Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 11-12 and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabata, US 2018/0138131.
Regarding claim 1, Kawabata discloses (figs. 2, 6 and related text) an integrated circuit (11B) comprising: a substrate (20) having a first surface (upper surface of 20); a semiconductor die (31) having a second surface (bottom surface of 31) opposing the first surface; metal interconnects (24) between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31) and the first surface of substrate (20); an insulation layer (50) is between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31, bottom surface) and the first surface of the substrate (20, if one draws a line from the bottom surface of 31 to the top surface of the substrate 20, the line crosses the insulating layer 50, hence layer (50) is between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31, bottom surface) and the first surface of the substrate (20)), the insulation layer surrounding the metal interconnects (24, surrounding 24 under 32 ); an inductor (32, [0069]) coupled to the substrate (fig. 2); and a magnetic material (40) encapsulating the semiconductor die (31), the inductor (32), the metal interconnects (24) and the insulation layer (50), the magnetic material (40) having a different material from the insulation layer (40 is magnetic mold resin [0067], and the insulation layer (50 is non-magnetic [0072]).
Regarding claim 5, Kawabata discloses (fig. 6 and related text) the magnetic material (40) includes metal particles (5, [0083]) and an epoxy resin (4) in which the metal particles are suspended (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kawabata discloses the insulation layer ([0072], common resin) has a higher breakdown voltage than the magnetic material (40, same material as the claimed invention, hence the same electrical property).
Regarding claim 7, Kawabata discloses the insulation layer ([0072]) includes a dielectric material [0072].
Regarding claim 8, Kawabata discloses the dielectric material ([0072]) includes a Polyimide material (resin).
Regarding claim 11, Kawabata discloses the insulation layer (50) is a first insulation layer, the metal interconnects (24) are first metal interconnects, and the substrate (20) includes: first metal pads (25) on a first side of the substrate (upper side of 20), the first metal pads (25) coupled to the first metal interconnects (24); second metal pads (26) on a second side of the substrate (bottom side of 20) opposite to the first side; a second insulation layer ([0069], substrate material) between the first side and the second side (fig. 2); and second metal interconnects (26) in the second insulation layer [0069] and coupled between the first metal pads (25) and the second metal pads (25).
Regarding claim 12, Kawabata discloses the first metal pads (25) and the second metal (26) interconnects include a Copper metal [0070]; the second metal pads include at least one of a Palladium metal or a Silver metal [0070]; and the second insulation layer includes a polymer material (thermoplastic resin, polymer material).
Regarding claim 22, Kawabata discloses the insulation layer (50) abuts the magnetic material (40, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Kawabata discloses the insulation layer (50, common resin [0072]) has a higher break down voltage than the magnetic material (40, same material as the claimed invention, hence the same electrical property).
Regarding claim 24, Kawabata discloses (fig. 2 and related test) an integrated circuit (11B) comprising: a substrate (20) having a first surface (upper surface of 20); a semiconductor die (31) having a second surface (bottom surface of 31); metal interconnects (24) between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31, if a line can be drawn between bottom surface of 31 and 20 that passes through 24, then 24 are between 31 and 20) and first surface of the substrate (20); a layer of a first material (50) between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31) and the first surface of the substrate (20, if one draws a line from the bottom surface of 31 to the top surface of the substrate 20, the line crosses the insulating layer 50, hence layer (50) is between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31, bottom surface) and the first surface of the substrate 20), the layer of the first material (50) surrounding the metal interconnects (24, underneath 32); and a second material (40) different from the first material covering at least parts of the semiconductor die (31), the metal interconnects (24), and the layer of the first material (50).
Regarding claim 25, Kawabata discloses the first material (50, ([0072], common resin) has a higher break down voltage than the second material (40, same material as the claimed invention, hence the same electrical property).
Regarding claim 26, Kawabata discloses the second material (40) includes a magnetic mold compound (40 is magnetic mold resin [0067]).
Regarding claim 27, Kawabata discloses the insulation layer (50) fills spaces between adjacent pairs of the metal interconnects (the space between 24 underneath 31 and 32 is filled with 50).
Regarding claim 28, Kawabata discloses the layer of the first material (50) fills spaces between adjacent pairs of the metal interconnects (the space between 24 underneath 31 and 32 is filled with 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata in view of Herbert et al., US 2017/0053904.
Regarding claim 2, Kawabata discloses an inductor coil (32, [0069]). However, Kawabata does not explicitly disclose the inductor includes a stilt portion, the stilt portion coupled to the substrate.
Herbert discloses (fig. 11 and related text) the inductor including a stilt portion (1404), the stilt/support portion (1404) coupled to the substrate (fig. 11) to provide support and provide electrical connection [0045].
Kawabata and Herbert are analogous art because they both are directed to electronic circuit package devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kawabata with the specified features of Herbert because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kawabata to include the stilt/support as taught by Herbert in order to provide support and provide electrical connection [0045].
Regarding claim 3, Kawabata does not disclose the coil portion is on the semiconductor die.
Herbert discloses the coil (inductor 1402), portion is on the semiconductor die (102) in order to provide regulated power to other functional circuits [0061].
Kawabata and Herbert are analogous art because they both are directed to electronic circuit package devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kawabata with the specified features of Herbert because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kawabata to include the inductor coil on the semiconductor die as taught by Herbert in order to provide regulated power to other functional circuits [0061].
Regarding claim 4, Kawabata does not disclose a capacitor encapsulated in the magnetic material and coupled to the substrate; wherein the coil portion is on the capacitor.
Herbert discloses a capacitor (102, controller IC, controller ICs’ include capacitors) encapsulated in a suitable molding material (1406) material and coupled to the substrate; wherein the coil (1402) portion is on the capacitor (104) in order to provide regulated power to other functional circuits [0061].
Kawabata and Herbert are analogous art because they both are directed to electronic circuit package devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kawabata with the specified features of Herbert because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kawabata to include the capacitor as taught by Herbert in order to provide regulated power to other functional circuits [0061]. The combined structure discloses a capacitor encapsulated in the magnetic material and coupled to the substrate; wherein the coil portion is on the capacitor as claimed.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata in view of Lin et al., US 2013/0032923.
Regarding claim 9, Kawabata does not explicitly the semiconductor die includes a passivation layer coupled to the metal interconnects.
Lin discloses (fig. 1A and related text) semiconductor die (100) includes a passivation layer (112) coupled to the metal interconnects (114) in order to provide an integrated inductor with a high Quality factor (Q) (abstract).
Kawabata and Lin are analogous art because they both are directed to electronic circuit package devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kawabata with the specified features of Lin because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kawabata to include the passivation layer as taught by Lin in order to provide an integrated inductor with a high Quality factor (Q) (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Kawabata does not disclose the metal interconnects include at least one of: pillars, or under bump metallization (UBM) interconnects.
Lin discloses the metal interconnects include under bump metallization (UBM) interconnects (132) in order to provide an integrated inductor with a high Quality factor (Q) (abstract).
Kawabata and Lin are analogous art because they both are directed to electronic circuit package devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kawabata with the specified features of Lin because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kawabata to include the UBM as taught by Lin in order to provide an integrated inductor with a high Quality factor (Q) (abstract).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata in view Kang et al., US 2022/0172963.
Regarding claim 13, Kawabata does not disclose the integrated circuit of claim 11, further comprising a solder resist layer on the second side.
Kang discloses (fig. 1 and related text) an integrated circuit package (100) comprising a solder resist layer (116) on the second side (second side of 102) in order reduce conductive pattern peeling [0003].
Kawabata and Kang are analogous art because they both are directed to electronic circuit package devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kawabata with the specified features of Kang because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kawabata to include solder resist layer as taught by Kang in order reduce conductive pattern peeling [0003].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the non-magnetic member 50 is not between opposing surface of the electronic component 31 and the substrate. This argument is not persuasive because if one draws a line from the bottom surface of 31 to the top surface of the substrate 20, the line crosses the insulating layer 50, hence layer (50) is between the second surface of the semiconductor die (31, bottom surface) and the first surface of the substrate 20.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811