containing layer and at least one Cu-containing layer.”; para [0021] - “bump 36”) on the exposed portion of the metallic layer 28; depositing a second layer Cu comprising a second conductive material on the first layer Ti. Chen does not disclose depositing a third layer comprising a third conductive material on the second layer. However, Cho teaches that a “…UBM layer 152 may be formed of titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), gold (Au), nickel vanadium NiV, nickel phosphide (NiP), titanium nickel (TiNi), titanium tungsten (TiW), tantalum nitrogen (TaN), aluminum (Al), palladium (Pd), copper chromium (CuCr), or a combination thereof.” (para [0135]). Cho specifies some examples in which a UBM layer 152 may have, inter alia, a Ti/Cu laminated structure and a Ni/Pd/Au laminated structure (para [0135]). That is, Cho recognizes that both Ti/Cu and Ni/Pd/Au structure are functional equivalents when it comes to serving as a UBM. According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff , 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the semiconductor assembly of Chen by substituting the Ti/Cu material of the UBM by another functionally-equivalent Ni/Pd/Au material as taught by Cho as "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout , 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) (see Section 2144.06.II). As a result of the modification, the combination above teaches depositing a first layer Ni comprising a first conductive material Ni, depositing a second layer Pd comprising a second conductive material Pd, and depositing a third layer Au comprising a third conductive material Au on the second layer Pd. Regarding claim 16 , Chen further teaches the adhesion promoter layer 34 that comprises a dry adhesion promoter (silicon nitride). Regarding claim 17 , Chen further teaches the adhesion promoter layer 34 that comprises silicon nitride (silicon nitride). Regarding claim 18 , Chen further teaches attaching one or more micro-balls 36 (para [0021] - “…the bump 36 has a diameter of about 10 .mu.m to about 50 .mu.m. In some embodiments, the bump 36 includes "micro-bumps".) to the surface finish layer 35. Regarding claim 21 , the combination above teaches the three stacked layers Ni/Pd/Au that include a layer of nickel, a layer of palladium and a layer of gold. Regarding claim 22, the combination above teaches the layer of palladium that is between the layer of nickel and the layer of gold. Regarding claim 23 , the combination above teaches the layer of nickel that is between the portion of the metallic layer at the bottom of the opening and the layer of palladium. Regarding claim 24 , the combination above teaches the layer of nickel is in physical contact with the portion of the metallic layer at the bottom of the opening, the layer of palladium is in physical contact with the layer of nickel, and the layer of gold is in physical contact with the layer of palladium. Regarding independent claim 25 , Chen teaches a semiconductor assembly 100 (para [0023] - “FIG. 7 is a cross-sectional diagram depicting an exemplary embodiment of a flip-chip assembly 300. The device 100 shown in FIG. 6 is flipped upside down and attached to another substrate 200.”; see also Figs. 5 and 6) comprising: a substrate 16 and/or 24 (para [0011] - “the one or more IMD layers 16”; para [0014 - “In some embodiments, the passivation layer 24 is formed of a dielectric material, such as…silicon oxynitride…”); a conductive structure 28 (para [0016] - “The PPI structure 28 includes an interconnection line region 28I and a landing pad region 28P”) over the substrate 16 and/or 24; a dielectric layer 34 (para [0017] - “In some embodiments, the dielectric layer 34 is a nitride layer, for example a silicon nitride layer, a silicon oxynitride layer or the like.”) over the conductive structure 28, a solder resist layer 30 (para [0018] - “In some embodiments, the second protective layer 30 is formed of a polymer layer, such as an epoxy, polyimide, benzocyclobutene (BCB), polybenzoxazole (PBO), and the like, although other relatively soft, organic, dielectric materials may also be used.”) over the dielectric layer 34; an opening 32b (para [0019] - “[0019] Next, as shown in FIG. 5, the exposed dielectric layer 34 is removed, resulting in an opening 32b exposing a portion 28P1 of the landing pad region 28P.”) in the solder resist layer 30 and the dielectric layer 34, wherein a portion 28P1 of the conductive structure layer 28 (see Fig. 5) is a bottom of the opening 32b; and a stack 35 (para [0020] - “…the UBM layer 35 includes at least one Ti-containing layer and at least one Cu-containing layer.”; para [0021] - “bump 36”) of a first conductive layer Ti and a second conductive layer Cu at the bottom of the opening 32b. Chen does not teach a third conductive layer at the bottom of the opening. Cho teaches that a “…UBM layer 152 may be formed of titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), gold (Au), nickel vanadium NiV, nickel phosphide (NiP), titanium nickel (TiNi), titanium tungsten (TiW), tantalum nitrogen (TaN), aluminum (Al), palladium (Pd), copper chromium (CuCr), or a combination thereof.” (para [0135]). Cho specifies some examples in which a UBM layer 152 may have, inter alia, a Ti/Cu laminated structure and a Ni/Pd/Au laminated structure (para [0135]). That is, Cho recognizes that both Ti/Cu and Ni/Pd/Au structure are functional equivalents when it comes to serving as a UBM. According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff , 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the semiconductor assembly of Chen by substituting the Ti/Cu material of the UBM by another functionally-equivalent Ni/Pd/Au material as taught by Cho as "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout , 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) (see Section 2144.06.II). Regarding claim 26 , the combination of Chen and Cho teaches the first conductive layer Ni is a layer of a first metal Ni , the second conductive layer Pd is a layer of a second metal Pd , the third conductive layer Au is a layer of a third metal Au , the second metal Pd is different from the first metal Ni and the third metal Au , and the first metal Ni is different from the third metal Au . Regarding claim 28 , the combination of Chen and Cho teaches the first metal Ni that is nickel, the second metal Pd that is palladium, and the third metal Au is gold . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Cho and further in view of Ryu (previously-cited Pub. No. US 2017/0194239 A1 to Ryu et al.) . Regarding claim 13 , Chen teaches patterning a metallic layer that comprises plating, electroless plating, sputtering and chemical vapor deposition (para [0016]), but does not specifically disclose patterning a metallic layer that comprises planopgraphic printing. Ryu teaches patterning a first redistribution structure 130 using electrolytic plating, electroless plating, chemical vapor deposition, sputtering and screen printing, (which is a form of graphic printing on a plane or planographic printing) and lithography (para [0054] - “…first redistribution structure 130 and electronic device coupling structure 131 utilizing any one or more of a variety of processes (e.g., electrolytic plating, electroless plating, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), sputtering or physical vapor deposition (PVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma vapor deposition, printing, screen printing, lithography, etc.). That is, Ryu recognizes that screen printing (planographic printing), electrolytic plating, electroless plating, chemical vapor deposition and sputtering are functional equivalent in being to pattern a metallic layer. According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff , 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Chen and Cho by substituting any one of plating, electroless plating, sputtering and chemical vapor deposition in patterning a metallic layer with another functionally-equivalent screen printing (planographic printing) as taught by Ryu as "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout , 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) (see Section 2144.06.II). Regarding claim 14 , Chen teaches patterning a metallic layer that comprises plating, electroless plating, sputtering and chemical vapor deposition (para [0016]), but does not specifically disclose patterning a metallic layer that comprises lithography. Ryu teaches patterning a first redistribution structure 130 using electrolytic plating, electroless plating, chemical vapor deposition, sputtering, screen printing, (which is a form of graphic printing on a plane or planographic printing) and lithography (para [0054] - “…first redistribution structure 130 and electronic device coupling structure 131 utilizing any one or more of a variety of processes (e.g., electrolytic plating, electroless plating, chemical vapor deposition (CVD), sputtering or physical vapor deposition (PVD), atomic layer deposition (ALD), plasma vapor deposition, printing, screen printing, lithography, etc.). That is, Ryu recognizes that lithography, screen printing (planographic printing), electrolytic plating, electroless plating, chemical vapor deposition and sputtering are functional equivalent in being to pattern a metallic layer. According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff , 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Chen and Cho by substituting any one of plating, electroless plating, sputtering and chemical vapor deposition in patterning a metallic layer with another functionally-equivalent lithography as taught by Ryu as "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout , 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) (see Section 2144.06.II) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Cho and further in view of Roozeboom (previously-cited Pub. No. US 2011/0210452 A1 to Roozeboom et al.) . Regarding claim 15 , the combination of Chen and Cho does not specifically disclose patterning a metallic layer on a substrate that comprises a single pass. Roozeboom teaches that forming a RDL in one single step has made it easier for subsequent UBM contacting (para [0075]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pattern a metallic layer on a substrate of Chen in a single step or a single pass as taught by Roozeboom, so as to make it easier for subsequent UBM contacting (Roozeboom, para [0075]). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL JUNG whose telephone number is (408) 918-7554. The examiner can normally be reached on 8 A.M. to 7 P.M. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eliseo Ramos-Feliciano, can be reached on (571) 272-7925. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 23 May 2026 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 9 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 10 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 11 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 12 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 13 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 14 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 15 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 16 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 17 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 18 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 19 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 20 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 21 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 22 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 23 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 24 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 17/846,303 Page 25 Art Unit: 2817 1 The statutory rejection statement incorrectly listed claims 16-20 as being indefinite when it should have stated claims 6, 11 and 13-15.