DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 10/03/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Yoon discloses a fifth source/drain region (examiner labeled as 5) directly coupled to the fourth source/drain region as labeled by examiner below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. 20170200727 in view of Wu et al. 20160104542.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses a structure comprising:
a bit line BL; and
an anti-fuse cell comprising:
a first reading device (RGS transistor) comprising:
a first gate RGS coupled to the first word line;
first source/drain region (examiner labeled as 1) coupled to the bit line; and
a second source/drain region (examiner labeled as 2), wherein the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region are on opposite sides of the first gate;
a first programming device (WGS transistor) comprising:
a second gate WGS; and
a third source/drain region (examiner labeled as 3) coupled to the second source/drain region; and
a fourth source/drain region (examiner labeled as 4), wherein the third source/drain region and the fourth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the second gate; and
a dummy device (DGS transistor) comprising:
a third gate (left DGS);
a fifth source/drain region (examiner labeled as 5) directly coupled to the fourth source/drain region; and
a sixth source/drain (examiner labeled as 6) region,
wherein the fifth source/drain region and the sixth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the third gate, the dummy device corresponding to a non-functional transistor.
Yoon does not disclose of a first word line and that the first gate RGS coupled to the first word line.
However, fig. 9 of Wu discloses a structure comprising:
a word line WLR;
a bit line BLR; and
an anti-fuse cell comprising:
a first reading device 540 comprising:
a first gate (that of 544);
a first source/drain region couple to the bit line BLR; and
a second source/drain region, wherein the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region are on opposite sides of the first gate;
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon further comprising a first word line and that the first gate of the reading device coupled to the first word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell.
Regarding claim 2, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses further comprising a second programming device comprising:a fourth gate; anda seventh source/drain region on one side of the fourth gate,wherein the first to seventh source/drain regions are included in a continuous active region including a semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 3, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the dummy device further comprises: a fifth gate (right DGS); an eighth source/drain region coupled to the sixth source/drain region; and a ninth source/drain region coupled to the seventh source/drain region, wherein the eighth source/drain region and the ninth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fifth gate.
Regarding claim 4, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses further comprising: a second programming device, wherein the dummy device is coupled between the first programming device and the second programming device.
Fig. 10 of Wu discloses a second word line.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon and Wu further comprising a second word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell for the second anti-fuse cell.
Regarding claim 5, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the second programming device comprises:a fourth gate;a seventh source/drain region; andan eighth source/drain region, wherein the seventh source/drain region and the eighth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fourth gate.
Regarding claim 6, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses further comprising a second reading device comprising:a fifth gate coupled to the second word line;a ninth source/drain region coupled to the eighth source/drain region; anda tenth source/drain region coupled to the bit line, wherein the ninth source/drain region and the tenth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fifth gate.
Regarding claim 7, further comprising: a second word line coupled to the second gate,wherein a width of the second word line is different from a width of the first word line.
Fig. 10 of Wu discloses a second word line.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon and Wu further comprising a second word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell for the second anti-fuse cell.
The resulting structure would have been one wherein a width of the second word line is different from a width of the first word line as different is a term of degree.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to form a structure wherein the width of the second word line is greater than the width of the first word line as there line variation during processing of the structure.
Regarding claim 9, the resulting structure would have been one wherein the first reading device and the first programming device are each implemented with one or more transistors.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to form a structure further comprising:a voltage line coupled to the third gate and configured to receive a reference voltage in order to supply voltage to the gate.
Regarding claim 15, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses a structure comprising:
a first bit line; and
a first anti-fuse cell comprising:
a first reading device comprising:
a first gate;
a first source/drain region coupled to the first bit line; and
a second source/drain region, wherein the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region are on opposite sides of the first gate;
a first programming device comprising:
a second gate;
a third source/drain region coupled to the second source/drain region; and
a fourth source/drain region, wherein the third source/drain region and the fourth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the second gate;
a first dummy device comprising:
a third gate;
a fifth source/drain region directly coupled to the fourth source/drain region; and
a sixth source/drain region, wherein the fifth source/drain region and the sixth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the third gate, the first dummy device corresponding to a first non-functional transistor; and
a second dummy device (that of second row below first row in fig. 4) comprising:
a fourth gate;
a seventh source/drain region coupled to the sixth source/drain region; and
an eighth source/drain region, wherein the seventh source/drain region and the eighth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fourth gate.
Yoon does not disclose of a first word line and that the first gate RGS coupled to the first word line.
However, fig. 9 of Wu discloses a structure comprising:
a word line WLR;
a bit line BLR; and
an anti-fuse cell comprising:
a first reading device 540 comprising:
a first gate (that of 544);
a first source/drain region couple to the bit line BLR; and
a second source/drain region, wherein the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region are on opposite sides of the first gate;
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon further comprising a first word line and that the first gate of the reading device coupled to the first word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell.
Regarding claim 16, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses further comprising:a second anti-fuse cell comprising:a second programming device comprising:a fifth gate;a ninth source/drain region coupled to the eighth source/drain region;and a tenth source/drain region, wherein the ninth source/drain region and the tenth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fifth gate,wherein the first to tenth source/drain regions are included in a continuous active region including a semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 17, fig. 4-5 of Yoon discloses further comprising: the second anti-fuse cell further comprises: a second reading device comprising:a sixth gate coupled to the second word line;an eleventh source/drain region coupled to the tenth source/drain region;and a twelfth source/drain region coupled to the first bit line, wherein the eleventh source/drain region and the twelfth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the sixth gate.
Fig. 10 of Wu discloses a second word line.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon and Wu further comprising a second word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell for the second anti-fuse cell.
Regarding claim 18, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the second anti-fuse cell further comprises:a third dummy device comprising:a fifth gate;a ninth source/drain region coupled to the eighth source/drain region; and a tenth source/drain region, wherein the ninth source/drain region and the tenth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fifth gate.
Regarding claim 19, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses further comprising: the second anti-fuse cell further comprises:a second programming device comprising:a sixth gate;an eleventh source/drain region coupled to the tenth source/drain region; and a twelfth source/drain region, wherein the eleventh source/drain region and the twelfth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the sixth gate; and a second reading device comprising:a seventh gate coupled to the second word line;a thirteenth source/drain region coupled to the twelfth source/drain region; anda fourteenth source/drain region coupled to the first bit line, wherein the thirteenth source/drain region and the fourteenth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the seventh gate, andwherein the first to fourteenth source/drain regions are included in a continuous active region including a semiconductor material.
Fig. 10 of Wu discloses a second word line.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon and Wu further comprising a second word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell for the second anti-fuse cell.
Regarding claim 20, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the third gate, the fourth gate and the fifth gate are coupled together, and configured to receive a reference voltage from a reference voltage supply.
Regarding claim 21, fig. 4-5 of Yoon discloses a structure comprising:
a bit line; and
an anti-fuse cell comprising:
a first reading device comprising:
a first gate;
a first source/drain region coupled to the bit line; and
a second source/drain region, wherein the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region are on opposite sides of the first gate;
a first programming device comprising: a second gate; and
a third source/drain region coupled to the second source/drain region; and
a fourth source/drain region, wherein the third source/drain region and the fourth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the second gate; and
a first dummy device comprising:
a third gate;
a fifth source/drain region directly coupled to the fourth source/drain region; and
a sixth source/drain region, wherein the fifth source/drain region and the sixth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the third gate, the first dummy device corresponding to a first non-functional transistor; and
a second anti-fuse cell comprising: a second dummy device.
Yoon does not disclose of a first word line and that the first gate RGS coupled to the first word line.
However, fig. 9 of Wu discloses a structure comprising:
a word line WLR;
a bit line BLR; and
an anti-fuse cell comprising:
a first reading device 540 comprising:
a first gate (that of 544);
a first source/drain region couple to the bit line BLR; and
a second source/drain region, wherein the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region are on opposite sides of the first gate;
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a structure of Yoon further comprising a first word line and that the first gate of the reading device coupled to the first word line such as taught by Wu in order to be able ot select proper memory cell.
Regarding claim 22, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the second anti-fuse cell further comprises: a second programming device; and a second reading device, wherein the second dummy device is between the first dummy device and the second programming device.
Regarding claim 23, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the second programming device comprises: a fourth gate; and a seventh source/drain region on one side of the fourth gate, wherein the first to seventh source/drain regions are included in a continuous active region including a semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 24, figs. 4-5 of Yoon discloses wherein the second dummy device comprises: a fifth gate; an eighth source/drain region coupled to the sixth source/drain region; and a ninth source/drain region coupled to the seventh source/drain region, wherein the eighth source/drain region and the ninth source/drain region are on opposite sides of the fifth gate.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893