DETAILED ACTION
This Action is FINAL and is in response to the amendment filed June 15th, 2026. Claims 1-56 are pending, of which claims 1-56 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed June 15th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-56 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every claim objection and 112(b) rejection as previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 13th, 2026.
Claim Objections
Applicant has amended the claims, resolving informalities. Therefore, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn. However, new claim objections have been made.
See Claim Objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has amended the claims, resolving issues of lack of clarity as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 13th, 2026. Therefore, the claim rejections as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 13th, 2026 under 112(b) have been withdrawn. However, new 112(b) rejections have been made.
See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 101 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that the claims do not recite mathematical formulas or equations and mathematical calculations, because claim language recites the converting of data between different computer-based representations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As was established in Gottschalk v. Benson, conversion of datatypes or representations is considered as falling under mathematical concepts. Furthermore, the claim language recites the conversion of operands to be used in a matrix multiply-accumulate operation which is math. Therefore, the claim as presented recites math.
See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previously cited art have been fully considered and are persuasive. New grounds of rejection have been made by Examiner that are necessitated by the amendments.
See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 and 34 are objected to:
Claim 12 line 4 “one of of the second” should be “one of the second”.
Claim 34 line 2 “TF32 operands” should be “TF32 matrix operands”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on line 6. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 2-6 depend on claim 1, claims 2-6 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on line 5. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 8-13 depend on claim 7, claims 8-13 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on lines 6-7. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 15-20 depend on claim 14, claims 15-20 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on lines 3-4. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 22-27 depend on claim 7, claims 8-13 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on lines 5-6. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 29-34 depend on claim 28, claims 29-34 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on line 5. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 36-42 depend on claim 35, claims 36-42 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “the FP32 matrix operand”. There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 43 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on lines 5-6. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 44-49 depend on claim 43, claims 44-49 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim 50 recites the limitation “each element of the first matrix operand” on lines 3-4. It is unclear if this element of the first matrix operand is just one bit or a floating point number operand. For examination purposes, each element of the first matrix operand will be construed to be a floating-point number operand. Appropriate correction is required.
Because claims 51-56 depend on claim 50, claims 51-56 are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea. Claim language recites conversion from a first datatype to a second datatype for a matrix multiply-accumulate operation.
Below are the limitations of claim 1 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation (mathematical concepts),
transforms a first matrix operand of a first datatype to second one or more matrix operands of a second datatype, each element of the first matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the second one or more matrix operands; and (mathematical concepts)
causes the MMA operation to be performed using the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype (mathematical concepts).
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, additional elements not reciting mathematical equations and mathematical calculations thereof include:
One or more processors
circuitry
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 1 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 2, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 2 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype is to be transformed by decomposing the first matrix operand of the first datatype into two matrix operands of the second datatype, (mathematical concepts)
wherein the first matrix operand is to be approximated by a sum of the two matrix operands of the second datatype. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 1.
Claim 2 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 3, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 3 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
Further performs one or more mathematical operations specific to the second datatype. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 1.
Claim 3 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 4, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 4 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype comprises one or more first sets of data and the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype comprise one or more second sets of data transformed from the one or more first sets of data by combining one or more subsets of the one or more first sets of data (mathematical concepts).
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 1.
Claim 4 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 5, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
There are no further mathematical concepts recited beyond those recited in claim 1.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, additional elements not reciting mathematical concepts are:
wherein the MMA operation…is to generate one or more outputs of the first datatype.
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
There are insignificant extra-solution activities that must be made of note:
wherein the MMA operation…is to generate one or more outputs of the first datatype (insignificant extra-solution activity)
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 5 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “wherein the MMA operation…is to generate one or more outputs of the first datatype”, this action describes data outputting that is recited at a high level of generality. As is known in the art, outputting of data is a basic function of underlying hardware in any computer (Patterson, David A., and John L. Hennessy. Computer Organization and Design: The Hardware/Software Interface, edited by Peter J Ashenden, Elsevier Science & Technology, 2007, hereinafter “Patterson”: Pg. 15 Section 1.3 Lines 2-4). This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 5 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 6, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 6 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
Further performs first matrix operand of the first matrix operand
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements not reciting mathematical concepts are:
by causing one or more first bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a first set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
one or more second bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a second set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
one or more third bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a third set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
There is an insignificant extra-solution activity that must be made of note:
by causing one or more first bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a first set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
one or more second bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a second set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
one or more third bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a third set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “by causing one or more first bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a first set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “one or more second bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a second set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “one or more third bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a third set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 6 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 7, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea. Claim language recites conversion from a first datatype to a second datatype for a matrix multiply-accumulate operation.
Below are the limitations of claim 7 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, (mathematical concepts)
transform a first matrix operand of a first datatype to second one or more matrix operands of a second datatype, (mathematical concepts)
each element of the first matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the second one or more matrix operands; and (mathematical concepts)
cause the MMA operation to be performed using the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, additional elements not reciting mathematical equations and mathematical calculations thereof include:
A system
One or more processors
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 1 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 8, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 8 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype comprises one or more sets of data with a set of dimensions and (mathematical concepts)
cause the MMA operation to generate one or more other sets of data of the first datatype with a subset of the set of dimensions. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 7.
Claim 8 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 9, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 9 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype comprises one or more first sets of data with a set of dimensions and the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype comprise one or more second sets of data each with a subset of the set of dimensions, the one or more second sets of data to be used by the MMA operation. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 7.
Claim 9 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 10, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 10 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein causing the MMA operation to be performed using the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype causes the one or more processors to generate one or more sets of data of the first datatype. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 7.
Claim 10 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 11, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 11 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
transform the first matrix operand of the first datatype
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements not reciting mathematical concepts are:
by causing one or more first bits to be stored as a first set of bits in the one or more operands of the second datatype
one or more second bits to be stored as a second set of bits in the one or more operands of the second datatype
one or more third bits to be stored as a third set of bits in the one or more operands of the second datatype
There is an insignificant extra-solution activity that must be made of note:
by causing one or more first bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a first set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
one or more second bits to be stored as a second set of bits the first matrix operand in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
one or more third bits to be stored as a third set of bits the first matrix operand in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer, as to the arithmetic logic unit and the processor. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 11 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “by causing one or more first bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a first set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “one or more second bits to be stored as a second set of bits the first matrix operand in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “one or more third bits to be stored as a third set of bits the first matrix operand in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 11 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 12, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 12 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
transform the first matrix operand of the first datatype by calculating one or more differences between the first matrix operand of the first datatype and one of second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype and storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements not reciting mathematical concepts are:
and storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
There is an insignificant extra-solution activity that must be made of note:
and storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer, as to the arithmetic logic unit and the processor. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 12 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “and storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 12 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 13, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 13 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the MMA operation has a shape and the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype comprise one or more sets of data to satisfy the shape.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 7.
Claim 13 is not eligible.
Claims 14-18 recite a machine-readable medium upon which instructions are stored for performing the method practiced by the apparatus of claims 7, 11, and 12 respectively.
Claim 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 U.S.P.Q.2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Independent claim 20 recites a “machine-readable medium”, while the instant specification at paragraph [0343] defines a “computer- readable storage medium” as one that is non-transitory. It is unclear if the medium as recited in the claim is the same as the medium as recited in the instant specification. Since there is no explicit disavowal of transitory signals per se, the “machine-readable medium” as claimed in claims 14-20 falls under signals per se. Signals per se is not a “process,” a “machine,” a “manufacture,” or a “composition of matter” as defined in 35 U.S.C. § 101. At Step 2A, claims 14-20 are not directed to a statutory category of invention. Therefore, claim 14-20 are not eligible.
Claims 21, 22, and 24 are directed towards the method practiced by the apparatus of claims 1, 6, and 2 respectively. Claims 21, 22, and 24 are directed to the statutory category of method, thus also satisfying Step 1. As explained above, the additional elements at best are the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception.
As disclosed in the claim in light of the specification, described are mere instructions to apply an exception, invoking the computing elements merely as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP 2105.06(f). Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not eligible.
Regarding claim 23, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (method).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 23 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
further comprising transforming the first matrix operand of the first datatype by calculating one or more differences between the first matrix operand of the first datatype and one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype and storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype to be useable as input to the MMA operation. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements not reciting mathematical concepts are:
storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype to be useable as input to the MMA operation There is an insignificant extra-solution activity that must be made of note:
storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype to be useable as input to the MMA operation
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 23 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In regards to the insignificant extra-solution activity found in this limitation “storing the one or more differences in another one of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype to be useable as input to the MMA operation”, this action describes mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality. Per MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. This limitation therefore remains insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration. Thus, this limitation does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 23 is not eligible.
Claim 25 is directed towards the method practiced by the instructions stored on the computer readable medium of claim 20. Claim 25 is directed to the statutory category of method, thus also satisfying Step 1. As explained above, the additional elements at best are the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception.
As disclosed in the claim in light of the specification, described are mere instructions to apply an exception, invoking the computing elements merely as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP 2105.06(f). Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not eligible.
Regarding claim 26, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (method).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 26 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
further comprising generating one or more outputs of the first datatype by the MMA operation based, at least in part, on the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 21.
Claim 26 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 27, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (method).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 27 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the MMA operation comprises one or more multiplication operations and one or more accumulation operations to generate one or more data sets of the first datatype based, at least in part, on the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 21.
Claim 27 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 28, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea. Claim language recites conversion from a first datatype to a second datatype for a matrix multiply-accumulate operation.
Below are the limitations of claim 28 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, (mathematical concepts)
transforms a thirty-two bit floating point (FP32) matrix operand to one or more tensorflow32 (TF32) matrix operands, (mathematical concepts)
each element of the FP32 matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the one or more TF32 matrix operands and (mathematical concepts)
causes the MMA operation to be performed using the one or more TF32 matrix operands. (mathematical concepts)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, additional elements not reciting mathematical equations and mathematical calculations thereof include:
One or more processors
circuitry
These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to merely generally link the abstract idea to a computer system, such that the claim merely recites “apply it” in a computer. Furthermore, the limitations merely generically recite circuits that flow from the functions performed. For these reasons, the additional elements, whether or alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the additional elements do not, either alone or in combination, amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. As stated in at Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a computer system. For these reasons, claim 28 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 28 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 29, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 29 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the FP32 matrix operand comprises a one-bit sign, an eight-bit exponent, and a twenty three-bit mantissa, and the circuitry transforms the FP32 matrix operand by copying, the one-bit sign, the eight-bit exponent, and a first ten bits of the twenty three-bit mantissa to at least one of the one or more TF32 operands.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts” and “mental steps”. Copying portions of the number into the TF32 operands can be done mentally or with the aid of pen and paper.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 28.
Claim 29 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 30, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 30 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
transforms FP32 matrix operand to the one or more TF32 matrix operands by computing one or more differences between the FP32 matrix operand and one or more other data values (mathematical concepts)
and copying the one or more differences to the one or more TF32 matrix operands (mental steps)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts” and “mental steps”. Copying the one or more differences to each of the TF32 operands can be done mentally or with the aid of pen and paper.
There are no further additional elements beyond those recited in claim 28.
Claim 30 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 31, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 31 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the MMA operation is an ml6n8k4 MMA instruction which, if executed, causes the one or more circuits to compute one or more sets of FP32 data.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 28.
Claim 31 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 32, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 32 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the FP32 matrix operand comprises a first set of data with a first width and a first height and a second set of data with a second width and a second height and the one or more TF32 operands comprise a third set of data with at least the first height and a fourth set of data with at least the second width and the circuitry generates a fifth set of data with at least the first height and the second width.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 28.
Claim 32 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 33, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 33 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the one or more TF32 matrix operands comprise a first set of data computed based, at least in part, on at least one mantissa of the FP32 matrix operand and a second set of data computed based, at least in part, on one or more differences between the one or more FP32 matrix operands and one or more data values.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 28.
Claim 33 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 34, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 34 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the MMA operation comprises a shape and the one or more TF32 operands comprise one or more dimensions to satisfy the shape.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 28.
Claim 34 is not eligible.
Claims 35, 38, 39, 40, 42 are directed towards the system of processors of claims 28, 33, 29, 32, and 31 respectively. Claims 35, 38, 39, 40 are directed to the statutory category of machine, thus also satisfying Step 1. As explained above, the additional elements at best are the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception.
As disclosed in the claim in light of the specification, described are mere instructions to apply an exception, invoking the computing elements merely as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP 2105.06(f). Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not eligible.
Regarding claim 36, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 36 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the MMA operation comprises a shape and the shape indicates one or more dimensions of the one or more TF32 matrix operands.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 35.
Claim 36 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 37, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 37 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein the MMA operation is a ml6n8k4 TF32 MMA instruction that, if executed, causes the one or more processors to compute one or more FP32 data values based, at least in part, on the one or more TF32 matrix operands.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 35.
Claim 37 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 41, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (machine).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 41 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
transform the FP32 matrix operand by decomposing the FP32 matrix operand into a high part and a low part and
copying the high part and the low part into sets of data to be combined into the one or more TF32 operands. (mental steps)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”. Copying the high part and low part of the operand can be practically done in the human or with the aid of pen and paper.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 35.
Claim 41 is not eligible.
Claims 43-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1369, 70 U.S.P.Q.2d 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Claims 43-49 recites a machine-readable medium, while the instant specification at paragraph [0343] defines a “computer-readable storage medium” as one that is non-transitory. It is unclear if the medium as recited in the claim is the same as the medium as recited in the instant specification. Since there is no explicit disavowal of transitory signals per se, the “computer readable medium” as claimed in claims 43-49 falls under signals per se. Signals per se is not a “process,” a “machine,” a “manufacture,” or a “composition of matter” as defined in 35 U.S.C. § 101. At Step 2A, claims 43-49 is not directed to a statutory category of invention. Therefore, claims 43-49 are not eligible.
Claims 50-51 and 53-55 are directed towards the method practiced by the apparatus of claims 35, 41, 40, 36, and 42 respectively. Claims 50-51 and 53-55 are directed to the statutory category of method, thus also satisfying Step 1. Moreover, at Step 2A none of the additional elements regarding the generic computer components are more than high level generic computer components that amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. As explained above, the additional elements at best are the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception.
As disclosed in the claim in light of the specification, described are mere instructions to apply an exception, invoking the computing elements merely as a tool to perform an existing process. See MPEP 2105.06(f). Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not eligible.
Regarding claim 52, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (method).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 52 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
transforming the FP32 matrix operand by copying a one-bit sign, an eight-bit exponent, and a first ten bits of a twenty three-bit mantissa of the FP32 matrix operand to at least one of the one or more TF32 matrix operands (mathematical concepts)
and calculating one or more differences between FP32 matrix operand and one or more data values (mathematical concepts)
copying the one or more differences to the at least one of the one or more TF32 operands (mental steps)
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts” or “mental steps”. Copying to TF32 operands can be done mentally or with the aid of pen and paper.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no additional elements beyond those recited in claim 50.
Claim 52 is not eligible.
Regarding claim 56, at Step 1, the claim is directed to a statutory category of invention (method).
At Step 2A, Prong 1, Examiner notes that the claim recites an abstract idea.
Below are the limitations of claim 56 that recite an abstract idea under mathematical concepts:
wherein causing the MMA operation to be performed causes one or more sets of FP32 data to be generated based, at least in part, on the one or more TF32 matrix operands.
All limitations as indicated describe “mathematical concepts”.
At Step 2A Prong 2, there are no further additional elements beyond those recited in claim 50.
Claim 56 is not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 14-16, 18, 21-22, 24, 26-29, 35, 39, 43, 45, 50, 52, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NVIDIA, ("NVIDIA A100 Tensor Core GPU Architecture", 2020) (hereinafter “NVIDIA’1”) in view of Henry et al. (US 2019/0042244 A1) (hereinafter “Henry”).
Regarding claim 1, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
One or more processors comprising:
circuitry to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, wherein to perform the MMA operation (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 26 Lines 32-37 conversion and MMA operations occur on NVIDIA Ampere architecture using the plurality of tensor cores, the tensor cores having circuitries within for carrying out operations), the circuitry at least:
transforms a first matrix operand of a first datatype to second one or more matrix operands of a second datatype, (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 transforming of matrix’s datatypes from FP32 first datatype to TF32 second datatype)
and causes the MMA operation to be performed using the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 matrix multiply operation occurring using TF32 converted operands and accumulation in FP32).
NVIDIA’1 does not teach each element of the first matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the second one or more matrix operands.
However, Henry teaches the decomposing of matrix operands into a higher part and a lower part of bits, hence one element of a first datatype would correspond to two elements of the second datatype (Henry: Fig. 4).
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the corresponding two second data type elements as taught by Henry with the MMA and conversion as taught by NVIDIA’1 because both references are directed towards matrix operations. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings because operation of cost is spread over the multiple smaller bit operands, yielding faster arithmetic results (Henry: ¶ 0049).
Regarding claim 2, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype is to be transformed by decomposing the first matrix of the first datatype into matrix operands of the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 first portion, first FP32 matrix blue box are being converted as second datatype operands for MMA operation).
NVIDIA’1 does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first matrix operand is to be approximated by a sum of the two matrix operands of the second datatype.
However, Henry teaches matrix operands of a first datatype being decomposed into a higher and lower portion of bits, addition of these portions would result in the total being the original first datatype element corresponding to the two second datatype elements (Henry: Fig. 4 elements 412 and 414, A1 is higher order of bits, and second portion or the lower order of bits is computed by subtracting A1 from A).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 1 applies equally to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry further performs one or more mathematical operations specific to the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 MMA operation right figure shows matrix multiply operation occurring with FP32 operands i.e., second datatype).
Regarding claim 5, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry further generates one or more outputs of the first datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 FP32 output matrix, first datatype).
Regarding claim 6, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry further performs the first matrix operand of the first datatype by causing one or more first bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a first set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 first set of bits are sign bits, which are taken from FP32 datatype and kept for TF32 operands), one or more second bits of the first matrix operand to be stored as a second set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 second set of bits are exponent bits which are taken from FP32 datatype and kept for TF32 operands), and one or more third bits of the first operand matrix to be stored as a third set of bits in the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 third set of bits of bits are mantissa bits, which are taken from FP32 datatype the first 10 bits from the 23 mantissa bits and kept for TF32 operands).
Claims 7, and 10-11 recite the system for the processors as recited in claims 1, and 5-6 respectively and are therefore rejected for the same reasons therein. NVIDIA’1 additionally teaches MMA operations occurring on NVIDIA Ampere architecture i.e., the system using the plurality of tensor cores i.e., the processors, the tensor cores having circuitries within for carrying out operations (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 26 Lines 32-37).
Claims 14, 15, 16, and 18 recite the machine-readable medium storing instructions for the processors as recited in claims 1, 2, 6, and 5 respectively. NVIDIA’1 additionally teaches a memory from which instructions are fetched in order to perform operations on GPUs, including MMA and conversion operations (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 40 Data Fetch Improvements Paragraph).
Claims 21, 22, 24, and 26 recite the method of claims 1, 6, 2, and 5 respectively and are therefore rejected for same reasons therein.
Regarding claim 27, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein the MMA operation comprises one or more multiplication operations and one or more accumulation operations to generate one or more data sets of the first datatype based, at least in part, on the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 matrix multiplication operation with TF32 operands followed by accumulation in FP32 format, in order to obtain final result in FP32 format i.e., first datatype).
Regarding claim 28, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
One or more processors comprising:
Circuitry to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, wherein to perform the MMA operation, the circuitry at least; (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 26 Lines 32-37 conversion and MMA operations occur on NVIDIA Ampere architecture using the plurality of tensor cores, the tensor cores having circuitries within for carrying out operations)
transforms a thirty-two bit floating point (FP32) matrix operand to one or more tensorflow32 (TF32) matrix operands (Pg. 27 Fig. 9 transforming of datatypes from FP32 first datatype to TF32 second datatype)
causes the MMA operation to be performed using the one or more TF32 operands (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 matrix multiply operation occurring using TF32 operands and accumulation in FP32).
NVIDIA’1 does not explicitly teach each element of the FP32 matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the one or more TF32 matrix operands.
However, Henry teaches the decomposing of matrix operands into a higher part and a lower part of bits, hence one element of a first datatype would correspond to two elements of the second datatype (Henry: Fig. 4).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 1 applies equally to claim 28.
Regarding claim 29, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The one or more processors of claim 28, wherein the FP matrix operand comprises a one-bit sign, an eight-bit exponent, and a twenty three-bit mantissa (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 FP32 has sign bit, eight bit exponent, and 23 bit mantissa), and the circuitry transforms the FP32 matrix operand by copying the one-bit sign, the eight-bit exponent, and a first ten bits of the twenty three-bit mantissa to at least one of the one or more TF32 operands (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 conversion to TF32 has a sign bit, eight bit exponent, and 10 bits taken from 23 bit mantissa).
Claims 35 and 39 recite the system for the processors as recited in claims 28 and 29 respectively and are therefore rejected for the same reasons therein. NVIDIA’1 additionally teaches MMA operations occurring on NVIDIA Ampere architecture i.e., the system using the plurality of tensor cores i.e., the processors, the tensor cores having circuitries within for carrying out operations (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 26 Lines 32-37).
Claims 43 and 45 recite the machine-readable medium storing instructions for the processors as recited in claims 28 and 29 respectively. NVIDIA’1 additionally teaches a memory from which instructions are fetched in order to perform operations on GPUs, including MMA and conversion operations (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 40 Data Fetch Improvements Paragraph).
Claims 50 and 52 recite the method as practiced by the processor of claims 28 and 29 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons therein.
Regarding claim 56, NVIDIA’1 teaches:
The method of claim 50, wherein causing the MMA operation to be performed causes one or more sets of FP32 data to be generated based, at least in part, on the one or more TF32 matrix operands (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 computation of FP32 output values using TF32 operands).
Claims 13, 20, 25, 31, 34, 36-37, 42, 47-48, and 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry in view of NVIDIA ("Parallel Thread Execution ISA v7.2", 2020) (hereinafter “NVIDIA’2”).
Regarding claim 13, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the system of claim 7, NVIDIA’7 does not explicitly teach the MMA operation having a shape and the one or more operands of the second datatype comprising one or more sets of data to satisfy the shape.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches the MMA operation being an m16n8k4 MMA instruction with 16m8k4 shape, and sets of TF32 operands (of the second datatype) being determined in order to satisfy the specific shape (Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6).
It would be obvious to combine the specific MMA shape as taught by NVIDIA’2 with the system as taught by NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry as all teachings are directed towards floating-point matrix operations. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings because the parallel thread execution (PTX) can be used across all NVIDIA GPUs in order to enable NVIDIA GPUs to be used as programmable parallel computers (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 1 Section 1.1 third paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the machine-readable medium of claim 14, NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry does not explicitly teach the MMA operation having a shape based on a set of dimensions of the one more operands of the second datatype and the MMA operation being specific to the second datatype.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
wherein the MMA operation has a shape determined based, at least in part, on a set of dimensions of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype and the MMA operation is specific to the second datatype (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape, having sets of TF32 operands dimensions specific to the shape and MMA operation carried out in TF32 format, followed by accumulation in FP32 format).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 20.
Claim 25 teaches the method practiced by the instructions stored in the machine-readable medium of claim 20 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons therein.
Regarding claim 31, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the processor of claim 28, NVIDIA’1 does not explicitly teach the MMA operation being an m16n8k4 MMA instruction, and causing the one or more circuits to compute one or more sets of FP32 data.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
wherein the MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction, which, if executed, causes the circuitry to compute one or more sets of FP32 data (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape, having sets of TF32 operands dimensions specific to the shape and MMA operation carried out in TF32 format, followed by accumulation of various sets of FP32 format).
The motivation to combine with regards to claim 13 applies equally to claim 31.
Regarding claim 34, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the processor of claim 28, NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry does not explicitly teach the MMA operation comprising a shape and the one or more TF32 operands comprising dimensions to satisfy the shape.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
The one or more processors of claim 28, wherein the MMA operation comprises a shape and the one or more TF32 operands comprise one or more dimensions to satisfy the shape (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape, having sets of TF32 operands dimensions specific to the shape and MMA operation carried out in TF32 format).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 34.
Regarding claim 36, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the system of claim 35, NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry does not explicitly teach the MMA operation comprising a shape and the shape indicating one or more dimensions of the one or more TF32 operands.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
The system of claim 25, wherein the MMA operation comprises a shape and the shape indicates one or more dimensions of the one or more TF32 matrix operands (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape, having sets of TF32 operands dimensions specific to the shape and MMA operation carried out in TF32 format).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 36.
Regarding claim 37, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the system of claim 35 as well as carrying out an MMA operation of FP32 values based on TF32 operands (Pg. 27 FP32 inputs are converted to TF32 operands and MMA operation is carried out to output FP32 values carried out GPUs, i.e., processors), NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry does not explicitly teach the MMA instruction being a m16n8k4 TF32 MMA instruction.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
wherein the MMA operation is a m16n8k4 TF32 MMA instruction (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 37.
Regarding claim 42, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the system of claim 35, NVIDIA’1 does not explicitly teach an m16n8k4 TF32 MMA instruction.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
wherein the MMA operation is to be performed in response to an m16n8k4 TF32 MMA instruction (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 42.
Regarding claim 47, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the machine-readable medium of claim 43, NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry does not explicitly teach the MMA operation comprising a shape and the shape indicating dimensions of the one or more TF32 operands.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
wherein the MMA operation comprises a shape and the shape indicates one or more dimensions of the one or more TF32 matrix operands (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4 with 16m8k4 shape).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 47.
Regarding claim 48, while NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry teaches the machine-readable medium of claim 43 and generating one or more sets of FP32 data (NVIDIA’1: Pg. 27 Fig. 9 output as FP32 format), NVIDIA’1 in view of Henry does not explicitly teach the MMA operation being an m16n8k4 MMA instruction.
However, NVIDIA’2 teaches:
wherein the MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction (NVIDIA’2: Pg. 276-279 Section 9.7.13.4.6. MMA operation is an m16n8k4 MMA instruction mma.m16n8k4).
The motivation to combine with respect to claim 13 applies equally to claim 48.
Claims 54-55 recite the method practiced by the machine-readable medium as recited in claims 47-48, and are rejected for the same reasons therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 12, 17, 19, 23, 30, 32, 33, 38, 40, 41, 44, 46, 49, 51, and 53 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and rewritten to overcome the 101 rejections.
Applicant claims one or more processors wherein the processors as in claim 1 comprise:
Circuitry to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, wherein to perform the MMA operation, the circuitry at least:
transforms a first matrix operand of a first datatype to second one or more matrix operands of a second datatype, each element of the first matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the second one or more matrix operands; and
causes the MMA operation to be performed using the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
Wherein claim 4 is dependent on claim 1 further comprising:
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype comprises one or more first sets of data and the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype comprise one or more second sets of data transformed from the one or more first sets of data by combining one or more subsets of the one or more first sets of data.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is the combination of subsets for conversion purposes. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose the combination of subsets of operands for conversion as claimed.
Claim 19, that recites the machine-readable medium with instructions for performing the instructions for the method performed by the apparatus of claim 4 is therefore also allowable.
Applicant claims a system wherein the system as in claim 7 comprises:
one or more processors to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, wherein to perform the MMA operation, the one or more processors at least:
transform a first matrix operand of a first datatype to second one or more matrix operands of a second datatype, each element of the first matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the second one or more matrix operands; and
cause the MMA operation to be performed using the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
Wherein claim 8 is dependent on claim 7 further comprising:
The system of claim 7, wherein the first matrix operand of the first datatype comprises one or more sets of data with a set of dimensions and the one or more processors cause the MMA operation to generate one or more other sets of data of the first datatype with a subset of the set of dimensions.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is generating sets of data with a subset of the set of dimensions. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose generating sets of data with a subset of the set of dimensions as claimed.
Wherein claim 12 is dependent on claim 7 further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors transform the first matrix operand of the first datatype by calculating one or more differences between the first matrix operand of the first datatype and one of of the second one or more matrix operands of the second datatype and storing the one or more differences in another one of the second or more matrix operands of the second datatype.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is conversion by calculation of differences between the one or more operands and the storing of differences. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose conversion by calculation of differences between the one or more operands and the storing of differences.
Claim 17, that recites the machine-readable medium with instructions for performing the instructions for the method performed by the apparatus of claim 12 is therefore also allowable.
Claim 23, that recites the method performed by the apparatus of claim 12 is therefore also allowable.
Applicant claims one or more processors wherein the processors as in claim 28 comprises:
Circuitry to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, wherein to perform the MMA operation, the circuitry at least:
transforms a thirty-two bit floating point (FP32) matrix operand to one or more tensorflow32 (TF32) matrix operands, each element of the FP32 matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the one or more TF32 matrix operands; and
causes the MMA operation to be performed using the one or more TF32 matrix operands.
Wherein claim 30 is dependent on claim 28 further comprising:
The one or more processors of claim 28, wherein the circuitry transforms the FP32 matrix operand to the one or more TF32 matrix operands by computing one or more differences between the FP32 matrix operand and one or more other data values and copying the one or more differences to the one or more TF32 matrix operands.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is conversion by calculation of differences between the one or more operands and the storing of differences. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose conversion by calculation of differences between the one or more operands and the storing of differences.
Claim 46, that recites the machine-readable medium with instructions for performing the instructions for the method performed by the apparatus of claim 30 is therefore also allowable.
Wherein claim 32 is dependent on claim 28 further comprising:
wherein the FP32 matrix operand comprises a first set of data with a first width and a first height and a second set of data with a second width and a second height and the one or more TF32 operands comprise a third set of data with at least the first height and a fourth set of data with at least the second width and the circuitry generates a fifth set of data with at least the first height and the second width.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is the specific output of the operation with the corresponding first height and second width. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose the specific output of the operation with the corresponding first height and second width.
Claim 40, that recites the system with the processors of claim 32 is therefore also allowable.
Claim 49, that recites the machine-readable medium with the instructions for the method performed by the processor of claim 32 is therefore also allowable.
Claim 53, that recites the method performed by the processor of claim 32 is therefore also allowable.
Wherein claim 33 is dependent on claim 28 further comprising:
wherein the one or more TF32 matrix operands comprise a first set of data computed based, at least in part, on at least one mantissa of the FP32 matrix operand and a second set of data computed based, at least in part, on one or more differences between the one or more FP32 matrix operands and one or more data values.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is the computation on the differences of the FP32 operands. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose the computation on the differences of the FP32 operands.
Claim 38, that recites the system of processors of claim 33, is therefore also allowable.
Applicant claims a system wherein the system as in claim 35 comprises:
one or more processors to perform a matrix multiply-accumulate (MMA) operation, wherein to perform the MMA operation, the one or more processors at least:
transform a thirty-two bit floating point (FP32) operand to one or more tensorflow32 (TF32) operands, each element of the FP32 matrix operand corresponding to two elements of the one or more TF32 matrix operands; and
cause the MMA operation to be performed on the one or more TF32 operands.
Wherein claim 41 is dependent on claim 35 further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors transform the FP32 matrix operand by decomposing the FP32 matrix operand into a high part and a low part and copying the high part and the low part into sets of data to be combined into the one or more TF32 operands.
The specific reason for indication of allowable subject matter is the decomposing of the FP32 operands into a high and low part for combination into TF32 operands. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 discloses the claimed invention according to the claim mappings above. NVIDIA’1 in view of NVIDIA’2 does not explicitly disclose the decomposing of the FP32 operands into a high and low part for combination into TF32 operands.
Claim 44, that recites the machine-readable medium having instructions to perform method performed by the system of claim 41, is therefore also allowable.
Claim 50, that recites the method performed by the system of claim 41, is therefore also allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.D.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2151 /EMILY E LAROCQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2182