DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 06/29/2026, in which: claim(s) 1, 7, 16, and 21-23 is/are amended; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claim(s) 1, 2-18, and 21-23 is/are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2-18, and 21-23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that claims 1, 16, and 21, as amended, are patentable over the prior art of record because the prior art allegedly fails to disclose “an outermost section of the first barrier pattern, an outermost section of the second barrier pattern, and an outermost section of the third barrier pattern are progressively farther from the device region as the corresponding second metal layer, the corresponding third metal layer, and the corresponding fourth metal layer are located farther away from the substrate, respectively”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ning discloses each of the aforementioned limitations in Ning FIG. 5 and associated text, as explained in detail in the following rejections, and as shown in the annotated Ning FIG. 5 below. In particular, the first/second/third barrier patterns correspond to individuals of Ning’s conductive plugs 205 of second through fourth metal layers which are farther from device region 201 than a conductive plug 205 of the underlying layer. Additionally, “an outermost section/edge/end of the [first/second/third] barrier pattern” is interpreted as referring to, e.g., the portion of the respective barrier patterns, as interpreted above, corresponding to a section/edge/end of the individual barrier pattern 205 which may be considered “outermost” wither respect to either other sections/edges/ends of said individual barrier pattern 205 or to the device region. For example, the surface of the conductive plug 205, which is the outermost section of said conductive plug 205, corresponding to the second barrier pattern, is farther from device region 201 than that of the conductive plug 205 corresponding to the first barrier pattern, as shown in the annotated Ning FIG. 5 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim(s) 21-23, the claims feature or are dependent upon claims which feature the limitation “a plurality of contact patterns and a plurality of barrier patterns extending respectively from different metal layers”. Due to ambiguity in the language and syntax of this limitation, it may be interpreted according to at least either of the following meanings: (a) a plurality of contact patterns extend from a metal layer and a plurality of barrier patterns extend from a different metal layer; or (b) at least one of a plurality of contact patterns and at least one of a plurality of barrier patterns both extend from a metal layer and at least one of the plurality of contact patterns and at least one of the plurality of barrier patterns both extend from a different metal layer. For the purpose of examination, and in light of the specification, the examiner interprets the claim according to interpretation (b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8 - 11, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ning et al. (US 20150162285 A1, hereinafter Ning), and further in view of Cook et al. (US 6022791 A, hereinafter Cook).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ning discloses a semiconductor chip comprising:
an integrated circuit disposed in a device region;
Ning (Fig 5 ; para [0054]) discloses a device region 201 which includes semiconductor devices that are part of the integrated circuit made in the form of a semiconductor chip (para [0003 – 0005]).
and a chip guard disposed in a chip sealing region that is an outer portion of the device region; wherein the chip guard comprises: a first metal layer disposed over a substrate;
Ning (Fig 5 ; para [0054]) further discloses a first seal ring structure 210 (i.e. part of a “chip guard”) which is disposed in seal ring region 202 (i.e. “chip sealing region”) that surrounds (i.e. is an outer portion) of the device region 201. Fig 8 (para [0067]) and Fig 10 (para [0072]) show a more detailed view of the lowest two connection layers in first seal ring structure 210 in Fig 5, and it is seen from Fig 8 that the first connection layer 204A (i.e. “first metal layer”) is disposed over substrate 200.
a first planarization insulating layer surrounding a side surface of the first metal layer;
Ning discloses (Fig 8 ; para [0065-0067]) a first planarization insulating layer 203a surrounding a side surface of the first metal layer 204A;
an interlayer insulating layer disposed on the first metal layer and the first planarization insulating layer;
Fig 8 (para [0067]) further shows a dielectric 203b (i.e. “interlayer insulating layer”) which is formed on the connection layer 204A (i.e. “first metal layer”) and the first planarization insulating layer 203a ;
a second metal layer disposed on the interlayer insulating layer;
Fig 10 (para [0072]) shows a connection layer 204B (i.e. “second metal layer”) which is formed over dielectric 203b (i.e. “interlayer insulating layer”).
a first contact pattern laterally adjacent to a first barrier pattern, both extending from the same second metal layer in a direction toward the substrate; wherein the first contact pattern is connected to the first metal layer;
Ning discloses the recitation of the preceding claim element in Fig 5 (para [0054-0058]). An annotated Fig 5 is reproduced below that indicates salient features. As seen in the annotated Fig 5 below, Ning discloses :
a first contact pattern (i.e. “Contact Pattern”: multiple 222 shapes between first (1st) and second (2nd) metal layers) laterally adjacent to a first barrier pattern (i.e. “Barrier Pattern”: leftmost 205 shape connected to 2nd metal layer), both extending from the same second metal layer (“same 2nd metal layer” in below Fig 5) in a direction (i.e. vertical) toward the substrate 200; wherein the first contact pattern (“Contact Pattern” in below Fig 5) is connected to the first metal layer (“First Metal Layer” in below Fig 5);
wherein the first barrier pattern extends through the interlayer insulating layer into the first planarization insulating layer and is laterally spaced apart from the first metal layer;
Ning further discloses (Fig 10 ; para [0067, 0072] ) wherein the first barrier pattern (i.e. multiple 205 shapes each connected to a 2nd metal layer shape 204B) extends through the interlayer insulating layer 203b into the first planarization insulating layer 203a and is laterally spaced apart from the first metal layer 204A; wherein the chip guard further comprises:
a third metal layer disposed over the second metal layer and including a second contact pattern and a second barrier pattern extending from the third metal layer toward the substrate (221 and 204a (both together), 222, and 205 of the third layer (counting from the bottom in Ning FIG. 5), corresponding to a third metal layer, second contact pattern, and second barrier pattern, respectively; see also annotated Ning FIG. 5 below); and
a fourth metal layer disposed over the third metal layer and including a third contact pattern and a third barrier pattern extending from the fourth metal layer toward the substrate (221 and 204a (both together), 222, and 205 of the fourth layer (counting from the bottom in Ning FIG. 5), corresponding to a fourth metal layer, third contact pattern, and third barrier pattern, respectively; see also annotated Ning FIG. 5 below);
wherein each of the second contact pattern and the third contact pattern is connected to a corresponding lower metal layer (the second/third contact pattern is connected to the second/third metal layer, as interpreted above);
wherein each of the second barrier pattern and the third barrier pattern extends toward the substrate and is laterally spaced apart from the corresponding lower metal layer (second and third barrier patterns 205 each extend toward substrate 200 and are laterally spaced apart from the corresponding second/third metal layer, as shown in Ning FIG. 5, where second and third barrier patterns 205 are laterally spaced apart from sub-connection layers 204a, which are portions of the second and third metal layers, as interpreted above); and
wherein an outermost section of the first barrier pattern, an outermost section of the second barrier pattern, and an outermost section of the third barrier pattern are progressively farther from the device region as the corresponding second metal layer, the corresponding third metal layer, and the corresponding fourth metal layer are located farther away from the substrate, respectively (surfaces of contact plugs 205, corresponding to outermost sections of the first/second/third barrier pattern, are progressively further out from the device region 201, as shown in annotated Ning FIG. 5 below).
Ning does not explicitly disclose the first contact pattern and the first barrier pattern are physically connected by the same second metal layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses in Cook FIG. 7C and associated text the first contact pattern and the first barrier pattern are physically connected by the same second metal layer (M4 and/or V3 in the left portion of interconnected rings 68, corresponding to a contact pattern, is physically connected to the right portion of interconnected rings 68, corresponding to a barrier pattern, through second metal layer V4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor chip of Ning with the physically connected contact and barrier patterns of Cook to provide a semiconductor chip with increased resistance to crack propagation (Cook col 4: lines 66-67).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1, wherein
the barrier pattern is disposed farther from the device region than the contact pattern.
As seen in Fig 5, the “barrier pattern” 205 is disposed farther from device region 201 than the “contact pattern” 220.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1, wherein
a bottom surface of the barrier pattern is disposed closer to the substrate than an upper surface of the first metal layer.
As seen in Fig 10, the bottom surface of contact plug 205 (i.e. “barrier pattern”) extending from the “second metal layer” 204B is disposed closer to the substrate 200 than an upper surface of the “first metal layer” 204A.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1 wherein
the chip guard further comprises:
a second planarization insulating layer surrounding a side surface of the second metal layer.
Fig 10 further shows that dielectric layer 203b (i.e. “second planarization insulating layer”) surrounds a side surface of metal layer 204B (i.e. “second metal layer”).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 8 wherein
the barrier pattern extends from the second metal layer to reach inside the first planarization insulating layer.
It is seen in Fig 10 that the conductive plug 205 (i.e. “barrier pattern”) extends from metal layer 204B (i.e. “second metal layer”) to reach inside dielectric layer 203a (i.e. “first planarization insulating layer”).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1 wherein
the first metal layer comprises one of copper (Cu) and tungsten (W), wherein the second metal layer comprises one of copper (Cu) and aluminum (Al), and wherein the barrier pattern comprises one of copper (Cu) and tungsten (W).
Ning, as modified by Cook, (Fig 2 ; para [0036]) discloses the choices of copper, tungsten, and aluminum for fabricating various metallic components of first seal ring structure 210 which includes “first metal layer” 204a, “second metal layer” 204a, and the “barrier pattern” composed of conductive plugs 205.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1, wherein
wherein the chip guard further comprises: a lower metal layer disposed between the first metal layer and the substrate;
Fig 4 shows a specific implementation of first seal ring structure 210 which indicates a connection layer 204 (i.e. “lower metal layer”) that is disposed between substrate 200 and the first connection layer 204a (i.e. “first metal layer”) shown as two horizontally co-planar metal stubs in the figure.
Examiner notes that the specific embodiment of seal ring structure 210 covered by Fig 4 is a slightly different variant of that described by Fig 5 which was referred to in claim 1. The salient difference between the two embodiments is only in the lowest connection layer (i.e. “metal layer”). Hence, the embodiment in Fig 4 also discloses the elements of claim 1 in the instant application with the pertinent difference being the specific references of “a first metal layer” and “a second metal layer” in claim 1. For structure 210 in Fig 5, these referred to the two lowest layers 204a in the four-layer metal stack, where “lowest” is with respect to substrate 200. However, for structure 210 in Fig 4, the four-layer metal stack is labeled differently. The lowest layer 204 closest to substrate 200 is referred to “lower metal layer”; the next higher layer 204a is now the “first metal layer” followed by the “second metal layer” disposed over the “first metal layer”.
a first lower contact pattern connecting the lower metal layer to the substrate;
Fig 4 shows conductive plugs 205 (i.e. “first lower contact pattern”) connecting the “lower metal layer” 204 to substrate 200.
and a second lower contact pattern connecting the first metal layer to the lower metal layer.
Fig 4 further shows conductive plugs 205a (i.e. “second lower contact pattern”) connecting the two horizontally co-planar stubs of “the first metal layer” 204a to “lower metal layer” 204.
Regarding independent claim 21, Ning discloses a semiconductor chip comprising:
an integrated circuit disposed in a device region;
Ning (Fig 3 ; para [0027]) discloses a device region 201 which includes semiconductor devices which are part of the integrated circuit made in the form of a semiconductor chip (para [0003 – 0005]).
and a chip guard disposed in a chip sealing region that is an outer portion of the device region; wherein the chip guard comprises: a plurality of metal layers disposed over a substrate;
Ning (Fig 4 : para [0052] further discloses a first seal ring structure 210 (i.e. part of a “chip guard”) which is disposed in seal ring region 202 (i.e. “chip sealing region”) that surrounds (i.e. is an outer portion) of the device region 201. Fig 4 shows four different connection layers: lowest connection layer 204 and three other connections layers each represented by reference number 204a. The connection layers represent “a plurality of metal layers” disposed over substrate 200.
at least one interlayer insulating layer disposed between the plurality of metal layers;
As seen in Fig 4, there is an “interlayer insulating layer” between each pair of “metal layers”. The insulating layers are generically represented by dielectric layer 203.
and a contact pattern laterally adjacent to a barrier pattern, both extending from the same metal layer among the plurality of metal layers in a direction toward the substrate; wherein the contact pattern is connected to a first metal layer among the plurality of metal layers, wherein the barrier pattern is laterally spaced apart from the first metal layer.
The preceding claim element is similar to that recited by claim 1 except that the contact pattern and barrier pattern are described across multiple layers. Ning discloses this precise structure in the below annotated Fig 5: It is evident from the below figure that the contact pattern and barrier pattern extend across multiple metal layers. Specifically, the below figure shows a total of four metal layers each of which include the contact and barrier patterns recited by the preceding claim element.
Ning does not explicitly disclose the first contact pattern and the first barrier pattern are physically connected by the same metal layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses in Cook FIG. 7C and associated text the first contact pattern and the first barrier pattern are physically connected by the same metal layer (M4 and/or V3 in the left portion of interconnected rings 68, corresponding to a contact pattern, is physically connected to the right portion of interconnected rings 68, corresponding to a barrier pattern, through second metal layer V4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor chip of Ning with the physically connected contact and barrier patterns of Cook to provide a semiconductor chip with increased resistance to crack propagation (Cook col 4: lines 66-67).
Ning further discloses in Ning FIG. 5 and associated text wherein the chip guard further comprises:
a plurality of contact patterns and a plurality of barrier patterns extending respectively from different metal layers among the plurality of metal layers toward the substrate; (222 and 205, contact patterns, and barrier patterns, respectively, each of which extend from ; see also annotated Ning FIG. 5 below);
wherein each of the plurality of contact patterns is connected to a corresponding lower metal layer (each of the contact patterns 222 are connected to a lower metal layer 221, as interpreted above);
wherein each of the plurality of barrier patterns extends toward the substrate and is laterally spaced apart from the corresponding lower metal layer (barrier patterns 205 each extend toward substrate 200 and are laterally spaced apart from the corresponding lower metal layer, as shown in Ning FIG. 5, where patterns 205 are laterally spaced apart from sub-connection layers 204a, which are portions of the lower metal layers, as interpreted above); and
wherein outermost ends of the plurality of barrier patterns are arranged progressively farther from the device region as the corresponding metal layers from which the plurality of barrier patterns extend are located farther away from the substrate (bottom surfaces of contact plugs 205, corresponding to outermost ends of the barrier patterns, are progressively further out from the device region 201, as shown in annotated Ning FIG. 5 below).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 21, wherein the barrier pattern extends into the at least one interlayer insulating layer in the substrate direction.
As seen in Ning FIG. 4, conductive plug 205 (i.e. “barrier pattern”) penetrates the interlayer dielectric 203 (i.e. “interlayer insulating layer”) between the top two metal layers 204a in a manner which extends toward substrate 200.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ning, and further in view of Cook and Pan et al. (US 6412786 B1, hereinafter Pan).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1. Ning, as modified by Cook, does not expressly teach: wherein the bottom surface of the barrier pattern is disposed closer to the substrate than a bottom surface of the first metal layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pan discloses the structure (Fig 3 ; col 3: lines 7 – 53) recited by this dependent claim. For example, the bottom surface of metal structure 39 (i.e. “barrier pattern”) associated with metal ring 37 is disposed closer to substrate 30 than a bottom surface of metal ring 36 (i.e. “first metal layer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that modifying Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” implementation to extend its bottom surface closer to substrate, in a manner similar to the structure taught by Pan, would be beneficial for the purpose of increased mechanical strength (Ning: para [0026]) and improved protection of functional circuits from the propagation of stress resulting from dicing the wafer (Pan: col 1: lines 57 – 59).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ning, and further in view of Cook and Werking et al. (US 6709954 B1, hereinafter Werking).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1. Ning, as modified by Cook, does not expressly teach:
wherein the interlayer insulating layer comprises: a metal capping layer covering the upper surface of the first metal layer;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Werking discloses details of metal and dielectric layers for a semiconductor component that includes a crack arrest structure (i.e. “barrier pattern”) similar to that taught by Ning, as modified by Cook. Werking’s Fig 11 (col 6: lines 1 – 19) further discloses an “interlayer insulating layer” comprising a capping layer 74 (“metal capping layer”) covering the upper surface of metal layer 67 (i.e. “first metal layer”);
and an intermetallic insulating layer disposed on the metal capping layer.
Dielectric 76 (i.e. “an intermetallic insulating layer”) is disposed on capping layer 74 (“metal capping layer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” implementation to include metal capping layers, in a manner similar to the structure taught by Werking, for the purpose of reducing copper contamination during fabrication (Werking: col 3: lines 10 – 18).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Ning, as modified by Cook and Werking, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 6 wherein
the metal capping layer and the intermetallic insulating layer are made of different materials.
Werking (col 6: lines 16 – 19) discloses that the “metal capping layer” 74 uses a different dielectric material compared to the “intermetallic insulating layer” 76.
Claims 12 – 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ning, and further in view of Cook, Chang et al. (US 20220262743 A1, hereinafter Chang), and Sinha et al. (US 20200373250 A1, hereinafter Sinha).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 1, however, Ning, as modified by Cook, does not expressly teach any of these recited elements of claim 12:
wherein the chip guard further comprises: an insulating protection structure disposed over the second metal layer;
a barrier trench passing through the insulating protection structure and formed in a lateral direction of the second metal layer;
and a metal barrier layer disposed on at least a sidewall surface and bottom surface of the barrier trench.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang’s semiconductor chip in Fig 6 discloses an “insulation protection structure” comprising dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 that is disposed on 110 (para [0031]), which represents the total vertical extent of circuits 120. This “insulation protection structure” is disposed over the entire chip including the scribe region (i.e. encompasses “chip guard”). Note that the highest metal layer (“second metal layer”) in Ning’s seal region 202 (Ning: Fig 10) is interpreted as corresponding to the highest metal layer used in circuits 120 of Chang’s semiconductor chip (Chang: Fig 6). Hence, the “insulation protection structure” represented by Chang’s dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 is seen to be disposed on the “second metal layer”.
Chang (Fig 6) further discloses a trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”) passing through dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 (“the insulation protection structure”) and underlying structures (i.e. metal layers, etc.) that exist as part of the vertical extent 110 for Chang’s semiconductor chip. The trench 172 exists in the scribe region, which is outside the circuits region 120. Chang does not provide details on the underlying structures penetrated by trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sinha (Fig 5) discloses three trenches 114 (i.e. “barrier trenches”) each of which penetrate metal interconnects 102, which can be interpreted as the three highest interconnect levels in the chip. For example, the highest metal layer in metal interconnects 102 can be interpreted as “second metal layer” while the middle metal layer in metal interconnects 102 can be interpreted as the “first metal layer” thus staying consistent with Ning’s interpretation of metal layers in Fig 10 as described for claim 1. As seen in Sinha’s Fig 5, the leftmost trench 114 (i.e. “barrier trench”) is formed in a lateral direction of the highest metal layer (“second metal layer”) in metal interconnects 102.
Chang (Fig 6 ; para [0058]) further discloses a crack-blocking layer 182 (“barrier layer”) that is formed on the sidewall surface and bottom surface of trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”). Chang further discloses (para [0047], [0037]) that the crack-blocking layer 182 can be a conductive layer (i.e. “metal barrier layer”) such as Aluminum.
Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” is a clearly separate structure from the “barrier trench” as taught by Chang and Sinha. The cited prior art presents both of these approaches as viably preventing the propagation of cracks from the sawing region to the device region. There is no apparent indication in the cited prior art which would prevent these two approaches from being used together assuming the customary compliance with layout rules for a given technology node. The predictable outcome to combining these two schemes is the likelihood of an even more robust crack-blocking solution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” crack-blocking approach could be seamlessly combined with the “barrier trench” crack-blocking scheme taught by Chang and Sinha for the purpose of achieving an even more robust solution for further scaling of process technology; for example, Sinha (para[0003]) discloses that the issue of crack propagation gets worse for low-k dielectric materials used in advanced semiconductor processes.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Ning, as modified by Cook, Chang, and Sinha, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 12, wherein the bottom surface of the barrier trench is disposed to be spaced apart from an upper surface of the second metal layer.
As seen in Sinha’s Fig 5, the bottom surface of the leftmost trench 114 (i.e. “barrier trench”) is spaced apart from an upper surface of the highest metal layer (i.e. “second metal layer”) in metal interconnects 102.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Ning, as modified by Cook, Chang, and Sinha, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 13, wherein the bottom surface of the barrier trench is positioned closer to the substrate than the upper surface of the second metal layer.
It is seen from Sinha’s Fig 5 that the bottom surface of “barrier trench” 114 is positioned closer to substrate 108 than the upper surface of the “second metal layer” (highest metal layer in metal interconnects 102).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Ning, as modified by Cook, Chang, and Sinha, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 12, wherein the barrier trench is positioned farther from the device region than the second metal layer.
The relative location of the “barrier trench” can be seen in Sinha’s Fig 5. The figure does not explicitly label the scribe or device regions. However, Sinha’s Fig 1A explaining crack propagation provides context. As taught by Sinha in para [0003], the cracks originate during the wafer dicing process which physically occurs in the scribe region between die. As seen in Fig 1A, the initial crack 152 originates on the right side of chip (i.e. note “Initial Crack Length”). Hence, it is reasonable to interpret Fig 5 as portraying the scribe region on the rightmost portion of the figure and the device region on the leftmost portion of the figure. It is thus seen that the leftmost “barrier trench” 114 is positioned farther from the device region than metal interconnects 102, which includes the “second metal layer”.
Regarding independent claim 16, Ning discloses a semiconductor chip comprising:
an integrated circuit disposed in a device region;
Ning (Fig 5 ; para [0054]) discloses a device region 201 which includes semiconductor devices that are part of the integrated circuit made in the form of a semiconductor chip (para [0003 – 0005]).
and a chip guard disposed in a chip sealing region that is an outer portion of the device region; wherein the chip guard comprises: a first metal layer disposed over a substrate;
Ning (Fig 5 ; para [0054]) further discloses a first seal ring structure 210 (i.e. part of a “chip guard”) which is disposed in seal ring region 202 (i.e. “chip sealing region”) that surrounds (i.e. is an outer portion) of the device region 201. Fig 8 (para [0067]) and Fig 10 (para [0072]) show a more detailed view of the lowest two connection layers in first seal ring structure 210 in Fig 5, and it is seen from Fig 8 that the first connection layer 204A (i.e. “first metal layer”) is disposed over substrate 200.
a planarization insulating layer surrounding a side surface of the first metal layer;
Ning discloses (Fig 8 ; para [0065-0067]) a planarization insulating layer 203a surrounding a side surface of the first metal layer 204A;
an interlayer insulating layer disposed on the first metal layer and the planarization insulating layer;
Ning FIG. 8 (para [0067]) further shows a dielectric 203b (i.e. “interlayer insulating layer”) which is formed on the connection layer 204A (i.e. “first metal layer”) and the planarization insulating layer 203a ;
a second metal layer disposed on the interlayer insulating layer;
Ning FIG. 10 (para [0072]) shows a connection layer 204B (i.e. “second metal layer”) which is formed over dielectric 203b (i.e. “interlayer insulating layer”).
a first contact pattern laterally adjacent to a first barrier pattern, both extending from the same second metal layer in a direction toward the substrate;
Ning discloses the recitation of the preceding claim element in Fig 5 (para [0054-0058]). An annotated Fig 5 is reproduced below that indicates salient features. As seen in the annotated Fig 5 below, Ning discloses:
a first contact pattern (i.e. “Contact Pattern”: multiple 222 shapes between first (1st) and second (2nd) metal layers) laterally adjacent to a first barrier pattern (i.e. “Barrier Pattern”: multiple 205 shapes connected to 2nd metal layer), both extending from the same second metal layer (“same 2nd metal layer” in below Fig 5) in a direction (i.e. vertical) toward the substrate 200 ;
Ning does not explicitly teach:
an insulating protection disposed on the second metal layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang’s semiconductor chip in Fig 6 discloses an “insulation protection structure” comprising dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 that is disposed on 110 (Chang: para [0031]), which represents the total vertical extent of circuits 120. Note that the “second metal layer” recited by the claim can be interpreted as corresponding to the highest metal layer used in circuits 120 of Chang’s semiconductor chip (Chang: Fig 6). Hence, the “insulation protection structure” represented by Chang’s dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 is seen to be disposed on the “second metal layer”.
a barrier trench extending into the insulating protection structure and formed in a lateral direction of the second metal layer;
Chang (Fig 6) discloses a trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”) extending into dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 (“the insulation protection structure”) and underlying structures (i.e. metal layers, etc.) that exist as part of the vertical extent 110 for Chang’s semiconductor chip. The trench 172 exists in the scribe region, which is outside the circuits region 120. Note that Chang uses the term “substrate” to describe 110, however, this is much broader than the narrow definition of “substrate” which only refers to the underlying silicon substrate. More context on Chang’s substrate 110 can be found in para [0027 – 0028, 0031] and details on trench 172 can be found in para [0040 – 0041].
Chang does not explicitly teach the barrier trench as being formed in a lateral direction of the second metal layer;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sinha discloses (Fig 5 ; para [0038,0049]) the leftmost trench 114 (i.e. “barrier trench”) is formed in a lateral direction of the highest metal layer (“second metal layer”) in metal interconnects 102.
and a metal barrier layer disposed on at least a sidewall surface and bottom surface of the barrier trench;
Chang (Fig 6 ; para [0058]) discloses a crack-blocking layer 182 (“barrier layer”) that is formed on the sidewall surface and bottom surface of trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”). Chang further discloses (para [0047], [0037]) that the crack-blocking layer 182 can be a conductive layer (i.e. “metal barrier layer”) such as Aluminum.
wherein a bottom surface of the barrier trench is disposed spaced apart from an upper surface of the second metal layer
As seen in Sinha’s Fig 5, the bottom surface of the leftmost trench 114 (i.e. “barrier trench”) is spaced apart from an upper surface of the highest metal layer (i.e. “second metal layer”) in metal interconnects 102.
wherein the first contact pattern is connected to the first metal layer
Ning discloses (annotated Fig 5 below ; para [0054-0058]) wherein the first contact pattern (“Contact Pattern” in below Fig 5) is connected to the first metal layer (“First Metal Layer” in below Fig 5),
wherein the first barrier pattern extends through the interlayer insulating layer into the planarization insulating layer, and is laterally spaced apart from the first metal layer,
Ning further discloses (Fig 10 ; para [0067, 0072] ) wherein the first barrier pattern (i.e. multiple 205 shapes each connected to a 2nd metal layer shape 204B) extends through the interlayer insulating layer 203b into the first planarization insulating layer 203a, and is laterally spaced apart from the first metal layer 204A.
wherein the barrier trench is positioned farther from the device region than the second metal layer
The relative location of the “barrier trench” can be seen in Sinha’s Fig 5. The figure does not explicitly label the scribe or device regions. However, Sinha’s Fig 1A explaining crack propagation provides context. As taught by Sinha in para [0003], the cracks originate during the wafer dicing process which physically occurs in the scribe region between die. As seen in Fig 1A, the initial crack 152 originates on the right side of chip (i.e. note “Initial Crack Length”). Hence, it is reasonable to interpret Fig 5 as portraying the scribe region on the rightmost portion of the figure and the device region on the leftmost portion of the figure. It is thus seen that the leftmost “barrier trench” 114 is positioned farther from the device region than metal interconnects 102, which corresponds to the “second metal layer” and other metal layers, including those corresponding to third and fourth metal layers recited later in the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” crack-blocking approach could be seamlessly combined with the “barrier trench” crack-blocking scheme taught by Chang and Sinha for the purpose of achieving an even more robust solution for further scaling of process technology; for example, Sinha (para[0003]) discloses that the issue of crack propagation gets worse for low-k dielectric materials used in advanced semiconductor processes.
Ning does not explicitly disclose the first contact pattern and the first barrier pattern are physically connected by the same second metal layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cook discloses in Cook FIG. 7C and associated text the first contact pattern and the first barrier pattern are physically connected by the same second metal layer (M4 and/or V3 in the left portion of interconnected rings 68, corresponding to a contact pattern, is physically connected to the right portion of interconnected rings 68, corresponding to a barrier pattern, through second metal layer V4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor chip of Ning with the physically connected contact and barrier patterns of Cook to provide a semiconductor chip with increased resistance to crack propagation (Cook col 4: lines 66-67).
Ning further discloses in Ning FIG. 5 and associated text wherein the chip guard further comprises:
a third metal layer disposed over the second metal layer and including a second contact pattern and a second barrier pattern extending from the third metal layer toward the substrate (221 and 204a (both together), 222, and 205 of the third layer (counting from the bottom in Ning FIG. 5), corresponding to a third metal layer, second contact pattern, and second barrier pattern, respectively; see also annotated Ning FIG. 5 below); and
a fourth metal layer disposed over the third metal layer and including a third contact pattern and a third barrier pattern extending from the fourth metal layer toward the substrate (221 and 204a (both together), 222, and 205 of the fourth layer (counting from the bottom in Ning FIG. 5), corresponding to a fourth metal layer, third contact pattern, and third barrier pattern, respectively; see also annotated Ning FIG. 5 below);
wherein each of the second contact pattern and the third contact pattern is connected to a corresponding lower metal layer (the second/third contact pattern is connected to the second/third metal layer, as interpreted above);
wherein each of the second barrier pattern and the third barrier pattern extends toward the substrate and is laterally spaced apart from the corresponding lower metal layer (second and third barrier patterns 205 each extend toward substrate 200 and are laterally spaced apart from the corresponding second/third metal layer, as shown in Ning FIG. 5, where second and third barrier patterns 205 are laterally spaced apart from sub-connection layers 204a, which are portions of the second and third metal layers, as interpreted above);
wherein an outermost edge of the first barrier pattern, an outermost edge of the second barrier pattern, and an outermost edge of the third barrier pattern are progressively farther from the device region as the corresponding second metal layer, the corresponding third metal layer, and the corresponding fourth metal layer are located farther away from the substrate, respectively (right edges of contact plugs 205, corresponding to outermost edges of the first/second/third barrier pattern, are progressively further out from the device region 201, as shown in annotated Ning FIG. 5 below); and
wherein the barrier trench is disposed farther from the device region than the third barrier pattern (as interpreted above, the combined references position the barrier trench of Sinha farther from the device region than the first through fourth metal layers of Ning, which would be farther from the device region than Ning’s contact plug 205, corresponding to the third barrier pattern, which is directly below the fourth metal layer).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Ning, as modified by Cook, Chang, and Sinha, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 16 wherein the barrier trench is positioned farther from the device region than the second metal layer.
The relative location of the “barrier trench” can be seen in Sinha’s Fig 5. The figure does not explicitly label the scribe or device regions. However, Sinha’s Fig 1A explaining crack propagation provides context. As taught by Sinha in para [0003], the cracks originate during the wafer dicing process which physically occurs in the scribe region between die. As seen in Fig 1A, the initial crack 152 originates on the right side of chip (i.e. note “Initial Crack Length”). Hence, it is reasonable to interpret Fig 5 as portraying the scribe region on the rightmost portion of the figure and the device region on the leftmost portion of the figure. It is thus seen that the leftmost “barrier trench” 114 is positioned farther from the device region than metal interconnects 102, which includes the “second metal layer”.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Ning, as modified by Cook, Chang, and Sinha, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 16, wherein
the bottom surface of the barrier trench is positioned closer to the substrate than the upper surface of the second metal layer.
It is seen from Sinha’s Fig 5 that the bottom surface of “barrier trench” 114 is positioned closer to substrate 108 than the upper surface of the “second metal layer” (highest metal layer in metal interconnects 102).
Regarding dependent claim 23, Ning, as modified by Cook, discloses the semiconductor chip of claim 21 but does not expressly teach any of these recited elements:
wherein the chip guard further comprises: an insulating protection structure disposed over the plurality of metal layers;
a barrier trench extending into the insulating protection structure and formed in a lateral direction of the plurality of metal layers;
and a metal barrier layer disposed along at least a sidewall surface of the barrier trench.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang’s semiconductor chip in Fig 6 discloses an “insulation protection structure” comprising dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 that is disposed on 110 (para [0031]), which represents the total vertical extent of circuits 120. This “insulation protection structure” is disposed over the entire chip including the scribe region (i.e. encompasses “chip guard”). Note that the highest metal layer (“second metal layer”) in Ning’s seal region 202 (Ning: Fig 10) is interpreted as corresponding to the highest metal layer used in circuits 120 of Chang’s semiconductor chip (Chang: Fig 6). Hence, the “insulation protection structure” represented by Chang’s dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 is seen to be disposed on “the plurality of metal layers”, which specifically includes Ning’s “second metal layer” as the highest metal layer.
Chang (Fig 6) further discloses a trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”) extending into dielectric layers 170, 160, and 150 (“the insulation protection structure”) and underlying structures (i.e. metal layers, etc.) that exist as part of the vertical extent 110 for Chang’s semiconductor chip. The trench 172 exists in the scribe region, which is outside the circuits region 120. Chang does not provide details on the underlying structures penetrated by trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sinha (Fig 5) discloses three trenches 114 (i.e. “barrier trenches”) each of which penetrate metal interconnects 102, which can be interpreted as the three highest interconnect levels in the chip. For example, the highest metal layer in metal interconnects 102 can be interpreted as “second metal layer” while the middle metal layer in metal interconnects 102 can be interpreted as the “first metal layer” thus staying consistent with Ning’s interpretation of metal layers in Fig 10 as described for claim 1. As seen in Sinha’s Fig 5, the leftmost trench 114 (i.e. “barrier trench”) is formed in a lateral direction of the plurality of metal layers encompassed by metal interconnects 102.
Chang (Fig 6 ; para [0058]) further discloses a crack-blocking layer 182 (“barrier layer”) that is formed along at least a sidewall surface of trench 172 (i.e. “barrier trench”). Chang further discloses (para [0047], [0037]) that the crack-blocking layer 182 can be a conductive layer (i.e. “metal barrier layer”) such as Aluminum.
Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” is a clearly separate structure from the “barrier trench” as taught by Chang and Sinha. The cited prior art presents both of these approaches as viably preventing the propagation of cracks from the sawing region to the device region. There is no apparent indication in the cited prior art which would prevent these two approaches from being used together assuming the customary compliance with layout rules for a given technology node. The predictable outcome to combining these two schemes is the likelihood of an even more robust crack-blocking solution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that Ning and Cook’s “barrier pattern” crack-blocking approach could be seamlessly combined with the “barrier trench” crack-blocking scheme taught by Chang and Sinha for the purpose of achieving an even more robust solution for further scaling of process technology; for example, Sinha (para[0003]) discloses that the issue of crack propagation gets worse for low-k dielectric materials used in advanced semiconductor processes.
Conclusion
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Stamper (US5851903), another version of a trench-based crack-stop structure.
Narayan (US6486526), a crack-stop structure for preventing fuse blow damage.
Daubenspeck (US2005/0026397), another version of a trench-based crack-stop structure.
Inohara (US2008/0099884), another version of a crack-stop structure similar to the applicant’s “barrier pattern”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVERETT T RIRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897