Status under America Invents Act
Acknowledgment of Request for Continued Examination (RCE)
Rejection based on Prior Art
Claims 12, 15, 36 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rubbert (US 2008/0090207).
Rubbert at least in Figures 13, 15, 16, 31, 35, 36 discloses an implantable object (dental implant 12000) that is custom shaped to match an implantation site (e.g. tooth socket 500, Figure 14) wherein the implantable object has a smooth surface with a changing contour and which further comprises an opening (12010, 21000 (Fig 31)). In regard to claims 38-41, the present rejection interprets the claimed invention as not requiring the adhesive/patient as an element of the implantable object, but rather as being intended/constructed for use with the adhesive and implantation site. Accordingly, the intended use of a cement with the claimed implantable object fails to impose any objectively ascertainable structural limitations on the claimed implantable object itself. Furthermore, it is noted that Rubbert discloses the use of cement (9000 Figure 9; paragraphs [0123]-[0126]) for securing the dental implant when in use.
In regard to the newly added limitation requiring “a transition zone between an endosseous portion and a transdermal portion of the implantable object,” the examiner notes that the Rubbert implant 12000 has an endosseous portion that is intended to contact the patient’s bone 1060, a transdermal portion that is intended to contact and extend through the patient’s gum tissue 1030, and a “zone” that is between the two portions. Applicant’s attention is directed to the annotated Figure 15 of Rubbert below.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubbert (US 2008/0090207).
In regard to claim 37, Rubbert does not appear to explicitly disclose any particular sizes for the dental implant, however, the construction of a dental implant to within the wide range (0.1mm – 50mm diameter) of sizes claimed such that fits with a typical patient’s tooth socket would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubbert (US 2008/0090207) in view of Garigapati et al (US 2011/0277931).
Rubbert discloses that the implantable object is adhered to the implantation site by a bone cement 9000 (Figure 9). The Rubbert bone adhesive does not appear to meet the limitations set forth regarding the particularly claimed bone cement. At least the bone cement “I” is known in the art as taught by Garigapati et al (see paragraph [0010]). Garigapati further discloses that the cement composition has capacity to enhance the fixation of a prosthesis to a bone and may be used to support new bone growth in dental sockets (see paragraph [0021]). To have substituted the enhanced bone growth cement of Garigapati et al for the bone cement disclosed in Rubbert for an enhanced fixation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
In response to the rejection based on Rubbert applicant has amended the claims to require “a transition zone between an endosseous portion and a transdermal portion of the implantable object” and declares that Rubbert fails to disclose such claimed features. The examiner is not persuaded. As illustrated above in the annotated Figure 15 of Rubbert, Rubbert clearly illustrates a portion (endosseous portion) of the implant being in contact with a patient’s bone 1060 and a portion (transdermal portion) being in contact with a patient’s gum tissue 1030 and an undefined “transition zone” between the two portions.
/RALPH A LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 (571) 272-4712