Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 6, 8-10, 15-16, 18-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EO (U.S. 2020/0116899 A1, hereinafter refer to EO) in view of Hashimoto et al. (U.S. 2020/0386917 A1, hereinafter refer to Hashimoto), and SHI et al. (CN 108922406 A, hereinafter refer to SHI).
CN 108922406 A (hereinafter refer to SHI) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of CN 108922406 A.
Regarding Claim 1: EO discloses a flexible display apparatus (see EO, Figs.3, 4A, and 4C as shown below and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a display panel (DM) and a cover plate layer (WM) located on a display side of the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above),
wherein the cover plate layer (WM) comprises a first cover plate layer (FM1) and a second cover plate layer (FM2) stacked (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above);
the second cover plate layer (FM2) is located on a side of the first cover plate layer (FM1) that is closer to the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above);
the first cover plate layer (FM1) comprises a first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) away from the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above); and
the second cover plate layer (FM2) comprises a second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above);
a first optical adhesive layer (WAD) is provided between the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) and the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above),
a second optical adhesive layer (AD1) is provided on a side of the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) facing the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3-4A as shown above);
a thickness of the first flexible cover plate layer is 30 microns to 100 microns,
a thickness of the second flexible cover plate layer is 30 microns to 100 microns,
a thickness of the first optical adhesive layer is 30 microns to 80 microns,
a thickness of the second optical adhesive layer is 30 microns to 80 microns.
EO is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first cover plate layer comprises a first flexible cover plate layer and a hardened layer located on a side of the first flexible cover plate layer;
a thickness of the first flexible cover plate layer is 30 microns to 100 microns,
a thickness of the second flexible cover plate layer is 30 microns to 100 microns,
a thickness of the first optical adhesive layer is 30 microns to 80 microns, and
a thickness of the second optical adhesive layer is 30 microns to 80 microns; and
the second optical adhesive comprises UV viscosity-decreasing adhesive.
For support see Hashimoto, which teaches the first cover plate layer (12/11) comprises a first flexible cover plate layer (11) and a hardened layer (12) located on a side of the first flexible cover plate layer (11) that is away from the display panel (53) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0096]- ¶ [0113]); and
a thickness of the first flexible cover plate layer (11) is 30 microns to 100 microns (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0053]),
a thickness of the second flexible cover plate layer (13) is 30 microns to 100 microns (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0139]),
a thickness of the first optical adhesive layer (41) is 30 microns to 80 microns (50 μm or less) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0156]), and
a thickness of the second optical adhesive layer (56) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown below); and
the second optical adhesive (56) comprises UV viscosity-decreasing adhesive (UV curable polyimide base material) (note: patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown below, ¶ ¶ [0141]. [0176], ¶ [00216], ¶ [0225]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EO and Hashimoto to enable the known thickness of cover plate layers and adhesive layers, and first cover plate layer to comprises a first flexible cover plate layer and a hardened layer as taught by Hashimoto in order to obtain a foldable optical film with excellent impact resistance.
The combination of EO and Hashimoto is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a thickness of the second optical adhesive layer is 30 microns to 80 microns.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the thickness of the second optical adhesive layer through routine experimentation and optimization to obtaining the desired light transmittance and adhesiveness properties because the thickness of the second optical adhesive layer is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
The combination of EO and Hashimoto is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a material of the second flexible cover plate layer comprises glass,
the glass comprises ultra-thin glass.
For support see SHI, which teaches a material of the flexible cover plate layer (11 and 12) comprises glass, wherein the glass comprises ultra-thin glass as alternative to polyimide material (see SHI, Fig.9, pages.2 -3, page.7, page.9, and claim 8).
The combination of EO and Hashimoto teaches the claimed invention except for the material of the second flexible cover plate. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI to enable the known glass material, wherein the glass comprises ultra-thin glass as alternative material to acrylic resin, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin, polyimide (PI), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polycarbonate (PC), or the like as taught by SHI in order to forming the combinations of EO and Hashimoto flexible cover plate layers and effectively improve the hardness of the flexible cover plate and bending-resistant performance, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 2: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the second cover plate layer (13) further comprises a third flexible cover plate layer, located on a side of the second flexible cover plate layer away from the first flexible cover plate layer (11) (note: resin layer 13 is two or more resin layers to fulfill the requirements) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above and ¶ [0126]).
Regarding Claim 3: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a material of at least one of the first flexible cover plate layer (11) and the third flexible cover plate layer (note: resin layer 13 is two or more resin layers to fulfill the requirements) comprises one or more of a flexible polymer layer and ultra-thin glass (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above, ¶ [0126], and ¶ [0138]- ¶ [0152] and see SHI, Fig.9, pages.2 -3, page.7, page.9, and claim 8).
Regarding Claim 4: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the flexible polymer layer comprises polyimide, polyethylene naphthalate, polyethylene terephthalate, polymethyl methacrylate, polyurethane and aramid (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above, ¶ [0054]- ¶ [0055], and ¶ [0138]- ¶ [0152] and see SHI, Fig.9, pages.2 -3, page.7, page.9, and claim 8).
Regarding Claim 5: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 4 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the material of the first flexible cover plate layer (11) and the material of the third flexible cover plate layer (note: resin layer 13 is two or more resin layers to fulfill the requirements) are both polyethylene terephthalate (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above, ¶ [0054], ¶ [0126], and ¶ [00171] and see SHI, Fig.9, pages.2 -3, page.7, page.9, and claim 8).
Regarding Claim 6: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 5 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein optical adhesive layers (WAD/AD1) are arranged between adjacent flexible cover layers (FM) and on a side of a flexible cover layer (FM) closest to the display panel (DM) facing the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the thickness of the second flexible cover plate layer (13) is 50 microns to 70 microns (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above and ¶ [0139]).
Regarding Claim 9: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a thickness of at least one of the first flexible cover plate layer (11) and the third flexible cover plate layer (note: resin layer 13 is two or more resin layers to fulfill the requirements) is 30 microns to 100 microns (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above, ¶ [0053], ¶ [0126], and ¶ [00139]).
Regarding Claim 10: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 6 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the second optical adhesive layer (56) is provided between the third flexible cover plate layer (55) and the second flexible cover plate layer (13); and a surface of the third flexible cover plate layer (55) facing the display panel (53) is provided with a fifth optical adhesive layer (56) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above);
an orthographic projection of the second flexible cover layer (13) and an orthographic projection of the first optical adhesive layer (41) on the display panel (43) completely coincide, the orthographic projection of the second flexible cover layer (13) on the display panel (53) is located within an orthographic projection of the third flexible cover layer (55) on the display panel (53), and the orthographic projection of the third flexible cover layer (55) on the display panel (53) is located within an orthographic projection of the first flexible cover layer (11) on the display panel (53) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 15: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a material of the hardened layer (12) comprises acrylic or siloxane-based polymers; and a thickness of the hardened layer (12) is 5 microns to 20 microns (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above and ¶ [0093]).
Regarding Claim 16: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the flexible display apparatus is a foldable display apparatus (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a thickness of the first ink layer (PL2) and a thickness of the second ink layer (PL1) are both 2 microns to 8 microns (about 5 μm or more and about 15 μm or less) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above and ¶ [0076]).
Regarding Claim 19: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a first optical adhesive layer (WAD) is provided between the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) and the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above);
a second optical adhesive layer (AD1) is provided on a surface of the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) that faces the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above);
a boundary on a side of the first ink layer (PL2) that is away from the display region (TPA) is flush with a boundary of the second optical adhesive layer (AD1) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above); and
a boundary on a side of the second ink layer (PL1) that is away from the display region (TPA) is flush with the boundary of the first optical adhesive layer (WAD) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4A as shown above).
Regarding Claim 21: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a thickness of the hardened layer (12) is 5 microns to 20 microns (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above), and
elastic modulus of the first optical adhesive layer (41) and elastic modulus of the second optical adhesive layer (56) are 10 KPa to 60 Kpa (3 MPa or more) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above, ¶ [0027], and ¶ [0155]).
With respect to the elastic modulus of the first optical adhesive layer and elastic modulus of the second optical adhesive layer, Hashimoto recognizes that the elastic modulus of the first optical adhesive layer and elastic modulus of the second optical adhesive layer is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hashimoto elastic modulus of the first optical adhesive layer and elastic modulus of the second optical adhesive layer to have a an elastic modulus between 10 KPa to 60 Kpa. One would have chosen the desired elastic modulus of the first optical adhesive layer and elastic modulus of the second optical adhesive layer according to a result effective variable balancing the need to obtain the desired impact resistance.
Claim(s) 11-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EO (U.S. 2020/0116899 A1, hereinafter refer to EO), Hashimoto et al. (U.S. 2020/0386917 A1, hereinafter refer to Hashimoto), SHI et al. (CN 108922406 A, hereinafter refer to SHI) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (U.S. 2018/0350890 A1, hereinafter refer to Jeong).
Regarding Claim 11: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein a touch layer (54), located between the display panel (53) and the cover plate layer (10) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above).
The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the touch layer is in direct contact with the display panel.
For support see Jeong, which teaches wherein the touch layer (710) is in direct contact with the display panel (200) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown below, ¶ [0026], and ¶ [0115]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EO, Hashimoto, SHI, and Jeong to enable touch layer of Hashimoto to be in direct contact with the display panel as taught by Jeong in order to obtain a display device having an improved impact resistance.
Regarding Claim 12: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, SHI, and Jeong further teaches wherein a support layer (115), located on a side of the display panel (200) that is away from the cover plate layer (590/610/670) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0115]),
wherein the polarizer sheet (690) is located between the touch layer (710) and the cover plate layer (590/610/670) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0115]);
the flexible display apparatus comprises a neutral layer (290/330/340/450/710) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above); and
the neutral layer (290/330/340/450/710) comprises the touch layer (710) and at least a part of film layers (290/330/340/450) of the display panel (200) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, SHI, and Jeong further teaches wherein the touch layer (710) is located on a surface of a side of the encapsulation layer (450) that is away from the light-emitting layer (330), to be in direct contact with the encapsulation layer (450) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0115]); and
the neutral layer (290/330/340/450/710) comprises at least one of the light-emitting layer (330), the encapsulation layer (450) and the touch layer (710) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0115]).
Regarding Claim 14: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, SHI, and Jeong further teaches wherein a third optical adhesive layer (56) is provided between the polarizer sheet (55) and the touch layer (54); and a fourth optical adhesive layer (52) is provided between the display panel (53) and the support layer (51) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 20: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches a method for fabricating the flexible display apparatus according to claim 1 (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above), comprising:
forming the display panel (53), wherein the forming the display panel (53) comprises forming a light- emitting layer (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above and ¶ [0175]);
patterning to form a touch layer (54) on display panel (53) that is away from the light-emitting layer (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above and ¶ [0175]);
bonding a polarizer sheet (55) with a side of the touch layer (54) that is away from the display panel (53) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above and ¶ [0175]);
bonding a support layer (51) with a side of the display panel (53) that is away from the touch layer (54) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above);
forming the cover plate layer (10), wherein the forming the cover plate layer (10) comprises bonding a side of the first flexible cover plate layer (11) that is away from the hardened layer (12) with the second flexible cover plate layer (13) (see Hashimoto, Figs.5-6 as shown above).
The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the forming the display panel comprises forming a light- emitting layer and an encapsulation layer located on a light emergent side of the light-emitting layer;
patterning to form a touch layer on a side of the encapsulation layer display panel that is away from the light-emitting layer;
bonding a polarizer sheet with a side of the touch layer that is away from the encapsulation layer.
For support see Jeong, which teaches forming the display panel (200), wherein the forming the display panel (200) comprises forming a light-emitting layer (330) and an encapsulation layer (450) located on a light emergent side of the light-emitting layer (330) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0092]- ¶ [0095]);
patterning to form a touch layer (710) on a side of the encapsulation layer (450) that is away from the light-emitting layer (330) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0114]- ¶ [0115]);
bonding a polarizer sheet (690) with a side of the touch layer (710) that is away from the encapsulation layer (450) (see Jeong, Figs.6 and 13 as shown above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EO, Hashimoto, SHI, and Jeong to enable the display panel to comprise forming a light- emitting layer and an encapsulation layer located on a light emergent side of the light-emitting layer; and
patterning to form a touch layer on a side of the encapsulation layer display panel that is away from the light-emitting layer; and
bonding a polarizer sheet with a side of the touch layer that is away from the encapsulation layer as taught by Jeong in order to obtain a display device having an improved impact resistance.
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EO (U.S. 2020/0116899 A1, hereinafter refer to EO), Hashimoto et al. (U.S. 2020/0386917 A1, hereinafter refer to Hashimoto), and SHI et al. (CN 108922406 A, hereinafter refer to SHI) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn (U.S. 2016/0223722 A1, hereinafter refer to Ahn).
Regarding Claim 23: EO as modified teaches a flexible display apparatus as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI further teaches wherein the display panel (DM) comprises a display region (TPA) and a peripheral region (NA) surrounding the display region (TPA); a surface of the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) that is away from the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) is provided with a first ink layer (PL2); a surface of the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) that faces the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) is provided with a second ink layer (PL1); the first ink layer (PL2) and the second ink layer (PL1) are both located in the peripheral region (NA); and an orthogonal projection of the second ink layer (PL1) on the display panel (DM) overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the first ink layer (PL2) on the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4C as shown above); or
the display panel (DM) comprises a display region (TPA) and a peripheral region (NA) surrounding the display region (TPA); a surface of the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) that is away from the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) is provided with a first ink layer (PL2); a surface of the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) that faces the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) is provided with a second ink layer (PL1); the first ink layer (PL2) and the second ink layer (PL1) are both located in the peripheral region (NA); and an orthogonal projection of the second ink layer (PL1) on the display panel (DM) overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the first ink layer (PL2) on the display panel (DM) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4C as shown above);
the first ink layer (PL2) and the second ink layer (PL1) are both light shielding layers (see EO, Figs.3 and 4C as shown above and ¶ [0071]);
the first ink layer (PL2) is located between the second flexible cover plate layer (FM2) and the second optical adhesive layer (AD1), the second ink layer (PL1) is provided between the first flexible cover plate layer (FM1) and the first optical adhesive layer (WAD) (see EO, Figs.3 and 4C as shown above).
The combination of EO, Hashimoto, and SHI is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the display panel is an organic light emitting diode display panel; the organic light emitting diode display panel comprises a light-emitting layer and an encapsulation layer covering the light- emitting layer;
the first ink layer and the second ink layer are both located at a side of the encapsulation layer away from the light-emitting layer;
the first ink layer and the second ink layer are both located on a side of a polarizer sheet away from the encapsulation layer.
For support see Ahn, which teaches wherein the display panel (10) is an organic light emitting diode display panel; the organic light emitting diode display panel (10) comprises a light-emitting layer (12) and an encapsulation layer (14) covering the light- emitting layer (12) (see Ahn, Fig.1 as shown below, ¶ [0022], and ¶ [0033]- ¶ [0037]);
the first ink layer (20) and the second ink layer (24) are both located at a side of the encapsulation layer (14) away from the light-emitting layers (12) (see Ahn, Fig.1 as shown below);
the first ink layer (20) and the second ink layer (24) are both located on a side of a polarizer sheet (16) away from the encapsulation layer (14) (see Ahn, Fig.1 as shown below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of EO, Hashimoto, SHI, and Ahn to enable the display panel to be an organic light emitting diode display panel and the organic light emitting diode display panel comprises a light-emitting layer and an encapsulation layer covering the light- emitting layer; wherein the first ink layer and the second ink layer both located at a side of the encapsulation layer away from the light-emitting layers as taught by Ahn in order to reduce the display defects of the display device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812