DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 21-23 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ziegler at al. (US 2007/0059530).
In ¶’s 5, 39 and 40, Ziegler at al. teach a coating composition comprising a polymeric binder in water and a stabilizer composition comprising up to 40% of a UV absorber.
As a UV absorber, the UV absorber would necessarily result in more resistance to discoloration when exposed to UV-C light compared to the coating composition in the absence of the stabilizer composition.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11, 14, 15, 18, 21-23 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohrbom at al. (USPN 6,165,618).
In col. 2, lines 2-57 and col. 6, lines 32-65, Ohrbom at al. teach a water-borne coating composition comprising a polymeric binder, pigment, and a stabilizer composition comprising stabilizers, UV absorbers, HALS, etc. in amounts to avoid adversely affecting the coating characteristics, exemplified from 3.2-13.4% (See examples).
As UV absorbers, HALS, etc., the stabilizer composition would necessarily result in more resistance to discoloration when exposed to UV-C light compared to the coating composition in the absence of the stabilizer composition.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11, 14, 15, 18, 21-23 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sandoval at al. (US 2019/0367740).
In ¶’s 6, 11 and 60, Sandoval at al. teach a water-borne coating composition comprising a polymeric binder, such as polyacrylate, pigment, and stabilizer composition comprising at least 0.2 wt% UV absorbers, such as 4-methylbenzophenone, and at least 0.5 wt% HALS, etc. (see ¶ 95 and 108).
As UV absorbers, HALS, etc., the stabilizer composition would necessarily result in more resistance to discoloration when exposed to UV-C light compared to the coating composition in the absence of the stabilizer composition.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-15, 18, 19, 21-23 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poppe at al. (WO 2014/026780).
In pages 1 and 2, 5, 6 and 14, Poppe at al. teach a water-borne coating composition comprising a polymeric binder, such as polyurethane, and a stabilizer composition comprising less than 10% of UV absorbers, such as 2,4-dihydroxybenzophenone; wherein UV-protection is achieved by mixing UV-absorbers and stabilizers such as hindered amine light stabilizers (also see page 18).
On page 15, Poppe at al. teach the water-borne coating composition to also comprise pigment exemplified by titanium dioxide, which is consistent with the inorganic UV blockers of the present claims.
With UV absorbers, inorganic UV blockers, light stabilizers, etc., the stabilizer composition would necessarily result in more resistance to discoloration when exposed to UV-C light compared to the coating composition in the absence of the stabilizer composition.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Response to Arguments
Due to amendments and persuasive arguments by applicant, the previous rejections of record have been overcome and are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE