DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election filed on 12/3/2025, without traverse to prosecute the claims of Invention I, claims 1-23 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show 333 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the three mentioned gates in claim 23 on page 6 line 12, “a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate”, must be shown (FIG. 4A and 4B shows 2 gates in each drawing, 402-n and 406-n) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[00118] states, “Example 15 includes the subject matter of Example13, wherein the second transistors further include dual gate transistors, individual ones of the dual gate transistors including a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate, a first layer…”
[00137] states, “Example 34 includes the subject matter of Example32, wherein the second transistors further include dual gate transistors, individual ones of the dual gate transistors including a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate, a first layer…”
[00156] states, “Example 53 includes the subject matter of Example51, wherein the second transistors further include dual gate transistors, individual ones of the dual gate transistors including a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate, a first layer…”
[00172] states, “Example 69 includes the subject matter of Example67, wherein the second transistors further include dual gate transistors, individual ones of the dual gate transistors including a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate, a first layer…”
Examples 15, 34, 53, and 69 each imply the dual gate transistor has 3 gates for each example. A dual gate transistor explicitly has 2 and only 2 gates. [0043] states, “Fig. 4A is a cross-sectional view of an example NMOS transistor 333-n that may be used as a die switch333 in die switch region232 of a VR architecture such a NMOS die switch of VR architecture105 of Fig. 2. NMOS transistor 333-n is a field effect transistor (FET) that includes a TMD material, and, in the shown embodiment, corresponds to a dual gate transistor. NMOS 333-n includes a top gate 402-n, a bottom or back gate 404-n.” FIG. 4A shows a dual gate transistor and has only 2 gates, 402-n and 404-n. [0044] states, “Fig. 4B is a cross-sectional view of an example PMOS transistor 333-p that may be used as a die switch333 in die switch region232 of a VR architecture such a PMOS die switch of VR architecture105 of Fig. 2. PMOS transistor 333-p is a field effect transistor (FET) that includes a TMD material, and, in the shown embodiment, corresponds to a dual gate transistor. PMOS 333-p includes a top gate 402-p, a bottom or back gate 404-p.” FIG. 4B shows a dual gate transistor and has only 2 gates, 402-p and 404-p.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 starts with, “The package of claim 20...” and is dependent on claim 19 which teaches an “integrated circuit (IC) device assembly”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “dual gate transistors” in claim 23 is used by the claim to mean “3 gates” (“…a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate…”) while the accepted meaning is “2 gates”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. [0043] states, “Fig. 4A is a cross-sectional view of an example NMOS transistor 333-n that may be used as a die switch333 in die switch region232 of a VR architecture such a NMOS die switch of VR architecture105 of Fig. 2. NMOS transistor 333-n is a field effect transistor (FET) that includes a TMD material, and, in the shown embodiment, corresponds to a dual gate transistor. NMOS 333-n includes a top gate 402-n, a bottom or back gate 404-n.” FIG. 4A shows a dual gate transistor and has only 2 gates, 402-n and 404-n. [0044] states, “Fig. 4B is a cross-sectional view of an example PMOS transistor 333-p that may be used as a die switch333 in die switch region232 of a VR architecture such a PMOS die switch of VR architecture105 of Fig. 2. PMOS transistor 333-p is a field effect transistor (FET) that includes a TMD material, and, in the shown embodiment, corresponds to a dual gate transistor. PMOS 333-p includes a top gate 402-p, a bottom or back gate 404-p.” FIG. 4B shows a dual gate transistor and has only 2 gates, 402-p and 404-p.
For compact prosecution, the examiner interprets claim 23 to read, “…the second transistors further include trigate transistors, individual ones of the dual gate transistors including a top gate, a back gate, a bottom gate, a first layer…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1).
Re Claim 1 Chen teaches a microelectronic device (FIG. 23) including:
a substrate (2302) [0059];
a first structure (2300 minus 2302) [0059] on the substrate (2302), the first structure corresponding to a front end of line (FEOL) [0059] stack of the device and including a plurality of first transistors (2303) therein; and
a second structure (2320 & 2340) [0061] on the substrate (2302), the second structure corresponding to a back end of line (BEOL) [0061] stack of the device, and including a plurality of second transistors (2343) therein, the plurality of second transistors including a transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD) material (1706, [0047] “…1706 can be formed using TMDs.”).
Re Claim 11 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the BEOL stack (2320 & 2340) includes a plurality of electrically conductive structures (2324) that extend to individual corresponding ones of the second transistors (2343, FIG. 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Or-Bach (US 20220181186 A1).
Re Claim 2 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach the BEOL stack includes metallization layers, and individual ones of the second transistor are at a level of one or more the metallization layers of the BEOL stack.
Or-Bach teaches the BEOL stack (see image below) includes metallization layers (6001-6020) [0366], and individual ones of the second transistor (transistors in 6024) [0366] are at a level of one or more the metallization layers (6010) of the BEOL stack (see image below).
Modified FIG. 22 shown below with parts labeled
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Or-Bach into the structure of Chen since Or-Bach teaches a CMOS semiconductor structure.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Or-Bach in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating the metal layers to optimize the device’s current levels and in turn help reduce the impact of inter-chip interconnects. [0139] states, “Additionally there is a growing need to reduce the impact of inter-chip interconnects. In fact, interconnects may be now dominating IC performance and power. One solution to shorten interconnect may be to use a 3D IC.”
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yeom et al. (KR 20200103372 A).
Re Claim 3 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach the TMD material includes a monolayer comprising a top atomic layer, a middle atomic layer and a bottom atomic layer, the top atomic layer and the bottom atomic layer including a chalcogenide, and the middle atomic layer including a transition metal.
Yeom teaches the TMD material includes a monolayer (FIG. 3) comprising a top atomic layer, a middle atomic layer and a bottom atomic layer, the top atomic layer and the bottom atomic layer including a chalcogenide (S), and the middle atomic layer including a transition metal (Mo, page 5 last par states, “Referring to FIG. 3, a single MoS .sub.2 molecular layer has a structure in which an Mo atomic layer is disposed between a top S atomic layer and a bottom S atomic layer, and a multilayer MoS .sub.2 thin film has a structure in which such a single molecular layer is stacked.”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Yeom into the structure of Chen since Yeom teaches a transistor containing a TMD.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yeom in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of forming a TMD layer with a top and bottom chalcogen with a transition metal between the top and bottom chalcogens to help the device exhibit excellent electrical and optical properties. Page 5 par 4 states, “In the photoelectric device according to the present invention, the transition metal dichalcogenide thin film 140 includes a plurality of regions forming a heterojunction by having different number of molecular layers extending in a direction apart from the first and second electrodes, It can exhibit excellent electrical and optical properties.”
Re Claim 4 Chen in view of Yeom teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the chalcogenide includes one of S, Se or Te (Chen [0047] states, “In some embodiments, the chalcogen element can be one of sulfur, selenium, or tellurium.”),
and the transition metal includes one of Mo or W (Chen [0047] states, “For example, the transition metal element can be molybdenum or tungsten.”).
Re Claim 5 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, the second transistors (2343) including respective channels ([0061] states, “2343 can include a channel region 2345”), wherein:
the channels (1706 is part of 1801 in FIG. 23) of individual ones of the second transistors include the TMD material ([0061] states, “Portions of heterostacks 1801 can be used as channel regions for transistors 2343.”);
Chen does not explicitly teach the TMD material in individual ones of said channels includes from 1 to 5 monolayers.
Chen does teach the TMD material (1710 [0048], 1706 [0047], 1822 [0050]) in individual ones of said channels (2345) [0061] includes 3 monolayers (1810, FIG. 23)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen into the structure of Chen.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of finding the optimal number of monolayers to use to form the channel region.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant case, process optimization will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reach the ideal number of monolayers in the channel region.
Chen does not teach individual ones of the monolayers comprise a top atomic layer, a middle atomic layer and a bottom atomic layer, the top atomic layer and the bottom atomic layer including a chalcogenide, and the middle atomic layer including a transition metal .
Yeom teaches individual ones of the monolayers (FIG. 3) comprise a top atomic layer, a middle atomic layer and a bottom atomic layer, the top atomic layer and the bottom atomic layer including a chalcogenide (S), and the middle atomic layer including a transition metal (Mo, page 5 last par states, “Referring to FIG. 3, a single MoS .sub.2 molecular layer has a structure in which an Mo atomic layer is disposed between a top S atomic layer and a bottom S atomic layer, and a multilayer MoS .sub.2 thin film has a structure in which such a single molecular layer is stacked.”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Yeom into the structure of Chen since Yeom teaches a transistor containing a TMD.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yeom in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of forming a TMD layer with a top and bottom chalcogen with a transition metal between the top and bottom chalcogens to help the device exhibit excellent electrical and optical properties. Page 5 par 4 states, “In the photoelectric device according to the present invention, the transition metal dichalcogenide thin film 140 includes a plurality of regions forming a heterojunction by having different number of molecular layers extending in a direction apart from the first and second electrodes, It can exhibit excellent electrical and optical properties.”
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mehandru et al. (US 20200227556 A1).
Re Claim 6 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach the second transistors include negative metal oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistors and positive metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistors.
Mehandru teaches the second transistors (330 and 350) [0033] include negative metal oxide semiconductor (NMOS) transistors and positive metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistors ([0002] states, “In semiconductor processing, transistors are typically formed on semiconductor wafers. In CMOS (complimentary metal oxide semiconductor) technology, transistors usually belong to one of two types: NMOS (negative channel metal oxide semiconductor) or PMOS (positive channel metal oxide semiconductor) transistors.” [0012] states, “In various embodiments, apparatuses and methods relating to stressed transistors are described. Briefly, some embodiments variously promote channel stress to enhance the performance of one or more NMOS transistors and/or one or more PMOS transistors.”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Mehandru into the structure of Chen since Mehandru teaches a CMOS semiconductor structure.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Mehandru in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of forming a CMOS device to allow the structure to obtain both tensile strain and compressive strain and function at a peak level. [0003] states, “Operation of such ICs depends at least in part on the performance of the transistors, which in turn can be improved by an imposition of strain in channel regions. Specifically, performance of a NMOS transistor is improved by providing a tensile strain in its channel region, and performance of a PMOS transistor is improved by providing a compressive strain in its channel region.”
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) in view of Mehandru et al. (US 20200227556 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20160047059 A1).
Re Claim 7 Chen in view of Mehandru teaches the device of claim 6, but does not teach the NMOS transistors include Mo and S, and the PMOS transistors include W and Se.
Kim teaches the NMOS transistors include Mo and S, and the PMOS transistors include W and Se ([0042] states, “obtaining a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS)-type structure comprising an N channel (such as MoS.sub.2, MoSe.sub.2, MoTe.sub.2 etc.) metal oxide semiconductor (NMOS) and a P channel (such as WS.sub.2, WSe.sub.2, WTe.sub.2 etc.) metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS)…”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Kim into the structure of Chen in view of Mehandru since Kim teaches a semiconductor structure with NMOS and PMOS transistors.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in combination with Chen in view of Mehandru in the above manner for the motivation of using NMOS and PMOS formed with chalcogens to achieve a high growth speed. [0010] states, “Therefore, the present invention has been made in view of the above problems, and it is an object of the present invention to provide a two-dimensional large-area growth method for a chalcogen compound exhibiting a high growth speed.”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Or-Bach (US 20220181186 A1).
Re Claim 8 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach the second transistors form stacked rows of transistors.
Or-Bach teaches the second transistors (6302) [0359] form stacked rows of transistors (FIG. 23A & D).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Or-Bach into the structure of Chen since Or-Bach teaches a CMOS semiconductor structure.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Or-Bach in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating the second transistors to help reduce the impact of inter-chip interconnects. [0139] states, “Additionally there is a growing need to reduce the impact of inter-chip interconnects. In fact, interconnects may be now dominating IC performance and power. One solution to shorten interconnect may be to use a 3D IC.”
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20210134704 A1, Chen 2 hereafter)
Re Claim 9 Chen teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach including a back end, and a cluster of electrically conductive structures in the BEOL stack, the cluster to conduct an electrical signal a direction between the second transistors and the back end, the electrically conductive structures spaced more closely with respect to one another than a majority of other electrically conductive structures of the device that extend in the direction.
Chen2 teaches a back end (170) [0035], and a cluster of electrically conductive structures (138) [0028] in the BEOL stack (140) [0032], the cluster (138) to conduct an electrical signal a direction between the second transistors (132, [0028] states, “The semiconductor substrate 132 may be a silicon substrate including active components (e.g., transistors or the like)…”) and the back end (170), the electrically conductive structures (138) spaced more closely with respect to one another than a majority of other electrically conductive structures (155 in 140) [0042] of the device that extend in the direction (FIG. 13).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen2 into the structure of Chen since Chen2 teaches a semiconductor structure with a back end structure integrated into the device.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen2 in combination with Chen in the above manner for the motivation of building a semiconductor device containing a back end layer to optimize the space within the device as semiconductor device size continues to scale down. [0002] states, “As the demand for miniaturization, higher speed and greater bandwidth, as well as lower power consumption and latency has grown recently, there has grown a need for smaller and more creative packaging techniques of semiconductor dies.”
Re Claim 10 Chen in view of Chen2 teaches the device (Chen2 FIG. 13) of claim 1, wherein the BEOL stack (140) includes metallization layers (cross section of device in line with 140/136a and 140/134a),
the device further including:
a back end (170) [0035];
a power via (155) [0042] extending through the metallization layers in a direction between the FEOL stack (122/124 cross section) and the back end (170); and
an electrically conductive structure (138) [0028] in the BEOL stack (140), the electrically conductive structure to conduct an electrical signal a direction between the second transistors (132) and the back end (170) and being at least as thick as the power via (155, 170 has a greater thickness for a vertical measurement compared to 155 thickness for a horizontal measurement).
Re Claim 12 Chen in view of Chen2 teaches the device of claim 1, the device (Chen2 FIG. 13) further including a back end (170) [0035], wherein the BEOL stack (140) includes electrically conductive structures (138) [0028] extending directly from the second transistors (132) to the back end (170) of the device (FIG. 13).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 11073550 B1) and in view of Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1).
Re Claim 13 Gong teaches a semiconductor package (FIG. 2), comprising:
a package substrate (110, col 5 line 52);
a die (204, col 5 line 26) on the package substrate (110) and electrically coupled thereto (connected by 114, 128, and 112, col 1 lines 55-67)
Gong does not teach the die including:
a substrate.
a first structure on the substrate, the first structure corresponding to a front end of line (FEOL) stack of the die and including a plurality of first transistors therein; and a second structure on the substrate, the second structure corresponding to a back end of line (BEOL) stack of the die, and including a plurality of second transistors therein, the plurality of second transistors including a transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD) material.
Chen teaches the die (FIG. 23) including:
a substrate (2301) [0059],
a first structure (2300 minus 2301 & 2302) [0058] on the substrate (2302), the first structure corresponding to a front end of line (FEOL) [0058] stack of the die and including a plurality of first transistors (2303) [0059] therein; and a second structure (2320 & 2340 [0061]) on the substrate, the second structure corresponding to a back end of line (BEOL) stack of the die [0061], and including a plurality of second transistors (2343) [0061] therein, the plurality of second transistors including a transition metal dichalcogenide (1706) [0047] (TMD) material (FIG. 23).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen into the structure of Gong since Chen teaches a semiconductor structure with FEOL and BEOL structures integrated over the substrate.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in combination with Gong in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating FEOL and BEOL stacks over a substrate to optimize the available space in a semiconductor device as device size continues to scale down. [0002] states, “With advances in semiconductor technology, there has been increasing demand for higher storage capacity, faster processing systems, higher performance, and lower costs. To meet these demands, the semiconductor industry continues to scale down the dimensions of semiconductor devices.”
Re Claim 19 Gong teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device assembly (FIG. 2) including:
a printed circuit board (col 1 line 59 states, “Solder balls 116 are utilized to mount a bottom surface 126 of the package substrate 110 to a printed circuit board (PCB) or test device not shown.”);
a package substrate (110, col 1 line 54) on the printed circuit board and electrically coupled thereto;
and a die (204, col 5 line 26) on the package substrate (110) and electrically coupled thereto (connected by 114, 128, and 112, col 1 lines 55-67),
Gong does not teach the die including:
a substrate;
a first structure on the substrate, the first structure corresponding to a front end of line (FEOL) stack of the die and including a plurality of first transistors therein; and a second structure on the substrate, the second structure corresponding to a back end of line (BEOL) stack of the die, and including a plurality of second transistors therein, the plurality of second transistors including a transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD) material.
Chen teaches the die (FIG. 23) including:
a substrate (2301) [0059],
a first structure (2300 minus 2301 & 2302) [0058] on the substrate (2302), the first structure corresponding to a front end of line (FEOL) [0058] stack of the die and including a plurality of first transistors (2303) [0059] therein; and a second structure (2320 & 2340 [0061]) on the substrate, the second structure corresponding to a back end of line (BEOL) stack of the die [0061], and including a plurality of second transistors (2343) [0061] therein, the plurality of second transistors including a transition metal dichalcogenide (1706) [0047] (TMD) material (FIG. 23).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen into the structure of Gong since Chen teaches a semiconductor structure with FEOL and BEOL structures integrated over the substrate.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in combination with Gong in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating FEOL and BEOL stacks over a substrate to optimize the available space in a semiconductor device as device size continues to scale down. [0002] states, “With advances in semiconductor technology, there has been increasing demand for higher storage capacity, faster processing systems, higher performance, and lower costs. To meet these demands, the semiconductor industry continues to scale down the dimensions of semiconductor devices.”
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 11073550 B1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20210134704 A1, Chen 2 hereafter).
Re Claim 14 Gong in view of Chen teaches the package of claim 13, but does not teach one or more inductors, the inductors electrically coupled to the second transistors.
Chen2 teaches one or more inductors ([0028 states, “The semiconductor substrate 132 may be a silicon substrate including active components (e.g., transistors or the like) and passive components (e.g., resistors, capacitors, inductors, or the like) formed therein.”]), the inductors electrically coupled to the second transistors (FIG. 6, transistors and inductors are both in 132 which is silicon, so the inductors and transistors are electrically coupled together).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen2 into the structure of Gong in view of Chen since Chen2 teaches a semiconductor device with integrated transistors and inductors.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen2 in combination with Gong in view of Chen in the above manner for the motivation of integrating inductors to the device coupled to a transistor to optimize the available space in a semiconductor device as device size continues to scale down. [0002] states, “For the most part, this improvement in integration density has come from repeated reductions in minimum feature size, which allows more components to be integrated into a given area.”
Re Claim 15 Gong in view of Chen and Chen2 teaches the package of claim 14, wherein the inductors are further coupled to corresponding terminals (Chen2 [0028] teaches inductors and transistors are both in silicon substrate 132, therefore the inductors are at least mechanically coupled to the transistor terminals).
Re Claim 16 Gong in view of Chen and Chen2 teaches the package of claim 15, further including a capacitor (Chen2, 112, [0011] states, “The semiconductor substrate 112 may be a silicon substrate including active components (e.g., transistors or the like) and passive components (e.g., resistors, capacitors, inductors, or the like) formed therein.”) coupled at a terminal thereof to corresponding terminals of the second transistor (132, [0028] states, “The semiconductor substrate 132 may be a silicon substrate including active components (e.g., transistors or the like)…” The capacitors 112 and terminals of 132 are in the same device in FIG. 8 and are therefore mechanically coupled).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 11073550 B1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Or-Bach (US 20220181186 A1).
Re Claim 17 Gong in view of Chen teaches the package (Chen, FIG. 23) of claim 13, but does not teach the BEOL stack includes metallization layers, and individual ones of the second transistor are at a level of one or more the metallization layers of the BEOL stack.
Or-Bach teaches the BEOL stack (see image below claim 2) includes metallization layers (6001-6020) [0366], and individual ones of the second transistor (transistors in 6024) [0366] are at a level of one or more the metallization layers (6010) of the BEOL stack (see image below claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Or-Bach into the structure of Gong in view of Chen since Or-Bach teaches a CMOS semiconductor structure.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Or-Bach in combination with Gong in view of Chen in the above manner for the motivation of optimally integrating the metal layers to optimize the device’s current levels and in turn help reduce the impact of inter-chip interconnects. [0139] states, “Additionally there is a growing need to reduce the impact of inter-chip interconnects. In fact, interconnects may be now dominating IC performance and power. One solution to shorten interconnect may be to use a 3D IC.”
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 11073550 B1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yeom (KR 20200103372 A).
Re Claim 18 Gong in view of Chen teaches the package of claim 13, but does not teach the TMD material includes a monolayer comprising a top atomic layer, a middle atomic layer and a bottom atomic layer, the top atomic layer and the bottom atomic layer including a chalcogenide, and the middle atomic layer including a transition metal.
Yeom teaches the TMD material includes a monolayer (FIG. 3) comprising a top atomic layer, a middle atomic layer and a bottom atomic layer, the top atomic layer and the bottom atomic layer including a chalcogenide (S), and the middle atomic layer including a transition metal (Mo, page 5 last par states, “Referring to FIG. 3, a single MoS .sub.2 molecular layer has a structure in which an Mo atomic layer is disposed between a top S atomic layer and a bottom S atomic layer, and a multilayer MoS .sub.2 thin film has a structure in which such a single molecular layer is stacked.”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Yeom into the structure of Gong in view of Chen since Yeom teaches a transistor containing a TMD.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yeom in combination with Gong in view of Chen in the above manner for the motivation of forming a TMD layer with a top and bottom chalcogen with a transition metal between the top and bottom chalcogens to help the device exhibit excellent electrical and optical properties. Page 5 par 4 states, “In the photoelectric device according to the present invention, the transition metal dichalcogenide thin film 140 includes a plurality of regions forming a heterojunction by having different number of molecular layers extending in a direction apart from the first and second electrodes, It can exhibit excellent electrical and optical properties.”
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 11073550 B1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20210134704 A1, Chen 2 hereafter).
Re Claim 20 Gong in view of Chen teaches the IC device assembly of claim 19, but does not teach one or more inductors, the inductors electrically coupled to the second transistors.
Chen2 teaches one or more inductors ([0028 states, “The semiconductor substrate 132 may be a silicon substrate including active components (e.g., transistors or the like) and passive components (e.g., resistors, capacitors, inductors, or the like) formed therein.”]), the inductors electrically coupled to the second transistors (FIG. 6, transistors and inductors are both in 132 which is silicon, so the inductors and transistors are electrically coupled together).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen2 into the structure of Gong in view of Chen since Chen2 teaches a semiconductor device with integrated transistors and inductors.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen2 in combination with Gong in view of Chen in the above manner for the motivation of integrating inductors to the device coupled to a transistor to optimize the available space in a semiconductor device as device size continues to scale down. [0002] states, “For the most part, this improvement in integration density has come from repeated reductions in minimum feature size, which allows more components to be integrated into a given area.”
Re Claim 21 Gong in view of Chen and Chen2 teaches the package of claim 20 wherein the inductors are further coupled to corresponding terminals of the second transistors (Chen2 [0028] teaches inductors and transistors are both in silicon substrate 132, therefore the inductors are at least mechanically coupled to the transistor terminals).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 11073550 B1) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210375627 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Zhong et al. (CN 114188224 A).
Re Claim 22 Gong in view of Chen teaches the IC device assembly of claim 19, but does not teach the second transistors include metal oxide semiconductor (MOS) transistors including at least one of dual gate transistors, trigate transistors, FinFET transistors, planar FET transistors, Gate All Around cylindrical transistors, tunneling FET (TFET) transistors, Square Wire transistors, or rectangular ribbon transistors.
Zhong teaches the second transistors (page 14 last par states, “Although a single dual-gate transistor device 130 is shown as being formed on the substrate 100, a plurality of dual-gate transistor devices 130 may be formed on the same substrate 100 and electrically connected to form a circuit.” Page 7 par 3 states, “In addition to the tri-gate transistor device 140 having two bottom gate electrodes 104A and 104B, the tri-gate transistor device 140 is similar to the dual-gate transistor device 130 in FIG. 1 A and FIG. IB. The details of this embodiment similar to those previously described will be no longer repeated here.”) include metal oxide semiconductor (MOS) transistors including at least one of dual gate transistors, trigate transistors (FIG. 3A, 140, page 7 par 3), FinFET transistors, planar FET transistors, Gate All Around cylindrical transistors, tunneling FET (TFET) transistors, Square Wire transistors, or rectangular ribbon transistors.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching as taught by Chen2 into the structure of Gong in view of Chen since Chen2 teaches a semiconductor device with integrated transistors.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen2 in combination with Gong in view of Chen in the above manner for the motivation of integrating tri gate transistors to optimize the available space in the semiconductor structure as the industry continues to scale down device size. Page 2 par 1 states, “The semiconductor industry continuously increases the integrated density of various electronic components (e.g., transistors, diodes, resistors, capacitors, etc.) by continuously reducing the minimum component size, which allows the integration of more components into a given area.”
Re Claim 23 Gong in view of Chen and Zhong teaches the IC device assembly of claim 22, wherein the second transistors further include trigate transistors (multiple transistors can be integrated as explained in claim 22), individual ones of the trigate transistors (140, page 7 par 3) including a top gate (118, page 7 par 5), a back gate (10B), a bottom gate (104a), a first layer (108, page 10 par 1 states, “the bottom gate dielectric layer 108 comprises a high-k dielectric material, and in these embodiments, the bottom gate dielectric layer 108 may have a k value greater than about 7.0, and may include Hf, Al, Zr, La, Mg, Ba, Ti, Pb and a metal oxide…”) adjacent the bottom gate (104a) and including hafnium and oxygen, a second layer (102, page 9 par 3 states, “isolation layer 102 is formed by the following materials or comprises the following materials: nitride, such as silicon nitride; oxides, such as silicon oxide…”) adjacent the first layer (108), the second layer including oxygen and at least one of silicon and aluminum (FIG. 3A and 11A).
Conclusion
/KENNETH MARK SIPLING/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 3/23/26