DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1-13, 15, 17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2011/0049479 A1) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 12/22/25 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2011/0049479 A1).
Yamada et al. discloses compounds of the following form:
([0020]) where at least one of R11-22 = Rm = -X1-Ar1 where Ar1 = aryl included fused polycyclic group and X1 = substituted or unsubstituted phenylene group or substituted or unsubstituted divalent monocyclic heterocyclic group (only), the latter of which includes pyridylene and pyrimidylene ([0021]-[0026]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(compound B-6) (page 5) such that A1-3 = C6 carbocyclic group (benzene), a1 = 1, Z1 = Applicant’s Formula 2 (with n1-3 = 1, L1-3 = single bond, and Ar1-2 = R10a-substituted C6 carbocyclic group (methyl-substituted phenyl)) of Applicant’s Formulae 1 and 1-3; e5 = 1 and Z41 = C1 alkyl group (methyl) of Applicant’s Formula 4-1. However, Yamada et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Formula 1, particularly in regards to the nature of R4. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound B-6 as disclosed by Yamada et al. (above) such that any one of d1-3 = 1 (rest being 0) and the corresponding one of R1-3 = substituted C6 carbocyclic group (naphthyl-substituted phenyl) and R4 = hydrogen of Applicant’s Formulae 1 and 1-3. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in the substitution position of the naphthyl-substituted phenyl group, producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; further motivation exists, including the fact that the modification merely involves the selection of one embodiment from a highly finite list as envisioned from the scope of Yamada et al.’s general formula (wherein any one of R11-22 = Rm = -X1-Ar1), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Yamada et al. further discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device (light-emitting device) comprising the following layers: substrate (1), anode (2), hole-transporting layer (5), light-emitting layer (3), hole-blocking layer (8), electron-transporting layer (6), and cathode (4) (Fig. 5); a color filter may further be present in the substrate to control the emitted light ([0080]). Its inventive compounds comprise any one of the hole-transporting, electron-transporting, and light-emitting layers ([0067]). The organic EL device is designed for light production in the blue, green, and red ([0005], [0103]); the device is further connected to a thin-film transistor (TFT) (inherently comprising source and drain electrodes) ([0080]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 14, 16, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Ikeda et al. (JP 2010-238924 A), which discloses materials which can be used preferably in an organic thin-film solar cell; nevertheless, the materials can also be used as organic electroluminescent (EL) materials (Abstract; [0127]). The materials are of the following form:
where adjacent R1-12 can bind together to form a ring, and at least one of R1-12 is the following ([0015]-[0016]):
(page 2) where Ra-b = independently C6-40 aryl group such as phenyl or biphenyl ([0016], [0023]). Such amine compounds are known to have hole-transporting properties ([0008]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 9). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Ikeda et al. singly nor in combination with any other prior art discloses any of the compounds as recited in the claims, particularly in regards to the nature of the substituent groups attached to the core condensed cyclic group of Applicant’s Formula 1.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments on pages 30-33 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786