DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the cited art does not teach “first and second source or drain structures in contact with corresponding ones of the ends of the single crystal TMD material and in contact with corresponding ones of the ends of the high-k dielectric material, the first and second source or drain structures each having a vertical thickness greater than a vertical thickness of the single crystal TMD material” (page 6 lines 1-6), Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the ends of the TMD material (115) and the ends of the high-k dielectric material are not both in direct contact with the first and second source/drain structures (112), they are in thermal contact with the first and second source/drain structures in Gardner. With respect to the first and second source or drain structures having a vertical thickness greater than a vertical thickness of the single crystal TMD material, Examiner would like to point towards Fig. 1B of Gardner, in which the source and drain (112) have a larger vertical thickness than the TMD material (115). However, as there is no written description discussing this change in thickness, a new reference is being added to remedy the deficiencies, as outlined in the rejection to follow.
Applicant has not responded to pending specification objections and drawing objections, as such they will be reiterated below. With the lack of correction, the rejection under U.S.C. 112(a) still stands and is repeated below. Similarly, the rejection under U.S.C. 112(b) still stands and is repeated below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, and 14-15 are pending in the application and are currently being examined. Claims 1 and 14 have been amended. Claim 13 has been canceled. No new claims have been added.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because they do not clearly depict the physical possibility of the steps to create the device. In particular, it is unknown how element 320 in Figs. 3B-3D can be formed on element 312 then etched as shown. If 320a and 320b are etched away, it is unclear how element 326 directly on the wafer is now in contact with element 312, or how the edges of the leftmost 326, 320, and 312 are all in line with each other in Fig. 3E. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The use of the terms “GPS”, “Wi-Fi”, “Bluetooth”, “LTE”, which are each a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application, this is not an exhaustive list. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line two recites "source or drain structure" which appears to be a typo. For the purposes of examination claim 14 will be interpreted to read "source or drain structures". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the final semiconductor device, does not reasonably provide enablement for the channels being coupled to the seed material. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The intermediate steps described in Figs. 3B-3E ([0031]-[0035] in the written specification) are unclear. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make the device as described, as if 320a and 320b are etched away, it is unclear how element 326 directly on the wafer is now in contact with element 312, or how the edges of the leftmost 326, 320, and 312 are all in line with each other in Fig. 3E. The specification does not clear up this confusion in the related paragraphs.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “The transistor structure of claim 5”. This appears to be in error as claim 5 has been canceled in the amendment of 3/3/2026. For the purposes of examination, claim 6 will be interpreted to read “The transistor structure of claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner et al. (US 2023/0207397 A1, hereafter Gardner) in view of Maxey et al. (US 2022/0102495 A1, hereafter Maxey).
Regarding claim 1, in Fig. 1A of Gardner discloses a transistor structure comprising:
a channel structure (115, [0057]) comprising a single crystal transition metal dichalcogenide (TMD) material [0063];
a dielectric layer (114a, [0065]) on a top of the channel structure (115), wherein the dielectric layer (114a) includes a high-k dielectric material [0065], the high-k dielectric material (114a) having ends in vertical alignment with ends of the single crystal TMD material (115) (as depicted in Fig. 1A, layers 115 and 114a are in vertical alignment); and
first and second source or drain structures (112, [0057]) in contact with corresponding ones of the ends of the single crystal TMD material (115) and in contact with corresponding ones of the ends of the high-k dielectric material (114a is in thermal contact with the first and second source or drain structures).
Gardner does not teach the first and second source or drain structures each having a vertical thickness greater than a vertical thickness of the single crystal TMD material.
However, Maxey teaches a similar transistor with a TMD channel (102, [0033]). Fig. 1 of Maxey teaches a source/drain structure (104, [0033]) that has a vertical thickness greater than a vertical thickness of the single crystal TMD material. The source/drain regions are thicker than the channel in order to reduce the contact resistance between the channel and source/drain. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the source and drain structure thickness of Gardner to be larger than that of the channel region as taught by Maxey, to look similar to Fig. 1B of Gardner.
Regarding claim 6, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Gardner further discloses the single crystal TMD material does not include a growth boundary. This is the case because the TMD channel (115, [0057]) is single crystalline [0064]. As such, current flows through the channel uninhibited by any forms of discontinuity in the channel, making it have no bounds of growth as it exists throughout the channel length.
Regarding claim 9, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Fig. 1A of Gardner further discloses the dielectric layer (114a on top of 115, [0065]) is a first dielectric layer, and further comprising a second dielectric layer (114a on bottom of 115, [0065]) on a bottom of the channel structure (115, [0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Fig. 1A of Gardner further discloses a metal layer (114b, [0065]) on top of the dielectric layer (114a, [0065]).
Regarding claim 11, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 10. Fig. 1A of Gardner further discloses the dielectric layer (114a on top of 115, [0065]) is a first dielectric layer and wherein the channel structure (115, [0057]) is a first channel structure; and further comprising:
a second dielectric layer (131, [0058]) on top of the metal layer (114b, [0065]); and
a second channel structure (125, [0057]) on top of the second dielectric layer (131), wherein the second channel structure (125) is a single crystal material [0064].
Claim(s) 2, 7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Chueh et al. (US 2017/0088945 A1, hereafter Chueh).
Regarding claim 2, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Gardner in view of Maxey is silent on an edge of the channel structure substantially perpendicular to the top of the channel structure, wherein a region of the channel structure proximate to the edge of the channel structure includes one or more particles of a seed material.
However, Chueh teaches a method of growing TMD layers from seeds. In Chueh, the efficiency of growing the TMD layer from a molybdenum transition metal, where Gardner in view of Maxey is silent on the S/D material. The efficiency of growing the layer is below 100% [0058]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that when growing the TMD layer in Gardner in view of Maxey, they would expect some of the seed material particles to exist throughout the layer, including at the edges as described in the present application.
Regarding claim 7, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Gardner in view of Maxey is silent on the thickness of the TMD channel structures. However, Chueh teaches a method of growing TMD layers from seeds. These layers can be as thin as 1nm [0052], less than the 2.5nm required in the present application. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gardner in view of Maxey to include the thickness as taught by Chueh in order to get a functioning device.
Regarding claim 12, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 11. Gardner in view of Maxey is silent on a region of the second channel structure proximate to an edge of the second channel structure substantially perpendicular to the top of the channel structure includes one or more particles of a seed material.
However, Chueh teaches a method of growing TMD layers from seeds. In Chueh, the efficiency of growing the TMD layer from molybdenum, where Gardner in view of Maxey is silent on the S/D material. The efficiency of growing the layer is below 100% [0058]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that when growing the TMD layer in Gardner in view of Maxey, they would expect some of the seed material particles to exist throughout the layer, including at the edges as described in the present application.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Jhan et al. (US 2023/0317852 A1, hereafter Jhan) and in further view of Farquhar et al. (US 2018/0230590 A1, hereafter Farquhar).
Regarding claim 3, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Gardner in view of Maxey fails to disclose a bottom of the channel structure opposite the top of the channel structure includes one or more particles of a growth promoter material.
However, Jhan teaches a similar transistor structure in which the channel layer (2-D material layer, 110, [0022] can be multilayered and contain one or more particles of graphene (carbon) and TMDs [0022]. The graphene layer is also taught as being deposited on the seed layer, making it at the bottom of the TMD layer [0079] of the multilayered channel. The inclusion of the multilayering of the channel allows the semiconductor to have high electron mobility [0022]. Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Jhan fails to explicitly teach the carbon (graphene) is a growth promoter.
Farquhar teaches a similar stack including graphene being used to promote the growth of a TMD layer [0109]-[0110]. As graphene is known to be conductive [0063], the TMD layer is able to be grown specifically with conductive properties as opposed to insulative [0109]-[0110]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gardner in view of Maxey to have a multilayered channel, with graphene at the bottom as taught by Jhan to get the expected result of promoted TMD growth as taught by Farquhar [0109]-[0110].
Regarding claim 4, Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Farquhar teach the transistor structure of claim 3. Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Farquhar further disclose the growth promoter material includes a selected one or more of. carbon rings or sodium. In particular, Farquhar teaches the growth promoter to be graphene [0110].
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Chueh, and further in view of Sekiguchi (US 6,128,050).
Regarding claim 14, Gardner in view of Maxey teaches the transistor structure of claim 1. Gardner in view of Maxey is silent on one of the first or second source or drain structures includes a seed material.
However, Chueh teaches a method of growing TMD layers from seeds. In Chueh, the seed can comprise molybdenum [0049], which is known to be a source material, as taught by Sekiguchi (column 36 lines 14-17). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the source/seed material of Gardner in view of Maxey to comprise molybdenum in order to have a functional device that allows for TMD layer growth.
Regarding claim 15, Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Chueh and in further view of Sekiguchi teach the transistor structure of claim 14. Gardner in view of Maxey in view of Chueh and in further view of Sekiguchi further teach the channel structure is grown from the seed material (as is the topic of Chueh).
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892