DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankman et al. (US 2019/0363046 A1) in view of Karpov et al. (US 2020/0075851 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Sankman et al. discloses An integrated circuit (IC) package support (100, see paragraph [0020]), comprising: a conductive line (124, 126, see fig. 3A), a first material layer on a top surface (top surface of the 102-1) and on side surfaces of the conductive line (124, 126), and a second material layer (102-2, see fig. 3A) on the first material layer (see fig. 3) (see paragraph [0029] + [0053]), including on the first material layer (102-2) on the top surface of the conductive line (top surface 124, see fig. 3F), the second material layer including silicon or aluminum (see paragraph [0029] + [0053]), and one or more of nitrogen and oxygen (see paragraph [0029]), fig. 2E).
But, Sankman et al. does not explicitly teach the first material layer including silver.
However, Karpov et al. teaches the first material layer including silver, (see paragraph [0095]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide teaches the first material layer including silver in Sankman et al. based on the teachings of Karpov et al. in order to the barrier material layer in the selector material stack can reduce diffusion between materials on either side of the barrier material layer, thus, improving the performance and useful life of the selector device and the IC component in which the selector device is included.
Pertaining to claim 2, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the first material layer has a thickness between 50 nanometers and 450 nanometers, (see paragraph [0025], lines 15-17).
Pertaining to claim 3, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the second material layer has a thickness between 50 nanometers and 450 nanometers, (see paragraph [0025]).
Pertaining to claim 4, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the conductive line has a thickness between 10 microns and 20 microns (see paragraph [0020], lines 19-21)
Pertaining to claim 9, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the IC package support is a package substrate or an interposer (see paragraph [0019]).
Pertaining to claims 10, Sankman et al. discloses An electronic assembly, comprising: an integrated circuit (IC) package support (100, see paragraph [0020]), including a conductive structure in a layer of dielectric material (102-1), the conductive structure having a first material layer on a top surface (top surface of the 102-1) and on side surfaces of the conductive structure (see figs. 2E, 3E) and a second material layer on the first material layer (see fig. 3E), including on the first material layer (102-2) on the top surface of the conductive structure (top surface 124, see fig. 3F), and the second material layer includes silicon or aluminum (see paragraph [0029] + [0053]), and one or more of nitrogen and oxygen (see paragraph [0029]), fig. 2E).
But, Sankman et al. does not explicitly teach the first material layer including silver.
However, Karpov et al. teaches the first material layer including silver, (see paragraph [0095]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide teaches the first material layer including silver in Sankman et al. based on the teachings of Karpov et al. in order to the barrier material layer in the selector material stack can reduce diffusion between materials on either side of the barrier material layer, thus, improving the performance and useful life of the selector device and the IC component in which the selector device is included. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 11, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the first material layer has a thickness between 50 nanometers and 450 nanometers, (see paragraph [0025], lines 15-17).
Pertaining to claim 12, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the second material layer has a thickness between 50 nanometers and 450 nanometers, (see paragraph [0025]).
Pertaining to claim 13, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the conductive structure is a conductive line in a transmission line structure (see paragraph [0064, lines 26-29).
Pertaining to claim 14, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the transmission line structure further includes a first conductive plane below the conductive line and a second conductive plane above the conductive line (see paragraph [0064, lines 26-29).
Pertaining to claim 15, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the IC package support further includes conductive contacts and the electronic assembly further includes one or more dies coupled to the conductive contacts (see paragraph [0050], lines 1-4).
Pertaining to claim 16, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the IC package support is included in an IC package, the electronic assembly further includes a circuit board, and the IC package is coupled to the circuit board (see paragraph [0021], lines 13-17).
Pertaining to claim 17, Sankman et al. discloses A method of manufacturing an integrated circuit (IC) package support (100, see paragraph [0020]), comprising: forming a conductive line (124, 126, see fig. 3A); forming a first layer of material on a top surface (top surface of the 102-1) and on side surfaces of the conductive line, forming a second layer of material on the first layer of material (top surface of the 102-1), including on the first material layer (102-2) on the top surface of the conductive line (top surface 124, see fig. 3F), wherein the second layer of material includes silicon or aluminum (see fig. 3) (see paragraph [0029] + [0053]), and one or more of nitrogen and oxygen (see paragraph [0029]), fig. 2E); and forming a layer of dielectric material on the second layer of material, wherein the conductive line is embedded in the layer of dielectric material (102-1).
But, Sankman et al. does not explicitly teach the first material layer including silver.
However, Karpov et al. teaches the first material layer including silver, (see paragraph [0095]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide teaches the first material layer including silver in Sankman et al. based on the teachings of Karpov et al. in order to the barrier material layer in the selector material stack can reduce diffusion between materials on either side of the barrier material layer, thus, improving the performance and useful life of the selector device and the IC component in which the selector device is included. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 18, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the first material layer has a thickness between 50 nanometers and 450 nanometers, (see paragraph [0025], lines 15-17).
Pertaining to claim 19, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the second material layer has a thickness between 50 nanometers and 450 nanometers, (see paragraph [0025]).
Pertaining to claim 20, Sankman et al. discloses, wherein the layer of dielectric material includes an organic, polymer-based film, (see paragraph [0024], lines 11-13).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sankman et al. (US 2019/0363046 A1) in view of Karpov et al. (US 2020/0075851 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie (WO 2013181905 A1).
Pertaining to claim 5, Sankman et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the second material layer includes silicon and nitrogen having a ratio of silicon to nitrogen of 3 to 4.
However, Xie teaches wherein the second material layer includes silicon and nitrogen having a ratio of silicon to nitrogen of 3 to 4.
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the second material layer includes silicon and nitrogen having a ratio of silicon to nitrogen of 3 to 4 in the device of Sankman based on the teachings of Xie. It possesses excellent wear resistance and a low coefficient of friction. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 6, the specific limitations of "An integrated circuit (IC) package support, comprising :a conductive line. a first material laver on a top surface and on side surfaces of the conductive line, the first material laver including silver, and a second material layer on the first material layer, the second material layer including silicon or aluminum, and one or more of nitrogen and oxygen, wherein the conductive line is a first conductive line, and the IC package support further includes: a second conductive line, wherein the first material layer is on a top surface and on side surfaces of the second conductive line and the second material layer is on the first material layer. " in combination with the remaining elements, are not taught or adequately suggested by the prior art of record. Claim 7-8 depend from claim 6 and is therefore allowed for at the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jo (US-20120074507-A1) and Kawano (US-20110019381-A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848