DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Sep. 16th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on Jun. 16th, 2025. Claims 1-12 are examined in this office action. Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on Oct. 10th 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. (US 20210028381 from IDS) in view of Xie et al. (CN 112002813).
Regarding claim 1, Noh teaches a method (Abstract) for preparing a perovskite electronic device (multilayer perovskite structure; Abstract), the method comprising:
forming an electron transport layer (fig. 7, first charge transport layer 230, is an electron transport layer; para. 0226) and a second light absorption layer (second perovskite layer 242; para. 0240) including a perovskite material (perovskite material for perovskite layer) each independently on a first substrate (base substrate 210; para. 0216) and a second substrate (donor substrate (not shown) and fig. 5, donor substrate 130; para. 0120, 0240);
forming a first light absorption layer (first perovskite layer 241; para. 0232) on the electron transport layer (230);
a solvent (solvent for perovskite layer; para. 0292);
bonding the second light absorption layer (242) on the first light absorption layer (241);
removing (the donor substrate may be easily separated from the second perovskite layer; para. 0125) the second substrate (donor substrate);
forming a hole transport layer (second charge transport layer 250, may be a hole transport layer; para. 0225) on the second light absorption laver (242); and
forming an electrode (second electrode 260; para. 0216) on the hole transport layer (250).
Noh fails to explicitly teach the first light absorption layer including the perovskite material;
coating a solvent on a surface of the first light absorption layer and/or the second light absorption layer.
However, Xie teaches the first light absorption layer (Xie: fig. 1, first perovskite layer 13; para. 0061, similar to 241 of Noh) including the perovskite material (Xie: the monovalent cation types used in the first perovskite precursor and the second perovskite precursor are the same; para. 0026);
coating (Xie: coating; para. 0056) a solvent (Xie: first auxiliary layer 14 from first perovskite precursor solution, second auxiliary layer 24 from second perovskite precursor solution; para. 0056, 0061) on a surface (Xie: top surface of 13 and bottom surface of perovskite layer 23; para. 0061) of the first light absorption layer (Xie: 13) and/or the second light absorption layer (Xie: second perovskite layer 23; para. 0061, similar to 242 of Noh).
Xie and Noh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed method to modify the first light absorption layer including the perovskite material and coating a solvent on a surface of the first light absorption layer and/or the second light absorption layer as taught by Xie into Noh
Doing so would realize the auxiliary layers coated on the perovskite layers to reduce the energy required for bonding between the grains and promoting bonding between the surfaces of perovskite layers (Xie: para. 0056).
Regarding claim 3, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the solvent (Xie: fig. 1, 14, 24) is coated to increase a bonding strength (Xie: promoting the bonding strength; para. 0056) of the first light absorption layer (Xie: 13) and the second light absorption layer (Xie: 23).
Regarding claim 4, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, including the solvent (Noh: solvent for perovskite layer).
Noh in view of Xie as applied to claim 1 above fails to explicitly teach the solvent has a polarity of 2 to 6.
However, Noh teaches the solvent (solvent for perovskite layer) has a polarity up to 2.7 (chlorobenzene has a Polarity Index of 2.7; para. 0292 and https://macro.lsu.edu/howto/solvents/polarity%20index.htm), which overlaps the range of polarity of 2 to 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed method to have modified the polarity range from up to 2.7 to 2 to 6.
Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Regarding claim 5, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the coating (Xie: fig. 1, 14, 24 is coated) is performed by a method selected from the group consisting of spin coating, bar coating, inkjet printing, nozzle printing, spray coating, slot die coating, gravure printing, screen printing, electrohydrodynamic jet printing, electrospray, and combinations thereof (Xie: spin coating, screen printing; para. 0052).
Regarding claim 6, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bonding (Noh: fig. 7, bonding 241, 242) is performed by a hot-pressing process (Noh: heating and pressurization; para. 0276) using a machining pressure (Noh: pressure of 60 MPa; para. 0276) of a manpower press (Noh: BRI: manpower to close the chamber) and a power press (Noh: power pressure up to 60 MPa).
Regarding claim 7, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the solvent (Noh: solvent for perovskite layer) is at least one selected from the group consisting of isopropyl alcohol, tert- butyl alcohol, acetonitrile, toluene, ether, chlorobenzene, ethanol, acetone, and combinations thereof (Noh: chlorobenzene; para. 0292).
Regarding claim 8, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first substrate (Noh: fig. 7, 210 includes ITO or FTO coated transparent substrate; para. 0095) and the second substrate (Noh: fig. 5, 130 includes ITO or FTO-coated transparent substrate; para. 0126) each includes at least one selected from the group consisting of FTO, ITO, IZO, ZnO-Ga2O3, ZnO-A1203, SnO2-Sb2O3, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the electron transport layer (Noh: fig. 7, 230) includes at least one selected from the group consisting of SnO2, TiO2, ZrO, A1203, ZnO, W03, Nb2O5, TiSrO3, and combinations thereof (Noh: TiO2-based or Al2O3-based materials; para. 0229).
Regarding claim 10, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first light absorption layer (Noh: fig. 7, 241) and the second light absorption layer (Noh: 242 can also have three-dimensional structures; para. 0184) each independently includes the perovskite material (Noh: perovskite precursor for perovskite layer) represented by the following Chemical Formula 1 or 2:
[Chemical Formula 1]
RMX3 (Noh: three-dimensional structures CMX3; para. 0098)
[Chemical Formula 2]
R4MX6
(In Chemical Formulas 1 and 2 above,
R is an alkali metal, and a Ci-24 is substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group (Noh: C is an organic cation may be alkyl group; para. 0102), and when R is substituted, the substituent is an amino group, a hydroxyl group, a cyano group, a halogen group, a nitro group, or a methoxy group (Noh: substituted with amine, hydroxyl, cyano, halogen, nitro or methoxy group; para. 0102),
M includes a metal cation (Noh: divalent metal cation M; para. 0104) selected from the group consisting of Pb, Sn, Ge, Cu, Ni, Co, Fe, Mn, Cr, Pd, Cd, Yb, and combinations thereof (Noh: Pb2+, Cu2+, Ni2+, Co2+, Fe2+, Mn2+, Cr2+, Pd2+, Cd2+, Yb2+, Sn2+, and Ge2+; para. 0104), and
X includes a halide anion (Noh: monovalent anion X may be a halide material; para. 0105) or a chalcogenide anion).
Regarding claim 11, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the hole transport layer (Noh: fig. 7, 250) includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Spiro- OMeTAD, PEDOT:PSS, G-PEDOT, PANI:PSS, PANI:CSA, PDBT, P3HT, PCPDTBT, PCDTBT, PTAA, MoO3, V205, NiO, W03, CuI, CuSCN, and combinations thereof (Noh: spiro-OMeTAD, PEDOT:PSS, P3HT; para. 0259).
Regarding claim 12, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the electrode includes (Noh: fig. 7, 260) at least one selected from the group consisting of Au, Ag, Pt, Ni, Cu, In, Ru, Pd, Rh, Mo, Ir, Os, C, a conductive polymer, and combinations thereof (Noh: Au, Ag, Pt, Pd, Cu, C; para. 0261).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh in view of Xie as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111969113).
Regarding claim 2, Noh in view of Xie further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the solvent (Xie: fig. 1, 14 ,24 and Noh: solvent for perovskite layer) is coated between the first light absorption layer (Xie: 13) and the second light absorption layer (Xie: 23).
Noh in view of Xie fails to explicitly teach the solvent is coated to reduce a surface roughness of the first light absorption layer.
However, Zhang teaches the solvent (Zhang: residual high boiling point solvent; para. 0036) is to reduce a surface roughness (Zhang: a smooth surface and a small surface roughness; para. 0038) of the first light absorption layer (Zhang: perovskite active layer A; para. 0036, similar to 241 of Noh).
Zhang, Xie and Noh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed method to add the solvent is coated to reduce a surface roughness as taught by Zhang.
Doing so would realize process with solvent to improve the surface roughness and the characteristics of perovskite films (Zhang: para. 0038).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Sep. 16th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to pages 6-10 of applicant’s response of claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103.
Applicant submits "It appears that for the purposes of Noh, having a smooth bonding surface is not required. However, adding such additional steps will add additional complexities and costs to Noh, that do not appear to be necessary for the purposes of Noh. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the proposed modifications of Noh (according to Xie) appear to render Noh being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Accordingly, there is no suggestion or motivation to make the proposed modification. "
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited in para. 0056 of Xie, Xie teaches coating a solvent (14, 24) to reduce the energy required for bonding between the grains and promoting bonding between the surfaces of perovskite layers. The main motivation of the solvent is coated to promote the bonding strength between two perovskite layers because of reducing the energy required for bonding and the smooth bonding surface is just additional benefit. A stronger bond would improve reliability by preventing delamination, which is necessary for the purposes of Noh. In addition, coat the solvent is not adding a step and is a suitable alternative bonding method. As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Noh in view of Xie teaches all limitations of claims 1 with motivation. Details of rejections are discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818