DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 06/04/2026, in which claims 1 and 24 were amended, claim 8 was cancelled, claims 4, 9-11, 13-23, 25-27 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2021-0132691 filed on 10/06/2021. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0132691 has been received.
Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority Date
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0132691 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2021-0132691 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 12, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US Pub. 20210201712) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 20220206529), Hyun et al. (US Pub. 20220209165), Paskiewicz et al. (US Pub. 20210402742) and Sunwoo et al. (US Pub. 20210315116).
Regarding claim 1, Chun et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0002], [0005], [0006], [0010]-[0011], [0038]-[0048] a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel which is foldable with respect to a folding axis [CL][paragraph [0005], [0011]]; and
a cover window [100] disposed on the display panel [paragraph [0011]], wherein a folding portion [A1] and a peripheral portion [A2] adjacent to the folding portion [A1] are defined in the cover window [100],
wherein the cover window [100] includes:
a first layer [130] including a plurality of projection portions [132] apart from each other in a first direction;
a second layer [120] partially concave to accommodate the plurality of projection portions [132] and coupled to the projection portions [132] with a gap therebetween; and
a resin [140] filled in the gap;
wherein the first layer [130] is a film layer;
wherein a thickness of an area [A1] of the second layer [120], which accommodates the plurality of projection portions [132], is less than a thickness of an area [A2] of the second layer [120] which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions [132].
Chun et al. fails to disclose
the second layer is a glass layer.
Paskiewicz et al. discloses in Fig. 3, paragraph [0017]
the second layer [302] is a glass layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Paskiewicz et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include the second layer is a glass layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of the second layer of a cover window [paragraph [0017] of Paskiewicz et al.].
Chun et al. fails to disclose
wherein a projection length of each of the plurality of projection portions is greater than a width of each of the plurality of projection portions.
Sunwoo et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 7A, paragraph [0087], [0089], [0113]-[0114]
wherein a projection length of each of the plurality of projection portions [120/122] is greater than a width of each of the plurality of projection portions [120/122].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include wherein a projection length of each of the plurality of projection portions is greater than a width of each of the plurality of projection portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable shape of projection portions to improve pen-drop resistance properties and folding properties [paragraph [0114]-[0118] of Sunwoo et al.].
Chun et al. fails to disclose
the thickness of the area of the second layer, which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions.
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 2
the thickness of the area of the second layer [114], which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer [114] which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions
Lee et al. further suggests in paragraph [0056], [0058] a height of the plurality of projection portions can be adjusted. In other words, Lee et al. implicitly discloses that the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions can be adjusted. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions such as: the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is greater than/less than/equal to a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer with a reasonable expectation of success.
For further providing support, Hyun et al. is cited.
Hyun et al. discloses in Fig. 2
the thickness [t2] of the area of the second layer [121], which accommodates the plurality of projection portions [122] is less than a half of the thickness [t1] of the area of the second layer [121] which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions [122].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hyun et al. and Lee et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include the thickness of the area of the second layer, which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of achieving improved folding properties without a decrease in impact resistance [paragraph [0057]-[0058] of Lee et al., paragraph [0067]-[0068] of Hyun et al.].
Regarding claim 2, Chun et al. discloses in paragraph [0037], [0042] wherein a material [polyethylenenaphthalate (PEN), polyimide (PI)] included in the first layer [130] is different from a material [an acryl-based or epoxy-based material, or an organic-inorganic hybrid coating layer] included in the second layer [120].
Regarding claim 3, Chun et al. discloses in Fig. 2 wherein the plurality of projection portions [132] is disposed in the folding portion [A1].
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “wherein the folding portion has a radius of curvature when folded, and a length of an area in which the plurality of projection portions is disposed is greater than π times the radius of curvature” directs to property of the folding portion and an area in which the plurality of projection portions is disposed. Chun et al. disclosed in Fig. 2 the claimed folding portion and an area in which the plurality of projection portions is disposed. Thus, the folding portion and an area in which the plurality of projection portions is disposed disclosed by Chun et al. would possesses the claimed property of “the folding portion has a radius of curvature when folded, and a length of an area in which the plurality of projection portions is disposed is greater than π times the radius of curvature”. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 12, Chun et al. discloses in Fig. 2 wherein the plurality of projection portions [132] is disposed to interlock with the second layer [120].
Regarding claim 24, Chun et al. discloses in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0002], [0005], [0006], [0010]-[0011], [0038]-[0048] a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel which is foldable with respect to a folding axis [CL][paragraph [0005], [0011]]; and
a cover window [100] disposed on the display panel [paragraph [0011]], wherein a folding portion [A1] and a peripheral portion [A2] adjacent to the folding portion [A1] are defined in the cover window [100],
wherein the cover window [100] includes:
a first layer [130] including a plurality of projection portions [132];
a second layer [120] including a plurality of accommodation patterns which accommodates the plurality of projection portions [132].
wherein the first layer [130] is a film layer;
wherein a thickness of an area [A1] of the second layer [120], which accommodates the plurality of projection portions [132], is less than a thickness of an area [A2] of the second layer [120] which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions [132].
Chun et al. fails to disclose
the second layer is a glass layer.
Paskiewicz et al. discloses in Fig. 3, paragraph [0017]
the second layer [302] is a glass layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Paskiewicz et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include the second layer is a glass layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of the second layer of a cover window [paragraph [0017] of Paskiewicz et al.].
Chun et al. fails to disclose
wherein a projection length of each of the plurality of projection portions is greater than a width of each of the plurality of projection portions.
Sunwoo et al. discloses in Fig. 1A, Fig. 7A, paragraph [0087], [0089], [0113]-[0114]
wherein a projection length of each of the plurality of projection portions [120/122] is greater than a width of each of the plurality of projection portions [120/122].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include wherein a projection length of each of the plurality of projection portions is greater than a width of each of the plurality of projection portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable shape of projection portions to improve pen-drop resistance properties and folding properties [paragraph [0114]-[0118] of Sunwoo et al.].
Chun et al. fails to disclose
the thickness of the area of the second layer, which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions.
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 2
the thickness of the area of the second layer [114], which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer [114] which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions
Lee et al. further suggests in paragraph [0056], [0058] a height of the plurality of projection portions can be adjusted. In other words, Lee et al. implicitly discloses that the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions can be adjusted. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions such as: the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is greater than/less than/equal to a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the thickness of the area of the second layer which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer with a reasonable expectation of success.
For further providing support, Hyun et al. is cited.
Hyun et al. discloses in Fig. 2
the thickness [t2] of the area of the second layer [121], which accommodates the plurality of projection portions [122] is less than a half of the thickness [t1] of the area of the second layer [121] which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions [122].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hyun et al. and Lee et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include the thickness of the area of the second layer, which accommodates the plurality of projection portions is less than a half of the thickness of the area of the second layer which does not accommodate the plurality of projection portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of achieving improved folding properties without a decrease in impact resistance [paragraph [0057]-[0058] of Lee et al., paragraph [0067]-[0068] of Hyun et al.].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US Pub. 20210201712) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 20220206529), Hyun et al. (US Pub. 20220209165), Paskiewicz et al. (US Pub. 20210402742) and Sunwoo et al. (US Pub. 20210315116) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shin et al. (US Pub. 20160014881).
Regarding claim 6, Chun et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first layer, the second layer, and the resin have a same refractive index as each other.
Shin et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0060]
wherein the first layer [610 and 621], the second layer [upper portion of 623] and the resin [lower portion of 623] have a same refractive index as each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shin et al. into the method of Chun et al. to include wherein the first layer, the second layer, and the resin have a same refractive index as each other. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun et al. in the above manner for the purpose of enhancing transmissivity and visibility of the cover window [paragraph [0060] of Shin et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6, 12, 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893