DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/29/2022, the Amendment & Remark filed on 10/17/2025 and the Request for Continued Examination filed on 10/17/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions”. However, the Original Disclosure does not support providing warnings or feedbacks real-time during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product. The only discussion of “real-time” are the “real-time computation of insurability” in paragraph 0004-0005 and 0022 and the “real-time pricing, underwriting and claims processing features” in paragraph 0015.
Claim 6 recites “provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions”. However, the Original Disclosure does not support providing warnings or feedbacks real-time during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product. The only discussion of “real-time” are the “real-time computation of insurability” in paragraph 0004-0005 and 0022 and the “real-time pricing, underwriting and claims processing features” in paragraph 0015.
Claim 10 recites “provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions”. However, the Original Disclosure does not support providing warnings or feedbacks real-time during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product. The only discussion of “real-time” are the “real-time computation of insurability” in paragraph 0004-0005 and 0022 and the “real-time pricing, underwriting and claims processing features” in paragraph 0015.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As an initial matter, the claims as a whole are to apparatuses, which falls within one or more statutory categories. (Step 1: YES) The recitation of the claimed invention is then further analyzed as follow, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
The claims recite:
A computer-implemented system for a dynamic insurance policy product composition comprising: a processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more interactive nodes to be visually displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display, wherein each of the one or more interactive nodes includes data to be visually movable in response to real-time interactions with a user on the GUI for visually for composing at least one portion of an insurance policy product on the GUI;
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more regions on the GUI, each of the one or more regions is defined by boundaries, displayed on the GUI, separating the one or more regions, wherein each of the one or more regions of the GUI comprises computer-executable instructions trigger one or more rule-based actions to process data stored in the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the one or more regions comprise at least a clause library region and a product construction region, wherein the clause library region visually displays one or more clauses as the one or more interactive nodes for the insurance policy product within the GUI boundaries;
wherein the GUI, being responsive to the real-time interactions with the user, monitors movements of the one or more interactive nodes across the boundaries of the one or more regions as presented on the GUI as a function of the real-time interactions of the user, wherein the movements comprise movements of the one or more interactive nodes navigating across the one or more regions on the GUI by the user using an input device connected to the processor;
in response to the monitored movements, wherein the processor is configured to dynamically expose the data of the one or more interactive nodes to a particular region of the one or more regions on the GUI;
wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region on the exposed data of the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the processor is configured to identify the exposed data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes before executing the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region, wherein the one or more rule-based actions is defined by the particular region;
and wherein the processor is configured to generate one or more policy term representing the at least one portion of the insurance policy product in response to the executed one or more rule-based actions, wherein, in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region, the processor is configured to dynamically build the insurance policy document having the one or more policy terms in real time based on the identified data, conditions, parameters in the one or more clauses.
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions.
wherein the processor is configured to receive additional real-time interactions from the user while executing the one or more actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive nodes.
wherein the processor is further configured to execute computer-executable instructions to compute an insurance eligibility or an insurance policy pricing as a function of the at least one portion of the insurance policy product.
a processing component configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more regions on a GUI to be display on a display, wherein the one or more regions comprise one or more interactive elements to be displayed on the GUI,
wherein each of the one or more interactive elements includes data for composing at least one portion of an insurance policy document;
wherein each of the one or more regions is defined by boundaries separating each of the one or more regions, wherein each of the one or more regions defines one or more actions to process data stored in the one or more interactive elements;
wherein the GUI, being responsive to interactions from a user, monitors movements of the one or more elements across the one or more regions as a function of the interactions;
in response to the monitored movements, wherein the processing component is configured to expose the data of the one or more interactive elements to a particular region;
wherein the processing component is configured to execute the one or more actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive elements;
and wherein the processing component is configured to output the at least one portion of the insurance policy document as a function of the executed one or more actions.
wherein the insurance policy document comprises an insurance policy product.
wherein the insurance policy document comprises an insurance claim.
wherein the one or more regions comprise an insurance claim interactive region, and a computed results region.
wherein the processing component is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to receive one of the interactions with an insurance claim interactive node in the insurance claim interactive region from the user for adjudication against the insurance claim.
wherein the processing component is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to process the insurance claim interactive node in real-time in response to the insurance claim interactive node being associated with the computed results region as a function of the interactions.
wherein the processing component is configured to receive additional interactions from the user while executing the one or more actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive elements.
wherein the processing component is further configured to execute computer-executable instructions to compute an insurance eligibility or an insurance policy pricing as a function of the at least one portion of the insurance policy document.
The ordered combination of the recited limitations is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers providing insurance policy information but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a processor configured to execute computer-executable”, “to be displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display”, “interactive nodes … to be visually movable on the GUI”, “wherein the processor/processing component is configured to”, “using an input device connected to the processor”, “interactive node/element”, “a drag-and-drop gesture”, nothing in the claim elements that precludes the steps from that of a fundamental economic practice of providing insurance policy information. For example, but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “a processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more interactive nodes to be visually displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display, wherein each of the one or more interactive nodes includes data to be visually movable in response to real-time interactions with a user on the GUI for visually for composing at least one portion of an insurance policy product on the GUI” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually defining selection of insurance policy product data to be selected;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more regions on the GUI, each of the one or more regions is defined by boundaries, displayed on the GUI, separating the one or more regions, wherein each of the one or more regions of the GUI comprises computer-executable instructions trigger one or more rule-based actions to process data stored in the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the one or more regions comprise at least a clause library region and a product construction region, wherein the clause library region visually displays one or more clauses as the one or more interactive nodes for the insurance policy product within the GUI boundaries” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually defining a region to allow user selection of policy clauses for insurance product construction;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “wherein the GUI, being responsive to the real-time interactions with the user, monitors movements of the one or more interactive nodes across the boundaries of the one or more regions as presented on the GUI as a function of the real-time interactions of the user, wherein the movements comprise movements of the one or more interactive nodes navigating across the one or more regions on the GUI by the user using an input device connected to the processor” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually monitoring a user’s selection to add policy clause into an insurance product;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “in response to the monitored movements, wherein the processor is configured to dynamically expose the data of the one or more interactive nodes to a particular region of the one or more regions on the GUI” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually exposing data of the selection in response a user’s selection;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region on the exposed data of the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the processor is configured to identify the exposed data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes before executing the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region, wherein the one or more rule-based actions is defined by the particular region” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually identifying the data, conditions or parameter of the selectable options and executing the one or more actions of the exposed data;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “and wherein the processor is configured to generate one or more policy term representing the at least one portion of the insurance policy product in response to the executed one or more rule-based actions, wherein, in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region, the processor is configured to dynamically build the insurance policy document having the one or more policy terms in real time based on the identified data, conditions, parameters in the one or more clauses” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually generating content representing the insurance product based on the user selection of policy clause and building policy term of the insurance product based on the identified data, conditions or parameters;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually providing real-time warnings and feedback during the construction of the insurance policy product;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “wherein the processing component is configured to receive additional real-time interactions from the user while executing the one or more actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive elements” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually receiving addition selection from the user while executing actions of another selected selection;
but for the aforementioned generic computing language, “wherein the processor is further configured to execute computer-executable instructions to compute an insurance eligibility or an insurance policy pricing as a function of the at least one portion of the insurance policy product” in the context of the claimed invention encompasses one or more person manually computing an insurance eligibility or an insurance policy pricing;
If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a fundamental economic practice, such as providing insurance policy information, but for the recitation of certain generic computing components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A prong one: Yes)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the additional element of processor to perform the defining, executing, providing steps and the additional element of GUI to perform the displaying and monitoring steps. The processor and the GUI in the above steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer component performing steps of the recited abstract idea) such that it amounts no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer with GUI to receive selection and provide insurance policy information amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. Mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Such additional elements are determined to not contain an inventive concept according to MPEP 2106.05(f). It should be noted that (1) the “recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it””, and (2) “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”. (Step 2A prong two: No)
Additional elements that require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions includes displaying data on a display (Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs.), monitoring user interaction on a GUI (A Web browser’s back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc.), user interface allowing dragging interactive nodes to particular regions as selection (See Reference U drag and drop gesture has been used since Apple’s original Macintosh). These generic computer functions are factually determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry as referenced by MPEP 2106.05(d) II according the USPTO Memorandum on Changes in Examination Procedure Pertaining to Subject Matter Eligibility, Recent Subject Matter Eligibility Decision (Berkheimer v. HP, Inc.) dated April 19 2018. The recited ordered combination of additional elements includes a generically cited computer receiving user interaction and outputting data of the Judicial Exception. No additional element currently recited in the claims amount the claims to be significantly more than the cited abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-15, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder et al (US 20130282406) in view of Miller et al (US 5446653).
As per claim 1, Snyder teaches a system comprising:
a processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more interactive nodes to be visually displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display, wherein each of the one or more interactive nodes includes data to be visually movable in response to real-time interactions with a user on the GUI for visually composing at least one portion of an insurance policy product on the GUI; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions for defining one or more regions on the GUI, each of the one or more regions is defined by GUI boundaries, displayed on the GUI, separating the one or more regions, wherein each of the one or more regions of the GUI comprises computer-executable instruction to trigger one or more rule-based actions to process the data stored in the one or more interactive nodes; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the GUI, being responsive to the real-time interactions with the user, monitors movements of the one or more interactive nodes across the GUI boundaries of the one or more regions as presented on the GUI as a function of the real-time interactions of the user, wherein the movements comprise movements of the one or more interactive nodes among the one or more regions on the GUI by the user using an input device connected to the processor; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
in response to the monitored movements, wherein the processor is configured to dynamically expose the data of the one or more interactive nodes to a particular region of the one or more regions on the GUI; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processor is configured to execute the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region on the exposed data of the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the processor is configured to identify the exposed data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes before executing the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region, wherein the one or more rule-based actions is defined by the particular region; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141, document name and date are data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes.)
and wherein the processor is configured to generate one or more policy terms representing the at least one portion of the insurance policy product in response to the executed one or more rule-based actions, the processor is configured to dynamically build the insurance policy document having the one or more policy terms of the insurance policy product in real-time based on the identified data, conditions, parameters. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions. (See Snyder Paragraph 0081 and 0084)
Snyder does not teach wherein the one or more regions comprise at least a clause library region and a product construction region;
wherein the clause library region visually displays one or more clauses as the one or more interactive nodes for the insurance policy product within the GUI boundaries;
to construct one or more policy terms in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region based on the parameters in the clauses.
However, Miller teaches providing selections from an insurance policy clause library to construction an insurance policy product; (See Miller Col. 3 Line 3-31)
to construct one or more policy terms in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region based on the parameters in the clauses. (See Miller Col. 3 Line 3-31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the insurance user interface taught by Snyder with teaching from Miller to allow election insurance policy clause to build insurance product by applying the drag and drop interface of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as customizable policy clause allow the user to include clauses as needed, while applying a known user interface technique of drag and drop to adding policy clause increase user maneuverability.
As per claim 6, Snyder teaches a system comprising:
a processing component configured to execute computer-executable instructions for one or more interactive nodes to be visually displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display, wherein each of the one or more interactive nodes includes data to be visually movable in response to real-time interactions with a user on the GUI for visually composing at least one portion of an insurance policy product on the GUI; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein each of the one or more regions is defined by GUI boundaries, displayed on the GUI, separating the one or more regions, wherein each of the one or more regions of the GUI comprises computer-executable instruction to trigger one or more rule-based actions to process the data stored in the one or more interactive nodes; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141, drag and drop is a rule-based action across defined boundaries.)
wherein the GUI, being responsive to real-time interactions from a user, monitors movements of the one or more interactive nodes across the GUI boundaries of the one or more regions as presented on the GUI as a function of the real-time interactions of the user, wherein the movements comprise movements of the one or more interactive nodes among the one or more regions on the GUI by the user using an input device connected to the processor; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
in response to the monitored movements, wherein the processing component is configured to dynamically expose the data of the one or more interactive elements to a particular region of the one or more regions on the GUI; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processing component is configured to execute the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the processor is configured to identify exposed data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes before executing the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region, wherein the one or more rule-based actions is defined by the particular region; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141, document name and date are data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes.)
and wherein the processor is configured to generate one or more policy terms representing the at least one portion of the insurance policy product in response to the executed one or more rule-based actions, the processor is configured to dynamically build the insurance policy document having the one or more policy terms of the insurance policy product in real-time based on the identified data, conditions, parameters. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions. (See Snyder Paragraph 0081 and 0084)
Snyder does not teach wherein the one or more regions comprise at least a clause library region and a product construction region;
wherein the clause library region visually displays one or more clauses as the one or more interactive nodes for the insurance policy product within the GUI boundaries;
to construct one or more policy terms in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region based on the parameters in the clauses.
However, Miller teaches providing selections from an insurance policy clause library to construction an insurance policy product; (See Miller Col. 3 Line 3-31)
to construct one or more policy terms in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region based on the parameters in the clauses. (See Miller Col. 3 Line 3-31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the insurance user interface taught by Snyder with teaching from Miller to allow election insurance policy clause to build insurance product by applying the drag and drop interface of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as customizable policy clause allow the user to include clauses as needed, while applying a known user interface technique of drag and drop to adding policy clause increase user maneuverability.
.
As per claim 10, Snyder teaches a system comprising:
a processing component configured to execute computer-executable instructions for one or more interactive nodes to be visually displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display, wherein each of the one or more interactive nodes includes data to be visually movable in response to interactions with a user on the GUI for visually composing at least one portion of an insurance policy product on the GUI; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein each of the one or more regions is defined by GUI boundaries, displayed on the GUI, separating the one or more regions, wherein each of the one or more regions of the GUI comprises computer-executable instruction to trigger one or more rule-based actions to process the data stored in the one or more interactive nodes; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141, drag and drop is a rule-based action across defined boundaries.)
wherein the GUI, being responsive to interactions from a user, monitors movements of the one or more interactive nodes across the GUI boundaries of the one or more regions as presented on the GUI as a function of the interactions of the user, wherein the movements comprise movements of the one or more interactive nodes among the one or more regions on the GUI by the user using an input device connected to the processor; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
in response to the monitored movements, wherein the processing component is configured to dynamically expose the data of the one or more interactive elements to a particular region of the one or more regions on the GUI; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processing component is configured to execute the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive nodes, wherein the processor is configured to identify exposed data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes before executing the one or more rule-based actions in the particular region, wherein the one or more rule-based actions is defined by the particular region; (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141, document name and date are data, conditions or parameters related to the one or more interactive nodes.)
and wherein the processor is configured to generate one or more policy terms representing the at least one portion of the insurance policy product in response to the executed one or more rule-based actions, the processor is configured to dynamically build the insurance policy document having the one or more policy terms of the insurance policy product in real-time based on the identified data, conditions, parameters. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions. (See Snyder Paragraph 0081 and 0084)
Snyder does not teach wherein the one or more regions comprise at least a clause library region and a product construction region;
wherein the clause library region visually displays one or more clauses as the one or more interactive nodes for the insurance policy product within the GUI boundaries;
to construct one or more policy terms in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region based on the parameters in the clauses.
However, Miller teaches providing selections from an insurance policy clause library to construction an insurance policy product; (See Miller Col. 3 Line 3-31)
to construct one or more policy terms in response to the one or more interactive nodes moving from the clause library region to the product construction region based on the parameters in the clauses. (See Miller Col. 3 Line 3-31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the insurance user interface taught by Snyder with teaching from Miller to allow election insurance policy clause to build insurance product by applying the drag and drop interface of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as customizable policy clause allow the user to include clauses as needed, while applying a known user interface technique of drag and drop to adding policy clause increase user maneuverability.
As per claims 3, 8 and 17, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to receive additional interactions from the user while executing the one or more actions in the particular region on the data of the one or more interactive nodes. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
As per claims 4, 9 and 18, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to execute computer-executable instructions to compute an insurance eligibility or an insurance policy pricing as a function of the at least one portion of the insurance policy product. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
As per claim 11, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the insurance policy document comprises an insurance policy product. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110 and 0141)
As per claim 12, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the insurance policy document comprises an insurance claim. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110, 0118 and 0141)
As per claim 13, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the one or more regions comprise an insurance claim interactive region, and a computed results region. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110, 0118 and 0141)
As per claim 14, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the processing component is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to receive one of the interactions with an insurance claim interactive node in the insurance claim interactive region from the user for adjudication against the insurance claim. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110, 0118 and 0141)
As per claim 15, Snyder in view of Miller teaches:
wherein the processing component is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to process the insurance claim interactive node in real-time in response to the insurance claim interactive node being associated with the computed results region as a function of the interactions. (See Snyder Paragraph 0068, 0079, 0098, 0106, 0110, 0118 and 0141)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the claims provide improvement to computer functionality, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In particular, the applicant contended that “the claimed invention is also directed to a particular manner of organizing and presenting information in electronic devices, and how the real-time interactions of the one or more policy terms can trigger the construction or composition of an insurance policy product, including the warnings and feedbacks of the real-time interactions.” However, no disclosure can be found regarding the technological detail of providing real-time warning and feedbacks. It should be noted that the mere recitation of “real-time” without providing the technological knowhow of how to achieve a desired result of real-time warming or feedback does not substantiate an argument of improvement to computer functionality. As such, the argument is not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that the cited references do not teach “real-time interactions from the users” and “wherein the processor is configured to execute computer-executable instructions to provide real-time warnings or feedbacks during dynamically construction of at least one portion of the insurance policy product based on the real-time interactions”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Snyder 0079 and Fig. 3 explicitly disclose a GUI that receive real-time user instruction. As to real-time warnings or feedbacks, Snyder 0083-0084 discloses a send feedback icon or tab 304d causes presentation of a feedback panel allowing the agent or broker to send, transmit, transfer or otherwise make available feedback to one or more intended recipients. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
/CHO YIU KWONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693