Response to Arguments and Claim Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8 of “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment”, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 2 and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 2 was canceled which makes the previous rejection no longer needed. Claim 13 was amended to remove/replace the word “proximate,” and in doing so, definitiveness issues have been cleared up. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 2 and 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claims 1 and 10 have been amended to include the limitation that the stiffener when in a plan view has a “a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion,” and “in the plan view, and the plurality of slots comprising first slots along the top portion, second slots along the bottom portion, third slots along the first side portion, and fourth slots along the second side portion in the plan view.” The claim(s) amendment does positively add limitations to the claims; however, the new limitations still fail to overcome the previously cited art of Shim or Zhao, Figures shown below.
Figure 1: Fig. 10 from Shim, and Fig. 13 from Zhao
Both Shim and Zhao can appear to contain a stiffener, where the plan view (As displayed above) has a “a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion.” Where each of the portions, can at least be understood at least to be a peripheral edge and the immediate area next to said edge. Furthermore, each portion (top/bottom/side) also must have some plurality of slots along said portion. However, under broadest reasonable interpretation, both of the references appear to disclose this as well. As an example, please see annotated Fig. 10 from the Shim reference.
Figure 2: Annotated Fig. 10 from Shim.
One thing to notice is that some of the slots are shared between portions, however, there is nothing within the claim(s) which makes this problematic. Only that the portion has a plurality of slots that is different from the plurality of slots of a different portion. Even with shared slots, as long as it is not exactly the same plurality of slots, the pluralities of slots will be different. E.g. the above annotated figure shows that the “plurality of slots” from the top portion and the “plurality of slots” from the side portion are different pluralities, even with the overlapping slot. Its for these reasons that even with the additional limitations to the claims in the amendment, that the recited prior art still discloses the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication by Shim (US 20090115048 A1; Shim).
Regarding claim 1, Shim discloses an apparatus comprising:
a stiffener (150/250/350) for a semiconductor substrate (120), the stiffener having a first side and a second side opposite the first side in a cross-sectional view (The stiffener is plate like, we will say the large flat sides of the plates are the first and second sides), and the stiffener having a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion in a plan view. (Fig. 10, where each of the edges along with the direct adjacent area can be considered the different portions with the top being the top portion and so on); and
a plurality of slots in the stiffener (154/254/354), each of the plurality of slots extending from the first side of the stiffener to the second side of the stiffener in the cross-sectional view (Figures 4 and 7, showing that the slots 154 are extending through the entirety of the stiffener from the first side to the second side), and the plurality of slots comprising first slots along the top portion, second slots along the bottom portion, third slots along the first side portion, and fourth slots along the second side portion in the plan view (See annotated Fig. 10 below, where each portion will have a plurality of slots and said pluralities will be different from each other).
Figure 3: Annotated Fig. 10 from Shim.
Regarding claim 3, Shim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further wherein the stiffener includes an opening (152/252/352) extending from the first side of the stiffener to the second side of the stiffener (Figures 4 and 7, showing that the opening 152 is extending through the entirety of the stiffener from the first side to the second side).
Regarding claim 4, Shim discloses the apparatus of claim 3, and further wherein the plurality of slots are arranged based upon an operational frequency of circuitry that is at least partially beneath the opening of the stiffener (Para. 28).
Regarding claim 9, Shim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a geometry of the plurality of slots in the stiffener at the first side of the stiffener includes selected one of a: circle, oval, square, regular polygon, or irregular shape (Para. 35, where various shapes for the slots can be used such as L shaped 154, rectangular shaped 245, circular shaped 354, and any other shape as necessary).
Regarding claim 10, Shim discloses a package comprising:
a substrate (120); and
a stiffener (150/250/350) on a surface of the substrate, the stiffener having a first side and a second side opposite the first side in across-sectional view (The stiffener is plate like, we will say the large flat sides of the plates are the first and second sides), and the stiffener having a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion in a plan view (Fig. 10, where each of the edges along with the direct adjacent area can be considered the different portions with the top being the top portion and so on)
wherein the stiffener includes a plurality of slots (154/254/354), each of the plurality of slots extending from the first side of the stiffener to the second side of the stiffener in the cross-sectional view (Figures 4 and 7, showing that the slots 154 are extending through the entirety of the stiffener from the first side to the second side) and the plurality of slots comprising first slots along the top portion, second slots along the bottom portion, third slots along the first side portion, and fourth slots along the second side portion in the plan view (See annotated Fig. 10 in above claim 1 rejection, where each portion will have a plurality of slots and said pluralities will be different from each other).
Regarding claim 11, Shim discloses the package of claim 10, wherein the stiffener includes an opening (152/252/352) extending from the first side of the stiffener to the second side of the stiffener (Figures 4 and 7, showing that the opening 152 is extending through the entirety of the stiffener from the first side to the second side).
Regarding claim 12, Shim discloses the package of claim 11, wherein the substrate further includes circuitry (110), the circuitry at least partially beneath the opening of the stiffener (Fig. 4, where the circuitry is disposed in the opening area).
Regarding claim 13, Shim discloses the package of claim 12, wherein the substrate further includes high speed traces adjacent to the surface of the substrate that are at least partially beneath the opening of the stiffener (Shim uses a semiconductor chip in their circuitry, and by nature of semiconductor chips, there are traces within the device. Furthermore, the substrate that is beneath the opening is a circuit board with a circuit pattern which also will have traves).
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication by Zhao et al. (US 20090115048 A1; Zhao).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses an apparatus (1000) comprising:
a stiffener (1020) for a semiconductor substrate (610), the stiffener having a first side and a second side opposite the first side in a cross-sectional view (The stiffener is plate like, we will say the large flat sides of the plates are the first and second sides), and the stiffener having a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion in a plan view (Fig. 13, where each of the edges along with the direct adjacent area can be considered the different portions with the top being the top portion and so on); and
a plurality of slots (1070, 1074, and 1078) in the stiffener, each of the plurality of slots extending from the first side of the stiffener to the second side of the stiffener in the cross-sectional view (Figures 10, showing that the slots 1070, 1074, and 1078 are extending through the entirety of the stiffener from the first side to the second side), and the plurality of slots comprising first slots along the top portion, second slots along the bottom portion, third slots along the first side portion, and fourth slots along the second side portion in the plan view (See annotated Fig. 13 below, where each portion will have a plurality of slots and said pluralities will be different from each other).
Figure 4: Annotated Fig. 13 of Zhao
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further comprising:
a gasket (1025) with a first side and a second side opposite the first side (Fig. 10, we can consider the top surface of gasket 1025 to be the first side and the bottom to be the second side of the gasket), wherein the gasket includes electromagnetic interference (EMI) blocking material (Para. 47), wherein the gasket includes a plurality of protrusions (1072, 1076, and 1080) on the second side of the gasket (Fig. 10, where the protrusions are on the second side [bottom in figure]), the plurality of protrusions in a configuration similar to a configuration of the plurality of slots in the stiffener (Para. 79, “Receptacles 1070, 1074, and 1078 are configured to be coupled with corresponding tabs 1072, 1076, and 1080, respectively, patterned on a rim 1065 of a cap body 1025”); and
wherein the plurality of protrusions on the second side of the gasket are inserted into the plurality of slots in the stiffener (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 5, further comprising an epoxy material between at least a portion of the stiffener and the gasket (Para. 79, “To further enhance coupling, electrically and/or thermally conductive adhesives (e.g., silver filled epoxy) can be deposited at receptacles 1070, 1074, and 1078 prior to attaching cap body 1025 to stiffener 1020”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the epoxy material is electrically conductive (Para. 79, “To further enhance coupling, electrically and/or thermally conductive adhesives (e.g., silver filled epoxy) can be deposited at receptacles 1070, 1074, and 1078 prior to attaching cap body 1025 to stiffener 1020”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a heat spreader (2475) thermally coupled with the first side of the gasket (Fig. 24, where there is further heat spreader 2475 coupled to the first side [top in figure] of the gasket).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses a package comprising:
a substrate (610); and
a stiffener (1020) on a surface of the substrate (610), the stiffener having a first side and a second side opposite the first side in a cross-sectional view (The stiffener is plate like, we will say the large flat sides of the plates are the first and second sides), and the stiffener having a top portion, a bottom portion, a first side portion, and a second side portion in a plan view (Fig. 13, where each of the edges along with the direct adjacent area can be considered the different portions with the top being the top portion and so on),
wherein the stiffener includes a plurality of slots (1070, 1074, and 1078), each of the plurality of slots extending from the first side of the stiffener to the second side of the stiffener in the cross-sectional view (Figures 10, showing that the slots 1070, 1074, and 1078 are extending through the entirety of the stiffener from the first side to the second side) and the plurality of slots comprising first slots along the top portion, second slots along the bottom portion, third slots along the first side portion, and fourth slots along the second side portion in the plan view (See annotated Fig. 13 in the above claim 1 rejection, where each portion will have a plurality of slots and said pluralities will be different from each other).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses the package of claim 10, further comprising a gasket (1025) with a first side and a second side opposite the first side (Fig. 10, we can consider the top surface of gasket 1025 to be the first side and the bottom to be the second side of the gasket), wherein the gasket includes electromagnetic interference (EMI) blocking material (Para. 47), wherein the gasket includes a plurality of protrusions (1072, 1076, and 1080) on the second side of the gasket (Fig. 10, where the protrusions are on the second side [bottom in figure]), the plurality of protrusions in a configuration similar to a configuration of the plurality of slots in the stiffener (Para. 79, “Receptacles 1070, 1074, and 1078 are configured to be coupled with corresponding tabs 1072, 1076, and 1080, respectively, patterned on a rim 1065 of a cap body 1025”), and
wherein the plurality of protrusions on the second side of the gasket are inserted into the plurality of slots in the stiffener (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses the package of claim 14, wherein the gasket is electrically conductive (Para. 47).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao discloses the package of claim 14, wherein the gasket completely covers the first side of the stiffener (Fig. 15, where the gasket size is extended to cover the stiffener).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao discloses the package of claim 14, further comprising an epoxy between the gasket and the stiffener (Para. 79, “To further enhance coupling, electrically and/or thermally conductive adhesives (e.g., silver filled epoxy) can be deposited at receptacles 1070, 1074, and 1078 prior to attaching cap body 1025 to stiffener 1020”).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao discloses the package of claim 17, wherein the epoxy is and electrically conductive epoxy (Para. 79, “To further enhance coupling, electrically and/or thermally conductive adhesives (e.g., silver filled epoxy) can be deposited at receptacles 1070, 1074, and 1078 prior to attaching cap body 1025 to stiffener 1020”), and wherein the epoxy electrically couples a ground on the surface of the substrate with the gasket (Para. 65, where epoxy is used to enhance electrical connection between stiffener 620 and gasket 625; and Para. 64, where stiffener and gasket can be coupled to ground for better EMI protection).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao discloses the package of claim 18, further comprising a heat spreader (2475) thermally coupled with the first side of the gasket (Fig. 24, where there is further heat spreader 2475 coupled to the first side [top in figure] of the gasket).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses the package of claim 19, wherein the heat spreader includes EMI blocking material (Para. 101).
Regarding claim 21, Zhao discloses the package of claim 20, wherein the heat spreader covers the first side of the gasket (Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 22, Zhao discloses the package of claim 19, further comprising a die (2415) coupled with the surface of the substrate (Fig. 24), a surface of the die thermally coupled with the heat spreader (Para. 100-101, The purpose of the heat spreader is to spread heat generated from the die, so while not directly physically coupled, the die and the heat spreader are thermally coupled).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J HIBBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899