Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 11/5/2025 has been entered. Claims 14 – 19 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 3, 6, 11 – 12, 24 – 26 are amended. Claims 7 – 9, 20 – 23 are canceled. Claims 1 – 6, 10 – 13, 24 – 26 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon ( Pub. No. US 20210028137 A1 ), hereinafter Jeon; in view of Toshimasa ( Pub. No. JP 2015011265 A ), hereinafter Toshimasa; Nawrocki ( Pub. No. US 20220146936 A1 ), hereinafter Nawrocki; and Kristoffersen ( U: Kristoffersen, et al. Testing Fluorescence Lifetime Standards using Two-Photon Excitation and Time-Domain Instrumentation: Rhodamine B, Coumarin 6 and Lucifer Yellow. J Fluoresc 24, 1015–1024 (2014) ), hereinafter Kristoffersen.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon teaches a semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ), comprising:
a redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 100; [0059], redistribution substrate 100 ) that includes an organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) and a metal pattern ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 110; [0045], first redistribution patterns 110 ) in the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ); and
a semiconductor chip ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 200; [0060], semiconductor chip 200 ) on the redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 100; [0059], redistribution substrate 100 ),
wherein the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) comprises a base resin, a cross linking agent, an elastomer, a photo active compound, and a photosensitizer ( Joen, [0083], epoxy-based polymer (equates to the base resin, cross linking agent, and elastomer); [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include, for example, a photosensitive polymer. The photosensitive polymer may include, for example, one or more of photosensitive polyimide, polybenzoxazole, phenolic polymer, and benzocyclobutene polymer ),
the organic dielectric layer has: a maximum absorbance; and a fluorescence intensity.
Jeon fails to teach:
a maximum absorbance equal to or greater than about 0.04 a.u. at a first wavelength range; and wherein the first wavelength range is 450 nm to 650 nm.
wherein the organic dielectric layer has a thickness of 3 μm to 15 μm,
wherein the photosensitizer comprises methylol melamine,
However, Toshimasa teaches:
a maximum absorbance equal to or greater than about 0.04 a.u. at a first wavelength range ( Toshimasa, abstract, the composition shows an absorbance of 2.0 or more at a wavelength of 365 nm, an absorbance of 1.5 or more at a wavelength of 405 nm, and a minimum absorbance of 0.2 or more in a wavelength range from 300 nm to 800 nm ); and wherein the first wavelength range is 450 nm to 650 nm ( Toshimasa, abstract, a wavelength range from 300 nm to 800 nm ).
wherein the organic dielectric layer has a thickness of 3 μm to 15 μm ( Toshimasa, abstract, When the photosensitive resin composition is formed into a film having a thickness of 25 μm after coating and drying; page 14, line 24, The thickness of the photosensitive layer 14 varies depending on the application, but is preferably 3 to 100 μm, more preferably 5 to 60 μm, and particularly preferably 10 to 50 μm after drying ),
wherein the photosensitizer comprises methylol melamine ( Toshimasa, page 11, line 21, For example, the photopolymerizable monomer having a tricyclodecanestructure includes dimethylol tricyclodecane di (meth) acrylate ortricyclodecanediol di (meth) acrylate; page 11, line 3 from bottom, Trimethylolpropanetriethoxytriacrylate (SR-454, trade name, manufactured by Nippon KayakuCo., Ltd.); page 8, line 7 from bottom, melamine derivatives; page 10, line 5 from bottom, Examples of the compound having at least one amino group in the molecule include melamine ),
Jeon and Toshimasa are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor package and photosensitive composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon ( organic dielectric layer ), to incorporate the teachings of Toshimasa ( a minimum absorbance of 0.2 or more in a wavelength range from 300 nm to 800 nm ) to limit the absorbance property of the organic dielectric layer. Doing so would provide a specific consideration of the absorbance property of organic dielectric layer, and therefore provide an absorbance inspection of photo-imageable dielectric ( PID ) for semiconductor package.
Jeon and Toshimasa fail to teach: a fluorescence intensity having a peak in the first wavelength range when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm.
However, Nawrocki teaches: a fluorescence intensity ( Nawrocki, [0048], fluorenone ) having a peak in the first wavelength range when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm ( Nawrocki, [0032], photoimageable compositions of the above embodiments wherein the synergistic photosensitive compound is … a coumarin; [0049], Other synergistic photosenstizier materials include, for example, coumarins. Although Nawrocki did not explicitly disclose the peak in the first wavelength range, when irradiated by the light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coumarins which has the same response in these wavelength ranges ).
Jeon and Toshimasa and Nawrocki are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor package and photosensitive composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and Toshimasa ( organic dielectric layer, minimum absorbance ), to incorporate the teachings of Nawrocki ( fluorenone ) to limit the fluorescence property of the organic dielectric layer. Doing so would provide a specific consideration of the fluorescence property of organic dielectric layer, and therefore provide an fluorescence inspection of photo-imageable dielectric ( PID ) for semiconductor package.
Jeon and Toshimasa and Nawrocki fail to explicitly disclose:
a fluorescence intensity having a peak in the first wavelength range when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm
However, Kristoffersen explicitly disclose:
a fluorescence intensity having a peak in the first wavelength range when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm (Kristoffersen, FIG. 5; page 1021, left column, line 11 from bottom, Figure 5 shows that the difference in absorption and emission wavelengths are negligible for coumarin 6 in ethanol compared to methanol solutions. Both have an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm).
Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor package and photosensitive composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon and Toshimasa, Nawrocki ( organic dielectric layer, minimum absorbance, coumarin ), to incorporate the teachings of Kristoffersen ( coumarin has an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm ) to limit the fluorescence property of the organic dielectric layer. Doing so would provide a specific consideration of the fluorescence property of organic dielectric layer, and therefore provide an fluorescence inspection of photo-imageable dielectric ( PID ) for semiconductor package.
Regarding Claim 2 ( Previously Presented ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon and Toshimasa further teach wherein the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) has an integral intensity equal to or greater than about 13 a.u. for the first wavelength range ( Citation from applicant’s specification [0005]: “ The dielectric layer may have a definite integral value equal to or greater than about 13 of an absorbance function at a first wavelength range ”. Toshimasa, abstract, the composition shows an absorbance of 2.0 or more at a wavelength of 365 nm, an absorbance of 1.5 or more at a wavelength of 405 nm, and a minimum absorbance of 0.2 or more in a wavelength range from 300 nm to 800 nm. Therefore, Toshimasa teaches that the dielectric layer may have a definite integral value equal to or greater than a value of arbitrary unit of an absorbance function at a first wavelength range ).
Regarding Claim 3 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon and Nawrocki and Kristoffersen further teach wherein the fluorescence intensity ( Nawrocki, [0048], fluorenone ) of the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) peaks between 475 nm and 525 nm when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 410 nm ( Nawrocki, [0032], photoimageable compositions of the above embodiments wherein the synergistic photosensitive compound is … a coumarin; [0049], Other synergistic photosenstizier materials include, for example, coumarins; although Nawrocki did not explicitly disclose the peak in the first wavelength range, when irradiated by the light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coumarins which has the same response in these wavelength ranges ) (Kristoffersen, FIG. 5; page 1021, left column, line 11 from bottom, Figure 5 shows that the difference in absorption and emission wavelengths are negligible for coumarin 6 in ethanol compared to methanol solutions. Both have an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm). Furthermore, “ [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 4 ( Original ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon and Toshimasa further teach wherein an absorbance of the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) is equal to or greater than about 0.5 a.u. ( Toshimasa, abstract, the composition shows an absorbance of 2.0 or more at a wavelength of 365 nm, an absorbance of 1.5 or more at a wavelength of 405 nm, and a minimum absorbance of 0.2 or more in a wavelength range from 300 nm to 800 nm. Therefore, Toshimasa teaches that the absorbance of organic dielectric layer is equal to or greater than a value of arbitrary unit ).
Regarding Claim 5 ( Previously Presented ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon and Toshimasa further teach wherein the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) has an integral intensity equal to or greater than 40 a.u. for the first wavelength range ( Citation from applicant’s specification [0005]: “ The first absorbance condition may include that a definite integral value is equal to or greater than about 40 of the absorbance function at the first wavelength range. The first wavelength range may be about 450 nm to about 650 nm ”. Toshimasa, abstract, the composition shows an absorbance of 2.0 or more at a wavelength of 365 nm, an absorbance of 1.5 or more at a wavelength of 405 nm, and a minimum absorbance of 0.2 or more in a wavelength range from 300 nm to 800 nm. Therefore, Toshimasa teaches that the dielectric layer may have a definite integral value equal to or greater than a value of arbitrary unit of an absorbance function at a first wavelength range ).
Regarding Claim 6 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Nawrocki and Kristoffersen further teach wherein the fluorescence intensity of the organic dielectric layer peaks between 425 nm and 525 nm when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 405 nm and 410 nm ( Nawrocki, [0032], photoimageable compositions of the above embodiments wherein the synergistic photosensitive compound is … a coumarin; [0049], Other synergistic photosenstizier materials include, for example, coumarins; although Nawrocki did not explicitly disclose the peak in the first wavelength range, when irradiated by the light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coumarins which has the same response in these wavelength ranges ) (Kristoffersen, FIG. 5; page 1021, left column, line 11 from bottom, Figure 5 shows that the difference in absorption and emission wavelengths are negligible for coumarin 6 in ethanol compared to methanol solutions. Both have an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm). Furthermore, “ [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 10 ( Original ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon further teaches comprising a molding layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 300; [0061], molding layer 300 ) on a top surface of the redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 100; [0059], redistribution substrate 100 ), the molding layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 300; [0061], molding layer 300 ) covering a sidewall of the semiconductor chip ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 200; [0060], semiconductor chip 200 ),
wherein the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) extends onto a bottom surface of the molding layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 300; [0061], molding layer 300 ).
Regarding Claim 11 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon further teaches comprising a conductive structure ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 520; [0095], conductive structure 520 ) on the redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 100; [0059], redistribution substrate 100 ) and laterally spaced apart from the semiconductor chip ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 200; [0060], semiconductor chip 200 ),
wherein the molding layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 300; [0061], molding layer 300 ) further covers sidewalls of the conductive structure ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 520; [0095], conductive structure 520 ).
Regarding Claim 12 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 11, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon further teaches comprising an upper redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 600; [0101], upper redistribution layer 600 ) on the molding layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 300; [0061], molding layer 300 ) and the conductive structures ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 520; [0095], conductive structure 520 ), the upper redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 600; [0101], upper redistribution layer 600 ) being electrically connected to the conductive structure ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 520; [0095], conductive structure 520 ).
Regarding Claim 13 ( Original ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Jeon further teaches comprising a connection substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 140, 300, 520; [0058], Conductive pads 140; [0061], molding layer 300; [0095], conductive structure 520 ) on the redistribution substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 100; [0059], redistribution substrate 100 ), the connection substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 140, 300, 520; [0058], Conductive pads 140; [0061], molding layer 300; [0095], conductive structure 520 ) having a hole ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, where 200 is fill in ) that penetrates the connection substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 140, 300, 520; [0058], Conductive pads 140; [0061], molding layer 300; [0095], conductive structure 520 ),
wherein the semiconductor chip ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 200; [0060], semiconductor chip 200 ) is in the hole ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, where 200 is fill in ) of the connection substrate ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 140, 300, 520; [0058], Conductive pads 140; [0061], molding layer 300; [0095], conductive structure 520 ).
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon; in view of Toshimasa; Nawrocki; and Kristoffersen as applied to claims 1 – 6, 10 – 13 above, and further in view of Loy ( Pub. No. US 20190040287 A1 ), hereinafter Loy.
Regarding Claim 24 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Nawrocki further teaches:
wherein at least one of the elastomer and the cross linking agent comprises a fluorescent material ( Nawrocki, [0048], Other suitable photoactive compounds for the current disclosure include, for example, … with 9-fluorenone; [0032], photoimageable compositions of the above embodiments wherein the synergistic photosensitive compound is … a coumarin; [0049], Other synergistic photosenstizier materials include, for example, coumarins ).
Nawrocki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least one of the elastomer and the cross linking agent comprises a fluorescent material.
However, Loy explicitly discloses:
wherein at least one of the elastomer and the cross linking agent comprises a fluorescent material ( Loy, [0009], According to another embodiment, the present invention features photochemically reworkable epoxy adhesive compositions and methods of making thereof. In one embodiment, photochemically reworkable epoxy adhesive composition may comprise a reactive mixture of a hardening agent, and one or more monomers of a modified coumarin comprising an epoxide moiety. The one or more monomers of the modified coumarin may be bonded to the hardening agent via the epoxide moiety; [0027], In a preferred embodiment, the fluorescent dye comprises 7-glycidyloxycoumarin. In some embodiments, the fluorescent dye causes the cured epoxy adhesive to fluoresce under shortwave ultraviolet irradiation ).
Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, Kristoffersen, and Loy and are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of cross linking agent and photosensitive composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, Kristoffersen ( organic dielectric layer, minimum absorbance, coumarin, coumarin has an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm ), to incorporate the teachings of Loy ( monomers of the modified coumarin may be bonded to the hardening agent via the epoxide moiety ) to provide a specific formula for the cross linking agent. Doing so would achieve the fluorescence and photoactive property of the organic dielectric layer, and therefore an fluorescence inspection of photo-imageable dielectric ( PID ) for semiconductor package can be implemented.
Claims 25 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon; in view of Toshimasa; Nawrocki; and Kristoffersen as applied to claims 1–6, 10 – 13, above, and further in view of Nomura (Pub. No. US 20090075198 A1), hereinafter Nomura.
Regarding Claim 25 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen teach the semiconductor package ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 18; [0119], semiconductor package 18 ) as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent,
Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, and Kristoffersen fail to teach:
wherein the photo active compound comprises one or more of diazonaphthoquinone and its derivative.
However, Nomura teaches:
wherein the photo active compound comprises one or more of diazonaphthoquinone (Nomura, Abstract, The photosensitive polyimide resin composition contains: … diazonaphthoquinone; [0003], photosensitive polyimide resin compositions contain diazonaphthoquinone) and its derivative.
Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, Kristoffersen, and Nomura are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor package and photosensitive composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, Kristoffersen ( organic dielectric layer, minimum absorbance, coumarin, coumarin has an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm ), to incorporate the teachings of Nomura ( photosensitive polyimide resin compositions contain diazonaphthoquinone ) to limit the fluorescence and photoactive property of the organic dielectric layer. Doing so would provide a specific consideration of the fluorescence and photoactive property of organic dielectric layer, and therefore provide an fluorescence inspection of photo-imageable dielectric ( PID ) for semiconductor package.
Regarding Claim 26 ( Currently Amended ), Jeon, Toshimasa, Nawrocki, Kristoffersen and Nomura teach the semiconductor package as claimed in claim 1, Jeon and Nomura further teach:
wherein at least one of the elastomer, the cross linking agent, and the photosensitizer (Joen, [0083], [0035]) comprises one or more of melamine compound and its derivatives (Nomura, Abstract, The photosensitive polyimide resin composition contains: … an analogue of melamine cyanurate … wherein an amount of the analogue of melamine cyanurate is in a range of from 5 to 50 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the polyimide resin).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s request for claim 1: page 2, line 6, cited “ Claim 1, as amended, recites, inter alia:
“wherein the organic dielectric layer has a thickness of 3μm to 15μm,”
“wherein the organic dielectric layer comprises a base resin, a cross linking agent, an elastomer, and a photo active compound and a photosensitizer,”
“wherein the photosensitizer comprises methylol melamine,” and
“wherein the organic dielectric layer has … a fluorescence intensity having a peak in the first wavelength range when the organic dielectric is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm. ” Applicant submits that the cited art fails to disclose at least these claim elements. ”.
Examiner’s response: Please refer to the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for claim 1 in this office action, cited “
wherein the organic dielectric layer ( Jeon, FIG. 7B, 101 ~ 105; [0034], first dielectric layer 101; [0057], fifth dielectric layer 105; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include ... photosensitive polymer ... photosensitive polyimide ) comprises a base resin, a cross linking agent, an elastomer, a photo active compound, and a photosensitizer ( Joen, [0083], epoxy-based polymer; [0035], first dielectric layer 101 may include, for example, a photosensitive polymer. The photosensitive polymer may include, for example, one or more of photosensitive polyimide, polybenzoxazole, phenolic polymer, and benzocyclobutene polymer ), …
wherein the organic dielectric layer has a thickness of 3 μm to 15 μm ( Toshimasa, abstract, When the photosensitive resin composition is formed into a film having athickness of 25 μm after coating and drying; page 14, line 24, The thickness of the photosensitive layer 14 varies depending on the application, but is preferably 3 to 100 μm, more preferably 5 to 60 μm, and particularly preferably 10 to 50 μm after drying ),
wherein the photosensitizer comprises methylol melamine ( Toshimasa, page 11, line 21, For example, the photopolymerizable monomer having a tricyclodecanestructure includes dimethylol tricyclodecane di (meth) acrylate ortricyclodecanediol di (meth) acrylate; page 11, line 3 from bottom, Trimethylolpropanetriethoxytriacrylate (SR-454, trade name, manufactured by Nippon KayakuCo., Ltd.); page 8, line 7 from bottom, melamine derivatives; page 10, line 5 from bottom, Examples of the compound having at least one amino group in the molecule include melamine ), …
wherein the organic dielectric layer has … a fluorescence intensity having a peak in the first wavelength range when the organic dielectric layer is irradiated by a light source having a wavelength between 400 nm and 480 nm (Kristoffersen, FIG. 5; page 1021, left column, line 11 from bottom, Figure 5 shows that the difference in absorption and emission wavelengths are negligible for coumarin 6 in ethanol compared to methanol solutions. Both have an absorption maximum at around 460 nm and an emission maximum at 512 nm). ”.
Applicant’s request for claim 24: page 3, line 5 from bottom, cited “ However, Applicant notes that the fluorenone described in Nawrocki is not an elastomer or a cross linking agent as required by claim 24. Instead, the fluorenone is used as a photoinitiator. See Nawrocki, paragraph [0048]. The photoinitiator is a separate component from a cross linking component. See Nawrocki, paragraph [0022]. Applicant therefore submits that the cited art fails to disclose at least one of the elastomer and the cross linking agent comprises a fluorescent material. ”.
Examiner’s response: Please refer to the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for claim 24 in this office action, cited “ However, Loy explicitly discloses: wherein at least one of the elastomer and the cross linking agent comprises a fluorescent material ( Loy, [0009], According to another embodiment, the present invention features photochemically reworkable epoxy adhesive compositions and methods of making thereof. In one embodiment, photochemically reworkable epoxy adhesive composition may comprise a reactive mixture of a hardening agent, and one or more monomers of a modified coumarin comprising an epoxide moiety. The one or more monomers of the modified coumarin may be bonded to the hardening agent via the epoxide moiety; [0027], In a preferred embodiment, the fluorescent dye comprises 7-glycidyloxycoumarin. In some embodiments, the fluorescent dye causes the cured epoxy adhesive to fluoresce under shortwave ultraviolet irradiation ) ”.
Conclusion
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817