DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s affirmation of the election without traverse of Group I, species A)b and B)a, Claims 1-4, 7, 11-15, 18-24, 29 and 30, in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 6, 8-10, 16, 17 and 25-28 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 21, 22, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Caselli et al. (USPN 5,158,992).
In col. 1, line 54 to col. 2, line 21, Caselli et al. teach a composition comprising a polymeric binder and a stabilizer composition comprising 0.025% to 0.2% of a UV absorber and/or 0.1% to 1.0% of a hindered amine light stabilizer (HALS) (See col. 6, line 63 to col. 7, line 65) which would be more resistant to discoloration when exposed to UV light compared to a composition absent of the stabilizer composition, including pigment and organic diluents.
Regarding the claim recitations of intended use in various coating applications, these recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention do not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The prior art structure is still capable of performing the recited intended use.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 21-23, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishizuka et al. (JP 2000136270).
In the abstract, Ishizuka et al. teach a composition comprising a polymeric binder, such as ethylene-ethyl acrylate copolymer, and a stabilizer composition comprising 0.02% to 0.7% of a UV absorber and/or 0.02% to 0.5% of a hindered amine light stabilizer (HALS) which would be more resistant to discoloration when exposed to UV light compared to a composition absent of the stabilizer composition, including pigment and a liquid medium.
Regarding the claim recitations of intended use in various coating applications, it is noted that applicant is not requiring any component that is not taught by the prior art. These recitations of the intended use of the claimed invention do not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The prior art structure is still capable of performing the recited intended use.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al.
While Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al. do not expressly teach the disclosed properties of the claimed composition, it is reasonable that the compositions of Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al. would possess the presently claimed properties since the compositions of Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al. are essentially the same as the claimed composition and the USPTO does not have at its disposal the tools or facilities deemed necessary to make physical determinations of the sort. In any event, an otherwise old composition is not patentable regardless of any new or unexpected properties. In re Fitzgerald et al., 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Even if assuming that the prior art references do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102, it would still have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the same inventive composition because the disclosure of the inventive subject matter appears within the generic disclosure of the prior art.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al. as applied above, and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (US 2015/0037504).
Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al. may not name pigments such as titanium dioxide and barium sulfate, however Yokoyama et al. teach titanium dioxide or barium sulfate as pigments in coating compositions comprising such polymeric binders and stabilizers.
In ¶’s 42, 62 and 67, Yokoyama et al. teach a CASE (Coatings, Adhesives, Sealants, and Elastomers) composition comprising a polymer binder, a stabilizer and pigments such as titanium dioxide and barium sulfate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use titanium dioxide or barium sulfate as the pigment in the composition of Caselli et al. or Ishizuka et al. for finished products because it is recognized in the art that a composition comprising titanium dioxide or barium sulfate, the polymeric binder and stabilizers is suitable for such finished products.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the prior art do not recite various intended uses, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claims.
In view of applicant’s amendments and arguments, the previous rejection based on Boldrin of record are hereby withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE